Chubbsafes Alpha Plus 3E Reviews

Ref: CH-ALPL3E
Thumb image of 21dce2dd85688d39c6be50ced7f89a07.png
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10

9 / 10 based on 14 reviews.

£271.20 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10
Security Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10
Value for Money Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10
2 January 2015
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 7 / 10

Everything is fine with this product aside from one point: this silly alarm which starts as soon as you open the door. Anybody could hear and locate the safe. Even worse, if my mistake you leave it open, anyone could locate the safe and access it freely. To be honest that's a pretty dangerous feature and that's why I would not recommend it. Please let me know if there is a way to disengage that feature, i would greatly appreciate

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 February 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I had never considered that I needed a safe but when I sat down with my insurance company and totted up the value of the 'little things' that we own it became apparent that I did! We had exceeded the amount that an insurance company would cover without us having an alarm and a safe. I must add that we are not 'wealthy', we are just a normal couple who over the years have collected all sorts of stuff which has increased in value. I trawled the 'net to find a suitable safe and supplier and came across the Safe Shop. My search was ended - I found all the information I needed and above all a good safe at a reasonable price. We now breathe easy!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 December 2013
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Every aspect of the safe was exactly what we had hoped for. Of particular comfort was the back up backup power supply for use if the battery runs down and we could not open the safe.This item was supplied and was over and above what we had expected when placing the order.All in all we are more than happy with our purchase.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

22 November 2013
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

The product is sturdy and easy to use. Has some useful features, such as beeping to tell you when it is open. It's suitably heavy that it wouldn't be easy for someone to carry it away and comes with mounting bolts to secure to a wall.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

14 October 2013
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

product was exactly as described and easy to install

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 April 2014
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

simple to set up and operate. i've never had any trouble opening the door - it works first time every time. I like the chime that lets you know the door is open - overall it works exactly like I expect it to operate. A solid reliable safe.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 November 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This safe is excellent and very simple to use and easy to fit if you're DIY friendly.

The safe has a beeper sounding to remind you that that the door is open.

I have read one or two reviews which people have said that is is a nuisance but personally i think this is a good feature as should you be distracted, go out of the room etc it reminds you that you need to lock it as it is easy to forget to do this..a bit dearer but well worth it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

30 October 2015
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Arrived on plate very quickly undamaged. There were no missing items in the package. I decided to bolt the safe to a brick internal wall. For security I removed a section of skirting board behind where the safe was to be fitted. The instruction manual could be clearer, a set of diagrams with minimal words. I bolted the back of the safe to the wall with the fittings supplied. I would not recommend fitting to breeze block or stud partition as theft would be too easy. PIN code was easy to configure and took the advice in the manual to recheck several times before closing the door

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

23 July 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The safe is ideal for our needs fitting in the space of the old safe which the lock had jammed on. Price was good as well

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

23 April 2015
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Was looking for a good value home safe for important documents and items of medium to high value. This safe fitted the bill perfectly and I like the backup key option as well as the bypass battery supply in case the internal battery fails when locked. The size is just right and it all feels very sturdy and strong. Supplied coach bolts make for a good solid fix and the internal light fed off the batteries is also very useful.

Not so keen on the annoying bleeping when the door is open but I can understand the reason for it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

2 January 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I am really pleased with the Chubbssafe Alpha Plus 3E. It is sturdy, appropriately heavy and easy to install. It is simple to use and overall exactly what I was looking for. The capacity was sufficient to take valuables and A4 folders and it has a very useful internal shelf.

It took two of us to lift it to my desired location and this is a positive as it would be very difficult for a thief to take it away. The supplied bolts give added security and peace of mind. Having looked at many other safes I am delighted with the one I chose.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

13 November 2014
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Overall found ordering and delivery from safe shop very quick and efficient. The delivery guys kindly dropped off the safe to my first floor saving me the back ache.

Installation was reasonable although the safe comes with 4 holes for bolts and only 2 bolts. For extra security I bought 4 new bigger bolts from B&Q. The set up and pin code is straightforward and storage capacity large for my needs.

I subsequently found this safe cheaper through another company but safe shop refunded me the difference within a few days.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

17 July 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

First class service, very good delivery option with order tracking , wanted a safe to keep A4 documents safe , couldent fit a water proof safe in the avalible space so fitted this and used waterproof bags for important docs. adjustable shelf is great and gives added flexability, nice size for home use, had a slight problem with a minor cosmetic part missing but after sales service was second to none, part was in the post and delivered within a week , Chub even offered to fit it , but was only a push fit part so did it my self. great customer service and after sales, would definetly recomend. great product for home use.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 April 2014
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

The product came promptly and well packaged.

Set-up and installation were simple and though the instructions weren't comprehensive all it needed was a bit of common sense.

Since starting to use it, we have been very satisfied with the operation. The security will hopefully never be tested but it's big enough a chunky enough to put off most people. The fact that it weighs so much is deterrent enough.

A few bonuses were that it has an internal light which I wasn't expecting. You can relock the unit with one button too which you will want to do cos there's a really loud beep emitted when you leave the door open. Door is sprung loaded to open too which is a nice touch and the unit came with an off board battery pack which will help if the batteries die.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No