Burton Keyguard XL Reviews

Ref: BU-KEYXL
Thumb image of 0cced5972dd38219c8a87101af9a516ce.gif
Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10

9.1 / 10 based on 15 reviews.

£59.99 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10
Security Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10
2 November 2017
Rated 4.8 / 10Rated 4.8 / 10Rated 4.8 / 10Rated 4.8 / 10Rated 4.8 / 10 4.8 / 10

Fitted to parent's house for use of visiting carers. Installed and set up as recommended. Tested satisfactorily. After 48 hours, so about 20th use, a carer said it had jammed. It had. Managed to free it by marginally relaxing screw pressure on internal plate (I am a qualified engineer). Able to reset, but not to original combination, which was a pain as carers, emergency call centre and others had to be advised of change. Tested satisfactorily by self and two others. Carers used easily for 60 hours, then a (different) carer reported another jam. This time unable to free it. Removed and another make fitted, which has now given three months perfect service.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

29 July 2016
Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10 6 / 10

Weatherproof cover mountings very fragile - one side broken even before it as installed. Still fits back OK but doesn't pivot - a bit disappointing

Heads of mounting bolts supplied interfered with door closure - clearance just too tight - had to use different bolts.

Order of entry of digits and letters selected for code seems immaterial - as long as all the right ones are entered it opens. Means one needs to be very careful not to accidentally create easy sequences.

On the plus side, it does have good capacity and, once locked, appears to be a robust device.

No quibbles on price and actual shopping experience and delivery were fine.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 May 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I am very pleased with this Burton Police Approved Keygaurd XL key safe. Looked at various other ones this came out top of others for safety, security and value. When it arrived and installed you can see why. Very good quality and robust is well worth the money.The cover is a good protection from the elements. The safe was easy to set up no need for screw driver as setting tool supplied.Once set very easy to access the safe enter code turn dial pull down and your in when locked felt very secure just leave and there when needed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 April 2018
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

The digital xl keyguard security key safe is very easy to set or change the code, very well made, strong and very secure when fitted to the wall, I found that I could not use the key hook to hang my ABS keys on so they stand upright behind the keypad, (no problem).

For my own personal use I made 3 modifications.

1/ As I have a rendered wall and could not see where the mortar joints were, I did not use the masonry fixing screws supplied, but used 5x70 Countersunk Screws,which I had to countersink the top 2 holes to allow the box to shut. (The locking mechanism is close to the back of the box).

2/ The key pad numbers are all in black, I picked out the numbers and letters and painted them in white so they stood out in the black box.

3/ So that the black box was not prominent in being seen from the road I painted the exterior of the box the same colour as the wall.

Yes I would recommend this box, Excellent.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

18 January 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent it gives you a peace of mind knowing your key is safe in a secure lock

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

28 December 2017
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

I bought 2 units for the properties we own. Compared to other safes on the market they were far superior in every aspect. The build quality is excellent and the police approval gave us the reassurance we needed. Many of the competitors are not police approved which, in our opinion is essential when buying a product to protect your home. The rain cover for the safe is a great bonus - especially when rain turns to ice as the keys will still operate because they have been kept dry.

Delivery was very quick and they came well packaged. The fitting instructions included with the safe was clear and concise which made installation simple.

There is ample room in the safes for the three keys we store in each unit.

In summary a secure safe for my keys.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 November 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Good quality key safe, sturdy with adequate space for storage of spare key. Excellent service from safe, would definitely recommend to others.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

16 November 2017
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

I purchase this Keyguard because it looked vey strong and thought that it would be hard to get into I found that it was a problem to set up but I managed it and was very pleased with it I have not at to use it yet. I think it would be and problem if any boy tried to force it off the wall The bolts are very secure not like screws they can be forced off very easy. Also it weather proof so that makes a difference and being big makes a difference as well. Hope it last for a very long time

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

29 May 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Does everything as described I used longer screws as I wasn't to happy with the ones supplied apart from that a very good buy and would recommend unit and firm to anyone

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

27 April 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

A neat and sturdy piece of equipment that is easy to install and to use. It sits neatly on the wall without being obtrusive.

It is handy to have a secure safe like this for use in emergency and to permit bona fide callers to have access to one's premises when you cannot be present and can save unwanted delays in getting things done or delivered.

The facility also gives great peace of mind to those who are frail, sick or handicapped knowing that in an emergency access to the home is easy without compromising security. It'a also reassuring for family and friends.

It's far safer than leaving a key under a plant pot!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

21 April 2017
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Product all that was promised. Service top rate.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

7 October 2016
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Excellent safe, solid build quality, easy to fit. Would buy again and recommend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

22 August 2016
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

An excellent key safe with plenty of space inside. Solid construction and a useful hinged cover. It is invaluable and used daily.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 June 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This is an excellent key safe which was easy to purchase. There are a lot of products on the market and there is definitely a risk of purchasing a product which does not live up to specification or requirements. In particular, I thought that the bolts which screw directly into brickwork achieving tensile strength rather than using expansion fittings were particularly good. There was a weakness in the product in that the printed instructions were inaccurated. This meant that I had to phone the manufacturer to confirm that their installation instructions were wrong. That problem should now have been resolved.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

5 May 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great product

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No