Era 262 5 Lever Sashlock Reviews

Ref: ERA-262-67
Thumb image of 5365.png
Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10

9.5 / 10 based on 53 reviews.

£18.28 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10
Ease of Fitting Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10
Security Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10
Value for Money Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10
Verified Customer November 2014 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

I bought this lock as a replacement for my existing lock. It was exactly as described and fitted the existing location perfectly without the need for any further tools other than a screwdriver. As I am retired female I was extremely pleased that I was able to replace the lock myself and avoid further costs for getting the lock fitted. Also the lock itself was extremely good value for money without compromising on the quality which is very good and substantial and makes you feel safe and secure in your home. The two keys provided are substantial and open and close the lock with little effort unlike others which can be difficult to turn. I would recommend this lock as it provides excellent security at a reasonable price.

Was this helpful? 27

Verified Customer February 2015 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

On consultation with your representative on the phone I was directed to the product that I required to replace my broken lock. I compared the price with other sites and it was extremely competitive. I ordered the replacement lock from you and the item arrived on time. All of the fitting instructions were enclosed and replacing the lock was a simple affair. Since it was replaced I have had no trouble with it. One minor complaint I wanted some spare keys with the lock but was told the it would delay the delivery by a week. As I required the lock quickly to secure my house this was out of the question so had to resort to a key cutting service to have some more cut.

Was this helpful? 26

Verified Customer October 2017 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 4.3 / 5
Recommended

As someone who is not very up to speed with do it yourself projects, I was very careful to get a lock with identical dimensions to the original lock, to fit my front door when the previous lock started jamming and made locking and unlocking the door a bit of a hit or miss affair.

I wanted to avoid having to perform any surgery on the door if the lock was not exactly the right size as I'm not very good with woodworking tools.

After a bit of searching online I found the Era 262 was exactly what I needed. The lock fitted perfectly and with no alterations needed to the door. Very, very pleased with this product.

Was this helpful? 24

Verified Customer August 2014 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 3.9 / 5
Recommended

The Lock eventually turned out to be exactly what I needed to replace one which had been carelessly broken by someone doing some work for me at my property. I had some difficulty in fitting because the original delivery was set up for a left handed door opening from the outside instead of the right handed set up which I required but had not made clear on my order. The original lock delivered was probably intended to be universal but I was unable to determine how to reverse the set up from left to right. This may have been my fault. However when I Phoned and explained the problem the response was immediate and a revised lock was delivered within 24 hours.

Was this helpful? 22

Verified Customer April 2015 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

The ERA product range is 1st class and up to the standard you would expect from a professional lock maker..

The fitting instructions are clear and the locks fitted perfectly fist time.

This is the second order for ERA locks that I have purchased and I am very pleased with both orders. I would certainly use ERA products again.

Security is very important to us as a business and you need confidence in the security products you buy.

I can honestly say that the ERA range of products has satisfied our need and will be the number one choice of product for the future.

Was this helpful? 19

Verified Customer August 2019 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 3.6 / 10Rated 3.6 / 10Rated 3.6 / 10Rated 3.6 / 10Rated 3.6 / 10 1.8 / 5

This was a direct replacement for an ERA lock that had broken. It fitted perfectly in the door but is of much poorer quality than the lock I removed. Many parts are steel not brass. The keys are really cheap looking with welds that look like they will break if any force is applied. The keys are also hard to fit in the lock.

Was this helpful? 12

Verified Customer July 2019 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

This product was at at very good price. Delivery was very fast and kept up to date with every stage of the order.

Would highly recommend your company.

The product was easy to fit and works very well much better than the original lock.

Was this helpful? 10

Verified Customer December 2019 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Very happy. well made, easy to fit, and all 4 use the same key to make life easy.

Was this helpful? 9

Verified Customer February 2020 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Great product

Was this helpful? 8

Verified Customer February 2020 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Purchased as Keyed Alike set for cupboards in our Village Hall. Good quality locks and keyed alike avoids haveing lots of keys.

Was this helpful? 8

Verified Customer January 2020 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Quality lock with short casing that suits my needs as my door is georgian framed and needs a shorter case

Was this helpful? 7

Verified Customer February 2021 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Very prompt and efficient service

Was this helpful? 6

Verified Customer December 2020 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Have used ERA products before, so I expected the build quality and ease of fitting. This product met all my needs and I strongly recommend this lock.

Was this helpful? 6

Verified Customer November 2020 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Used as a replacement for similar 5 Lever Sashlock that failed. ERA 262 fitted easily with no issues. Good quality and delivered on time. No problems. I would recommend this sashlock as a practical well priced item.

Was this helpful? 6

Verified Customer November 2020 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

This product is very well designed and built.

The dimensions advertised were accurate so fitting was a breeze and operation is smooth. I've had it installed for some time now and never had an issue, it's as smooth to operate now as it was the day I installed it. I'm extremely happy with the product and all aspects of the purchase process. The supplier showed excellent communication and delivered early.

I would highly recommend and will be purchasing again.

I've looked at a number of locks in comparison, none of which matched the quality, especially at the competitive pricing offered.

Was this helpful? 6

Verified Customer July 2020 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Very good service very helpful and recommended

Was this helpful? 6

Verified Customer July 2019 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent

Was this helpful? 6

Verified Customer June 2019 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

I bought this lock as a direct replacement for the one on my side door. I was hoping that it would just slot into place of the original but it did need a bit of basic carpentry to make it fit okay. However, this was very minor and well within the capabilities of the average handy person. The lock itself is excellent quality and the key turns with a very reassuring feel and click that it would seem very difficult for a criminal to manage to break into it. I would have no hesitation in either buying this lock again or recommending it to someone who has a similar need.

Was this helpful? 6

Verified Customer May 2020 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Great product from a Great Company. Will definitely use this specialist company again.

Was this helpful? 5

Verified Customer May 2019 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Looked for a replacement lock - found it -bought it - fitted it -locked it!

Was this helpful? 4

Verified Customer November 2014 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 3.7 / 5
Recommended

What I really liked about this product was the ease with which I was able to understand the instructions for fitting. The variety of finishes available is also good, although I am not so convinced by the keys, which seem a little flimsy when compared with some competitors' products. I am also going to have to see how the lock performs over a protracted period of time before I am fully convinced. I bought the lock to replace a similar ERA product that failed after just two years use, so the jury is still out. All in all though, great value, easy fitting and a good match available for most existing finishes.

Was this helpful? 3

Verified Customer May 2021 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

This a good product, sturdy and well made. I had no difficulty fitting it, though it wasn't quite the same size as my original one. I had to gouge out a bit more of the door frame in order for the tongue to fit. The guard was not the same shape as it fitted a french door, but I reused the old one instead, which worked fine. All in all I have found it a very good replacement for the original which must have been in for 15 years or so. It is a reliable product.

Was this helpful? 2

Verified Customer October 2018 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 4 / 5
Recommended

All good though if it was possible to have a sleeve that enabled key shaft to go straight in rather than having to wiggle around to get end of key in the right position to engage then 5 stars would be there..in fairnrss I don´t think any lock company has got this yet

Was this helpful? 2

Verified Customer August 2018 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Really well packaged, safe and secure to ensure no damage and marks. Very easy to install and supplied with decent screws, unlike many others I have come across. Plates are large and strurdy with no issues in aligning with bolt or mechanism. The lock itself feels very solid. You can tell it is made from solid quality materials, there is a real weight to it. The paint finish is thick and so should expect it to avoid rust well. The ability to have matching locks and keys over a range was a real bonus. Finally very good price after comparing against various competitors.

Was this helpful? 2

Verified Customer March 2018 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent price, easy to fit, a lot sturdier than the one I took out, excellent value for money, smooth turning, robust.

Was this helpful? 2

Verified Customer November 2017 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

An excellent functioning lock which resisted attack from a persistent burgler. After 1 year of fitting a series of these locks keyed alike, they still function smoothly without fault or friction. The lock and metal slot, which was attacked by crow barring in between the lock and frame, was only bent a little, still functioned and remained sufficiently secure afterwards, an older style standard lock with thin lock slot would have likely failed from such an attack. Well worth the small outlay.

Was this helpful? 2

Verified Customer October 2014 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 4.9 / 5
Recommended

I needed to replace an existing lock which had started to prove difficult to lock / unlock. I wanted a exact replacement in order to avoid having to re-drilling the screw holes etc. and was able to source this at the The Safe Shop.

The Safe Shop were extremely competitively priced - approx. 50% of the price of the major DIY retailers and their delivery was very quick indeed.

The mortice lock itself is of a very good quality - very sturdy which gives a great sense of security. Fitting was very straight forward - as it was a straight replacement and I am very pleased

Was this helpful? 2

Verified Customer October 2014 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 4.5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent build quality. For the price these locks are hard to beat. The keyhole covers look great on the door. The mechanism in the lock works smoothly and the bolt has a good throw. The instructions are very easy to follow and the measurements are all accurate. I bought a set of 3 keyed alike for a solid wood garage side door and they were quick to fit with no problems. The keeps are very strong and being boxed make it very difficult for a thief to try to cut through the bolt. Sorry this review is very long but I need 100 words to enter the prize draw. All in all though you can't go wrong buying these locks.

Was this helpful? 2

Verified Customer September 2018 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 4 / 5
Recommended

Good quality lock. Extra keys were good idea if not a little expensive and added to delivery time

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer January 2018 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Product is as good as any more expensive brand. Totally happy with it.

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer October 2017 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Perfect replacement for old lock. Bought with second lock keyed alike for stable style back door.

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer August 2017 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 4.6 / 5
Recommended

I found it very easy to fit as i was changing like for like. Only small adjustments as the new version was metric compared to the old imperial version. The movement was smooth and positive,a strong and solid item. I would definitely recommend your service to anyone.

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer March 2017 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 4.5 / 5
Recommended

I can happily report a very satisfied mother-in-law who can once again sleep peacefully knowing her back door is safe from unwanted ingress. This lock was purchased as a like for like replacement for an ERA sashlock that had provided some 30+ years good service. The product arrived swiftly and was well packaged. The lock itself was fitted easily with minimal fuss albeit with some minor modification required to the previous lock and strikeplates cut-outs. Once fitted the lock operated smoothly and easily. I am very pleased with this purchase and would not hesitate in recommending this product to a friend.

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer January 2017 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 4.2 / 5

The product become faulty after a short period the lock would jam attempting to open, this was the reason for replacing the previous ERA which had lasted 20years. No problem with the Safe as they very quickly replaced without question

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer November 2016 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Ordered 2 keyed alike locks to work with my existing key(s). Very good service and locks worked perfectly.

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer November 2016 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Used this lock to replace a 20 year old union 5 lever lock, (the return spring had snapped). I had to trim a very small amount of wood from existing hole.

The whole job took approx. 30 minutes.

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer August 2016 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 4.4 / 5
Recommended

Good quality product.

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer February 2016 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 4.7 / 5
Recommended

This is an excellent product that meets the security standards recommended by the Police and often required for insurance purposes. I am really pleased with it. The lock was sold at a very competitive price too, compared to other companies I researched. Their online ordering process is nice and simple. The ordering process is quick and efficient and the communications are polite and informative. Add rapid delivery, great packaging and a reliable product that arrived in perfect condition and was so easy to fit with the simple instructions supplied and you can see why I was so impressed. I wouldn't look anywhere else for another lock. It looks good too with a durable and modern finish. It is reassuringly heavy and looks well made.

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer February 2016 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Not only is the Fortress sash lock just the job for back door use, the keyed alike option from safe.co reduces the number of keys my customer has to carry around. I purchased two sash locks to replace a pair of old night latches which were unsuitable for the situation. The build quality of the ERA products is obvious as soon as you open the box. The keep is strong as well as the lock, and fits deep into the frame timber. It is easy to give my customers confidence in their security arrangements with these locks. A great family of products.

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer January 2016 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

A Top quality product - supplied with decent instructions!

You get what you pay for at the end of the day..

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer January 2016 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Replaced old lock

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer September 2015 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

This was to replace an old failed lock - the comprehensive drawings and description on the website meant it was easy to get an identical replacement and the job only took 5 minutes.

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer September 2015 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 3.9 / 5
Recommended

I needed to replace a worn out Chubb lock but the only lock of similar dimensions I could find was the Union 3K70 – apparently a direct replacement but VERY expensive and still not BS3621:2007 compliant for insurance purposes. With the aid of The Safe Shop website and data sheets I was able to satisfy myself that I could adapt my door to accommodate an ERA 262 Fortress - BS 5 Lever Sashlock so took the plunge and ordered one. The price was right and delivery very rapid. Installation was not exactly straightforward as I had to pack out the sides of the door mortice and slightly realign spindle and key holes – but because of the downloaded data sheets I knew that in advance and was prepared. Overall very happy with the result and the service from The Safe Shop.

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer September 2015 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

The only end plate I could find that had rounded edges. Really easy fitting, works perfectly.

Looking forward to many years of trouble free working.

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer August 2015 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

the product was exactly what I wanted and the whole purchasing and delivery cycle was excellent

thank you

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer August 2015 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Perfect to replace like for like product

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer July 2015 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent product good value for money and now happy with security

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer February 2022 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Ordered this Era 262 5 Lever Sashlock (67mm, Polished Brass)? to replace the Lock in situ that was giving me bother. After checking that the ERA was compliant with my Insurance I ordered it from SAFE after comparing a few different sites for price and delivery. Delivery was prompt and after checking sizes I removed my old sash lock and fitted the new one. You do not really need the Instructions as it is so straightforward, job done,well pleased with new lock. Will use this company again

Was this helpful?  

Verified Customer May 2019 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

What a service, I shop on line every day but I rarely come across such a service and attention to details, thank you.

Was this helpful?  

Verified Customer February 2019 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Good product exactly what i was looking for. Used to replace a worn out Era sashlock. Fitted strait in to old door and works great.Easy to order, fast delivery and a great price. Thanks.

Was this helpful?  

Verified Customer January 2019 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent robust product first class service as you'd expect

Was this helpful?  

Verified Customer January 2019 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent. Easy to install - very straightforward.

Was this helpful?  

Verified Customer December 2018 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Great lock works really well. However, the box keep to go into the door frame is painted grey NOT satin chrome as listed. This means the faceplate and box keep do not match. (Depends how fussy you are).

Definitely does not resemble the colour in the picture.

Was this helpful?