Burton Keyguard XL Key Safe Reviews

Ref: KG DIGI XL MK6 BUR
Thumb image of 7521.png
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5

9.2 / 10 based on 79 reviews.

£59.00 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Build Quality Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Storage Capacity Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5
Security Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Value for Money Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Chris Martin Verified Customer November 2017
Rated 2.4 / 5Rated 2.4 / 5Rated 2.4 / 5Rated 2.4 / 5Rated 2.4 / 5
Recommended

Fitted to parent's house for use of visiting carers. Installed and set up as recommended. Tested satisfactorily. After 48 hours, so about 20th use, a carer said it had jammed. It had. Managed to free it by marginally relaxing screw pressure on internal plate (I am a qualified engineer). Able to reset, but not to original combination, which was a pain as carers, emergency call centre and others had to be advised of change. Tested satisfactorily by self and two others. Carers used easily for 60 hours, then a (different) carer reported another jam. This time unable to free it. Removed and another make fitted, which has now given three months perfect service.

Was this helpful? 71

M Sellers Verified Customer July 2016
Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5

Weatherproof cover mountings very fragile - one side broken even before it as installed. Still fits back OK but doesn't pivot - a bit disappointing

Heads of mounting bolts supplied interfered with door closure - clearance just too tight - had to use different bolts.

Order of entry of digits and letters selected for code seems immaterial - as long as all the right ones are entered it opens. Means one needs to be very careful not to accidentally create easy sequences.

On the plus side, it does have good capacity and, once locked, appears to be a robust device.

No quibbles on price and actual shopping experience and delivery were fine.

Was this helpful? 40

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2018
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

A very sturdy key safe, I am confident that it provides the key security needed and am reassured that it is police approved. Plenty of room for keys and looks neat and reasonably inconspicuous on the wall.

I was disappointed to discover that (I assume) my product had been out to somebody, returned and sent back out again. It had drill marks around two of the fixing holes at the back and it also had a dent on the corner. Unfortunately I didn't discover these things until the chap who was going to fit it was there waiting to do the job so I took the decision to let him put it up, but it did concern me that it wasn't in perfect condition. The only difficulty was in initially setting the keypad, it took several attempts to get it to work, but once done, extremely straightforward to use. Would recommend if you want a key safe that gives you confidence that it can't be tampered with.

Was this helpful? 32

Jill Jackson Verified Customer September 2018
Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5
Recommended

This is a robust key safe without a doubt and easy to install on a heavyweight base BUT, difficulties were experienced in changing the security code: neither a flat head screwdriver nor the accompanying key could be used to change the original code without damaging the disks which represent the code. This is a huge minor point in an otherwise excellent product and is responsible for the low score. If the code needs to be regularly changed this may not be the product for you, however, if you have a small circle of code holders - or can manage to change without difficulty it is definitely recommended

Was this helpful? 27

Neil Verified Customer July 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Great product to replace one that has lasted 10 years. Hopefully review again in 10!

Was this helpful? 26

Anonymous Verified Customer August 2018
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Overall a quality product easy to install, simple to operate and update the code.

Was this helpful? 25

Anonymous Verified Customer August 2018
Rated 3.2 / 5Rated 3.2 / 5Rated 3.2 / 5Rated 3.2 / 5Rated 3.2 / 5
Recommended

The construction was fine, the buttons work ok and it holds sufficient keys for me. The fixings were unsatisfactory as the bolt heads are too large and the door did not close until I replaced the top bolts with some with smaller heads. I think I read that someone else found the same problem.

Was this helpful? 24

Patrick Mullin Verified Customer May 2017
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I am very pleased with this Burton Police Approved Keygaurd XL key safe. Looked at various other ones this came out top of others for safety, security and value. When it arrived and installed you can see why. Very good quality and robust is well worth the money.The cover is a good protection from the elements. The safe was easy to set up no need for screw driver as setting tool supplied.Once set very easy to access the safe enter code turn dial pull down and your in when locked felt very secure just leave and there when needed.

Was this helpful? 23

Sarah Verified Customer February 2020
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Easy to install with clear instructions. Feels robust and confidence inspiring! One small criticism: the keeper on the rain cover is very tight and hard to secure. Also not completely sure about the fact that your code can be entered in any order to open the box. Seems a little less secure for this reason than a combination lock which uses dials. To illustrate: If you choose the code 643251 but punch in the numbers 123456 the box will open. You might therefore want to think a bit about the code you choose before assuming it will be super secure.

Was this helpful? 22

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2023
Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5
Recommended

It looks secure and is fairly easy to use. The only problem is that there is very little space to stow the keys, and hard to close as a result. I had to remove the small key ring and tie the main door and flat door keys together with a piece of string to fit them in.

Was this helpful? 20

Trish Verified Customer August 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

This is a really well build key safe,strong,robust and weather protected

as a locksmith I am always trying new products to find the best on the market there are so many to choose from but for me is the best on the market, reasonably priced, this key box is really easy to install and set up even setting the pin code inside is really easy the fitting time took around ten minute that’s gives years of protection and peace of mind for the user and owner I would highly recommend this for your security of keys for years to come!

Was this helpful? 19

Anonymous Verified Customer July 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

This does exactly what I need it to do. I am considering purchasing another one.

Was this helpful? 17

Derek Jones Verified Customer February 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Very well-made with good security and weather protection.

Was this helpful? 17

CPH Verified Customer January 2023
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

An obviously very secure external keysafe. Even the most determined thief wouldn't stand a cat-in-hells-chance of breaking into this one!

Was this helpful? 16

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Purchased this 6 months ago to use in an airbnb property. there have been two issue. the first if the client does not put the key on the hook, when they close it it can trap the key and bend the key (not the safe fault). The second issue was one of the buttons stopped working after 4 months and we could not open the safe. However the after sales was fantastic. They came to the property and replaced it with a new one within an hour.

I have used other locks in other properties and the after sales have been rubbish. when you have to pay to get the key out which costs more than the safe!! Not with this company they where brilliant and that to me is what matters, how quick a problem is resolved when something goes wrong.

Well done

Was this helpful? 16

Lewis Verified Customer March 2023
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Recommended

good sturdy product, the rubber cover has lost its easy open tab after a few weeks but doesn't impede the function of the cover. The key hanging hook is low which won't work for longer keys or multiple key sets. Easy to set up and seems very robust. Overall good value

Was this helpful? 15

Jon Verified Customer March 2023
Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Very robust and secure, my only criticism is the the internal hock for the keys is too low, the keys can easily get trapped when trying to close the door.

Was this helpful? 15

Ryan L Verified Customer December 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I recently purchased the Burton Keyguard XL Key Safe and am very pleased with it. The item attached to the wall easily using the screws provided once I had drilled the holes, and it was easy enough to set the key code. I like the fact that it has a weatherproof cover, and it certainly keeps the moisture out. I am glad I got it so that my keys are now kept in a secure location now.

Was this helpful? 13

N Verified Customer June 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Robust unit in general, perfect for what we need it for.

Buttons are prominent and easy to use for those of us with long nails.

Only slight issue is that I pulled too hard on the tag when closing the outer shell and broke it off, but that does not stop the outer shell from closing, and have had no instances at all of it opening, even during high winds and rain.

Would recommend and/or purchase again

Fab service from Safe.co.uk as well :)

Was this helpful? 11

Tabs Odukwe Verified Customer May 2023
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

A worthwhile purchase. Strong and very secure device. Money well spent

Was this helpful? 9

John Verified Customer February 2019
Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5
Recommended

I chose this product because of its security rating, and there were no Youtube videos showing how to break into it. The storage capacity of a single key hook isn't an issue for us, but might be for others. I didn't line the key safe up properly on the brickwork at first and ended up with a screw into the mortar so had to reposition it. Setting the security code was easy although I would have liked some indication of the optimal number of digits to use for maximum security.

The only issue I have with the safe is the weatherproof cover, the catch is too tight and I have to leave the cover unclipped.

Was this helpful? 8

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2019
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

We bought the key safe for my patents so that carers can let themselves in, which is much safe than leaving the door open as they were doing!

The key safe seems very sturdy and well built. It is heavy and feels quite secure when mounted on the wall.

I cannot comment on ease of fitting the key safe as we paid to have it fitted when purchased and so it was fitted by the contractor. He did, however, comment that the screws supplied were not long enough or strong enough to go into the brick (1950s) in my parents' porch.Several snapped in half when he tried to use them so he had to use his own.

Was this helpful? 8

Anon Verified Customer December 2019
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

An excellent product in all respects.

My only reservation is that there is limited storage. I had to remove the keyring to ensure the door closed comfortably. I looked at others and even tried a cheaper one which I abandoned because it wasnt weatherproof and had a limit to the code that I could select.

It was easy to install and input the code. This was so much better than those that restrict one to only four digits. I particularly liked the ability to input both numbers and a letter.

This has given us the necessary security and peace of mind that our carers can get easy access as necessary.

Was this helpful? 7

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2018
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

Had a problem seeing the keys in the dark and I needed to paint them white. Otherwise it appears to be a very solid key safe.

Was this helpful? 7

Roger Savage Verified Customer April 2018
Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5
Recommended

The product itself is very good but the cover is not good quality and fell off and cracked after one week of use, at the moment cover is held on with gaffa tape, the cover is needed because of rain getting in to the key safe. Please can we have another cover to replace broken one.

Was this helpful? 7

Mr David Phillips Verified Customer April 2018
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

The digital xl keyguard security key safe is very easy to set or change the code, very well made, strong and very secure when fitted to the wall, I found that I could not use the key hook to hang my ABS keys on so they stand upright behind the keypad, (no problem).

For my own personal use I made 3 modifications.

1/ As I have a rendered wall and could not see where the mortar joints were, I did not use the masonry fixing screws supplied, but used 5x70 Countersunk Screws,which I had to countersink the top 2 holes to allow the box to shut. (The locking mechanism is close to the back of the box).

2/ The key pad numbers are all in black, I picked out the numbers and letters and painted them in white so they stood out in the black box.

3/ So that the black box was not prominent in being seen from the road I painted the exterior of the box the same colour as the wall.

Yes I would recommend this box, Excellent.

Was this helpful? 7

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2018
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent it gives you a peace of mind knowing your key is safe in a secure lock

Was this helpful? 7

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I tried a similar product from another company which did not work properly. This key safe is very solid and heavily built. The mechanism is easy to set and work. We have carers and district nurses calling for my elderly mother and they all find the safe easy to work. I definitely recommend this product as it is very good value for money.

Was this helpful? 6

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2022
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Just what I wanted. Obviously very strong and it is easy to use and fix.

I would just like a little bit more room inside as one of my keys is quite large so it’s a bit tight with the Yale one also.

Expensive but worth the money. I recommend it.

Was this helpful? 5

Ian B Verified Customer August 2020
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Really well made and clear and easy to use, particularly for those with poor eyesight. Compartment is fairly large compared to most of these type of keysafes, although I always find they could be bigger!

Was this helpful? 5

Steve Verified Customer December 2019
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Excellent product. Strong and secure - much more so than cheaper imitations on market. Delivered promptly.

Straightforward to fit. Easy to programme and easy to use.

Was this helpful? 5

Jim Coakes Verified Customer November 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

A really good solid key safe. Easy to fix to a wall with capacity for our 6 keys and more. Quite easy to programs with a good number of combinations. Obviously i haven't used it much yet.

Was this helpful? 5

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2019
Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Seems to be well-made, strong, it's easy to use and set up, instructions are clear, the button numbers are clearly highlighted in bright yellow, but the capacity is a bit low for large keys or a large bunch. I found it easy to mount on a wall in contrast to some other reviewers who said the heads of the mounting bolts fouled the back of the locking mechanism. However, I was careful to drill the mounting holes in exactly the right positions by using a punch to indent the bricks first to prevent the drill sliding out of position and making pilot holes with a 3mm drill before opening out with the larger drill to the correct size. I also lubricated the screw threads.

Was this helpful? 5

Graham Wilkinson Verified Customer December 2017
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

I bought 2 units for the properties we own. Compared to other safes on the market they were far superior in every aspect. The build quality is excellent and the police approval gave us the reassurance we needed. Many of the competitors are not police approved which, in our opinion is essential when buying a product to protect your home. The rain cover for the safe is a great bonus - especially when rain turns to ice as the keys will still operate because they have been kept dry.

Delivery was very quick and they came well packaged. The fitting instructions included with the safe was clear and concise which made installation simple.

There is ample room in the safes for the three keys we store in each unit.

In summary a secure safe for my keys.

Was this helpful? 5

Reg Verified Customer April 2017
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

A neat and sturdy piece of equipment that is easy to install and to use. It sits neatly on the wall without being obtrusive.

It is handy to have a secure safe like this for use in emergency and to permit bona fide callers to have access to one's premises when you cannot be present and can save unwanted delays in getting things done or delivered.

The facility also gives great peace of mind to those who are frail, sick or handicapped knowing that in an emergency access to the home is easy without compromising security. It'a also reassuring for family and friends.

It's far safer than leaving a key under a plant pot!

Was this helpful? 5

Neil Verified Customer October 2016
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Excellent safe, solid build quality, easy to fit. Would buy again and recommend.

Was this helpful? 5

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Great product and easy to put up. Thanks

Was this helpful? 4

Peter Verified Customer July 2022
Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Recommended

This is a well constructed and well-thought-out device, solid and un-obtrusive when fitted. A number of small problems in fitting, in spite of careful instructions. The small discs to turn the code digits on or off are not labelled sufficiently clearly. The reference to removing the single screw to remove the plate and expose these is unclear (colour of plate). The rubber cover catch is very stiff to get on or off. And without a fairly full set of tools, including an SDS drill, it would have been very difficult to fit.

Was this helpful? 4

Steve Verified Customer June 2021
Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5
Recommended

Very sturdy, easy to fit but only get one standard key in it - disappointing - spoils a good product

Was this helpful? 4

G Verified Customer April 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

If you want a safe and secure housing for a set of keys then this does the job. The instructions are clear and make self installing onto an external wall very easy. The instructions for setting up a combination to operate the locking mechanism are also pretty foolproof. The only slight difficulty is getting the external weathershield to close, the stiffnes of the rubber compound and the small size of the pull tab reguires very strong fingers and a vice like grip to get it to latch over the restraining projection. All in all this did exactly what I required it to do and I would recommend it,

Was this helpful? 4

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2019
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Easy to fit and set up, seems very secure and heavy duty

The specification meets the requirements of my insurance company which some others did not. Would recommend

Was this helpful? 4

Wam Verified Customer November 2017
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Good quality key safe, sturdy with adequate space for storage of spare key. Excellent service from safe, would definitely recommend to others.

Was this helpful? 4

Ken Haynes Verified Customer November 2017
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

I purchase this Keyguard because it looked vey strong and thought that it would be hard to get into I found that it was a problem to set up but I managed it and was very pleased with it I have not at to use it yet. I think it would be and problem if any boy tried to force it off the wall The bolts are very secure not like screws they can be forced off very easy. Also it weather proof so that makes a difference and being big makes a difference as well. Hope it last for a very long time

Was this helpful? 4

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2017
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Does everything as described I used longer screws as I wasn't to happy with the ones supplied apart from that a very good buy and would recommend unit and firm to anyone

Was this helpful? 4

Himupstairs Verified Customer April 2017
Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5
Recommended

Product all that was promised. Service top rate.

Was this helpful? 4

And Verified Customer August 2016
Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5
Recommended

An excellent key safe with plenty of space inside. Solid construction and a useful hinged cover. It is invaluable and used daily.

Was this helpful? 4

Richard Hammerton Verified Customer June 2016
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

This is an excellent key safe which was easy to purchase. There are a lot of products on the market and there is definitely a risk of purchasing a product which does not live up to specification or requirements. In particular, I thought that the bolts which screw directly into brickwork achieving tensile strength rather than using expansion fittings were particularly good. There was a weakness in the product in that the printed instructions were inaccurated. This meant that I had to phone the manufacturer to confirm that their installation instructions were wrong. That problem should now have been resolved.

Was this helpful? 4

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2016
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Great product

Was this helpful? 4

K Bunclark Verified Customer November 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

A well built key box, easy to fit with a little DIY knowledge, simple to set-up and use, very clear code numerals - great when you're in a rush.

Weatherproof rubber casing, though the fastening is a little tricky and needs strong fingers. Police approved, which insurance companies like.

All in all very happy with the XL key safe.

Was this helpful? 3

Debbie Verified Customer November 2021
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Fantastic Heavy Duty secure key lock. Very robust and easy to fit. Clear instructions on how to set codes

Use for our self check in Airbnb in town centre and we feel our keys are safe and secure from unwanted visitors

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer September 2021
Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Certainly well made and easy to use. The numbers are really clear and in low light very good and easy to see. Would benefit from being a bit deeper to allow more key room.

Overall, value for money!

Was this helpful? 3

Max Steel Verified Customer April 2021
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Perfect for what I wanted. The key safe is a good size and is of good heavy construction. I am confident that it cannot be broken into easily. The rubber weather cover is a good feature. The securing bolts secure the safe very securely to the outside wall. I did find a wrench and socket with universal joint useful when it came to bolting the safe to the wall. It made the job a lot easier. I have seen a few key safes but this is by far the best and is well worth the extra it costs over more basic models.

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2021
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

I purchased the safe for an elderly relative to allow paramedics and care staff to be able to access her property in an emergency.

My day job occasionally involves fitting such items for the elderly and we recently changed to this make of keysafe.

Its definitely the best one i have seen for both build quality, appearance and ease of use.

If i recall correctly the fixings supplied are for fitting onto brick or concrete, to attach to any other material would require you to investigate and obtain your own suitable fixings.

A great product which serves its purpose well and gives peace of mind.

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2021
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

The safe is a very secure product. It is well made and easy to erect.

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2021
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Recommended

Incredibly well built with little doubt about its security features. Easy to set and mount as it is supplied with the good quality fittings. Happily recommend to others

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2021
Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5
Recommended

Well made but let down by the space for keys being too small so you have a job to close the front sometimes.We have 3 keys on a ring all of standard size.

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer December 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent item ,and very good price.well made .Very good security .

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer December 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

it's very heavy!!! otherwise it's perfect.

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Good quality product and quickly delivered and reasonably priced.

Can’t say anything more as it ticks all boxes.

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Solid and secure. Easy to install.

Was this helpful? 3

Catherine Verified Customer October 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Very good product. Purchased this because had problems with a different brand and needed something I could rely on

Was this helpful? 3

Boo Verified Customer November 2019
Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Surprisingly easy to install, though I would have expected screws rather than bolts as the fixtures. There must be many structures where bolts don't hold.

Storage capacity adequate for me but a bit low and tricky if the keys are long.

Easy to use if the site is chosen carefully.

We haven't been robbed so far so it must be OK.

Was this helpful? 3

Anon Verified Customer October 2019
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Seems ok and does all it is meant to do and is robustly built. I have only rated it 3 stars on security as I genuinely have no idea how secure it is but I note that the Bronze rating is the lowest level award given by Sold Secure. It is a reasonable deterrent but my house key/locks are Diamond standard and BSI Kite marked, so I am conscious that by leaving a key in this safe, I am dropping the overall security to the level of the lowest link in the chain. As such I rarely leave a key in the safe and only then, for a few hours at most. I would never risk leaving it permanently there. The house insurers were happy with the product when I notified them on this basis of use - please do this call yourself, otherwise you will not be covered if there is a break in to your property.

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2019
Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Very effective and easy to use

Was this helpful? 3

Bob Verified Customer January 2024
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

We had to replace our old key box as it was broken and were looking for a new one that met the house insurance and British standards requirements - which the Burton Keyguard XL Safe does. Since installing it, it has worked well and is easy to use, and secure.

Was this helpful? 2

PW Verified Customer December 2023
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

The Burton Keyguard XL key safe is sturdy, heavy and seems well built. It is easy to programme and install. Mine is under cover so it does not get wet. However, it has an outer covering so should be watertight. The only slight downside is that the long door key is a rather tight fit so doesn't leave much room for additional keys. Not a problem for me.

Was this helpful? 2

Access1 Verified Customer January 2022
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Generally satisfied and reassured. Able to store keys for more than one access route but could benefit from a few mms more depth for extra keys - and hook could be a little (say 10mm) higher. Units don't seem to tolerate frequent changes in combination (say more than annually): I know of two which have failed in the last year.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

As secure as they come. The most solid of all key safes out there in my opinion

Was this helpful? 2

Howard Verified Customer September 2021
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Recommended

Really happy with the Burton XL Safe. It has a really nice and easy to use push button number pad, which is far easier to use than the small and fiddly combination locks with a dial that you have to move individual numbers in to place. It's got a really high security rating which gives confidence to have it out the front of our house. We have it by the front door and the whole family use it to access our spare key, rather than carry keys with them when they go out - such is its ease of use. The weatherproof case is decent, although the securing rubber snapped off soon after install, it's not actually needed to hold the cover in place, so no big deal. It's decent looking and easy to not notice (it's black and we put it next to our black drain pipe) which is perfect as you don't want people to notice this sort of thing. Would definitely recommend and don't have any complaints at all!

Was this helpful? 2

K Ter Braak Verified Customer May 2021
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

relatively expensive however by far the best alternative on the market!

Execution of build and working parts excellent and the sturdy design and look are exemplary.

Once installed very neat and secure, cannot recommend this highly enough.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2021
Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5
Recommended

Once installed this safe is very easy to use. The set up of the combination did not take very long and I had no problem with using the instructions provided. The inside space is not large but will contain the two keys I wish to put in it.

The safe is of heavy and strong construction. The instruction for fitting were very clear and the actual fitting was easy to do. The build quality is good for the actual safe, but the rubber tag which fixes the cover broke off after a week of use. I would say that the safe is secure unless a determined effort was made to dislodge it.

Was this helpful? 2

Janet Verified Customer April 2024
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Well made product that is not overly complicated to use. The safe was delivered in reasonable time. My only adverse comment would be that you really need two people to fit it in that it's too heavy to hold and mark up for fixing and some mention of this in the description might be sensible.

Was this helpful? 1

Hilary Langley Verified Customer February 2024
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I wanted a keysafe that I could use, if need be, with my arthritic fingers. I am able to use this one relatively easily. It was also recommended by my son, who is in the police, because the police believe it is secure. Buying it on the internet and booking installation was easy

It arrived quickly and the men who installed it were very efficient and pleasant.

Was this helpful? 1

Grant S Verified Customer February 2024
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

I have now bought 6 of these for my various properties and will buy more. They are really sturdy, heavy and feel very secure. They also have a nice water resistant rubber cover and the whole thing just feels like good quality. Could do with a bit more space inside however, as could not get the safe to close with 3 keys and a key ring, so had to remove the keyring. Guess you give up space for security. Setting the code was easy and it's not foolproof but it's just as good if not better than the other best rated safes I have researched and it has police approval.

Buying from Safe.co.uk is the best value for money I found, as some sites sell this for up to double the price. Didn't need much support initially, however when I did need support, the team stepped up immediately and supported me. They dealt with my problem efficiently and were professional and helpful. Just what one needs when things do not turn out as planned.

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2024
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Recommended

Fulfilled the requirement for a small High Security Mechanically operated safe

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2024
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Compared with many other keysafes I have used in the past this is so much stronger and robust . Fixings are good and it functions well . Would recommend watching video on line to set up as I found it easier than written instructions.

Would definitely recommend or buy again .

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2024
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Recommended

Our insurance company only allows a choice of 3 police approved keysafes. This is a replacement for the first one we bought. The numbers are much easier to see and press, it is simpler, clearer and much more popular with our users.

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer December 2023
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

This is quite big, but it's still discrete thanks to the uninteresting cover. It was easy enough to install, coming with suitable bolts. The instructions are clear making it easy and safe to set the code. I have already used this once in anger when I couldn't be bothered digging through panniers for my door key. Even though it was in a darkish corner it was easy enough to see the numbers for the code.

Was this helpful? 1

Richard Verified Customer May 2024
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Easy to fit to a brick wall. Very sturdy. Setting the code is a bit fiddley but I guess you don't need to do that very often.

Was this helpful?