ERA HomeGuard Smart Alarm Pro - Superior Kit Reviews

Ref: ERA-HOMEGUARD3
Thumb image of 12932.png
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5

8.9 / 10 based on 48 reviews.

£359.00 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Build Quality Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Value for Money Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Zuby Verified Customer September 2018
Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5
Recommended

After a lot of research and debate over the right alarm system for my house, I opted to try the ERA wireless smart alarm.

I must say, it's not bad at all for the price, considering the pros you get from the package. I was torn between the Yale smart alarm and the ERA, and the ERA won simply by screenshots I saw of the app as compared to Yale's app.

Installation:

Installation was impressively easy; you set the alarm system into test/pairing mode, and each sensor that you trigger (i.e. if its a PIR room sensor, just wave your hand in front of the sensor) the alarm system "learns". You can then name the sensor whatever you want, like Front Door, Living Room etc, and that's it.

Configuration:

The hub is quite easy to configure, once you've followed the steps above to set up all your sensors/triggers, connect the hub to your WiFi and ilnk it with the app following the instruction leaflet.

Usage:

The one thing I love about this alarm are the push notifications and ability to control the system from my mobile. I can arm/disarm, trigger an SOS, view alarms triggered and which sensor was triggered all from my phone.

You can also set zones on the sensors, and set which sensors should be working when in "Home" mode (i.e. when people are at home or at night, you can set which sensors should trigger an alarm).

Sometimes the door sensors get a bit confused, and when arming the alarm it thinks a door is already open when its not. I've found this is because of the battery-saving features in the sensors, if the door is left open for a little too long, the sensor goes to sleep and doesn't seem the know the door was closed again.

Pros:

Ridiculously easy to install, massive pro

Never had a false alarm

Mobile app is good

Batteries have lasted a good 3 months so far, and still going strong

You can take the alarm off mains power, and it'll still keep working for 30mins whilst warning you about the power cut

Tamper alarms on all components means if anyone tries to move the main hub, or dismantle any sensors the alarm will trigger

Multiple people can have the alarm app installed

Cons:

Sometimes the door sensors get confused

Sometimes the app is a little slow to respond

Siren isn't painfully loud, but loud enough - push notifications kind of supersede the need for a loud siren I guess

Was this helpful? 70

Simon Verified Customer June 2018
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

I wanted something that didn’t involve high monthly monitoring or maintenance contracts. I wanted something that would alert me directly but also be remotely accessible in the event of a false alarm e.g whilst we are away. This works via the smart phone app, connects using wireless at home, and I have added a £5 a month SIM so it will still work if the power or internet goes down for some reason. I added additional window sensors and PIRs than came in the pack so it is quite comprehensive now. All doors and large window openings have sensors and large areas have PIRs. Of course you can go OTT but they are not too expensive and the batteries I hope will last a long time so low ongoing costs.

A few false alarms when we have forgotten to disable cause the alarm to go off inside, outside and the phone starts calling me at the same time as an alarm in the app. Panic kicks in but that’s what it’s meant to do.

Has the option to set a ‘home zone’ so at night time you can select which sensors are active e.g. disable upstairs PIRs for night time toilet trips.

One gripe is the door/window sensors are quite bulky so the anti-tamper switch is tricky to have flush as it sits to one side. Would be easier in the middle or have slimmer units. A little pricey for the initial pack but so far, really happy with the solution. Would recommend.

Was this helpful? 53

H B Verified Customer April 2018
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I searched many alarm sysytems after we had a break in. I started looking for a wireless wire free alarm system.

I decided on Era Homeguard pro and im well happy its easy to use, never had a false alarm, remote control is a must it works like a car alarm remote. my house is quite long so i bought 2 solar sirens for each side of the house its so easy to set up it took me 30 minutes set up. I will recommend this alarm system to anyone.

we feel safer now

thank you ERA for making this easy to use wire free wireless alarm system.

Was this helpful? 42

Anonymous Verified Customer August 2018
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

The ERA Homeguard Smart Alarm Pro Superior Kit was a great choice. The set up is extremely straight forward and compared to the last alarm I fitted made by another manufacturer 6 or so years ago is a doddle. I have the ERA app on both Android and iPhone and both very easy to navigate and use. The most difficult part of set up is the alarm box but this is to be expected and the great thing about the box is that it utilises a solar strip. I would also like to praise the team at Safe. I was unsure which alarm to choose and phoned the sales line, the guy on the end of the phone was fantastic, very knowledgeable and helpful. The questions he asked and answres i gave steered me towards the ERA Homeguard when I wasn't necessarily going down this route. I was extremely pleasantly surprised by this service. Once ordered the delivery came promptly. 5 star rating all round from safe

Was this helpful? 35

GerryO Verified Customer October 2020
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

I am quite experienced in CCTV and alarm systems although I do not do it for a living so after much research, thought this would be pretty easy. Service from Safe was great and arrived very quickly during the lockdown. Product is well packed, pretty good build quality and stylish units that will fit nicely in most homes. I have 4 PIR’s, 2 contact switches, 2 key pads and an outside siren (and the hub).

Started with the instruction manuals and that’s where the problems began.....they are just not well written! And when you try the online manual it actually differs from the mini printed ones. Because of this, what should have taken me a couple of hours took me much longer. I even had to call support because the siren tamper kept going off when I was setting it up even though I had it in test mode!!! (Turns out it was not paired correctly even though the instructions said it was?).

Ok, once it was set up it worked well. The App is quite intuitive but can also be a bit confusing. It is not the easiest system I have set up or used and for the money, I would expect better so would not necessarily buy one again.

So in a nut shell, ok but could be a lot better, cannot really recommend.

Was this helpful? 26

Richard McEwan Verified Customer February 2021
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I recently installed my ERA HomeGuard Pro Alarm.

I purchased the basic kit and added extra PIR’s and Door Sensors, and a keypad and dummy alarm box.

I spent best part of the day installing my system and to be honest it was easy.

I unboxed all the items and ‘paired’ them to the main Hub prior to installation. It was a simple process and all worked first time.

Furthermore, this alarm system is pleasing on

the eye, not like some others I’ve seen.

The external siren is loud and I like the fact that it’s solar powered which will save me climbing up to it every couple of years to change batteries.

I would recommend this home alarm system.

Was this helpful? 25

Kiel Wright Verified Customer October 2018
Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5
Recommended

Was very easy to install and simple to use. Door sensors don’t fit all UPVc doors, particularly my patio doors given their profile. Very easy to add new and additional peripherals. Would certainly recommend.

Was this helpful? 25

Chris Verified Customer September 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I spent a lot of time comparing this unit to the Yale offering and opted for the era unit for a few things.

The amount of kit you can add to this unit is great and even better that the IR sensors are all pet friendly. You can add all sorts to this.

One issue I did pick up on is that the instructions aren’t the worlds greatest but manageable once you’ve had a good read. RFID tags are great as are the remotes. One thing I would say need improving is for era to take into consideration that a lot of new homes now have upvc doors and windows. I found getting the door sensors close enough on the patio doors a pain and had to build up and pack out the sensor on the door for them to meet properly. Maybe something for era to look at.

Overall would recommend this unit to anyone. Great bit of kit and easy and straight forward to use

Was this helpful? 24

Anonymous Verified Customer December 2020
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Easy to instal and set up

Was this helpful? 20

Mou Verified Customer March 2021
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

very easy to install. the product itself is well made and works perfectly. The customer service is fantastic as well.

Was this helpful? 19

Michael Verified Customer May 2021
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Amazing product. Easy to set up.works perfectly with no random false alarms. App very good 👍

Was this helpful? 16

Anonymous Verified Customer October 2021
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Installation was very easy, with each of the individual units having detailed instructions and some pre-configured.

The App was straightforward to use, and adding any units that weren't pre-configured was very easy indeed with just a few clicks.

I purchased an additional solar-powered siren, and that was also very easy to set up in the App.

I wanted text alerts, as well as backup if the Wi-Fi went down for any reason, so I obtained a Pay As You Go SIM from ASDA, which installed without issue, and adding the numbers to receive texts or calls was straightforward.

All in all, the installation went without problem and was very quick!

I would highly recommend this ERA system.

Was this helpful? 11

John Verified Customer August 2021
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent bit of kit ! Easy to set up just a word tho if your using the sticky pads then get some stronger ones for the sensors as they did drop off. Apart from that excellent value for money and great app to control from anywhere. Also they have a great Teq team are always there to help if you have any issues.

All round great package for the kit and the technical team to help out with any issues and easy spares to replace if any faults down the line at reasonable prices so a 5 star product !

Was this helpful? 11

Hannah Verified Customer June 2021
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

We chose this system because it was wireless, easy to install yourself and it came with the solar powered external alarm box. The solar powered alarm was a key component for us as we didn’t want the hassle of having to change those batteries. The batteries on the sensors etc inside the house are easy to change but we’ve not had to change them yet (alarm has only been installed for the past 6 months). Easy to link devices to the hub and the pet sensors seem to work well. We have a border collie and she hasn’t set the alarm off yet.

Was this helpful? 11

Tony Waddington Verified Customer April 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Such an easy system to install and use, would recommend to anybody installing the system themselves, the alarm looks good and is not oversized, the panel is not obstructive and fits in with modern décor. As well as the panel the alarm can be set when away from home so if you do forget to set it when you set off you can do it from anywhere.

Was this helpful? 8

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

This bundle is excellent value for money and allows further ERA accessories to be added with ease. My items were delivered within a couple of days of ordering and with my limited experience of alarm systems I had my system installed and working within 6 hours of opening the box. Each individual accessory has its own instructions which are easy to understand and after downloading the app which accompanies the system they can be easily paired and set up.

The system allows numerous accessories to be paired such as the external alarm, additional PIR sensors and door sensors. I especially like the use of the fobs and remote controls to arm and disarm the system as this doesn’t mean all users need access to the app or admin code.

I will definitely be recommending ERA alarm systems and more than likely add further accessories to my system in the future.

Was this helpful? 7

Anonymous Verified Customer August 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

An excellent DIY home alarm system that is easy to set up and easy to expand. Excellent combination of arming / disarmng options, and the ERA app for iphone works brilliantly.

Was this helpful? 6

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2019
Rated 1.5 / 5Rated 1.5 / 5Rated 1.5 / 5Rated 1.5 / 5Rated 1.5 / 5
Recommended

A bit disappointed with this product, bought a whole system at £500 , when it works, it does work well, but often the movement sensors don’t activate and only start working again when you press reset button.

Telephone help line very good and this has mitigated the other problems.

Was this helpful? 6

Mark Verified Customer May 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent alarm so far. The installation for the sensors take some getting used to at first, there are 4 leaftets fot the different sensors for installation, but once mastered its pretty good. I think a manual that explains the set process a little clearer if you have bought a full kit as opposed to having to work it out first. Constructive commenmts not a complaint though.

I like the App. controll and notification from this alarm as ive put a sim card in. I like the ability to change zone preferences even after set up. In fact its easily customisable once installed and a setting to turn it all off during maintenance. The wireless (Solal powered) outside bell box means no electrical feed required outside. This would have been messy due to location required from the decorated bedroom. It has its own communication hub too. I bought extra sensors and these were added seamlesly (once i knew how to do it). Ive even used one of the door contacts in a cupbard, on a home made slide plate sytem, that is connected via a wire cable to my motorbike at the side of my house. This is on the night time or home setting with the door and window sensors - not the pir sensors. Im very happy with the qaulity and functionality.

Was this helpful? 5

Anonymous Verified Customer October 2019
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

I had been searching the market for a while looking for a wireless intruder alarm. I can safely say this is the best decision I made what a great system. My garage is also about 30 metres away from my house and the alarm works perfect. I would defiantly recommended this system.

Was this helpful? 5

Anonymous Verified Customer October 2019
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

Great system - easy to install. Although, I feel the instructions could be slightly clearer. The only thing I do not like about the system is that the outside siren box beeps each time it is set, which means if you set it late at night it disturbs neighbours. Unfortunately, because of this I have completely turned off the siren - which defeats the object of having one. The instructions are zero help in solving the issue. Other than that it works fine.

Was this helpful? 5

Chris Davies Verified Customer February 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Decent bit of kit, easy to setup and use.

Since install the app has been updated regularly which is good, now displays full screen on iPhone X.

Would recommend anyone looking for a smart alarm to consider ERA. I did look at others but felt the pet friendly PIR included and the small foot print of each sensor made it the obvious choice.

Only has one false alarm when the cat jump onto top the kitchen cupboard, however easy to disarm and re arm when away from the house as not to annoy the neighbors.

The external siren is very loud and flashes blue when triggered. It also gives you an audio beep when armed or disarmed which is good when leaving the house to know it’s on and working.

Was this helpful? 5

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

The kit is a reasonable cost when compared with the equivalent kits from other manufacturers. It was straight forward to install but I did have a couple of issues setting it up but a bit of time on the phone to era sorted out the problem which was the position of the base unit and its ability to connect to the accessories, I had to lift it up a foot to give it better coverage. Once I had done this it has plenty of range and reached to my garage which is 20 plus metres away with no issues but for peace of mind I added a range extender that was easy to do as with any of the accessories. The test function is also very useful and helps you position the PIR's for the best trigger my only criticism would be some of the instructions are not very clear and their online videos would of been a great help to work through the issues I had with this and many other simple mistakes people make when installing this type of alarm.

Was this helpful? 4

Bradley Wakelin Verified Customer March 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I brought this alarm about 3 months ago and i can honestly say that i am really impressed with it and its a great bit of kit. Very easy to set up and app is simply and easy to use and can be monitored anywhere in the world. I have also the sim from 1pmobile which works a treat. The company have thought of everything regarding this kit. Would recommend it to anyone

Was this helpful? 4

The B Verified Customer September 2019
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

Not the easiest thing to set up but overall a great alarm system. Yes the alarm sensors are easy to install as they stick to the wall and sync with the alarm base and install the app on your phone. But to setup or change most of the features of the alarm, such as making the outside siren beep when you set or disarm the alarm, is not possible on the app - instead you have to do a intricate set of number formulas on the keypad to do this. Its a bit 1990 in that sense to be honest.

What was VERY annoying was the random rubber thimble like piece rolling in the siren box when we got it - it isn't listed or identified anywhere in the box contents leaflet. I could not for the life of me work out what it was until days after I had put it up on the side of the house 2 floors up - eventually identifying it as a rubber water guard for the tamper button on the back of the siren that goes against the wall. I had to drive an hour and a half again to get a ladder to take it down and fit this part and put it up again - very frustrating.

Also the door sensors state they can be stuck or screwed yet do not come with the screws so trying to find tiny screws that are the correct fit is painful.

The plug adapter for the base had a high pitch squeal to it - when I called ERA they sent a new one out straight away.

Was this helpful? 4

Peter Verified Customer May 2019
Rated 2.8 / 5Rated 2.8 / 5Rated 2.8 / 5Rated 2.8 / 5Rated 2.8 / 5
Recommended

Pretty easy to set up. Issue I had was I have had constant problems with door contacts. They are less than 5 meters away one with no wall between one with from the hub but don’t register with the hub when the doors open, although the sensor lights up. Tried 2 or 3 now. Kind of defeats the object of having them.

Was this helpful? 4

Gary Verified Customer January 2019
Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5

The alarm itself is well made as are the sensors, and very easy to fit and configure. However, it is let down by the app (review relates to IOS but I believe the Android version is the same). The alarm fairly regularly loses contact with some sensors, or forgets what their last status was. This means every time you arm the alarm from the keypad or a remote you get a push message saying one or more sensors is not closed. Doesn’t tell you which one though which would be quite useful. However, if you arm from the mobile app, it pushes a message with the exact problematic sensor meaning the software knows exactly which is problematic, so why not push this through with the email and/or text alert? It’s important information to be given as you risk having an unprotected entry point. The app needs far more logging and alerting regarding the status of the various sensors. I have loads of Smart Home products and they ALL do this. It also needs to be better presented on an iPad screen.

I always carry the thought in the back of my mind to decommission this alarm but keep hoping for a comprehensive app update which stops me from doing this. I will only wait for so long though.

Was this helpful? 4

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2020
Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5

Nice looking items. However, we paid for fitting and the engineer had inadequate training in this product. He spent a lot of time sitting in his vehicle reading up about it, took much longer than predicted, and left the hub sitting in the hall without its back on and without screwing it to the wall. So I am left to finish the job. Very little instruction was given on how to operate the system because he wanted to get away. I am left reading up the paper and online guidance.

The system has days when the alarm sounds for no reason and it takes a few tries to get it to say disarmed (it keeps going back to armed). Fortunately, we have always been in the house when it has done this.

The phone app also keeps going to 'Offline' which means I have to reboot my phone to get it to work. In fact, that is the situation as I type this.The app gets mainly very poor reviews and in my view that is justified. That said, the key fob works reliably.

Was this helpful? 3

Andy Verified Customer June 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Absolutely brilliant piece of kit. I researched alarm systems for a long long time before buying, before settling on the ERA due to the great feedback.

Pros:

- Really, really quick and easy to set up

- Great build quality

- App is great to allow you to arm/disarm if before or after leaving/entering house

- Haven't had any false alarms so far

- Unlike some other systems, instructions are really clear and easy to follow

Cons:

- Genuinely haven't discovered any cons yet having used this system for over a month

Was this helpful? 3

Mark Verified Customer April 2020
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

The alarm itself is good. The principle is ideal. I particularly like the various methods of being able to set and unset the alarm. Installation was really easy and the initial setting up was ok once i got my head around the homeguard app menus.

I had an issue with the solar alarm box in that the tamper alarm persistanly triggered. I had to ring ERA support who acknowledged the issue and made a couple of suggestions which has now rectified the problem. Full marks to them.

The phone app is rather poor as it very often shows offline which is inconvenient when trying to unset and set the alarm.

Overall a good product but could be better with a couple of simple tweaks.

Was this helpful? 3

Jon Verified Customer March 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Bought one system in November for my daughters new home. I was impressed with the ease of DIY installation and the value for money. I was also impressed with the push notifications to mobile along with the ability to remotely arm the system if you forget to set the system when you go out. In fact, I was so impressed that I have now bought a second system for my own home upgrading from a older SA5 Response system that was still working ok and had given 15 years good service. I hope the new system lasts as long. The replacement of lead acid with lithium batteries in the hub and exterior alarm box will reduce maintenance which is great. All in all some great improvements over my old SA5 system.

Was this helpful? 3

Stephen Verified Customer February 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I found this product good value, and easy to use. However I found the instructions were printed very small and on blue paper, making it hard to read. But the technical department were very helpfull.

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2019
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

I'm not a big review writer so here goes - overall a very useable product, seems well built but there are some teething issues and functions missing that disappoint.

I have the separate keypad, would be nice if you had the option to plug it in to a power source and would be a definite plus for the keys to light up so you can see it in the dark, and maybe an indication as to what mode it's in, armed, home etc.

Connecting it to a Google home device is thwart with errors.

The app consumes a lot of battery power on your phone, but has got better in subsequent updates.

I like the remote control fobs but it would be nice if the keys were colour coded in some way as the symbols for lock and unlock are almost identical for those of us not blessed with perfect vision.

Not sure about battery life yet, only time will tell but everything else seems to be well built, looks nice and modern.

My biggest complaint about the system is that it does NOT tell you if you have left a window or door open when you arm the device, that is bad, I know you should check before you go out, but things can sometimes get missed if you are in a rush. Please sort this out, it would be a very good feature, my old alarm that this replaced did that function.

Was this helpful? 3

Sarah Verified Customer September 2019
Rated 3.3 / 5Rated 3.3 / 5Rated 3.3 / 5Rated 3.3 / 5Rated 3.3 / 5
Recommended

It's absolutely not perfect. The door sensors frequently alert the system as being not closed when arming, even if they are. The app for Android is poor, it runs permanently in the background with a persistent notification that can't be dismissed. Actual notifications are hit or miss, not sure what it's like for iPhones.

Overall, the alarm system works, even if it beeps as if the sensors are not closed. The siren sounds instantly and is very loud, I only use the internal siren and not the solar powered outdoor box. It gives me peace of mind when I leave the house. The wireless keypad and fobs work very well. Had it all about 6 months and the batteries are all still good.

Was this helpful? 3

Jason T Verified Customer August 2019
Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5
Recommended

Pro's:

- Easy to install, as nothing has to be wired

- App is ok, makes things easy to configure

Con's:

- I've had issues with alarm activation even when it's not switched on

- The system can send SMS messages on alerts. I have had multiple SMS messages being sent instead of 1 (costing me money)

- I've also had reception issues between the siren box and control unit (even though they are only a few meters away).

All of these issues have been reported to the ERA support team, who pretend to be helpful but haven't actually managed to resolve anything yet, even after several months.

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2018
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

Fairly easy installation, and so far the alarm has proved reliable piece of kit. Product updates seem slow though, in the 3 months I’ve owned the alarm there have been no functional updates to the app nor any firmware update to the device. This is a shame as I would have liked some additional features to be made available (such as custom alarm setting profiles etc). But I guess “if it ain’t broke don’t fix it” should prevail when it comes to home security.

Was this helpful? 3

Ian Verified Customer June 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Extremely easy to install, great interconnectivity with the iPhone, excellent customer support. Would definitely recommend for d.i.y installation.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2020
Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5
Recommended

The product is generally easy to set up. Some of the guidance on set up of different detectors is general but still no difficult to set up. Initially the push notifications where all coming through sim even though the wifi was set up. This seems to have sorted itself out after deactivating the sim and activating it again.

Was this helpful? 2

David Ew Verified Customer April 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Ordered the ERA HomeGuard Smart Alarm Pro, which arrived safely and well packed, I used a professional alarm installer to set it up in my house, however, I believe that anyone with DIY experience should be able to install the system, I was also impressed with the ERA HomeGuard helpline, calls where picked up quickly and the staff were extremely helpful and knowledgable. The system has been up and running for a few weeks now, no false alarms or problems to report, just works, which in turn gives me peace of mind. One other bonus is that the actual outside alarm box has solar panels, so going forward, should save having to replace batteries.

Was this helpful? 2

Colin Oliver Verified Customer March 2020
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

The system is really good and I feel that for the money it is an excellent way of securing your home. Once setup (setup was a bit of a faff and the instructions did sometimes contradict themselves and the instructions were produced with a blue background, which means that printing it would cost the earth in blue ink), it functions very well and is easy to use once you understand the quirks and I've knocked off a couple of stars because of those quirks: the Android App is very flakey in that often it says the system is offline and you have to stop the app and restart it and only then will the system come online. Secondly, if you were to leave a secured window open the system will still arm but not advise you that there was an issue. If these quirks in the app could be ironed out I would give 5 stars.I also have to say that the ERA company support team are excellent and were extremely helpful in getting me up and running and were able to offer advice for questions I hadn't yet thought of.

Was this helpful? 2

John Verified Customer March 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

The alarm system is very easy to set up, instructions are clear. Fitting of sensors so easy, and the test facility makes setting up quick and accurate. One of the major points is that ability to set timers so that the system automatically arms and disarms without you having to remember to set/unset. Also, the additional accessories are very easy to set up and allow for a simple expansion of the system. It’s also useful to have the notification of entry and exit both audible from the external siren as well as indication on your smart phone. It’s an excellent product and well worth the money the feeling of security it brings to you.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2020
Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5
Recommended

Sticky pads for windows did not lasted approx 3 months, but apart from that the system was easy to install and would recommend to family and friends.

Was this helpful? 2

Adam Verified Customer September 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Really impressed with this alarm system. The setup was very easy and it's really easy to control from either a smartphone app or a choice of remote control devices.

It's also highly configurable, meaning that you can set up a variety of zones for different areas of the house and control them independently for different situations. That means that at night, you can have the doors or other entryways alarmed, but still move around the interior of the house without setting off the alarm.

Adding devices was easy and the app is simple.

I'm very happy with this purchase and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a modern alarm system.

Was this helpful? 2

John Verified Customer August 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I wanted a smart alarm accessible through wifi, mobile network and also via sim card should the wifi network drop out.

ERA HomeGuard Smart Alarm Pro - Superior Kit ticked my requirements and the reviews on Safe looked good.

I placed the order with Safe, including installation, delivery was made on agreed date and the installer contacted directly to arrange fitting date. The app was easily set through the Homeguard app on my phone and the install was done quickly too.

Using the alarm through keypad, fobs and also through mobile app is so easy. The components can be individually set with delay timer, named and the homeguard setting allows for components set to be zoned.

I added a pay as a you go sim and have tested triggering the alarm, this sent an sms message form the sim card advised which component triggered the alarm, emails are also received via wifi.

Very impressed so far, now have peace of mind when away from home.

The alarm has had two firmware updates since install both without issue. Definitely recommend both Safe and Era.

Was this helpful? 2

Andy Verified Customer August 2019
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Very easy to install and operate. The software for emote monitoring works very well and gives peace of mind when away from home. Easy to reset remotely when the mother in law sets the alarm of by accident which is a bonus. I would recommend this alarm if you are looking for something with remote monitoring at a good price.

Was this helpful? 2

Scott Verified Customer July 2019
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

I was a bit sceptical before buying this product, but it was the only one that ticked all the requirements I had at a reasonable price.

I took a punt with it and ordered this kit plus a load of accessories - extra motion sensors, door sensors, 360-degree sensor etc.

I installed most of the kit in one evening (about 2-3 hours) and had it all set up and working to my liking.

I continued to tweak the set-up, for example I was kept setting my alarm off when going out the back or front door (main entry/exit point is my side door) as I would forget the alarm was armed and I only used the time delay on my side door, so instead, I have now set all door sensors to a time delay so that this gives me a chance to run and disarm the alarm before all hell breaks loose. I would also follow the manufacturer's recommendations in regards to the alarm sounder unit - they state to not install it for 4-6 weeks which is understandable as in the first few weeks I kept setting the alarm off while I was getting used to it and setting it up to my liking, my neighbours wouldn't have been impressed had I of installed the sounder along with everything else. Once I sorted out any issues and had it tuned in to my lifestyle then I knew I could install the sounder with very minimal false activations.

So far I've been fairly impressed. The app, while it isn't going to win any awards for ease of use or design etc. it is still very functional and I have had no issues with it so far, although I would recommend the RFID panel beside your main entry/exit as it is handy to arm/disarm in a hurry.

Overall 4/5 stars, I've had it up and running now for about 4 months and have had no major concerns with it (bar the additional 360-degree sensor which just doesn't work at all). Another point to note is all product support is provided through ERA and not safe.co.uk - ERA support is only available Monday - Friday 9-5pm, so if like most people you have a 9-5 job then you're out of luck when it comes to talking with someone about any fault. Best wait til you get a holiday day and give them a shout then.

Was this helpful? 2

Jonathan Verified Customer March 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Was looking for a wireless alarm system to replace a very old and no longer working wired system, the Era HomeGuard Pro ticked all the boxes for me, small and unobtrusive main hub, plenty of additional sensors and the ability to add more if required.

The system was easy to setup and the PIR's and door sensors easy to fit, likewise for the keypad with the fobs simple to connect. Haven't gotten around to fitting the external siren yet but wouldn't expect any issues given the simplicity of setting up the rest of the system.

The app is simple to use and easy to give access to other members of the family, adding a sim card gives the alarm text and or call facility should the alarm go off.

One PIR does occasionally false alarm but that is due to my placement of the PIR and not the system itself.

I would, and have, happily recommended this system and safe.co.uk to friends and family.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2019
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Overall the Homeguard alarm system is great value for money. However some technical knowledge is required pairing the sensors and setting up the keypad. Sensors can sometimes be a little temperamental and the mobile app fails to load. Overall I would recommend this system for security and peace of mind.

Was this helpful? 2