ABUS Aquasafe 70IB/35 Marine Grade Padlock Reviews

Ref: ABU-70IB/35
Thumb image of 9057.png
Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5

9.7 / 10 based on 32 reviews.

£13.44 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Build Quality Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Security Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Value for Money Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Bacchanalia Verified Customer July 2017 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5
Recommended

I needed to replace 3 padlocks of the same key way, that secure our back garden. (once an intruder is at the back the house he has unobserved access to doors and windows). Being north facing on a hill, we get extremes of weather and locks that can handle the environment were essential. These locks proved ideal, and arrived quickly. I especially like the plastic plug that seals the key hole

Was this helpful? 32

Cliff Verified Customer March 2020 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

This is a lovely little padlock. I bought this to lock our outside cast iron gate because we had become fed up with the previous locks getting so stiff in the rain that we can't use them anymore.This seems like a much better bet because it is advertised as waterproof. (We seem to get a lot of water in Bolton)

One point we found was that if the lock is open and left on the gate in the rain it tends to let water in. This because the black casing on the bars leave bare metal underneath. This is reasonable. The cure is to either keep it locked or remove it to a dry place. When locked it seems very waterproof.

The lock works extremely well, feels very secure and is a very pretty colour.

Was this helpful? 28

Bradley Verified Customer March 2021 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Cracking little lock this is. Fully waterproof and it’s been tested in the relentless rain Manchester. Through winter no less. I use mine for my garden shed.

Really does exactly what you want. I didn’t realise it’s size when I bought it though, I’ll probably end up getting a bigger version of it for increased security but the smaller one is still faultless.

I’d originally bought a different brand on Amazon for half the price but it just wasn’t actually waterproof even though it said it was. You really can’t trust the reviews on there.

In conclusion, this lock does exactly what it says it should, it stays secure and is fully waterproof.

Was this helpful? 24

Anonymous Verified Customer July 2017 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

this is a 100% sound product which does what it claims and the seller is a pleasure to deal with

Was this helpful? 24

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2021 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

Seems very resistant to water ingress and therefore corrosion. I’ve had one outside for three years and it works fine without having had any lubricant.

Was this helpful? 23

Anonymous Verified Customer October 2019 Reviewed Size: 45mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

All as described and in fine working order

Was this helpful? 23

Anonymous Verified Customer October 2018 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

Does what it describes, good service, quality is good, would recommend this supplier , T.

Was this helpful? 23

Peter Verified Customer December 2021 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Although the marine grade padlock was out of stock initially it was delivered well before the expected date and I was kept up to date with the outcome.

The lock is of outstanding quality.Easy to use and of a very realistic price.I would willingly have paid a higher price for such a high quality unit.

Would highly recommend Safe

Thank you.

Was this helpful? 21

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2021 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

A good lock, water resistant.

Was this helpful? 18

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2021 Reviewed Size: 50mm
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

I've been using this lock for my motorbike. It's great because unlike many others it never rusts (I keep my bike outside). Very quick and practical to lock as you do not need the key.

Was this helpful? 18

Nick Verified Customer March 2023 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

It’s a neat padlock with smooth operation. The keys were unmarked but a photograph enabled a key cutter to make copies. A determined effort would need to be made to break the lock so I feel reasonably confident about its security. Only time will tell whether it withstands cold wet weather but so far, so good.

Was this helpful? 17

Anonymous Verified Customer July 2021 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Great quality product.

Was this helpful? 16

Shedman Verified Customer March 2023 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

Not as substantial as I’d expected (the perils of buying online!). However, this small padlock is certainly well made and so far has proven to be weather proof.

Was this helpful? 15

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2021 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

A great little padlock perfect for what I needed. Seems to be withstanding the great British weather! Would definitely recommend

Was this helpful? 15

Katherine Verified Customer December 2023 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Great weather proof lock for garden gate. I would recommend.

Was this helpful? 12

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2021 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Does exactly what it says on the box nice padlock for the money

Was this helpful? 12

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2021 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Seems well made and serves my purpose to secure kennel very well.

Hopefully the security won't be tested but it provides peace of mind

Was this helpful? 12

Derek Verified Customer January 2021 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Ideal for purpose. Weatherproof with a key entry cover to keep out moisture. My previous padlock kept getting difficult to open due to ingress of moisture leading to a stuck padlock. My padlock is on my back garden gate to prevent unwanted entry, and this padlock fulfills the task admirably. The general appearance is good and the color (blue) is attractive. The very inclement weather we have had over the last month has had no detrimental effects on the efficacy of this padlock. I highly recommend this product for all household security requirements.

Was this helpful? 9

Anonymous Verified Customer October 2020 Reviewed Size: 45mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I like these padlocks, they are good quality, do not rust/ The only think that I was disappointed about was that they were not the same number key as the others I bought from you, which would have been more convenient.

Excellent padlocks and would recommend.

Was this helpful? 9

Anonymous Verified Customer August 2019 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent quality.

Was this helpful? 9

Anonymous Verified Customer August 2019 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Very happy,strong, water proof and quality smooth mechanism opening and closing the lock.

Was this helpful? 9

Dougie Verified Customer July 2019 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

This is a lovely little lock. It has a hinged cover to prevent water from getting into the mechanism. The cover is easy to open and the key slides in smoothly every time. The mechanism springs into action as soon as I turn the key and it is so easy to close by a pushing the shackle into the hole in the padlock body. It looks smart (if that matters to you) and provides my back gate with the security I require to protect outside stuff. Clearly there can be many more uses for this little blue protector and I would not hesitate to recommend this Abus padlock.

Was this helpful? 9

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2019 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

A really great little lock. In fact, the first one was so good that I bought a second. I would definitely recommend this padlock.

Was this helpful? 9

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2020 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Good quality and solid product. Completely weatherproof (unlike the padlock it replaced!).

Was this helpful? 8

Sheena Campbell Verified Customer November 2020 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Great if you have an exposed shed! First padlock that has not jammed up after a few months on shed at bottom of my very damp garden.

Was this helpful? 8

Anil Verified Customer August 2020 Reviewed Size: 50mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent lock, weather proof, used it for our garden shed. Really solid build quality.

Was this helpful? 8

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2020 Reviewed Size: 45mm
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

I am very pleased with the padlock. It has remained waterproof throughout the heavy rains we have been having. I shall certainly buy a replacement or additional padlocks from Safe in the future.

Was this helpful? 8

Anonymous Verified Customer July 2019 Reviewed Size: 45mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Happy so far with this lock. I wanted a lock that would not rust and so far so good. It has been outside continually for a while now through spring / summer weather, extreme heat and torrential downpours. Due to the time of year purchased I have not observed it in freezing / snowy winter weather yet.

Was this helpful? 8

Frank Verified Customer March 2019 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Good product

Was this helpful? 8

Anonymous Verified Customer July 2019 Reviewed Size: 50mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Quality product for a coastal location.

Was this helpful? 7

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2024 Reviewed Size: 50mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Just what I wanted. This lock is so easy to use as there is no key capture

It looks made for the job and it is, It's job is outside in the heavy rain with

no problems.

Was this helpful?  

Michael H Verified Customer February 2024 Reviewed Size: 35mm
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

For the first 6 months after purchase it looks as though it was an excellent buy.

Previous corrosion proof locks have proved to be anything but

I would recommend these without doubt

Was this helpful?