Coronavirus Update No disruption to business more info

Black Box 40E Large Digital Home Security Safe Reviews

Ref: SAF-BB40E
Thumb image of 14256.png
Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10

9.3 / 10 based on 27 reviews.

£69.95 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 9.9 / 10Rated 9.9 / 10Rated 9.9 / 10Rated 9.9 / 10Rated 9.9 / 10
Security Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10
Value for Money Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10
8 November 2018
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Prompt delivery and seems to be excellent quality for the price. Like the fact is can be bolted through a shelf or fixed to an adjacent wall. Plenty of space in this safe for everything we need to store securely.

19 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 May 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent, very pleased with this safe, it was delivered very quickly and well wrapped. It has fitted perfectly down on floor between wall and side board unit. after measuring for the four holes I drilled two into floor and two into wall and fitted securely, put the batteries in, set my code number and it works perfectly. The supplied shelf is a bonus as I put all the small items there leaving the bottom part free for all my A4 size paper work. My only gripe now which is not a fault of the safe is where I have positioned it on the floor, it means I have to kneel down whenever I need to get into it, I can get down ok but my wife struggles to bend her knees, but all in all an excellent safe, well recommended.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 December 2019
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Black Box 40E Large Digital Home Security Safe? . . . . . . . .

Very good size safe - Able to store all I need . . . . . . . . . . . .

Says its black and it is black . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 November 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This safe is sturdy and solid. It is surprisingly light and easy to carry to where we planned to install it. We chose to install it ourselves, and it was very straightforward to secure it into the wall. The inside is very spacious, allowing us to fit a variety of different types of items easily into it. The shelf is useful as we can organise the contents more easily. We found the instructions easy to follow, which explain how to setup the secure pin code, and how to lock and unlock. The backup key is very handy.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 February 2019
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Nice big ,well priced and perfect for storing ammo!

However my one I could not open with the keys, so I would recommend the key version.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 April 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very sturdy and easy to use safe. Simple installation although I used my own fixings as the supplied ones weren't quite right for my wall type. Once in use the safe has a great capacity and is easy to use with the key code. We then secured the override keys by storing in another physical location... I have been delighted with this as my first safe purchase. I would also recommend safe.co.uk who delivered very quickly and the online ordering process was also very simple. Overall a very satisfied customer with the purchase of a first safe - Thank you very much!

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 May 2019
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

This safe was bought to replace a smaller one and I wish I had bought it sooner as the storage is great, I can fit my 10" tablet in easily and it can now hold all those important documents which should not be folded. I have fitted it in my loft for out of sight extra security, it was easy to fit and the pre drilled holes are well positioned. As it only gets used occasionally I have not fitted the batteries and am just using the key. The build is fine for where it is and I may buy a smaller one for everyday use.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 April 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

When I first bought the safe I thought at first that make it was a false economy due to its relatively cheap price but I needed of worried. It really well put together and on a par of more well known branded safes I've used. It has stacks of space inside much larger than my previous Yale Safe. It can be easily bolted down for that added piece of mind. The combination is really easy to set up and override keys are also provided as a back up. Overall this is a brilliant safe for the price and highly recommended for storing things of value.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 March 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

VERY GOOD SAFE AND EASY TO USE

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 February 2019
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

The size is what I required to keep documents safe, it is well made with security in mind, and at a reasonable cost.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

31 January 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent value for money .no hassle ordering and delivery was prompt . more than satisfied with the service .would definitely use this company again

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 November 2020
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

all round good safe for the money

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

22 October 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Really pleased with this purchase. Been considering getting a safe for ages not Justin terms of safety but also fire- ad knowing family can find important stuff quickly if anything happens to me in the future. I looked at a quite a lot of options before eventually choosing this one. Plenty of room and really good value for money compared to some of others I looked at.

Even I could work out the combination bit !! My partner said it was straightforward to instal too.

Delivery was prompt and the safe was well packed. Can highly recommend this company and product.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

1 October 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The safe is a perfect size for the number of items we wish to securely store. Ordering and delivery was extremely easy and prompt. Installation was very simple and took very little time. The overall quality of the product is of a very high standard and gives us peace of mind to securely store our more treasured possessions, especially when away from home. The construction and materials used will undoubtedly provide a very secure environment, even to the most determined thieves. John Daynes

We shall definitely be recommending your company and it's products to our friends and acquaintances. We would like to thank all concerned for your help and assistance and look forward to using your services again in the future. A big well done to all involved.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

11 September 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great value smallish safe, feels strong and was easy to secure to wall and floor.

Digital combination lock is easy to set up too

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

10 September 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Just like to say product is brilliant,so is the price ,and delivery was quick too .all in all a happy customer .thank you

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 July 2020
Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10 4.4 / 10

Product arrived damaged but I did receive a positive response to the damage and was given my money back. I think the safe was damaged during transport/delivery which made it difficult to open the door, had to use mole grips. Did receive good service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

4 June 2020
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Good value for the money

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

15 May 2020
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

An excellent value for money product, which is great for home security. Determined theives will be able to either break into it or smash it from its moorings. But it will protect your valuables from the casual or opportunist burglar.

Remember to keep the emergency keys in an easily accessible place, as they cannot be replaced. They are a necessity if the batteries that power the digital lock run flat, or you forget the PIN.

Installation was pretty straightforward, although a decent drill is required. I used larger bolts than those supplied for added security.

All in all I would definitely recommend it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

7 May 2020
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

Amazing product for the money. Keeps everything secure and away from accidents, including fitting a 15" Macbook Pro. Not the most secure safe in the world but better than not having one. excellent value for money - cheapest in the UK.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

30 April 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Easy to fit to a concrete floor with four screws, (did think it might have been supplied with expanding bolts, ) very solidly fitted in a cupboard in hall. Code input easy and spare keys to override combination if necessary are well hidden. Hope I remember where should I ever need them!!

Room for cash, passports, camera etc. they all fit in easily and there is still plenty of room. i have fitted a small light on the door with double sided tape which is activated when the door is opened.

I am well satisfied with this product and feel much happier when the house is empty.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

23 April 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Best value, quick delivery

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

18 April 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent value and a great size was recently broken into they stole all my wife?s jewellery mine and my son?s watches and other valuables got this for obvious reasons went over the top with the fixings put it behind a false back in a kitchen unit four bolts through the side through a brick wall four bolts through the base into a concrete floor and four bolts through the reinforced unit back over the top or what but we were deverstated at being robbed and feeling very vulnerable this safe has helped restore some confidence along with other security measures feels great knowing our stuff is locked away *safe*.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

26 March 2020
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

good value for money fast service and delivery and a wide range for every situation

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

26 March 2020
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

The safe itself is well built and strong 14 kg The only reason I have it 4 stars was the plastic cover that covers the key opening broke the first time it was removed. Minor issue as just tidies it up. It's a good size easily takes A4 and legal size docoments without having to bend them which is often the case with the smaller size cases. Comes complete with shelf and sponge type material for bottom. Easy to program number in between 4 and 8 characters. I have raised my safe high in to a cupboard but fastened securely to brick built wall. I would recommend this safe as very good value for money. I have seen similar safes at more than double that price.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

5 March 2020
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

The person who bought this item is extremely pleased with it .its a bit on the pricey side but then if you want good quality items you have to pay for them .easyto use and lots of space for all kinds of personal products . Yes would recommend to anyone wanting a secure product etc .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

13 February 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Purchased this for my son in law for Christmas ( what he asked for) it it is everything he read about it 100%. He would recommend it.

I would recommend this company the order procedure was a dream, and delivery so fast well done

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No