Bulldog Centaur CA2000C Commercial Wheel Clamp Reviews

Ref: BUL-CA2000C
Thumb image of 711.png
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10

8.6 / 10 based on 30 reviews.

£282.35 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10
Security Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10
Anonymous Verified Customer September 2018
Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10 3.8 / 5
Recommended

The wheel clamp I bought is well made in terms of materials and security of welds and fixings but there are two issues I have with it. The first is it is very heavy and cumbersome to use. I can manage it but with difficulty. I suspect people with less tenacious grip and strength in the hands and wrists would struggle a little. That said so would a lot of the undesirables who would attempt to take the vehicle its attached to.

The second issue is the protection for the wheel nuts. I use it on a Series III Landrover with a 16 " wheel and the circular plate sits away from the wheel nuts sufficiently far to allow access to the wheel nuts from the side. The circular metal plate provided is also smaller than the diameter of the wheel rim. A slightly bigger steel disc in the centre or even better a cone shaped cover with the open end of the cone facing the wheel centre hub would better protect the wheel nuts from a direct attempt to remove them. Just a thought.

Was this helpful? 10

PETE HEROD Verified Customer August 2018
Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10 4.3 / 5
Recommended

This clamp was recommended by others with expensive motorhomes I must say I sleep better with the bulldog fitted , found it a bit tricky to fit but soon got used to the position of the clamp so cover goes on easily. the build quality really surprised me very heavy gauge steel,I park the motorhome on my drive so driving past the bulldog clamp is very visible , would be thieves will spot the bulldog and hopefully go elsewhere for a easier target , all in all I have purchased a top quality security device which I will recommend to others I meet on my travels.

Was this helpful? 10

David F Verified Customer September 2011
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 4.1 / 5
Recommended

Strongly built and adjustable. Once locked onto wheel it would be very difficult to remove. Fiddly to put together, as instructions are not very clear. Not very easy to fit onto wheel.

Was this helpful? 7

J Richardson Verified Customer July 2011
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 4.2 / 5
Recommended

High Security Robust Construction. Using key can sometimes be difficult

Was this helpful? 7

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

excellent, heavy duty. does the job its supposed to.

Was this helpful? 7

Malcolm Keer Verified Customer April 2019
Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Having my Autotrail Apache motorhome stolen from my garden during the hours of daylight last July (despite being alarmed and immobilised )I have invested In The Bulldog Centaur CA2000C Commercial Wheel Clamp as an extra security layer for my current motorhome. I now feel able to sleep at night as it appears to be a heavy duty piece of kit .At first I found it heavy and cumbersome to fit ,but now that I have used it for a few months I can fit it with ease in a couple of minutes. I also have a Disklock on the steering Wheel ad trackers fitted.The loss of my motorhome was a traumatic experience that I have no wish to repeat.

Was this helpful? 6

Pitters Verified Customer November 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

After many months of searching for a suitable and robust deterrent, I eventually elected to purchase the Bulldog Centaur wheel clamp.

It arrived in secure packaging and although it requires some on site adjustments to suit the vehicle wheel size, the assembly was relatively straight forward.

Once all components were in place it was fairly straight forward to fit around the vehicle wheel and to close what I call “the claws” up tight to the tread before tightening the securing bolt which holds them in place. With that done the bright red front section slips over all three sections and is locked into place creating a solid visual deterrent to anyone with a mind for an easy steal.

It’s heavy, but that and the grade of metal is what makes this wheel clamp the ideal investment in vehicle security.

I have tried less expensive wheel clamps made of lighter material and they don’t provide the same level of security that is given by the Bulldog Centaur.

Was this helpful? 5

Tony L Verified Customer February 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent product, good heavy duty build quality and fits well around the wheel. Locks on with a small degree of effort but by no means hard, unless you generally struggle with everything in life and need help gettin dressed. This is my second clamp as i sold the first with my caravan, this new one is a larger one for my motorhome that sits on my drive and i am very pleased with the clamp, the price and the rapid delivery from this company. Will certainly use these guys in the future and would recomend to others.

Was this helpful? 5

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2011
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 3.6 / 5
Recommended

Looks strong

Looks a good deterrent

Heavy to use & carry This is the trade off for being strong.

Was this helpful? 5

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2011
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 4.4 / 5
Recommended

Good build quality and security. A bit fiddly to fit, but gets easier with practice.

Was this helpful? 5

Brian Brown Verified Customer February 2017
Rated 9.75 / 10Rated 9.75 / 10Rated 9.75 / 10Rated 9.75 / 10Rated 9.75 / 10 4.9 / 5
Recommended

Hello,

I have quite a big investment in a Motorhome which requires more than the usual security arrangements.

The solid steel arms being secured in place with a large security nut facilitates the ease of fitting, which is covered with the bright red lockable cover.

The Bulldog Centaur CA2000C Commercial Wheel Clamp is by far the most robust, purpose designed and built currently available, and I have no hesitation in recommending this device to those who want peace of mind in the protection of their vehicle. The bright red colour is very conspicuous and warns potential thieves of this serious deterrent.

Brian Brown - February 2017

Was this helpful? 3

T Scully Verified Customer February 2018
Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10 3.8 / 5
Recommended

This product appears to do its job. Prevent theft of the clamped vehicle. I bought and fitted mine following an incident when a suspect made enquiries about my vehicle that gave me reason to suspect that an attempt could be made to steal it. For peace of mind I sought a deterrent.

1. The Bulldog Centaurs effectivness can only be truely judged after an attempt has been made. So far this, happily has not happened.

2. Bulldogs ability, on the other hand, as a deterrent works every day. It?s big and it?s bright red robust looks says KEEP AWAY.

I don?t worry now that it?s fitted. Okay, a little cumbersome to take off and on but that is well worth the peace of mind Bulldog gives me.

Was this helpful? 2

Martin G Verified Customer February 2011
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Easy to use, very secure. A little on the heavy side but that is to be expected from such an item. I am generally very pleased with it.

Was this helpful? 2

John Turner Verified Customer January 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Some weeks ago we had the misfortune to have my treasured motor home stolen from beneath our bedroom window . I thought I had taken the required precautions . having fitted a well known make of steering wheel lock.This didn't save us , the thieves just sawed through the steering wheel and discarded the steering lock . We where the lucky ones ! . Thanks to an eagle eyed member of the public and the swift response of the local Police our motor home was discovered some 20 miles away. Unfortunately there was a lot of damage and it took time to have our vehicle returned to us . I was determined that this would never happen again so I looked around to find a device to ease my worries. Here I discovered the Bulldog range of clamps . After reading all the reviews I decided on the Centaur CA 2000c wheel clamp . Now this is one mean bit of kit !. In my opinion there is no way a thief will even attempt to remove the clamp . I am now confident that I have the ultimate deterrent . But how I wish I had bought the clamp months ago . Hindsight is a wonderful thing . We now sleep easier and are happy to be away from home happy in the knowledge that the Bulldog is on patrol

Was this helpful? 1

Kevin Verified Customer December 2016
Rated 7.75 / 10Rated 7.75 / 10Rated 7.75 / 10Rated 7.75 / 10Rated 7.75 / 10 3.9 / 5
Recommended

This is a well made product which I am using as additional security for a motorhome whilst it is parked up. My only criticism is that the written instructions that come with the Bulldog are not very good, this slowed up my assembly and actually started me down a path of assembling it incorrectly. However, if you look at the online videos, they, in comparison, are very good and I wish I had started with them in the first place. Whilst this is an expensive product I am pleased with it and would recommend it to other motorhome users who do not have the benefit of secure storage.

Was this helpful? 1

Ike Verified Customer January 2016
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 4 / 5
Recommended

The Bulldog Centaur CA2000C is a perfect fit for a Landrover with 205-16 radials. It comes with clear instructions to put together. I did have a little difficulty getting the cover plate to lock to start with. Eventually realised that the angle of the bottom arms must be at a certain position to line up with shallow cutouts on the sides of the cover plate. Then it locks easily. This is a very strong and well made product. As a result it is quite heavy but netherless I still found it easy to fit and remove in less than a minute.

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer August 2015
Rated 7.25 / 10Rated 7.25 / 10Rated 7.25 / 10Rated 7.25 / 10Rated 7.25 / 10 3.6 / 5
Recommended

Very heavy duty and solidly built.

It's very heavy but that is probably what makes it so strong. An effective visual deterrent.

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2014
Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10 2.5 / 5

Getting the wheel clamp in the correct place to allow the red cover plate to fit can be fiddly but locking & unlocking the the central locking mechanism usually takes several attempts before it works. The unit however is robustly built.

Was this helpful? 1

Peter Scott Verified Customer November 2013
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 4.4 / 5
Recommended

Very well made. Gives you confidence that your vehicle is well protected.

Was this helpful? 1

D Smith Verified Customer April 2013
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 4.5 / 5
Recommended

Very secure. Slightly unwieldy to use but excellent for longer term parked vehicles

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

quality

Was this helpful? 1

D Moore Verified Customer November 2012
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 4.7 / 5
Recommended

Easy to understand instructions and very solid security

Was this helpful? 1

JJ Verified Customer November 2011
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 4.5 / 5
Recommended

Strong, secure, built to last. Great deterant. Heavy and a little awkward at first. Would not be so secure if it was not though!

Was this helpful? 1

Ian Wilson Verified Customer July 2022
Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Excellent product. Tough as nails and should delay any light fingered toerag from taking my pride and joy.

Its heavy, very heavy but when it comes to wheel clamps light = junk.

If you follow the instructions it's easy to put together and put in situ. However it's logical once you have done it once.

Was this helpful?  

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2022
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 4.5 / 5
Recommended

I bought this wheel clamp as I was after a very heavy duty wheel clamp to secure my new motor home. I found it a little bit awkward to fit at 1st but very secure once it’s on , after a couple of uses I am getting the hang of fitting it and it’s getting easier every time , I would highly recommend this product

Was this helpful?  

Jonathan Verified Customer January 2021
Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

This is a substantial piece of kit which is the only reason I have given it 4 stars under ease of use as its weight does make it cumbersome to use but which at the same time gives a good sense of security. The clamp took only a few minutes to put together and then adjust for the vehicle, there are good videos showing how to do this which are worth watching before starting as getting things in the right order is important and also they give a guide as to the best procedure for fitting. Altogether I am very happy with this clamp!

Was this helpful?  

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2021
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

A good well built product, easy to fit, looks robust

Was this helpful?  

Anonymous Verified Customer October 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent heavy duty clamp

Was this helpful?  

Don Verified Customer March 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

A great heavy duty piece of kit. You know you're getting what you've paid for in terms of build quality and security. Don't make the mistake of thinking this is particularly portable though. Easy enough to install but it weighs a fair bit so is best suited for home driveway based security and motorhomers for instance should be wary of the weight penalty to payload if carting it about. Not so much a problem for commercial van use I would imagine. Very speedily delivered, easy to assemble from package with clear instructions supplied and access to online support and video if required. As always, read and understand the instructions first. Very pleased.

Was this helpful?  

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2019
Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Great but a bit heavy, but that is the price of security

Was this helpful?  

This product has 30 reviews.