ABUS Nautilus 180IB/50 Combination Marine Grade Padlock Reviews

Ref: ABU-180IB/50
Thumb image of 9067.png
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5

8.9 / 10 based on 12 reviews.

£35.24 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5
Build Quality Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Security Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Value for Money Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
John Verified Customer June 2021 Reviewed Size: Long Shackle
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Outstanding construction and durability. I've given up on several cheaper padlocks that just don't last long in outdoor use but this is in a different league, so worth the money. Long shackle really boosts ease of use, especially for a gate where you need access from both sides - as I did - because it's easy to turn it to the best angle to see the code. Key operated reset (to change the code) has pros/cons. Slight downside on security as any fully marine-rated lock can't be as hard as non-marine due to the metals used but, I don't think that's a big deal: it's plenty hard enough, I reckon (but I guess it depends on your individual application). Only real negative is the fact it's sprung so you have to push it in to open it, which is slightly counter-intuitive. Plus that means you have to hold it against the spring whilst turning the number wheels to lock it, which is just a bit tricky - especially if you're trying to do it one handed, in the dark, in an awkward situation! Other locks are just that bit easier, with bigger, better positioned number wheels and no spring mechanism.

Was this helpful? 10

Nicholas Verified Customer July 2020 Reviewed Size: Long Shackle
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I purchased this padlock and I am very impressed with the excellent quality of it. I would strongly advise any one who does purchase this to actually read the instructions not once not twice but three time and then go and watch the you tube video not once not twice but three times. I made a mistake with the resetting of the code and then had to try all 9999 combinations to get the one I had accidently set, completely my own fault for not reading it properly. Be aware that there is no “hack” to this padlock, no cheats and no short cuts, if you set the code wrong or forget it all together then you have to manually have to find the correct code, this makes it one of the safest padlocks on the market.

Was this helpful? 10

Anonymous Verified Customer October 2018 Reviewed Size: Short Shackle
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Ideal lock for our purpose, were lock is in the open and subject to all weather conditions, multiple users so combination lock is better than cutting keys for each user, combination is easy to change so if users change then a combination change is no problem, nice product.

Was this helpful? 10

John Morris Verified Customer June 2017 Reviewed Size: Short Shackle
Rated 3.9 / 5Rated 3.9 / 5Rated 3.9 / 5Rated 3.9 / 5Rated 3.9 / 5
Recommended

Not sure how I rate a padlock for storage capacity? This is the third or fourth one of these that we have bought and we keep buying them for various applications as we are very happy with the quality and security they offer.

Was this helpful? 10

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2022 Reviewed Size: Long Shackle
Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5

The only problem I found is that the numerals are quite small otherwise it is a good padlock.

Was this helpful? 9

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2021 Reviewed Size: Long Shackle
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Great for an outdoor lock.

Was this helpful? 9

Bookie Verified Customer October 2020 Reviewed Size: Short Shackle
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I found the product to be of excellent quality, and performs brilliantly. Its great value for money and comes highly recommended.

Was this helpful? 9

Anonymous Verified Customer September 2020 Reviewed Size: Short Shackle
Rated 1.8 / 5Rated 1.8 / 5Rated 1.8 / 5Rated 1.8 / 5Rated 1.8 / 5

Purchased 2 of these locks both broke within A few weeks of purchase. Would not recommend.

Was this helpful? 9

Anonymous Verified Customer August 2020 Reviewed Size: Long Shackle
Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5
Recommended

Very good lock, just one minor point the dials are very small and difficult to read.

But does the job really well.

Was this helpful? 9

Peter Verified Customer August 2019 Reviewed Size: Short Shackle
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

It has worked well. It is used outside on a shed. It hasn't rusted. Happy so far.

Was this helpful? 9

Anonymous Verified Customer September 2020 Reviewed Size: Short Shackle
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

This was purchased for my shed. I live by the sea so I needed to have a padlock that would resit the salty air. This padlock seems to fill that bill very well. The padlock has a combination of 4 numbers. This is so useful as it means that we don't keep losing the key.

The lock is well made and feels heavy and secure. Having the combination on the base of the lock keeps this area from the ingress of rain and I expect that this will prevent water entering the mechanism and so help to prevent rust. This is an excellent padlock that will last many years,

Was this helpful? 8

David Verified Customer March 2019 Reviewed Size: Long Shackle
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent hasp, super strong durable and the combination lock was easy to operate on our front gates of our yard. I would now only use ABUS Locks and I would only now use Safe.co.uk for these kind of products. I've bought inferior products in the past and now will not go past Safe they are the kind of company that I would most likely use as their products are tested and presented in a fantastic web form at very competitive prices. The packages that came, arrived very quickly which fills me with confidence that this is a company that is serious about their products and their customers. :)

Was this helpful? 8