Bulldog EM4x4SS Euro Clamp Reviews

Ref: BUL-EM4x4SS
Thumb image of 635.png
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10

9 / 10 based on 27 reviews.

£104.78 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10
Security Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10
Value for Money Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10
Roger Verified Customer November 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

I bought the Bulldog EM4X4SS wheel clamp for a motor home, i couldn't decide what means of security to use until I saw the bulldog EM4X4SS, its very visual with its bright yellow decals and soft yellow edges to prevent alloy wheels from being scratched and is very easy to install, fit both halves around the wheel slide together and push the lock "click and it's fitted. I can fit the Bulldog Em4x4ss in under 10 seconds and feels very secure when fitted, as soon as you pick up the Bolldog EM4X4SS you can tell it is solid and well made.I wish I had bought a Bulldog EM4X4SS when I had a caravan instead I struggled with a useless Alko lock, do yourself a favour and get a Bulldog EM4X4SS, you don't even have to line anything up. Five star quality and security.

Was this helpful? 15

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2011
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 4.5 / 5
Recommended

robust/good lock/heavy when in one unit, a little awkward to fit onto wheel first time use

Was this helpful? 11

Andy Renals Verified Customer October 2012
Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10 3 / 5
Recommended

It appears strong enough to deter a thief. The first time it got wet the plating discoloured and the lock became stiff

Was this helpful? 9

Taffy Evans Verified Customer June 2011
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 3.5 / 5
Recommended

Substantial clamp but fear that the lock is a weak point, especially to a determined thief. Is it any better than a crooklock? it's the same type of lock. PS I think you ought to state in your advert that it is sealed with a lock, but that it is not necessary to use a key to put it on.

Was this helpful? 9

Susan Verified Customer December 2016
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 4 / 5
Recommended

Brought for our motorhome. Can be a bit fiddly to take on and off but does the job required

Was this helpful? 8

Simon Hill Verified Customer February 2015
Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10 4.3 / 5
Recommended

I brought the Bulldog EM4x4SS Euro Clamp to use on my works van as one i had in the past that wasn't up to scratch, this Bulldog 4x4 clamp one was better as fitted onto the rim knowing it was meant for a bigger wheel, when you're not using it, it being small and almost compact it fits nicely away under the seat or space in the van so not in the way for passengers or load within the van, The euro clamp is easy to fit and doesn't take long to put on or off the vans wheel, its a great deterrent as a visual wheel clamp to so it noticeable when thieves approach if they had thoughts on stealing the van, i would recommend to a friend or work mate to get one and use it on there van/4x4

Was this helpful? 6

Lynne Sellwood Verified Customer January 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

My Husband and I were worried about the theft of keyless cars. So we looked on the internet and found your details, which were just the thing to keep our car safe. The lock is easy to fix and has that desired effect the will stop an opportunist steeling our car. It also gives us peace of mind. which is the good for us. There has been a lot of people that have asked us why we went for this lock and telling them may make more buy your products they are all thinking the same as us about how it was a good idea to buy this lock.

Was this helpful? 5

No Verified Customer March 2018
Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Purchased this product before we set off for France and Spain in our new motorhome. Stayed on Aires in France, stopped at services in England, France, and Spain as well as on camping sites in all 3 countries. Always fixed the clamp on, takes less than 20 seconds. Always felt vehicle looked and was secure. Will also leave it on whilst parked at home. Can't say more than i would highly recommend it. Only downside is having to buy locking wheel nuts as well, which aren't cheap. That aside a good piece of kit.

Was this helpful? 5

Mr E Verified Customer January 2018
Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10 4.3 / 5
Recommended

I already own a couple of Bulldog products for securing my trailer so when I was looking for extra security after the theft of my X5 and came across this product, I was confident of the quality and wasn't disappointed.

It's very easy to fit, especially when you've got used to lining it up so the lock can engage with the desired hole. There's lots of adjustment so should fit most wheels with the spec except maybe those with very small gaps between the spokes.

The soft plastic covering ensures there's no damage to alloy wheel, it's not too heavy and takes up very little space when stored.

Security wise, the only issue I can see is that it would be possible to remove the wheel with the clamp fitted, so I don't keep the locking wheel nut in the car when it's clamped as an extra precaution but I don't this it's a serious consideration.

Was this helpful? 5

Charlie Verified Customer June 2017
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 4 / 5
Recommended

Bought this clamp as additional security for my Vito van. Very easy to fit, solid heavy duty construction. Been using for about a month or so now with no problems. Good visual deterrent for chance thieves and keyless. Quick delivery, would recommend

Was this helpful? 5

Anonymous Verified Customer October 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Great product. Best price

Was this helpful? 4

Anonymous Verified Customer September 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Well made and solid. Easy to put on and remove.

Was this helpful? 4

Wooly Verified Customer May 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Perfect! Looks meaty, not like the cheap version. Any thief or chancer can see the quality so a great visual deterrent. If not I would like to see them get it off. I have looked at many security items for my Ford Ranger and this wheel clamp is by far the best I have come across. It wasn’t cheap but you get what you pay for these days. When you weigh up the cost of the bulldog clamp against the cost of a brand new Ford Ranger any one can see it is well worth the money. I am very pleased with my purchase.

Was this helpful? 4

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2021
Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

I bought this to secure my Land Rover Defender. It’s easy to get on and off, but robust enough to act as a deterrent. Great bit of kit.

Was this helpful? 3

Mrs Janette Wynne-Jones Verified Customer August 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Very easy to fit, comes off and goes on easily. Not too heavy for us ladies! It's a good bright colour so you can't forget it's there. It's study enough to deter most villains I would have thought. I always fit mine on the wheel outer most to view so I can't fail to see it and don't drive off with it on! Considering how sturdy and we'll made it is, it seems excellent value for money and compares well with other brands out there for comparable quality. I would definitely choose this product again were I to buy another for a second vehicle.

Was this helpful? 3

Julian Verified Customer November 2019
Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Robust, visible, solid. Just the deterrent needed!

Was this helpful? 3

Steve Verified Customer November 2019
Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10 4.3 / 5
Recommended

The EM 4X4 is an excellent product and fits a wide range of vehicles. I bought it for my motorhome which has 215/70 R15 tyres. It is very secure and robust and takes just a few seconds to fit. This version is for larger vehicles and is quite heavy but it is compact enough to keep in our motorhome for use on camping sites. I also have the smaller version which I use on a small trailer which I have had for over 10 years and is still working well. You just need to apply a drop of oil to the lock mechanism every 6 months. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this helpful? 3

Jack Verified Customer May 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

This is a very solid, sturdy piece of kit. It is relatively easy to fit and it doesn't take up much room in the back of the vehicle when it's not in use. The yellow plastic coating on the end of the hooks is very visible and seems to work well in protecting my alloy wheels from being damaged by the clamp during fitment. All in all I am very pleased with this purchase. The clamp is well priced when compared to other wheel locks on the market and it gives one that little extra peace of mind when leaving the vehicle unattended.

Was this helpful? 3

Steve Law Verified Customer September 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

So far I have found it very easy to fit and remove. I had to research several types due to the size of my wheels. I am very pleased to have settled for this product. I watched the video and quickly realised that the fitting of the wheel clamp is indeed a 10 second procedure. It is showy and weighty. I was surprised just how heavy it was. Certainly the weight has to be included in the total travel weight of the vehicle. Removal is simple after the key is turned through 180° the unlock position, then the lock bolt can be lifted and key extracted. The clamp can be eased apart.quite simply. I found from short experience that if the lock bolt is up and key lock position set to locked, you fit the two shoes together and toggle position to tightest fit, then push the bolt down into the nearest hole without the fiddle of the keys being present in the lock. A very simple, but secure product.

Was this helpful? 2

Graham Kerr Verified Customer January 2022
Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

This is a very robust wheel clamp and offers excellent security. The initial fitting took some time as you need to wiggle the bars around to depress the key and enable the locking mechanism to go down. After several attempts this became very easy to fit and unlock. Visually this is a very good deterrent and offers peace of mind protection against the most determined of car thieves. An excellent purchase.

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2022
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent and good value

Was this helpful?  

Brian Parsons Verified Customer April 2022
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

I purchased this Bulldog Euro Clamp for my motorhome to replace the smaller Bulldog model that I previously used on my caravan which I was very satisfied with.

The wheel lock is very robust, heavy and simple to fit. It is also very visible to a potential thief. I would also advise fitting locking wheel nuts at the same time for extra security.

A good addition to secure your valuable property.

Was this helpful?  

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2022
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

I’m very happy with the wheel clamp. It’s very easy to use and provides good piece of mind that the motorhome is secure

Was this helpful?  

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2022
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Easy to use this product ‘ straight out of the box’

Feels solid, being a good weight giving confidence in the product. Very visible when fitted. The bright yellow mouldings to the tips protects both the product and your wheels from scratches. ‘Bulldog’ branding on the outer face reinforces the ‘security’ message.

Was this helpful?  

Dave Verified Customer April 2022
Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

I found the clamp heavy and a little awkward to put on but that's possibly down to me. The clamp is basically robust, secure and a quality product. It is also small enough to be stored in the back of my motorhome when not in use. I'm sure it will put off the casual vehicle thief. I would certainly recommend it.

Was this helpful?  

Rosie Verified Customer February 2022
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 4 / 5
Recommended

Before purchasing, please make sure you check the size as there is one for smaller cars and one for 4x4’s. This product is excellent! Easy to use and secure. Highly recommend.

Customer services is so helpful too! The lady checked my car tyre size and explained that I had the wrong one for my car so I took that straight back to halfords and ordered the 4x4 one from Safe. Great company and very reliable!

Was this helpful?  

BJP Verified Customer February 2022
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 4.5 / 5
Recommended

Well made of heavy gauge steel. Quick and easy to fit and remove from the wheel. Comes complete with suitable protection so as to not damage the alloy wheels.

Definitely looks the part to deter anyone from attempting to steel the vehicle.

Would definitely recommend this to help protect your vehicle.

Was this helpful?  

This product has 27 reviews.