Sentry CFW20201 Waterproof Fire Chest Reviews

Ref: ST-CFW20201
Thumb image of 7405.png
Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5

9.4 / 10 based on 36 reviews.

£69.00 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Build Quality Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Storage Capacity Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Security Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Value for Money Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Reg Verified Customer March 2020
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

We bought this safe because we wanted to store legal documents like our wills and funeral arrangements etc somewhere that was going to survive the horror of fire should that ever happen so our daughter has it all in one safe place when the time comes. We also keep our computer back up disk in it as that also has precious things on it.

This small safe stores all that info, although it's a tight fit because of the rounded corners. You can't put folders in it but it does take loose A4 sheets etc and still have room for the PC external drive.

It was good to read that in the case of a fire the box becomes sealed and resists the water that would inevitably follow!

We had wanted to stand the box up on its edge but the instructions say to lay it down flat, presumably it makes it better in its ability to withstand fire.

All that said we are pleased with it and would recommend it to anyone wanting to store a small amount of precious things.

Was this helpful? 27

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Lovely safe , just what I needed .

Was this helpful? 19

Gill Verified Customer March 2020
Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5
Recommended

Great solution for home storage when you don't have space for a proper safe and don't want to dig holes in the wall or floor. Being flood proof as well as fireproof makes so much sense. It fits in all sorts of tight spaces, under things or behind things. Buying from the website was easy and delivery was efficient. My only problem was that, when I opened it up, the black finish on the case had what looked like a small cut in it. Only about an inch but it was quite visible by the handle. Because I live in a place that is difficult for shipping, I chose not to exchange it. The supplier guaranteed that the problem would not compromise the performance.

Was this helpful? 18

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2020
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

This is an excellent product. I bought it to replace a much older secure box. The new one is very robust with strong hinges and lock. It is heavy and this reflects its fire and water proof properties. The box it replaced which was also made by Sentry performed many years of valuable service until the lock broke. There is a new (hopefully more secure) lock type on this one. It is a little bigger than the original one so instead of having to fold documents A4 size) they now lay flat, meaning that the storage capacity is greater. Brilliant solution to storing valuable items.

Was this helpful? 17

Kim Verified Customer March 2023
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

This is the first safe that we have ever had. I chose it as somewhere to store important documents and our passports. I didn’t want the hassle of bolting a safe down and really like the fact that this safe has a handle like a briefcase. The only downside is that it’s a fraction too small for storing A4 size documents neatly. They all get a bit crumpled at the edges. That said, I would recommend this product- and have done so.

Was this helpful? 16

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

good product

good price

good service

Was this helpful? 15

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2023
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Good strong box

Looks and feels good quality

Hope I never experience if it is fire or water proof but the quality gives me confidence

Storage capacity is as stated A4 but with very little wiggle room

Overall great product

Was this helpful? 14

L Anderson Verified Customer March 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Yes great product, very well made, easy to use and very secure. I’m very pleased with the product. It is large enough to keep all my personal stuff in yet small enough to hide up.

The standard of materials used are excellent. I searched the Internet and this one was the best value for money. Thank you.

Was this helpful? 13

James Verified Customer February 2020
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Brilliant product and well built. The safe is heavy for its size due to its excellent fire and water protection. Excellent value compared to other products on other sites. Was out of stock but arrived without issue a few days later. Thinking of buying another. Ideal for storing money, documents, coins, stamps etc. Very impressed.

Was this helpful? 13

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Great product

Was this helpful? 12

Barry H Verified Customer April 2021
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

The safe is very robust and certainly gives the impression that it will withstand fire for a reasonable time and certainly prevent the ingress of water. The only slight issue is that it only just takes A4 documents , so if you place them even in a small folder they don’t really fit. A few millimetres extra all round would be a great improvement

Al in all a good product at a reasonable price

Was this helpful? 11

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2021
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Definitely pleased with this purchase. This is a very solidly built (and heavyweight) box. The photo is deceptive in that the chest looks a bit like a small suitcase. In fact it is a heavy steel container enclosed in a rather smart exterior. It definitely feels tough and secure.

My only quibble concerns the storage capacity which, as with so many home safes, is limited to A4. If it were large enough to hold a C4 envelope that would be great as I mainly use this to store documents and it helps to be able to keep them separated into groups.

Was this helpful? 9

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

It Does the job for what we want it for

Was this helpful? 8

Paul L Verified Customer February 2023
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Excellent product. I already had exactly the same safe along with others from the same company of various capacities. This one was bought as a Xmas present for someone who needed fire sage security for important documents. They are very pleased with it. The only disadvantage is that the safes are VERY heavy and not easy to carry even with a carrying handle.

Was this helpful? 8

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2023
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

The box is what I needed to store important docs such as deeds, will etc. A4 size docs fit easily. There is room to put other docs and valuables too, so was what I wanted. It is heavy so I wouldn’t be able to pick it up and run with it but hopefully someone could.

Was this helpful? 8

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2023
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

Happy with purchase and ease of use.

Was this helpful? 7

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Very heavy sturdy product, well priced.

Was this helpful? 7

Anonymous Verified Customer October 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Ideal size for what we needed, it does feel a bit on the weighty side once documents and the like have gone in, however my wife can lift it with one hand and carry it around without any bother really. Just what we needed and it wasn't that expensive either.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer September 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Good sturdy safe which easily stores all my important documents. Heavy. Appears well made. Would recommend

Was this helpful? 2

Dave S Verified Customer September 2023
Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Very solid and very heavy and seems well built. Key locking rather basic, but the latch seems very strong. Difficult to judge inside volume (my basic error) and curved corners slightly limit what can be held. Good value and I will certainly be buying another one as I need more secure storage space.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer September 2022
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Very pleased with my new document safe Very sturdy although heavy. I've marked down the build quality as the handle flexes when picked up. Otherwise excellent. Service from Safe Ltd was excellent with the item delivered the following day.

Was this helpful? 2

Paul L Verified Customer January 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I already had three Sentry safes in varying sizes but I needed something which is more transportable. This safe has a carrying handle but its build security makes it quite heavy to carry around. It is large enough, internally to take A4 sized documents. What I really like about it is that Sentry have upgraded their keys and the new style are now easily identifiable from my other safe keys. Once purchased online the item arrived very quickly.

Was this helpful? 2

AJS Verified Customer October 2021
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I wanted a safe box to store property deeds, wills, passports and other important documents. This does the job so well and for a reasonable price.

Safe from water intrusion and fire, Simple key locking, saves remembering codes or passwords. I would recommend.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2021
Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Nice safe but it would be much better if the internal dimensions were just a cm bigger.

Was this helpful? 2

Peter Verified Customer December 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Well made. Holds all our important documents just in case of fire

Was this helpful? 2

D Pascoe Verified Customer November 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I liked the clasp over the lid and bottom of the safe very much making sure the lid is closed properly before locking with the key, excellent. Strong yet surprisingly not too heavy.

I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2020
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Very good.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I purchased to keep key family documents safe in the event of a fire; hopefully I’ll never need to know how good it is. It comfortably stores A4 documents, though is heavier than I had anticipated. Hopefully a sign of quality.

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer December 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

So far happy with the product.

Was this helpful? 1

John Verified Customer December 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Amazing value for the price listed and can hold all of my documents without needing to fold anything in half like most of the other safes I've had. Build quality feels like a tank and while it may be a tad heavy it's sorta reassuring knowing everything is safely stored inside.

Was this helpful? 1

Diana Griffin Verified Customer December 2022
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Delivery fine with no fuss. All OK, but just a bit heavy to handle.

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2022
Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Appears well built (not been tested in fire or flood yet hence 3 out of five stars for security) but not quite big enough for standard paper and definately not when in an envelope'

Was this helpful? 1

EJ Verified Customer February 2022
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

This sturdy box is just right for our requirements and has room for documents such as passports, deeds and other important paperwork that needs to be protected from the possibility of fire. It is quite heavy but can be lifted to another area if required. It comes with two keys and a carry handle.

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2020
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

Good service, arrived on time, would use again

Was this helpful? 1

Gary Page Verified Customer March 2024
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Recommended

Easy procedure to purchase the item. Delivery instructions etc were excellent. Looks and feels substantial and its easy to use. I do have a problem with it though. However, too much hassle to return it. The rubber inside keeps coming away and have to try and re-bed it each time which is disappointing, when i had told others that it was very good value for money.

Was this helpful?  

Mark Verified Customer January 2024
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

We bought two of these, one for each of the kids. Now they've got their own houses we though they should have their own documents. We've used the old style version of this for many years and we've found they are ideal for A4 documents. They are very heavy so the handle on the new ones is a bonus and the change of key type is certainly a big improvement. In fact we are considering getting a new one for us.

This was the cheapest site I found the chests and the delivery was quick and hassle free.

I would highly recommend the chest, and buying them on this site.

Was this helpful?