Bulldog DC400 Auto Clamp Reviews

Ref: BUL-DC400
Thumb image of 0dccff740fd2edd688226583763b02116.png
Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10

7.7 / 10 based on 13 reviews.

£137.63 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 6.1 / 10Rated 6.1 / 10Rated 6.1 / 10Rated 6.1 / 10Rated 6.1 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10
19 May 2016
Rated 7.25 / 10Rated 7.25 / 10Rated 7.25 / 10Rated 7.25 / 10Rated 7.25 / 10 7.3 / 10

The clamp is well made and once fitted deters anyone who tries to steal the vehicle. I would recommend it for use with most vehicles without difficulty, but did have trouble with my Landrover Discovery four. It was some time before I could get the clamp onto the wheel as the Y-shaped part would not click into the straight yellow part. I eventually managed to fit the device by taking off the two studs on the Y segment, when it could just connect with the last hole on the Yellow part. I emailed SAFE afterwards and asked if the studs had to be in place. They quickly replied with the answer that the studs could be left off and they asked me to send measurements of the wheel to them. I am sure they will have taken note of this and will make the necessary changes to the clamp to ensure there is no struggle in the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 February 2011
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Pros: High Quality. Well Made. Very Visible. Ideal for when parked on driveway. Cons: Takes a lot of space when stored, not easy to take in with you in a motorhome. Does not fold flat. But then, it is built like a tank. Heavy. A bit to big to take on holiday so have a smaller foldable one for that.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 September 2016
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

There is a knack to fitting it but once you have the knack it is easy. Withdrawing the locking pin with the key requires the two parts to the clamp to be 'jiggled' a bit, but again once you have the knack it is not a problem. The bright yellow disk is an obvious deterrent and I can't imagine how even a determined thief would remove it. Our motorhome moved on the chocks while the clamp was fitted and jammed the locking pin in place. But for some innovative thinking this could have ruined our holiday. The locking pin does require lubrication.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

28 April 2016
Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10 7.5 / 10

When I fitted the Bulldog DC400 Auto Clamp the first few times I struggled a bit, but once it was on I was very pleased with it. It fitted well without damaging the wheel or the bodywork. After a few goes I found a really simple way to fit it onto our Elldis Autoquest, and now I can get it off and back on in a very short time without much effort. As we have a false grass hard standing, kneeling to fit it is no problem, but I will need to take a mat or similar for use away from home. The design and quality seem very good and the bright yellow colour can be seen from the road, hopefully adding to the deterrent value.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

3 December 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Perfect. Very easy to use. Best on the market in this price range.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

18 June 2015
Rated 7.25 / 10Rated 7.25 / 10Rated 7.25 / 10Rated 7.25 / 10Rated 7.25 / 10 7.3 / 10

We purchased a motorhome earlier this year and store it on our driveway. As there is a significant risk of passing traffic and pedestrians the level of security contained within the motorhome was adequate but we wanted to be showing a visual deterrent to the opportunist would be thief.

The large bright yellow highly visible product was in our opinion the most effective under all heading.

The only problem with the wheel clamp that we are experiencing is the awkward positioning of the feed bar into the locking area. We have tried several methods or fixing the wheel clamp into the correct alignment to achieve being able to lock into position, but we still have four or five attempts before being successful. We are thinking that as the item is large and cumbersome...it has to be to fit the wheel size that is as it should be. Apart from the above delighted with the item and the level of service and advice we received from the supplier.

Thank you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

11 June 2015
Rated 8.75 / 10Rated 8.75 / 10Rated 8.75 / 10Rated 8.75 / 10Rated 8.75 / 10 8.8 / 10

I thought the product was very well made and strong. It is for securing our large motorhome. It is very easy to put on and take off (which is ideal when on a campsite) once you know what you are doing. I feel that due to the secure way of fixing onto wheels and the weight of it it would be quite difficult for someone to remove it quickly for stealing vehicle. All in all an excellent purchase which was decided on after days of researching into best one for our needs. I would not hesitate recommending it to others.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

19 July 2014
Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10 7.5 / 10

This clamp is very sturdy and well built. I wanted a clamp that looks like it will be difficult to tamper with and this fits the bill.

I use this clamp every day as it is fitted to a working vintage van that has no security . It is quite heavy so some people have difficulty putting it together.

The main issues we have are getting clamp over tyre with very limited room in wheel arch and then lining up the key bolt with one of the holes in the other side . Could have done with some markings as this is the hardest thing to do.

You are supplied with two keys but I got extra which is easy to do.

All in all a good purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

17 January 2014
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Easy to fit (with a little practice). Excellent visual deterrent. Sturdy construction.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

10 January 2014
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

Does what it says on the box. Sturdy and well built. Quite heavy to place on a wheel with a fairly close wheel arch. Better instructions on fitting the clamp to the wheel would be helpful.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

20 January 2012
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

good feel safe factor when its fitted on the motor home.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

17 December 2011
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

Pros: Once it is set up correctly to the vehicle (Fiat Ducato 2.8 TD) it is quite easy to fit and remove. Good visibility, lock well secured and unable to dismantle while fitted. Cons: Unless you are prepared to dismantle the arms after use and I am not, it takes up a great deal of room in a locker. Storing it within the vehicle without securing would be very unwise, with its weight, it could become lethal in an accident. I had to buy less bulbous hubcaps because there was insufficient adjustment on the clamps. My original Bulldog had protectors for the ends if each hook, but not with this one. Because of the above issues, I do not carry it with me, I only use it on the drive at home.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

19 October 2011
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Pros: Good strong device, good fit. Cons: Would have been better if lock was fitted with some kind of cap to protect from the rain.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

This product has 13 reviews.