Brabantia - B110 Dark Grey Post Box Reviews

Ref: BRA-480782
Thumb image of 4182501807b8290eee80d19c1f4e594c.png
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10

9 / 10 based on 40 reviews.

£59.99 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10
Weather Resistance Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10
7 August 2014
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

This product fitted our needs exactly, it is of an attractive design, the steel is quite thick making it substantial unlike some other mail boxes. The finish is good and seems to be standing up to some quite harsh exposure in a coastal environment . It was delivered extremely quickly unlike other deliveries we have received, and it was also comparatively very good value, quite a lot cheaper than on other sites such as Amazon.

The lock is easy to use and seems quite secure and the box is big enough to accommodate all of our mail. It is also wide enough at the top to get small packets in.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 September 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

First of all, the safe shop is excellent in regard to dispatching orders. So they arrive quickly, and they're well packaged.

The letter box is very sturdy. It has a flap on the top to keep the weather out, and the hinges are strong. This covers the hole where the post goes through, which is wide enough for cardboard covered A4 sized books, which we have had delivered.

The internal of the letter box is spacious enough for the A4 cardboard covered books plus the usual mail, and then some.

The front opening door is hinged again with metal hinges which are again very sturdy.

It comes with two keys.

We didn't want a letter box in our new door, as we have a dog that jumps up and scratches. So we had to have our post in an external box. I was worried about people being able to gain our details and steal our identities, so I needed to get a good strong box, and it needed to look great against our new front door.

I am impressed with this letter box, and I would recommend it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 October 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

We are exceptionally pleased with the new post box. Having had soggy mail for quite some time, it's really pleasant to collect clean, dry mail plus it's large enough to accept small parcels.

The assembly/fitting was simple too, my husband had it up and ready in no time at all.

Having had issues with 2 previous mail boxes, we asked our postman's for any recommendations and this is the one he suggested. It was a little more expensive than others available, but I am a great believer in you get what you pay for.

Thanks a million

The Masters Family

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 July 2013
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

Very good, robust and easy to use, but definitely not impressed by the hinges for the top flap which don't live up to the rest of the finish and otherwise good build quality

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 October 2014
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

I am very pleased with my purchase. I looked at a lot of different designs and styles of letter boxes but choose this one as it was stylish, simple lines but still really modern looking. The colour is great against the new colour of my house and most importantly it is very practical and very easy to use.

The price point was also competitively priced against other brands and styles in the market place.

Brabantia is a trusted brand that I have purchased previously and most recently I ordered one of their bathroom bins in grey which I am very happy with.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 January 2013
Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10 6.8 / 10

This was just what I needed as I have a porch letterbox open to view and also the postman does not like to use that because of a loud barking dog. The letters do get damp if not removed promptly

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

7 April 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

We ordered this postbox because we'd recently had a new composite door fitted in Anthracite grey and we wanted something that matched. Its a perfect colour match.

It was easy to attach to wall. There is no problem with the top blowing open at all so the post stays dry.

The postman also commented that it was a good size - He said a lot of them are too small to fit the post in.. All in all very happy with this product. Does the job and looks ok.

One drawback is that it says 'Brabantia' on the front .. I'd prefer it plain!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 September 2015
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

There are far cheaper equivalent items on the market; they look equivalent. Only a trial would confirm this. Fixing was quite reasonably easy and the spring effect of the rubber washers is a strong point. Cheaper models may well bolt straight to the wall and be rigid, trap moisture and corrode as a result. For receiving newspapers, especially more than one, this box is strictly minimal in size; even an extra 10% in every direction would accommodate this minor irritation. Equivalent models tend to be smaller! The lock and key appear top be of high quality so security is OK. Stuff cold be thieved with a pair of tongs from the top opening. A side opening would be preferable

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 December 2014
Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10 6.6 / 10

Not as large as I would like, most small packages will not fit, just standard letters and perhaps a periodical. Would not have to be much larger to be more useful, because of the size I will now have to purchase another larger box for parcels, all a bit frustrating. It is not the fault of The Safe Shop, the product was exactly as described it is just that Brabantia need to look at what they are manufacturing in a bit more detail against what people actually require. Especially at this time of year (Xmas) when the box gets filled very quickly with junk mail and Xmas cards.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 July 2013
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

good quality, easy to use, looks good

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 January 2013
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Easy to install, clean design and robust. Mouth of product code be slightly wider under the flap to accomodate bulky, odd shaped mail.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

1 December 2016
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Good sturdy post box , with having 2 dogs i wish i had purchased one 2 years ago e

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

25 November 2016
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Excellent

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

3 November 2016
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Good design aesthetically pleasing.solid construction and weather proof surface finish.easy to install

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

27 October 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The product is very high quality, durable and with good capacity. It comes with a guide template to use when drilling the holes to fit the letterbox to the wall. It's stylish design, whilst contemporary, doesn't look out of place affixed to our traditional cottage exterior. The colour is a modern dark grey, which blends in well with our stone exterior. It has kept post dry from weather in quite an exposed position on the side of our house. I would highly recommend this excellent product and the first class service and delivery when buying this from safe.co.uk.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

13 October 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This post box was a replacement for one I had outside a villa in the north of Spain. weather there can be very inclement so the mail needed to be kept dry, sometimes for a considerable period. This box was easy to fit, being spaced out from the wall was particulary useful, further it passed the weather test with flying colours. Hoipefully the finish will last as well as I have come to expect from other Brabantia products.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

22 September 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The letter box we ordered is simple and stylish. It was easy to place and order and arrived very quickly afterwards. We were able to mount it on the wall easily and it has been very easy to use so far. Overall I would say it was pretty good value for money although we've only had it for a couple of months so I can't comment fully on how robust it will be in the long term. So far I have no cause for concern though. I have only made this single purchase from safe.co.uk but would certainly recommend them based on the one experience I have had and I would use them again in the future.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

19 September 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Strange to get excited about a postbox but this is such an upgrade on the previous receptacle. It is exactly what we wanted - smart, stylish and practical. The dark grey contrasts nicely with the paler grey front door. It was easy to attach to the wall and feels sturdy and secure. There is plenty of room and a wide opening for the post at the top. The lock is smooth to open and good quality. The overhang of the the lid is just right and the post remained dry despite a torrential downpour the other day. We cannot fault it and are delighted with our purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

15 September 2016
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Great

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

11 August 2016
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

We bought this to save the post being ripped to shreds by our puppy! Great product, easy to hang and everything works perfectly. The postman immediately started using it, and it's only the odd leaflet or charity bag that comes through the letterbox now (to the delight of the dog!). Most post seems to fit, even books and magazines in outsized cardboard wraps, although I would say that if you receive a lot of larger packages it might not have the capacity to cope. It's great for normal domestic use. Don't do what I did though - too lazy to pick up the keys, I stuck my hand down to fish out a letter and it really hurt getting it out again!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

28 July 2016
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

The appearance of this post box is very good, looking professional outside of the office. We are more than happy with both the build quality and the finish. The Fixing to the wall was relatively easy and it remains secure after the few months it has been in place. Up to now, all parcels and mail left in the postbox has been completely dry.

The only small negative for us was that we needed three keys but unfortunately it only comes with two.

We would be happy to buy any products made by Brabantia if they are of the same standard and considered good value for money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

14 July 2016
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

This post box seems to be made to a decent standard, it was easy to fix to wall and came with all fixings including a torx key for the security screws. I chose this one because of the depth, so my morning paper would go inside with the lid down to protect it from getting wet. Can't comment yet on the weather resistance as it has only been up a few months and it has some protection from the rain etc under the porch. This type of box with a top flap stops larger envelopes and packages from getting bent and damaged.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

7 July 2016
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

The Brabantia letter box is excellent for us. We have a 'sealed box' house, so no draughty letter box in the door. The Brabantia looks smart in our front porch and the overlapping lid stands up well to the Cumbrian weather. Nothing in it gets wet, neither do we. The slim profile means it is minimally visible from the road, and the quality dark grey paint matches our modern anthracite door and window frames. The lock is fine. We have had none of the sticking issues mentioned elsewhere. The mail is safe, since the slot is wide enough for even A4 envelopes but you could not get your hand in.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

30 June 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

It is worth paying the little bit more and getting this post box. It does not leak as my previous one did. It is well constructed and comes with all the correct fixtures and fittings. The slot is under the lid and has a seal to protect against rain.

Overall i am very happy with it and would definitely recommend it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

23 June 2016
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

The box is a good size, is secure and looks smart. I would prefer the door to be hinged at the bottom so if you are standing to the right of it you dont have to reach around the open door and try to catch post before it falls out.

The thick rubber washers attach it snugly to an uneven surface and there are no rattles from use or a windy day.

The supplied alan key was a poor fit for the screws, and having to use a screwdriver instead was tricky inside the box.

Plenty of driving rain since I got this and no water inside.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

5 June 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

We are very pleased with the Brabantia B110 Dark Grey post box purchases, it is very well made and seems very secure. It fits a well packed A4 letter easily and keeps the post secure and dry.

The post box was easy to fit, with a template provided on the box for ease of drilling holes in the correct places and an allen key provided to secure the bolts in place.

The post box is very smart and discreet ensuring it is a smart addition to your home and security.

Received delivery reasonably quickly and efficiently would recommend the product and company.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

19 May 2016
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

The post box arrived safely with clear instructions. Fixing was straight forward for me with moderate competence at diy. The erected box has been in daily use for a few months in an exposed and fairly sensitive area and has not caused any issues or been affected by weather. The lid could maybe benefit from being slightly heavier as it seems to be at risk from lifting under strong winds but this has not happened. Additionally the good sized aperture for posting large letters/parcels is a benefit but that also means that some larger articles could be extracted via the lid by small hands. This risk is overcome by prompt clearing of the mail. Overall the box is proving to be a good buy and looking to last a long time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

15 May 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great for my mail

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

16 April 2016
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

Good looking and can take magazines unlike most others. Only issue is that it does let rain in on occasions

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

25 February 2016
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

I chose this after reading other reviews on this website and because Brabantia is a name I know and trust. Needed a mailbox to go outdoors while house a building site! It had to go in a very exposed spot, hillside, oncoming very strong rain. So far it hasn't let us down - post dry even when in there several days. Just one little key - an extra would be nice! A very quiet dark grey, matt finish. Very pleased with it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

15 October 2015
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Brabantia has a reputation for supplying high quality products and whilst the price was a little on the high side this was counteracted with the quality. Fitting was simple although I would recommend more fixing holes or alternatively the holes positioned closer to the centre. This would allow better access for a screwdriver when screwing the box in position. The capacity of the post box cannot be faulted and a wide range of post sizes can be accommodated, several days of post can be safely stored. Access for the postman is easy and secure from the top, and post can be removed easily via a lockable front door. The finish is excellent and durable for long term use.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

28 August 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Well the postman likes it.I have no problem with it .Just

a nice looking box . It was very easy to install .Sorry thats about all I can say .People that pass my house asked we're I got it so gave them your address.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

6 August 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Overall perfect great purchase

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

30 October 2014
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Great product, easy to install and use. Keeps mail safe and dry and looks good too!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

23 October 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

My letter box is very smart, looks solid and made to last.

My letter box makes envious regards to those who are passing by.

My letter box proper shuts and keeps the bonkers off!

My letter box has a good size,not to high and not to wide.

My letter box little roof top lifts easily for Mr postman to slip mail in...

My letter box was a good price.

My letter box is matt and smiles!

My letter box arrived so fast.

My letter box well wrapped and quiet.

My letter box I would advise for you to have.

My letter box is mine!

My letter box you can't acquire!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 January 2014
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

The post box was simple to fit. It has an appropriate capacity, taking local free newspapers in addition to a heavy day's mail. I t is very weather-proof. It opens & closes easily and does not drop the contents. We also find the appearance pleasing.

We do not expect to need another post box in the near future but would certainly recommend you to friends and consider buying other products from you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

19 December 2013
Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10 5.2 / 10

It is at the moment too early (i.e., not enough time in use has elapsed since the date when I received the postbox, fitted it up in place of the old one and then made it ready for use) to tell whether the build quality is as good as its specification led me to believe. The capacity of the box seems rather less than expected but it takes most types and sizes of standard postal packet as well as reasonably flat items posted in a Jiffy bag. The postbox has proved to be rainproof and - though this is not for me an essential reason for its purchase - has an attractive appearance.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

5 September 2013
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Classy product

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

19 July 2013
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

It looks very good and the capacity is excellent. We have had small parcels delivered in it. The quality is excellent and the post does not get wet. Very happy with it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

3 January 2013
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Structure and convenient size.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No