Ashford Red - Steel Post Box Reviews

Ref: RO-T05376
Thumb image of 3271.png
Rated 7.9 / 10Rated 7.9 / 10Rated 7.9 / 10Rated 7.9 / 10Rated 7.9 / 10

7.9 / 10 based on 31 reviews.

£47.45 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 7.1 / 10Rated 7.1 / 10Rated 7.1 / 10Rated 7.1 / 10Rated 7.1 / 10
Weather Resistance Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.1 / 10Rated 8.1 / 10Rated 8.1 / 10Rated 8.1 / 10Rated 8.1 / 10
13 September 2012 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

I love the style. It looks just right on our victorian house. Its easy to open and keeps the post dry. It faded quite quickly although it is in a south facing position.

6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

29 November 2012 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10 6.4 / 10

Pros: The product looks good Cons: unfortunately there is a viewing slot to see if you have mail this allow the rain in and mail gets wet. The advertising photo doesn't make this clear

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 May 2013 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10 6 / 10

Like the look and design

Build quality feels cheap

Lets rain in sometimes we have put in a grate inside so the post stands up off the base of the box. This has helped.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

13 December 2012 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10 4.4 / 10

Pros: smart appearance Cons: It is not weather proof and rain soaks the post

which is not acceptable. Due to the rain the box is now beginning to rust on the inside after

a matter of only a few weeks. Very poor !!

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 November 2012 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Looks the part but letters get wet when it rains

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 December 2014 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I love my letter box, got it to stop our dog eating the mail. Looks good on the wall and is very sturdy using the screws supplied. Even takes A4 sized mail without having to fold them in half. The instructions and fitting was very easy. It is a good idea having the window at the bottom so I can see if we have mail, rather than keep opening an empty box. The mail does not get wet as there is a flap that springs back once the post has been put in the slot. I would and have recommended this product.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 December 2014 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great product great service

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 October 2014 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Just the job and looks brilliant just outside our cottage doorway

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 September 2014 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

Excellent traditional letter box, easy to install, looks great.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

13 March 2014 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The post box looks very nice on our home shame l asked for a red post box but got a black one instead we asked for, But it goes with our dwelling so nice well worth the money and is very neat looking ans security is very good on the post box, I have passed on the address to where l purchased from to other people and l know they have purchased the post box and they are very happy with the purchase. well worth the money l would have paid more for the post box as it does look so nice hanging on my home.

Once again thank you for your service.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

14 February 2013 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Well finished. Top screw holes hard to get to

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 January 2013 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Pros: Looks good. Good quality Cons: In hind sight I think i would have ordered the larger version as it isn't easy to handle magazines with this size.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

24 November 2012 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

It was exactlt what we were looking for and complimented the front of our house.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 January 2018 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 4.8 / 10Rated 4.8 / 10Rated 4.8 / 10Rated 4.8 / 10Rated 4.8 / 10 4.8 / 10

Unfortunately due to relocations to avoid inclement weather Water ingress is a terrible problem and my mail suffers badly. So I am at a loss now Re it’s durability and inability to remain water proofing for my mail

Sincerely

Bill McGibbon

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 November 2017 Reviewed Colour: Antique
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This product was delivered as promised and easy to install. Looks substantial on the wall and holds a good volume of post of all sizes. Easy access to remove the post delivered. It's great to now have my post delivered without the dogs making a meal of it or the risk of my postie losing fingers.

The box has a nice antique appearance making it seem older and more original that it obviously is. Great value and great service. All required instructions and parts are included (you'll find them inside the box when it arrives!).

I would definitely buy another in the future.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 July 2017 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

I love this post box because it has a nostalgic look to it. It reminds me of a time gone by when you saw a lot of red post boxes in external garden walls. Having this on my bungalow wall cheers me up each time I approach my home and childhood memories come flooding back.you can almost imagine it has the GR emblem cast into the door. Friends and neighbours also admire my personal red pillar box style mail box. Excellent value for money and such a great idea for anyone with a panache for vintage good looks. Well impressed and thank you for helping me remember days gone by when there was so much excitement when receiving letters and mail.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 March 2017 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

This goes brilliantly with our Victorian property, I searched long and hard for the right one to go on the front of our house as we don't have a letter box, the delivery was quick and it was well packed, the instructions were easy to read and to install took me 10 minutes, it also saves the post being torn up by my dog as he can't get to it, so yes our bills do now come intact, I would happily reccomend this to other people and we have had compliments on how nice it looks and that it looks more expensive than it actually was.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 January 2017 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

I like the old fashioned post box look of and the red colour. It is just the right size to fit outside our front door without getting in the way and is easy to unlock and unload the post.. It seems to be just what we wanted. I expect the postman appreciates not having to bend down to the low letterbox. I would have liked two keys to come with it so that we had a spare one. The storage capacity is not overly large but is adequate generally except if we were to be away for several days. Overall we are both very pleased with it.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 January 2017 Reviewed Colour: Antique
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Our new post box has proved an excellent innovation to our bungalow and has won the admiration of many visitors, particularly as you can view the post from the outside. There is just one disappointed animal in the background and that is our post-hungry spaniel dog who can no longer tear up our letters when we are not at home. We shall no be giving him the key! Our one regret is that we did not invest in such a box a long time ago. Safe and secure, we have no hesitation in recommending it to others. The delivery was swift, the packaging secure and the price excellent. What more could we ask?

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

1 December 2016 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Love it, looks great too.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 February 2016 Reviewed Colour: Antique
Rated 1.4 / 10Rated 1.4 / 10Rated 1.4 / 10Rated 1.4 / 10Rated 1.4 / 10 1.4 / 10

This product is not fit for purpose it lets in water which then stays in the bottom of box soaking all the post. It does not hold large envelopes so they are hanging outside. All the post is either damaged or wet.. I wish we had bought the cheaper different shaped box which would have been far more suitable. I cannot recommend this postbox. It looks ok but does not do the required job. It is not very solid either so I don't know how long it will last, it will probably rust from the inside out because of storing the rain water.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 November 2015 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Looks good, does the job required really well.

Make sure installation is done well, use good fittings.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 June 2015 Reviewed Colour: Antique
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Totally delighted with our Ashford post box. Lovely finish, easy to fix, easy to use.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 June 2015 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 4.8 / 10Rated 4.8 / 10Rated 4.8 / 10Rated 4.8 / 10Rated 4.8 / 10 4.8 / 10

I like the look of this product but unfortunately when it rains my post gets wet. The lock also broke after a few weeks

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

6 February 2015 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 7 / 10

An excellent and ,most attractive letter box.

Our only problem [with the benefit of hindsight] is that we did not take into account the fact that local papers are delivered to us via our letterbox and there it becomes impractical.

Do you have any separate newspaper/magazine fittings that will address this problem ?

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 October 2014 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Good quality and Lovely black finish and looks great at my gates.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 August 2014 Reviewed Colour: Antique
Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10 6.8 / 10

Good other than a bit tinny - sets the dogs off barking when someone uses it due to metal sound.

Happy other than that. Colour is good against red brick house.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 January 2014 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Very good VFM

Storage could be better

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 January 2014 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

I love the look fo this post box and it is a good size for most things we get through the post. There are two small holes at the bottom, which have no covering, so in the windy, rainy weather we have been having I have had a few soggy corners, but nothing we can't handle. I like seeing it when I come home, because it is so jolly!

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 April 2013 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10 6.6 / 10

Looks good, ideal for my spot, saves cutting an expensive door. Bit small for some, lets in dripping water and soaks letters. Solved by applying sealant.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 December 2012 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Looked good.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No