Bobi Classic S Stainless Steel - Front Loading 14Ltr Medium Post Box Reviews

Ref: BOB-CLASSTS
Thumb image of 5787.png
Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10

9.3 / 10 based on 22 reviews.

£357.77 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10
Weather Resistance Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10
Value for Money Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10
Mr R Hayward Verified Customer February 2016 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

The product is exactly what I wanted. It looks good. It has a large capacity, and easily takes large envelopes. It is waterproof, and keeps the post dry, even when it is left in the box for a couple of days. It was delivered on time and was well packed.

Was this helpful? 7

Tim Lowe Verified Customer August 2016 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 4.3 / 5
Recommended

I installed a new front door and felt that a letter box wouldn't look right. I researched wall mounted letter boxes and struggled to find anything on line or in store. The competitors are typically cheaper but they look cheaper or they look like are a bit too ornate: fine for a thatched cottage but not a new house. The Bobi has great lines, it's well constructed and secure. It looks reassuringly expensive and I'm confident that it is secure. If you want good quality and can afford it, spend the extra and buy this one; absolutely worth it

Was this helpful? 6

Melanie Verified Customer July 2018 Reviewed Colour: Grey
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

We had a new front door fitted and wanted to get an external letter box so we could keep drafts to a minimum. The Bobi box is the same colour as the front door and is mounted on the wall to the side and it looks great. We asked the fitters who installed the new front door to mount the letter box and it literally took them a few minutes. It holds plenty of mail which is great because we work from home so sometimes get quite a lot of items but the box is never full. The postman thinks it's a vast improvement because our old letter box was at the bottom of the old front door so it's much quicker and easier for him to deliver our mail. The quality is excellent, the simple contemporary look is really good and goes well with the style of door we now have. On a practical note, we are lucky enough to have a lot of birds in and around our garden and they sometimes make a bit of a mess but the box is easy to clean up and always looks like new. A really great buy.

Was this helpful? 5

Jo Verified Customer June 2017 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 4 / 5
Recommended

Great capacity, looks good but the lock is a little flimsy so don't know how long it will last, otherwise good value.

Was this helpful? 3

Mr Simpson Verified Customer April 2015 Reviewed Colour: Grey
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 3.8 / 5
Recommended

Lovely looking modern letterbox but at a premium.

Whilst not made from the thickest of materials it is substantial enough for its purpose.

We have it mounted to the front wall of our house which meant drilling holes through the main body. The position of which are pre-marked and have small indentations to aid this process.

It would have been nice had rubber grommets or such been provided along with the letterbox to help weatherproof the mountings as water could travel down the back of the unit and in through the drilled holes, although i have not yet found evidence of this happening yet.

Our postman doesn't seem to know how to get the letters fully inside our postbox, they are often sticking out the flap slightly....but I think that's lack of training rather than the fault of the product itself.

Overall, a lovely addition to the frontage of our home.

Was this helpful? 3

Brian Verified Customer September 2018 Reviewed Colour: Grey
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

We were getting some house renovation work done which included a new front door and our builder suggested that we would be better getting rid of the letterbox in the door to maintain good home insulation. This prompted us to investigate the option of a separate mailbox. After some reading and online research we settled on a Bobi which appeared to be robust, stylish and to have sufficient capacity for the volume of mail we normally received. The fitting instructions provided were clear and easy to follow and we are delighted with the result. It was provided with three keys and is easy to operate.

Was this helpful? 2

Andrew Verified Customer April 2018 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Looked at a number of different letter boxes at various price points but kept going back to this one. The size shape and storage capacity was right so went for it, glad we did, build quality good. Gave weather resistance 4 stars as it has only been fix to the wall since Christmas so can't say long term but looks great up to now.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2018 Reviewed Colour: Grey
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Nice well made product .

Was this helpful? 2

Susanna Verified Customer August 2017 Reviewed Colour: Grey
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 4.5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent product. Well built, stylish, just what we were looking for. Arrived well-packaged. Too soon to comment on weather resistance but early signs are good. Having to drill holes in the back in order to mount was a bit tricky (would have been helpful if they were pre-drilled but understand that the model can also be used free-standing). Great service from Safe.co.uk. Would recommend.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2016 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 4.2 / 5
Recommended

fictional letter box. Better looking than most letter boxes but does look slab sided. Wont take things like hotel chocolates being delivery so the capacity isn't as we would have liked. But it's OK.

Was this helpful? 2

Paul Brook Verified Customer March 2015 Reviewed Colour: Stainless Steel
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 4.6 / 5
Recommended

After having seen a property locally with this exact letterbox I was very pleased to be able to source one at the safe shop. There was a slight issue with delivery but this was due to the courrier not being able to find the address for some reason. However this was quickly sorted out by customer services. The box itself is very well made and arrived well packaged. It is a striking addition to improve the kerbside appeal of my new home. So far there have been no issues with weather resistance.

Was this helpful? 2

Mr Bell Verified Customer January 2015 Reviewed Colour: Grey
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 4.5 / 5
Recommended

I'd been searching for a decent letter box for a while and the Bobi Classic not only looked nicer than any others I had seen but it was also the right colour and more importantly, looked to be well made. Having not seen one before, I was a bit apprehensive about buying one especially as it isn't that cheap but I needn't of worried - the product is just what I was after and very well made, certainly in contrast to those flimsy things you get in most DIY stores. When I move house, the Bobi is coming with me!

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2014 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

See above. The product meets my expectations.

Was this helpful? 2

David Emery Verified Customer September 2020 Reviewed Colour: Grey
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

We are very happy with the post box made very well delivery was great would recommend any that want a fab looking post box to use these

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer August 2020 Reviewed Colour: Stainless Steel
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

We couldn't be happier with our Bobi stainless steel letter box. It looks smart and we love the clean cut design.

Its entirely weatherproof and the post lady thanked us because the capacity is great- no need to knock the door most of the time.

The build quality is impressive and I can see it will last. The lock also has sufficient keys for the family.

It was very quick to install and we got used to it straight away. We wouldn't go back to using the small letterbox in the door again.

I wish we had fitted this Post box a long time ago.

Was this helpful? 1

Jessica Verified Customer August 2020 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 4.6 / 5
Recommended

I love my new letterbox! It was easy to install and is very handsome, and works perfectly with the shape of my door. It’s classic but also a bit unusual. However, I think it should include as standard a device to stop someone putting their hand in - I can easily retrieve most of my mail just by putting hand in the slot. But - excellent capacity, good for A4, magazines and newspapers & appears quite sturdy. Small packages fit but not larger ones. The colour is lovely - door lock opens well (3 keys supplied). Overall really pleased. Thanks

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2020 Reviewed Colour: Stainless Steel
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent

Was this helpful? 1

Mr Roy Liggett Verified Customer September 2019 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Very pleased with my purchase a bit more expensive than other letter boxes but well worth the extra money! Looks smart like it’s shape. Has holes in the bottom in case rain seeps in so far with all the heavy showers no rain has got in. Small parcels can also fit as there is good space inside and the opening is wide enough for postman to put all sizes of envelopes in. Also easy to keep clean with a quick wipe round box. When taking post out the front panel lifts down holding post in place so nothing falls out!

Was this helpful? 1

Tom Verified Customer October 2021 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

We wanted an elegant, sturdy post box that was also on the upper end in terms of capacity, and most importantly that is properly weatherproof, having bought and sent back a different brand after it allowed a flood of water into on the first day of installation. The Bobi fits all of our requirements; it looks elegant mounted on our stone wall, it is robust, it stores a large amount of post which is important as we go away for several days quite often, and it does not let the water in. My only complaint is that we had to drill our own mounting holes when installing it. I understand that gives the installer some flexibility but I still think it would be better to supply the box with pre-drilled holes.

Was this helpful?  

Anne Verified Customer October 2020 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 4.4 / 5
Recommended

Sturdy but good-looking postbox, ideal for our needs.

Sadly, as I unpacked it from its snug packaging, I managed to damage it slightly. I pulled it out of its box using the polythene it was wrapped in inside, and, as it suddenly emerged and clattered to the concrete floor of our garage, I realised it was packed in a polythene tube and not a bag. A polythene bag would have held it securely.

It is a testament to its sturdiness that it was not badly damaged in the fall and it was not bent at all. However there are some small chips in the paintwork, now unfortunately beginning to rust in our sea air.

Please - for other customers - review your packaging and provide a bag, or bubble wrap all round.

Was this helpful?  

Vicky Verified Customer February 2020 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

I like this product very much as it is very robust, with excellent storage capacity, weather resistant and I think looks smart and contemporary as a product.

So far I am very pleased with it and would recommend this product to anyone who was considering it.

Was this helpful?  

Susan Verified Customer March 2019 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

I am really pleased with our Bobbi slimline classic red post box. It is big enough for the magazines to slip down inside without them sticking out like they did with our old box. It also has holes in the bottom to allow any water that gets in to drain out and not leave the mail wet. I think it looks very smart and I like the crisp, simple lines, glad we went for this style rather than a more traditional style of red post box we have in the UK. Not fussy, just looks right on the side of our house.

Was this helpful?