De Raat Protector Duo Safe Reviews

Ref: DE-PWKA
Thumb image of 9a80910c2fec2c55aed16f112c7d47b9.gif
Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10

8.7 / 10 based on 27 reviews.

£219.00 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10
Security Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10
4 March 2011
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Robust and able not to look too much like a SAFE

Prompt delivery from The Safe Shop

No fitting instructions regarding drill sizes and depth of drill

8 of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

24 April 2014
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

For the money, this is an excellent safe with a high insurance value. The service was fantastic from the Safeshop and I would highly recommend them to anyone who wants to buy a safe at a competitive price and with first class service.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 January 2015
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

I have fitted this safe in a secure location, - but have added fixings in the back of the unit as well as the bottom. Might I suggest that four fixing points are probably better than just two, and the fixings provided are barely long enough to do the job. I used longer fixings for peace of mind.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

6 February 2014
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

We have managed to achieve a good volume of storage for such a neat size with this safe, the De Raat. It also feel very solid and the lock is solid and stable to use.

I particularly like the inner compartment and the fact that it is bolted to the wall so that it is secure and can't be removed when closed.

The safe was easy to order on the website. It was delivered more quickly than expected.

The service that we got was very good and I feel that I could recommend both the safe and also the service that we got from the Safe Shop. Well done.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 June 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I checked several safes I wanted something small but not to small .I looked at combination locks but really wasnt keen on them so really pleased when I found the de raat with just the key.I think its excellent value for money & I like the idea of the locked unit at the top as extra security.it is plenty big enough to hold important documents & the top part holds my jewellery safe. I feel so much better as all my important things are safe. It was easy to fit and bolted down to the floor and wall. Best thing ive ever brought. Thankyou also for speedy delivery.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 January 2015
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Product arrived very quickly and was as described accurately on the website. No complaints at all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 January 2015
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

good product and easy to fit

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 December 2014
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Very simple to install, good capacity and exactly as described.

As they say does what it says on the tin.... Or in this case does exactly what it says on the safe..

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 September 2014
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

We have already recommended you to our customers and know one has purchased and appreciated the recommendation. Thankyou.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 August 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Safe excellent and easy to fit.

Worth the money.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

26 April 2014
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

I found this product to be very good quality and very well built

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 April 2014
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

Difficult to manouvre - where it had to go. I used an electric winch. It would be useful to have attachements for this purpose, even the hole placement could be used to facilitate that. The safe loses some internal space due to part of the outer door fitting inside the storage space so it wasn't quite as big as I had hoped. Still it is a very useful item and I am pleased I bought it. Now it is bolted into a wall (with coach screws supplied) it certainly looks secure. The inner and outer keys operate the locks smoothly. I did lose some paint moving the safe into position so a touch up pot would be useful. Overall I am pleased I bought the safe and I may buy again. I need another!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 December 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

We needed a safe that would be sufficiently large to handle business documents, valuable coins, alongside cash and other items.

Having trawled across the internet for some time, both UK based and USA based cos. we found that buying from a UK company was the preferred option due to transport costs for shipping from any overseas location.

Eventually we came down to other reviews for the particular make of safe we had decided on, and then reviews of each company we short listed.

Safe.co.uk came in with top marks on the review

front and were offering the large 2 compartment safe we had decided on, at a very competitive price.

The Safe.co.uk website was very easy to navigate and gave all the necessary details about each safe they had on offer.

We have to state that we actually used this website as the base from which to check out other cos. and their safe products.

The process for ordering from Safe.co.uk was straight forward and when the safe arrived just a few days later, we were taken aback by the actual boxed size, followed closely by the weight !!

It was well protected by a thick cardboard box, strapped down to a thick, strong, wooden mini pallet !!

Thanks for the pallet - it has come in very useful in the garage :-)

The large door has twin bolts that are security key operated on the outside, and inside the safe we have an upper internal chamber which is also locked by a different key. a second key is supplied for each lock.

The steel build of the safe and the locks are impressive, but I guess only a seasoned thief would know whether to bother trying to gain entry into this safe or not ?

As for moving it - it has a very secure bolt down system which is explained in the instructions and guide that come with this safe.

Given the weight of our contents and weight of this safe, we doubt 2 people would be strong enough to move it, and in any event, especially given only 1 person can actually get at it unless they try knocking down a wall !

So, chose you safe carefully and take time to chose the make, size, & especially where you want to place it and don't forget to ask security people and police for their views if required.

Finally, choose a company that is reliable and safe to buy from and in those respects, and in our opinion, you may find it difficult to find any company stronger, confident and secure in what they do than Safe.co.uk !

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 November 2016
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

I was impressed with the De Raat build quality and whilst a very heavy unit (a positive feature of the unit), I found it fairly easy to manhandle the unit into my loft where I fixed it to floorboards and joists. It provides our household with plenty of capacity to store important and valuable items. The additional internal, and lockable cabinet provides an additional level of security for items of jewellery and other small valuables. The main cabinet has a certified lock and 2 keys are provided. The internal cabinet has a less secure lock and upgrading this to a certified lock could perhaps be a useful option for Safe.co.uk to consider. In overall terms, I am extremely pleased with the De Raat safe and would recommend it to anyone who has a need for securing a lot of fairly large items as well as requiring a separate, internal lockable cabinet for smaller valuable items.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

19 May 2016
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Excelent little safe on a budget

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

11 March 2016
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Quick delivery. Well packaged. Good website with plenty of information. Solid construction. Fits in everything I needed to put in.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

8 October 2015
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Great value for money!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

30 July 2015
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

I purchased this safe for myself along with two others the same, one for my mother and one for my mother in Law, both of whom are almost 90 years of age.

The purchases were made just after my mother in law was broken into and robbed, the robbery showed up the ease with which her existing safe, ( a cheap digital affair) was broken into with a simple heavy screwdriver, it could not have taken them more than about 30 seconds. Needless to say the distress that the robbery caused was extreme, but worse was the fact that all her jewellry (none of which had a lot of value outside of sentimental value) was taken never to be seen again, and whilst it was all insured was irreplacable.

The new safes have been easy to install and are key operated, and I cannot see them being broken into without power tools, so much safer than before. The purchases were made quickly and easily online and delivery was very quick.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

11 June 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

having never owned a safe before, I was a bit confused by so many types and different price ranges. however looking on the internet for quite some time, I finally found out about the many types and specifications of different safes. it was not easy to choose from, the different types of safe were enormous and vast. but finally I was drawn to a web site called The Safe Shop, and it was there I decided to purchase a safe. it was still quite a while before I made up my mind because The Safe Shop has a very lot to offer. So I am very glad I did. The space inside the safe is very good also the added space behind the second door is brilliant for smaller items such as spare keys etc.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

2 January 2014
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Easy to install.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

27 June 2013
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

good size and weight

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

30 May 2013
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Separate compartment inside that can be locked independently

Reasonable size inside

Fully opening door

Sturdy construction

Inside compartment lock and door a little flimsy.

No bolts provided with the safe.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 May 2013
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Exactly as described, easy to use and exactly what we needed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

16 May 2013
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Its size (as it will take A4 size items) and it can be bolted at the rear. The small inner compartment is fiddly to open and is really unnecessary

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

6 September 2012
Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10 6.8 / 10

Good spec for the money, especially with the price difference guarantee. Good to have rear and base fixings to wall and floor as well as fire resistance.

Quality could be improved, fixings not long enough, replaced with better ones from Screwfix, door only opens to approx 90 deg.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

30 August 2012
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

First safe I've owned. It fits in location great; it stores the planned items well. Hope never to test its fire proof nature. Feel more secure knowing certain items are now located in a safe and secure location.

At present only small issue is inner compartment lock and key still a little stiff. Should probably try some silicon spray or WD40 type product.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

18 February 2011
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 7 / 10

A good budget priced safe

0 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No