Coronavirus Update No disruption to business more info

Burton Keyguard Combi Key Safe Reviews

Ref: BU-KEYC
Thumb image of 1307.png
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10

8.4 / 10 based on 42 reviews.

£20.29 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10
Security Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10
13 June 2013
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

It gives me the freedom to change the code after having allowed a tempory visitor to have free range of the house

12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

24 March 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

It was bought after locking myself out but could be used by friends if ever I was too ill to answer the door.

9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 March 2011
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Ideal for the purpose purchased - a safety valve in case entry without the usual key is required. I'm sure the build and security aspects are excellent but as yet thankfully it has not been tested. The numbers are a little difficult to change.

9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 April 2011
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Smart, solid and functional. Space a bit limited(for example would be good to store two keys and key ring) but not a big deal.

8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

6 April 2011
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

Easy to fit and set up. code entry could be easier...numbers/tumblers rather small

7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

26 April 2018
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

This product was a great solution to my problem. It certainly cost less than the several keys I would have needed to get cut and give out. I live alone so if I ever needed help I could give the code number to neighbour, Police, Doctor, Ambulance etc.My immediate family have the number so they could give it out in case of emergency.

The device is simple to fix and operate.. I installed it myself. My only criticism is there is no hook for keys to be hung on so they fall out as soon as the front plate is taken off. I have used the centre hole to put my own hook in.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

26 March 2011
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

Easy to fit, easy to use.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 May 2015
Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10 6.6 / 10

I would ONLY recommend this product with reservations ( which your questionnaire does not allow for) because the first one purchased was great until it was decided to change the code. Despite following instructions to the letter, the safe then absolutely refused to work, the number digits having completely "frozen" solid (immovable).

However, contacted The Safe Shop and was absolutely delighted with fast and courteous response resulting in an immediate replacement which is installed and working well.

We'll stick with the same choice of security number this time!

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 March 2011
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

It's cheap and unobtrusive, and easy to fit / fix. The numbered wheels are difficult to move if you have any sort of dextral impairment.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 March 2011
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

fantastic product for anyone who gets themselves locked out and can't always rely on neighbours etc to hold spare keys. Was also a godsend when we sold our house recently, the estate agent could come and go freely and securely to conduct viewings on our behalf

sometimes it was a bit of a fiddle to get the numbers lined up to release the lock

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 November 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Ive used other key holders before and they tend to be too small. This one is the perfect size. Feel very safe with it, easy to use.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

14 July 2016
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

Great for one key but numbers are difficult to see need a more pronounced reel v engraved numbers - difficult to see in sunlight

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 May 2015
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Fine for its purpose

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

6 February 2015
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

I have used the "Key Safes" in the past and I have found them all to be on the small size especially if you wish to store mortise lock keys and most front doors do have mortise locks in the past it has been a question of get the keys in there and then quickly close the front before they fell out.

No such problems with this item, a bigger capacity in all directions no more having to close it quickly and hope they don't fall out. The key code is easily set to the number of your choice and operation of the numbers dial is simple and works effectively.

On the whole a "Excellent Buy".

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

24 October 2013
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

This is a very secure safe for keys and very easy to use. Several carers are using this and have had no problem with using it. Would recommend highly.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 October 2013
Rated 5.4 / 10Rated 5.4 / 10Rated 5.4 / 10Rated 5.4 / 10Rated 5.4 / 10 5.4 / 10

It appeared OK on the face of it but we then discovered that we could not read the digits, especially at night even with a torch. As the purpose of the product was to enable access to our students in our absence and out of hours we have stopped using it.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 April 2013
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

Neat and easy to secure. The numbers could be larger or clearer

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 March 2013
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

this is perfect for keeping a spare key outside for my teenagers when they forget theirs.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

29 April 2011
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

You sometimes need several keys to access a flat and fitting them into a rather small space is rather awkward. Other than that everything perfect. We have a holiday flat in Germany and our family frequently visit, so it is very useful to have the key safe. Our German friends are all very impressed as they have never seen anything like this for sale in Germany. They didn't know something like this existed

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 March 2011
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Discrete an easy to fix. I would have liked to put two keys on a key ring, but the space inside would not permit it.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 March 2011
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Simple but effective. Easy to install as long as you have the right equipment.

1)Tumblers can be difficult to rotate for plump or arthritic fingers.

2)Remembering the code.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 March 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This product has been life changing for our family during a difficult time. My mum became very sick, very suddenly and there was a constant team of carers, doctors, McMillan nurses in and out of the house at all hours of the day and night not to mention the friends and relatives. With the use of the key store, we could rest assured that Mum could stay comfortably in bed and those we trusted could let themselves in and out as required.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 March 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

small and easy to use

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 June 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Having unexpectedly suffered some mini strokes last year, and living alone, I became increasingly worried about either my neighbours or the emergency services being able to access my home if I needed help. I had to face the fact that I am not immortal and might not be able to get to the door, or use a telephone to summon help from the limited number of people who hold a key to my house. I was able to programme and mount the Key Safe quickly and easily and I now no longer have sleepless nights worrying about the possibility of something unexpected happening to me. I was also impressed by the price - when I first decided to look into the possibility of such a device I thought it would be prohibitively expensive. Thank you for giving me back peace of mind and the confidence to continue to live alone!

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 July 2018
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Adequate for our needs. No problems.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 June 2016
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Does what it says on the tin

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 February 2015
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

Value for money

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

30 October 2014
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

This is a very useful item allowing reserve keys to be kept outside the house allowing emergency access for relatives, carers, emergency services etc. who have the access code. Allows up to 10 digit security code to be set if required. My only real criticism is that the safe is short on room to accommodate mortise deadlock keys in addition to Yale keys and needs to be a fraction larger. Good strong construction, easy fitting, supplied with rubber weatherproof cover

Really good customer service - the original item supplied had a faulty button but the manufacturer replaced immediately without question at their expense.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 October 2014
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

robust, simple to fix and use a good buy.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 September 2014
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 7 / 10

Overall this appears to be a good key safe. On slight problem we had was that it was unable to take 2 keys attached together on a key ring which we have been able to store in our previous key safe. Keys stored individually are fine. Other than that it appears well made and was easy to install and change the access code. I would happily buy this model again - presuming that I was only using it for a single key. The price was good and delivery was prompt. I would also happily buy from The Safe Shop again.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 July 2014
Rated 3.2 / 10Rated 3.2 / 10Rated 3.2 / 10Rated 3.2 / 10Rated 3.2 / 10 3.2 / 10

The lock combination has broken after installation of a very short period! Sorry but the product is cheap but also very very poor quality.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 March 2014
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

very good does what it say's on the box

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 January 2014
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

The instructions for installation inthat they specified a 5mm diameter drill bit for a plastic plug of approximately 7.2 mm diameter.

I managed to fit the unit using an 8mm drill bit. Otherwise fine.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 January 2014
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Good - as described. More room in than I expected.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 August 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

It is ideal for the job. Perfect.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 April 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

A sturdy, well designed, easy to fit key safe device. The setting of the entry code proved a little difficult but with perseverance the correct setting was achieved and works perfectly. I was not familiar with the type of screws which fixed the key safe to the wall and was a little apprehensive of the security of the device when once installed but after drilling into the wall with the drills specified in the instructions and screwing in the supplied screws the key safe was most securely fixed in place. The key safe has been proved weatherproof and the cover supplied is an excellent idea.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

26 February 2020
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

A well built small key safe. Purchased to allow spare key access for carer's attending my parents.

Very easy to set and change the required code.

Solid build with well defined attaching screw holes etc making it easy to fit on walls or where you require.

Supplied by a company easy to deal with order and discuss with them regarding our requirements.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

5 December 2019
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Very good product, would have liked a bit more space for keys as, using for holiday let, have two keys to store. All else is perfect, after trying a more expensive one and finding setting the code almost impossible I was delighted that this product was very easy to set and use.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 October 2019
Rated 3.6 / 10Rated 3.6 / 10Rated 3.6 / 10Rated 3.6 / 10Rated 3.6 / 10 3.6 / 10

Numbers are tiny, difficult to see and the dial is fiddly to use. When unlocked, the container and keys fall out. Takes some practise to prevent this happening. The storage capacity is quite small. It wasn't as I had gathered from the description. There are better key safes on the market.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

30 July 2019
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Excellent help and advice when phoning Safe for help selecting key safe for airbnb use. Went for the Burton on competitive price, and that maker has good reputation for full size safes. Unit was delivered very quickly after ordering online. Comes with fixing bolts and was straightforward to fix (using power drill and hex head). Very securely fixed to brick. Dials are reasonably smooth, setting combination easy. Enough space inside for 2 thick chubb type keys and a fob. Front cover pushes on soundly. Keys do need to be leant against back of unit to get cover on without difficulty. Weatherproof cover also helps disguise unit. Couldn't find any videos online showing how to hack this safe (unlike many other makes) which was also reassuring. Highly recommended.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

7 March 2019
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Verry handy think to have. Idon`t have to stay at home as much.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

15 November 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Easy to fit, secure and fit for purpose

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

This product has 42 reviews.