Bulldog Centaur CA2000C Commercial Wheel Clamp Reviews

Ref: BUL-CA2000C
Thumb image of 711.png
Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10

8.3 / 10 based on 21 reviews.

£245.58 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10
Security Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10
2 August 2018
Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10 8.5 / 10

This clamp was recommended by others with expensive motorhomes I must say I sleep better with the bulldog fitted , found it a bit tricky to fit but soon got used to the position of the clamp so cover goes on easily. the build quality really surprised me very heavy gauge steel,I park the motorhome on my drive so driving past the bulldog clamp is very visible , would be thieves will spot the bulldog and hopefully go elsewhere for a easier target , all in all I have purchased a top quality security device which I will recommend to others I meet on my travels.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 July 2011
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

High Security Robust Construction. Using key can sometimes be difficult

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 January 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

excellent, heavy duty. does the job its supposed to.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 September 2011
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

Strongly built and adjustable. Once locked onto wheel it would be very difficult to remove. Fiddly to put together, as instructions are not very clear. Not very easy to fit onto wheel.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

29 June 2011
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

Looks strong

Looks a good deterrent

Heavy to use & carry This is the trade off for being strong.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 February 2011
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Good build quality and security. A bit fiddly to fit, but gets easier with practice.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 February 2011
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Easy to use, very secure. A little on the heavy side but that is to be expected from such an item. I am generally very pleased with it.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 September 2018
Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10 7.5 / 10

The wheel clamp I bought is well made in terms of materials and security of welds and fixings but there are two issues I have with it. The first is it is very heavy and cumbersome to use. I can manage it but with difficulty. I suspect people with less tenacious grip and strength in the hands and wrists would struggle a little. That said so would a lot of the undesirables who would attempt to take the vehicle its attached to.

The second issue is the protection for the wheel nuts. I use it on a Series III Landrover with a 16 " wheel and the circular plate sits away from the wheel nuts sufficiently far to allow access to the wheel nuts from the side. The circular metal plate provided is also smaller than the diameter of the wheel rim. A slightly bigger steel disc in the centre or even better a cone shaped cover with the open end of the cone facing the wheel centre hub would better protect the wheel nuts from a direct attempt to remove them. Just a thought.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

15 February 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent product, good heavy duty build quality and fits well around the wheel. Locks on with a small degree of effort but by no means hard, unless you generally struggle with everything in life and need help gettin dressed. This is my second clamp as i sold the first with my caravan, this new one is a larger one for my motorhome that sits on my drive and i am very pleased with the clamp, the price and the rapid delivery from this company. Will certainly use these guys in the future and would recomend to others.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

1 February 2018
Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10 7.5 / 10

This product appears to do its job. Prevent theft of the clamped vehicle. I bought and fitted mine following an incident when a suspect made enquiries about my vehicle that gave me reason to suspect that an attempt could be made to steal it. For peace of mind I sought a deterrent.

1. The Bulldog Centaurs effectivness can only be truely judged after an attempt has been made. So far this, happily has not happened.

2. Bulldogs ability, on the other hand, as a deterrent works every day. It?s big and it?s bright red robust looks says KEEP AWAY.

I don?t worry now that it?s fitted. Okay, a little cumbersome to take off and on but that is well worth the peace of mind Bulldog gives me.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 February 2017
Rated 9.75 / 10Rated 9.75 / 10Rated 9.75 / 10Rated 9.75 / 10Rated 9.75 / 10 9.8 / 10

Hello,

I have quite a big investment in a Motorhome which requires more than the usual security arrangements.

The solid steel arms being secured in place with a large security nut facilitates the ease of fitting, which is covered with the bright red lockable cover.

The Bulldog Centaur CA2000C Commercial Wheel Clamp is by far the most robust, purpose designed and built currently available, and I have no hesitation in recommending this device to those who want peace of mind in the protection of their vehicle. The bright red colour is very conspicuous and warns potential thieves of this serious deterrent.

Brian Brown - February 2017

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

1 December 2016
Rated 7.75 / 10Rated 7.75 / 10Rated 7.75 / 10Rated 7.75 / 10Rated 7.75 / 10 7.8 / 10

This is a well made product which I am using as additional security for a motorhome whilst it is parked up. My only criticism is that the written instructions that come with the Bulldog are not very good, this slowed up my assembly and actually started me down a path of assembling it incorrectly. However, if you look at the online videos, they, in comparison, are very good and I wish I had started with them in the first place. Whilst this is an expensive product I am pleased with it and would recommend it to other motorhome users who do not have the benefit of secure storage.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

7 January 2016
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

The Bulldog Centaur CA2000C is a perfect fit for a Landrover with 205-16 radials. It comes with clear instructions to put together. I did have a little difficulty getting the cover plate to lock to start with. Eventually realised that the angle of the bottom arms must be at a certain position to line up with shallow cutouts on the sides of the cover plate. Then it locks easily. This is a very strong and well made product. As a result it is quite heavy but netherless I still found it easy to fit and remove in less than a minute.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 August 2015
Rated 7.25 / 10Rated 7.25 / 10Rated 7.25 / 10Rated 7.25 / 10Rated 7.25 / 10 7.3 / 10

Very heavy duty and solidly built.

It's very heavy but that is probably what makes it so strong. An effective visual deterrent.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

6 June 2014
Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10 5 / 10

Getting the wheel clamp in the correct place to allow the red cover plate to fit can be fiddly but locking & unlocking the the central locking mechanism usually takes several attempts before it works. The unit however is robustly built.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 November 2013
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Very well made. Gives you confidence that your vehicle is well protected.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 April 2013
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Very secure. Slightly unwieldy to use but excellent for longer term parked vehicles

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 November 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

quality

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 November 2012
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Easy to understand instructions and very solid security

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 November 2011
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Strong, secure, built to last. Great deterant. Heavy and a little awkward at first. Would not be so secure if it was not though!

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 November 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

After many months of searching for a suitable and robust deterrent, I eventually elected to purchase the Bulldog Centaur wheel clamp.

It arrived in secure packaging and although it requires some on site adjustments to suit the vehicle wheel size, the assembly was relatively straight forward.

Once all components were in place it was fairly straight forward to fit around the vehicle wheel and to close what I call “the claws” up tight to the tread before tightening the securing bolt which holds them in place. With that done the bright red front section slips over all three sections and is locked into place creating a solid visual deterrent to anyone with a mind for an easy steal.

It’s heavy, but that and the grade of metal is what makes this wheel clamp the ideal investment in vehicle security.

I have tried less expensive wheel clamps made of lighter material and they don’t provide the same level of security that is given by the Bulldog Centaur.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

This product has 21 reviews.