ERA 262 Fortress - BS 5 Lever Sashlock (67mm) Reviews

Ref: ERA-262-67
Thumb image of 03a0c8662ee1d84c831032fcfb4508df.gif
Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10

9.5 / 10 based on 20 reviews.

£18.72 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10
Ease of Fitting Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10
Security Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10
Value for Money Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10
25 August 2014
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

The Lock eventually turned out to be exactly what I needed to replace one which had been carelessly broken by someone doing some work for me at my property. I had some difficulty in fitting because the original delivery was set up for a left handed door opening from the outside instead of the right handed set up which I required but had not made clear on my order. The original lock delivered was probably intended to be universal but I was unable to determine how to reverse the set up from left to right. This may have been my fault. However when I Phoned and explained the problem the response was immediate and a revised lock was delivered within 24 hours.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 April 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The ERA product range is 1st class and up to the standard you would expect from a professional lock maker..

The fitting instructions are clear and the locks fitted perfectly fist time.

This is the second order for ERA locks that I have purchased and I am very pleased with both orders. I would certainly use ERA products again.

Security is very important to us as a business and you need confidence in the security products you buy.

I can honestly say that the ERA range of products has satisfied our need and will be the number one choice of product for the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

26 February 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

On consultation with your representative on the phone I was directed to the product that I required to replace my broken lock. I compared the price with other sites and it was extremely competitive. I ordered the replacement lock from you and the item arrived on time. All of the fitting instructions were enclosed and replacing the lock was a simple affair. Since it was replaced I have had no trouble with it. One minor complaint I wanted some spare keys with the lock but was told the it would delay the delivery by a week. As I required the lock quickly to secure my house this was out of the question so had to resort to a key cutting service to have some more cut.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 November 2014
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

What I really liked about this product was the ease with which I was able to understand the instructions for fitting. The variety of finishes available is also good, although I am not so convinced by the keys, which seem a little flimsy when compared with some competitors' products. I am also going to have to see how the lock performs over a protracted period of time before I am fully convinced. I bought the lock to replace a similar ERA product that failed after just two years use, so the jury is still out. All in all though, great value, easy fitting and a good match available for most existing finishes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

7 November 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I bought this lock as a replacement for my existing lock. It was exactly as described and fitted the existing location perfectly without the need for any further tools other than a screwdriver. As I am retired female I was extremely pleased that I was able to replace the lock myself and avoid further costs for getting the lock fitted. Also the lock itself was extremely good value for money without compromising on the quality which is very good and substantial and makes you feel safe and secure in your home. The two keys provided are substantial and open and close the lock with little effort unlike others which can be difficult to turn. I would recommend this lock as it provides excellent security at a reasonable price.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

30 October 2014
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

I needed to replace an existing lock which had started to prove difficult to lock / unlock. I wanted a exact replacement in order to avoid having to re-drilling the screw holes etc. and was able to source this at the The Safe Shop.

The Safe Shop were extremely competitively priced - approx. 50% of the price of the major DIY retailers and their delivery was very quick indeed.

The mortice lock itself is of a very good quality - very sturdy which gives a great sense of security. Fitting was very straight forward - as it was a straight replacement and I am very pleased

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 October 2014
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Excellent build quality. For the price these locks are hard to beat. The keyhole covers look great on the door. The mechanism in the lock works smoothly and the bolt has a good throw. The instructions are very easy to follow and the measurements are all accurate. I bought a set of 3 keyed alike for a solid wood garage side door and they were quick to fit with no problems. The keeps are very strong and being boxed make it very difficult for a thief to try to cut through the bolt. Sorry this review is very long but I need 100 words to enter the prize draw. All in all though you can't go wrong buying these locks.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

24 November 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Ordered 2 keyed alike locks to work with my existing key(s). Very good service and locks worked perfectly.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

10 November 2016
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Used this lock to replace a 20 year old union 5 lever lock, (the return spring had snapped). I had to trim a very small amount of wood from existing hole.

The whole job took approx. 30 minutes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

27 August 2016
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Good quality product.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

18 February 2016
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

This is an excellent product that meets the security standards recommended by the Police and often required for insurance purposes. I am really pleased with it. The lock was sold at a very competitive price too, compared to other companies I researched. Their online ordering process is nice and simple. The ordering process is quick and efficient and the communications are polite and informative. Add rapid delivery, great packaging and a reliable product that arrived in perfect condition and was so easy to fit with the simple instructions supplied and you can see why I was so impressed. I wouldn't look anywhere else for another lock. It looks good too with a durable and modern finish. It is reassuringly heavy and looks well made.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

4 February 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Not only is the Fortress sash lock just the job for back door use, the keyed alike option from safe.co reduces the number of keys my customer has to carry around. I purchased two sash locks to replace a pair of old night latches which were unsuitable for the situation. The build quality of the ERA products is obvious as soon as you open the box. The keep is strong as well as the lock, and fits deep into the frame timber. It is easy to give my customers confidence in their security arrangements with these locks. A great family of products.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

28 January 2016
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

A Top quality product - supplied with decent instructions!

You get what you pay for at the end of the day..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

22 January 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Replaced old lock

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 September 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This was to replace an old failed lock - the comprehensive drawings and description on the website meant it was easy to get an identical replacement and the job only took 5 minutes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

17 September 2015
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

I needed to replace a worn out Chubb lock but the only lock of similar dimensions I could find was the Union 3K70 – apparently a direct replacement but VERY expensive and still not BS3621:2007 compliant for insurance purposes. With the aid of The Safe Shop website and data sheets I was able to satisfy myself that I could adapt my door to accommodate an ERA 262 Fortress - BS 5 Lever Sashlock so took the plunge and ordered one. The price was right and delivery very rapid. Installation was not exactly straightforward as I had to pack out the sides of the door mortice and slightly realign spindle and key holes – but because of the downloaded data sheets I knew that in advance and was prepared. Overall very happy with the result and the service from The Safe Shop.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

17 September 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The only end plate I could find that had rounded edges. Really easy fitting, works perfectly.

Looking forward to many years of trouble free working.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

16 August 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

the product was exactly what I wanted and the whole purchasing and delivery cycle was excellent

thank you

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

13 August 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Perfect to replace like for like product

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

3 July 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent product good value for money and now happy with security

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No