ERA HomeGuard Smart Alarm Pro - Elite Kit Reviews

Ref: ERA-HOMEGUARD4
Thumb image of 12934.png
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5

8.8 / 10 based on 14 reviews.

£449.00 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Build Quality Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Value for Money Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Michael Verified Customer May 2019
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

I've had my homeguard elite for about 8 months. This was a home install and was very simple. I bought this because of the app/ WIFI option as I travel a far amount and I'm pleased with the interface. The equipment is well made and easily expandable. I did have a couple of problems (resulting in a replacement siren) that frankly was no issue because the customer service with ERA was outstanding, they were knowledgeable, human, quick responding, I could not find fault with them. I had a false alarm (my fault- shed door not shut and I was not near my phone) my neighbour phoned ERA and ERA phoned me, delighted with the help there!. Gripes - it would be nice if I could rotated the camera remotely and the app in my android phone tells me it is using the battery, although it does not consume any more battery than without the app. As for Safe, no problems. They kept me up to date with my order. Would I buy this again or recommend to a friend= yes.

Was this helpful? 25

Peter Baker Verified Customer June 2020
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

We like this alarm system,the advanced technology being able to operate from a mobile phone is a huge advantage over the old manual alarms. If there is a false alarm our neighbours can text us and we can switch it off without getting a keyholder to come around to the house. The alarm is good value for money without having a costly service contract. We did have some teething problems due to our lack of understanding of how these systems work, we found the operating manual difficult to follow but the ERA helpline is excellent with operators with the patients to go through the problem ( you can teach old dogs new tricks, it just takes longer ) Thank you ERA

Was this helpful? 24

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2020
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

I had previously installed a wireless alarm myself, and accordlingly ordered the kit only. In the event I had great difficulty in connecting the system to my wifi and eventually had to pay an additional sum to have the system installed. The engineer also had difficulty in linking the two, but his greater experience enabled him to do so in the end. The engineer was very concientious and fitted all the units to my satisfaction. Now that it is installed the unit works very well, and I feed the property is well protected. I need to buy a memory card for the camera for greater protection, I do not really understand why this is not included as standard. Overall I am very pleased with the system, but due to the difficulties installing I would probably buy an alternative system if I installed another

Was this helpful? 24

Peter Verified Customer September 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

The items comprising the system I needed were as described and provided a scalable bespoke solution. Delivery of my selected items was prompt and they were protectively packaged. Self monitoring of the system means you can avoid monthly charges, even using the optional mobile SIM card as a back up is cost controllable on a prepaid basis. I found the system easy to self in stall and had no issues with achieving quick connectivity and integration of the various system units. I did encounter an issue with fitting one door contactor unit to a UPVC French door but this was quickly resolved by talking to ERA and Safe who arranged or a substitute PIR monitor to be sent to cover that room.

In summary easy to install and connect, value for money , flexible kit configuration and no ongoing monitoring charges.

Was this helpful? 23

Shirullah Sayal Verified Customer July 2019
Rated 3.3 / 5Rated 3.3 / 5Rated 3.3 / 5Rated 3.3 / 5Rated 3.3 / 5

Good Afternoon there,

I'm going to be totally honest here, my experience of Era HomeGuard Pro has been a bumpy one because the system had few issues. The hub was not going online after three weeks of working fine so I had to call and replace the hub. Currently, the alarm system is working fine but I had few issues with the sticky pads that come with the system to set up the Door Sensors on to the windows or doors; I had to buy the sticky pads from a DIY store.

I hope that the system will continue to work and if it does then my feedback will become 50% more positive.

Many thanks to Era for replacing the hub within couple of days!

Regards,

Shir

Was this helpful? 23

Steve Verified Customer April 2020
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

Bit sceptical on wireless products such as home security, but this has been spot on since fitted .

Works as it should

Was this helpful? 22

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2020
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

Really easy to use, build quality appears to be very good, though, only had the system up and running for a few months so little early to comment on reliability.

Was this helpful? 21

M Goodwin Verified Customer April 2020
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

I have waited over 3 months before writing this review as I wanted to have experience of using the system so that my review was accurate and genuine. I have found the system was fairly easy to install. being completely wireless apart form the mains connection to the alarm hub. I have 4 room sensors, 2 door sensors, 2 remote control button pads, 2 solar charged alarm boxes on the outside of the house, one at the rear and one at the front, and one remote panel. It is worth taking time to consider the best location to install the hub, to take in to account the distance from your wireless router, and also the furthest sensors on your system. I have installed a movement sensor in my garage which is located about 10 metres from the main house, and so installed the alarm hub mid way between this and the router. I have had no issues with false alarms other than one faulty door contact which gave off 2 false tampering alarms, and this was replaced without question following diagnosis over the phone. The app on the phone is great, although I wish there were widgets available instead of having to open the app. I have also installed a ERA camera, which is good as it is visible via the app, but I think a good improvement would be to make the camera only record when the alarm is triggered (just a thought ERA}. I have a springer spaniel who has never triggered an alarm even though he is left in the house with the alarm system on when we go out. I also like that it can text or call your mobile (up to 6 mobiles) if the wireless system (internet) is not working for any reason, as long as you install an appropriate SIM card. I have, and it does work. All in all I have been very pleased with this alarm system, and have recommended to my children to install at their houses when they feel they need one.

Was this helpful? 21

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2019
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Great product

Was this helpful? 21

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2020
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

Had included installation service from safe. Overall had great service support from safe.

The era solution support is good, good configuration options and good cloud solution. However era installation documents are not that easy to guide you through self install without support from era team. But they do give good phone support. Overall the era solution seems to work well and seen no issues so far.

Was this helpful? 19

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2022
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

very easy to install and does the required job, the only reason i'm giving a 4 star is because the kit i bought comes only with an inddors camera and even though ERA has got some outdoor cameras but they are not compatable with my kit, so if to install an outside camera i will need to have a separate stand alone system, if this was indicated on the website while purchasing i would have bought the system compatable with the outdoors camera, apart from that it is a brilliant system

Was this helpful? 12

David Verified Customer May 2021
Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5
Recommended

Out of the box I was very impressed with the build quality of all of the items. Initial setup was fairly straightforward, pairing the solar siren with the control box before putting it up on the wall (the built-in spirit level is very useful!) then pairing the magnetic sensors and PIRs.

Initially I had some difficulty with the app configuration, although the ERA service centre were extremely helpful and you can call them back should you need further assistance.

The only issue that I had was mounting on of the PIR sensors, as they have to be within 1cm of one another but this was challenging due to the door frame profile. However, ERA suggested a spacer kit which worked a treat!

Overall very impressed and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a self-install security system.

Was this helpful? 10

M Verified Customer May 2022
Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5
Recommended

The product itself has had a few minor glitches. Overall tho would rate it 10/10. Easy to use, easy to change settings. The more significant issues were entirely down to the installer who clearly didn't know how to instal the system and spend 3/4 of the day on his phone to check how to do it. Even then still had to correct several issues caused by the installer

Was this helpful? 8

Adam Verified Customer April 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

This is the second ERA HomeGuard alarm we've had - we left the first one when we moved house and for us, it was a no-brainer of a choice to get another one.

It's very simple to set up and use and it fits our requirements very well. All of our doors and windows are protected by sensors and we have added PIRs and the camera for full coverage. I especially like the ability to have different modes so that we can lock the doors and alarm them at night, but us and our animals can still move around the house without triggering the alarm.

Simple, easy and effective.

Was this helpful? 6