FireStar Fireproof Office Safe Reviews

Ref: SAF-FSHL
Thumb image of 7649.png
Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10

9.1 / 10 based on 101 reviews.

£249.00 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10
Security Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10
Value for Money Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10
13 January 2011
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Telephone customer agents were excellent. The safe is exactly what we wanted for a reasonable price. So we are pleased.

There was a chip on the safe which was a bit disappointing. But it wasn't worth sending back for a small chip. This appears to be something done before the safe was sent as the transit packaging was very protective. The only serious gripe was the delivery company who did not deliver on the day arranged and then proceeded to tell us that they had done two attempts. Even though we knew this NOT to be true.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

15 December 2011
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

It does exactly what it says on the tin. Everything works as described.

Particularly good for our use is that it can take A4 files, ring and lever arch, vertically, and still leave the tray above for smaller items.

Minor comment only:

- the twist handle, if left clockwise, means the door can be closed without having to re-enter the combination; but if not opened carefully the vibration can shake the handle back round.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 August 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Good value, easy to use. Would have preferred key option in case combination number is forgotten.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 July 2012
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

The safe is good quality and value. Even though shown as large, I still struggled to fit A4/foolscap files/papers when together other items on the shelf. I may have too much stuff!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

14 June 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

easy to use

4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 December 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The safe was delivered promptly, I asked for it to be put inside my front door and this was done. The fixing was completed by myself, it was one of the larger safes not too heavy to slide around. It is easy to open and even easier to close. I needed a fire proof safe as I wanted it for keeping documents, data backup discs in etc. There is plenty of space inside with a small slide out shelf which is useful for keeping jewellery in and another adjustable shelf. My advise is decide what you want to store in the safe, get inside measurement to check items fit and for what it costs go up one size, its better to have more space than not enough

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 December 2014
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

I was looking for a safe which would accommodate a laptop and camera equipment as well as the usual documents, and this fits the bill. It is fireproof and bolts to the floor easily (depending on your floor!). The instructions are reasonably clear as far as setting the combination goes, and it's worked like a dream so far. The dial and keypad feel a bit flimsy but I am sure do the trick just fine. There are some key hooks inside the door which is quite useful as well. Looked around for a while to find the safe that fitted my requirements and was within budget, and this was the only one. The interior is metal, so I may fit some carpet or something to protect the laptop a bit more.

A good purchase.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 October 2014
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

I recently purchased this fire safe from the safe shop because it had the added security of a £20,000 rating for valuables. I have previously bought a safe from the safe shop and I have found them very helpful and professional and their recommendations’ are spot on. Delivery on this and the previous occasion has been very prompt and issue free. Safes are very heavy objects but are packed well and therefore arrive by courier undamaged ready for installation. The safe is well constructed heavy duty and looks like it would not be easy to break in to. It protects valuable papers and hard drive data against fire and indeed theft. The only issue is the plastic feel to the handle to open the safe but I can live with that. I would certainly recommend this safe and the safe shop and if in doubt phone them as they give good help and advice for your peace of mind, insurance, and security

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 October 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

We bought this safe as a reaction to having a fire at the property so this made us think about what we might have lost had the fire brigade not arrived in good time to put out the flames. I realised I needed something for storing very expensive computer dongles and also to keep vehicle registration documents, passports, property deeds and other items that would be difficult or time-consuming to replace. The safe has a shelf to divide this up and makes organising the contents easier. Access to information is also simplified. The small plastic drawer split into small compartments is ideal for storing a back-up data drive and also computer dongles. The safe can be bolted to the floor or a wall but at 50kg is not something you'd want to pick up and carry very far. Getting in and out using the keypad is simple and the fact that the battery compartment is on the outside means I can change the batteries without the faff of having to access the inside when they're dead.

The whole thing feels chunky and well made and hopefully will provide enough fire protection should we ever need it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 February 2013
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 7 / 10

Good solid buid. could not change door orientation.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 February 2013
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Decent size at sensible price

3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

31 January 2013
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Liked how heavy and strong it is. Like the idea of putting multi combinations in.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 January 2013
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Ther product is very robust and very easy to use.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 January 2013
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Easy to use and solidly built

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

29 November 2012
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

extremely easy to set up, compact safe, fits perfectly in our office and large enough for our needs

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

1 November 2012
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

Easy to use

Good capacity

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 October 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Good product, easy to use. Battery access from outside a good idea.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 October 2012
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

has a handy tray at the top of the safe

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 October 2012
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

easy to set up. sturdy. good internal capacity. plastic tray is a bit flimsy

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 July 2012
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

Easy to operate and with 2 security codes in case one is lost or for different users.

The safe was bought primarily for critical documents & PC data storage althoughthere is enough space (just!) for a laptop to fit in (albeit diagonally with shelf out) while away on holiday.

reasonably easy to fit the secure floor bolts.

It's very heavy to try and move when installing! Although this is a bonus from a security viewpoint as it would really take 2 people to move it.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 June 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

At eighty kilos it takes two people to lift this, plenty of space for laptops inside and keypad makes it easy to share across the family. I cannot imagine anyone getting into this without an angle grinder and hours to spare. Incredible value, at this price a no brainer. The keypad is plastic and could easily be vandalised, but there is no quick way for burglars to get in without the combination.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

15 June 2012
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Reasonable interior capacity, and very easy to use

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 April 2012
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

I liked the ease of use and the price. I didn't like the fact that the first safe was damaged when it arrived. The safe is heavy and not easily manouverable but these could be good points as well as bad ones!!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 February 2012
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

The safe is ideal for a small office to store computer data and paperwork safely and securely. Overall very happy with the product. Has not been put to the real test (fire!) and hope it never is. Had to remove shelf and drawer to enable laptop to fit. A bigger safe would have been better, but then it would have been bigger, heavier and more expensive. Safe was purchased with the stated specification.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

1 February 2012
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Its functionality is great and easy to use, and looks like it will last a long time.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 January 2012
Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10 6.8 / 10

seems to be good but have not tested in a fire! would like to have manual access as well

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 August 2011
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Very easy to use the combination lock. Our fault - we should have gone for one size bigger (we didn't take account of the thickness of the walls!)

3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 February 2011
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Easy to use

appears well made

3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 February 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Easy access easy to secure to floor. Supplied batteries failed but replaced with duracell and all seems ok

3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

15 February 2011
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

it does what we wanted

3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 February 2011
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

good value poduct,good storage capacity and better value for money than large diy store options and "leading names" brand products. keypad could have a slightly more substantial feel to it.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 February 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

great little safe for home use plenty of internal space for all personel docs.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 February 2011
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Excellent value.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 February 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

I love it! There was only one very small guy to deliver it and it was lucky there was a strong man here who could help him carry the safe into the house.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

26 January 2011
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

all as expected but i can only give a rating of 5 for security as i would not know how good it really is!! poor instruction manual.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 August 2015
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Great safe for keeping valuable documents in. Plenty of room for A4 and foolscap folders. I even managed to get another fireproof box inside on end so possible to double fireproof really important stuff. Small item drawers st top and key hooks make this a really good home safe. Heavy enough to make trying to carry it awkward which is what you want! All in all an excellent safe.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

13 May 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I did a lot of research on safes before I brought one and I was always drawn back to this one and so glad I did. For a household safe it ticks all the boxes at a very good competitive price, it's very well built,strong,secure,big enough in side for a4 papers,the tray inside is also handy and is so heavy you don't really need to bolt it to the floor!!! If your thinking of a safe like this you won't be disappointed id highly recommended the large fire star one off the safe shop. Thanks for everything.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 April 2015
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

The safe is heavy enough that I don't worry that currently it is not bolted to the floor, though it will be. As it took two of us quite an effort to get it to the location it would take similar effort to remove it.

The combination system means that I have been able to set a code that would not be easy to guess or estimate and thus I feel perfectly secure using it for family valuables. The build seems very good and all in all I am very happy with the purchase of the unit for home security.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 December 2014
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

A well build safe, simple to use yet solid and secure. This safe is extremely heavy for its size, so not necessary to bolt down, but you have that option if you wish. Copes with large A4 ring and box files and similar sized documents, as well as the tray for smaller items such as jewellery and money / passports. The key hooks on the back of the door are also useful. Overall, a very good product for the price.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

13 November 2014
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Excellent product, easy to use and capable of doing the job I purchased it for. No problems.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 October 2014
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Excellent product and overall good value for money.

Easy to use and seems well built.

I researched the market quite extensively and this was the product which won outright overall.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 September 2014
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Excellent service received from store staff prior to placing an order. Delivery was on time and the delivery man even helped me to carry the safe to its first floor location. What an unexpected bonus! A pity that the internal storage space is not a centimetre or so deeper. It is just too short to accept an A4 file.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 July 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I would certainly recommend The Safe Shop, good clear website with a good selection of safes, easy to order and very quick delivery. Chose this safe as we wanted one large enough for the laptop to fit in, which it does. The safe was easy to fit. We decided to buy a safe after a relative had items stolen from the home. We feel happy having the extra security. We also chose this safe because it was fireproof and wanted somewhere secure for important documents such as certificates and passports. Our son sold a car the weekend after we had the safe fitted and we could place the money securely in the safe until the bank opened on the Monday.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 July 2014
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

We are pleased with this purchase. The drawer is especially useful for keeping the smaller valuables and documents such as passports and there is ample space for files below. The hooks on the door are also useful. To prevent things getting cluttered in the main part of the safe I have made a tiered shelf section to one side from thin plywood on which things such as little jewelry boxes can be stored. The construction appears to be robust and its certainly too heavy to be easily removed. To make unlawful removal even more difficult I have secured the safe with the fixings supplied which was a straight forward job. Operation of the access mechanism is also straight forward. We are pleased that we purchased the large version.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

31 January 2014
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Very good strong product, it takes two to handle unless your are a weight lifter.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

30 January 2014
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

The safe was exactly as described and met my expectations.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 January 2014
Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10 6.4 / 10

Floor bolts supplied were too short, but had some longer ones in my garage. Size not that big, I would class as medium not large.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 January 2014
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

The safe I purchased (Firestar Safe (large)) was bought for home use and fulfils all my requirements. It is a very robust and solid unit. It came with everything I expected, even including batteries for the electronic keypad on the front.

The unit is very heavy and I would caution anyone purchasing one to seek assistance if planning to locate it any distance from the point at which it is delivered!

My only (very small) gripe about this safe is that the pastic cover for the batteries in the front-mounted keypad comes off very easily. I'm sure that this could be rectified with a small, self-tapping screw, so it isn't a major issue in the slightest.

I've had the safe for several months now and amvery pleased - a happy customer!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 January 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Good size and well built Very good price looking at others that I have seen on the internet.

Can not be easily picked up. No one could run

of with this safe.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 January 2014
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Good value for money, and hopefully, it will keep my documents safe in the event of fire.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

13 December 2013
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Well priced, sturdy and attractive safe. Can keep our house deeds, passports etc. as well as jewelry etc. safe from fire and theft.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

31 October 2013
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Excellent safe. Just what we required.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

15 August 2013
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

exactly as it says in the advert. Very easy to set up and use

2 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 September 2018
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

It?s perfect does the job and everything said about it on the website is true. Would definitely recommend!!!

Adam, Leeds.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 August 2018
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

All is well but the internal dimensions are not chosen with usage in mind. When using the shelves, the width is 297 mm (measured by myself) which means that you can store a sheet of A4 (297 x 210 mm) paper but if that is in a folder or in a file pocket the total length will be 305 - 310 mm, which make the storage awkward, requiring to bend it. I am sure the designer never used one of his products at home...

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 August 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

A very good product, well built and sturdy, easy to use and set up and very secure. we are very pleased with the safe as it fits in very well with our needs, programming the safe number is just like using a hotel room safe very easy and can be changed very quickly if necessary.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 July 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The safe is extra sturdy and highly durable. Its class finish and easy of operation and confirmed security is brilliant and highly dependable and trustworthy. Indeed, a great asset for a great security coming with a quality customer support and guarantee. Would recommend anyone straightaway.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 June 2018
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Ours is located on the floor of a poorly lit cupboard so it was a hands and knees job to get it up and running - using instructions that weren’t particularly easy to follow.

Now that it’s up and running it’s just fine. We had hoped to store a 15 inch laptop in there but it would have to go in on end.

It is pleasingly heavy - I would defy any burglar to carry it away as they did with the previous safe! All in all it is a very good buy which would recommend to anyone seeking a small office safe.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 May 2018
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Nice solid safe. Hefty, but one person can lift it into position. Once secured to floor it's going nowhere.

Not big enough for an A4 folder without bending it and the cash box we have in there has to be propped on it's side. But with those concessions it holds everything we need secured OK and fits neatly in the gap we had available for it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 May 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I looked at multiple safes before we purchased this one. I returned one due to the misleading capacity statement. The capacity on this safe has enabled us to store old style plans and legal documents which would not fit into the standard A4 sized boxes. It was also really easy to fit following the instructions provided. The fire rating and insurance cover value exceeded our expectation. It is really simplistic to use with the electronic key pad and battery replacement panel is easily accessible. I have recommended this to other parish clerks for safe storage of historical documents.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 May 2018
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

I have had the safe for a few months now with no problems or issues. The draw in the top is useful for little bits and pieces and the main body of the safe is the size described and is ideal for my requirements. I'm not a safe cracker, but it seems sturdy and secure to me. I have also not yet started a fire around the safe to test its fire rating...

I used the installation service, as I don't do DIY. The installers were friendly and arrived on time on the agreed date with the correct safe and completed the installation in around 30 minutes.

All in all, the whole thing was hassle free and well if you want a safe this size, with this fire and security rating, I would recommend it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 April 2018
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

Solid construction, weighs @ 50Kg, so it is not a light item. Yet to be tested on security features (as no one has attempted to break into it yet!), but trust that the pre-manufacture testing was done correctly.

Not the cheapest safe on the market, but nor is it the most expensive, and has the benefit of being fire resistant, which not all of them are. The digital code lock is well constructed and easy to use.

Secured to floor with bolts provided - seems very strong and would not easily be ripped out of floor without mechanical assistance.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

29 March 2018
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Great product, good value. Large storage capacity.

The keypad is not back lit so a bit hard to see if the room is not well lit.

The bolts stay withdrawn as long as you do not turn the dial after opening the safe. This will allow you to lock it again without having to enter your code. It took me a while to realise this, and with a very long code it was a pain to have to re-enter the code to lock the safe.

The safe is not quite large enough to leave A4 folders flat, so we have had to put them in diagonally, supported by a block of wood to avoid them bending.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

22 March 2018
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

It fits my specific requirements to a tee. Great value for money. I needed a particular size for the site for the safe and it had to meet fire resistant specifications.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

15 February 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I finished paying off my mortgage about twelve years ago and after a lot of thought I decided to contact my Building Society for the title deeds, once I received them I was worried about them for quite some time as to where to keep them safe. My main worry was if we had a fire in our home, or even worse a burglary, It was not only my deeds that concerned me but also my valuables, Bank details and other important documents. I spent quite a long time online trying to decide what sort of safe to buy, there are hundreds online. My final decision was to buy one from SAFE and I am really glad I did, the safes are really well built and very easy to use, some of my friends have asked me where I bought it and they are now looking to buy one themselves.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

26 January 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent build quality. quick and simple to use. I like particularly like the internal drawer feature

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 January 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very pleasantly surprised when the safe arrived, excellent value for money, very strong and sturdy. Easy to use, great storage space, love the idea that you can take the shelf out to store larger items, also great that there are a few key hangers. Specifically wanted it as it is fire safe. Would definitely recommend this safe,the price was really competitive. Also would recommend the company too, their service was excellent kept me upto date at all times with expected delivery dates, time, etc. Overall very happy with my purchase, feel confident that the contents are in a secure safe place.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 October 2017
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

It was quite easy to screw down into the floor and it came with the fixings needed. It looks quite nice and the build is pretty sturdy and dies not feel like similar cheap chinese ones ! In terms of the storage, there is plenty of that available specially the top shelf which is kind if concealed and it ideal for cash, gold and other valuables that you might to hide away.

The only downside about the safe Is that there is no back light on the number pad so it is not easy to see the number in a deem light situation.

All in all, I would recommend this product.

The supplier was also very responsive and delivery was fast and smooth.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 August 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great product.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 July 2017
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

The safe was easy to install with the bolts provided. The user manual was clear and it was easy to define passwords. It is easy to use and there is plenty of space. I appreciate the key hanging facility on the door and the tray.

On the negative side, the door dropped off when I tilted the safe during installation and dented it. A precautionary note in the instructions would have avoided this. The sticker with the numbers keeps falling off. This is shoddy and I will have to stick it with super glue.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 July 2017
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Fantastic product that was delivered very efficiently. The quality is brilliant and installation very very easy. The storage inside works perfect and the initial setup of putting batteries in for the key pad and setting the digital code was a breeze.

I would highly recommended this safe and also this company.

An absolute pleasure to do business with!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 July 2017
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Tough product with good build quality.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 July 2017
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

apart from the storage side which was probably our fault everything about this product is excellent from the delivery to putting it in place the ease of use, I would and have recommended it to both family and friends. well done and Thank you

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

30 June 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I had ordered the large size safe as I had quite a few item I wanted to put in the size . I was very impressed with the product . Its solid strong and very heavy . Needed at least 2 people to help me carry it to the bedroom . Its fits A4 folders , credit cards holders and keys which was handy . Very easy to use and set up .The best thing I have invested in the house to protect all my important documents i.e Birth certificates and passports for the family . Also piece of mind that its fire protected so all of my papers and money are safe for a period of time .

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

29 June 2017
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Does exactly what it says on the tin and meets our needs perfectly. Easy to secure to floor with all the fittings supplied.

Set up and operation a piece of cake.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

22 June 2017
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Very impressed with order and delivery process. Ordered pm day one and received delivery 08:30 the following morning on day two.

Was disappointed with fixing bolts as they do not fully recess into the floor of the safe and therefore stand proud and interfere with sliding files in and out.

Was led to believe that with drawer in position a box file could still fit upright in the safe but this is not the case as my box file has to fit in at an angle.

Drawer is very handy for small items, documents and passports etc.

Locking mechanism very touch sensitive and it's very easy to accidentally lock the door in the open position.

Overall a good product and good value for money.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

22 June 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The looks and finish of the safe are very good .

the size I required was spot on.

The tray inside is very useful and is well hidden .

The weight of the safe is not to heavy just right for one person.

Ordering and delivery was very quick.

I am very pleased with my safe.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 June 2017
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Great product, secured to the ground easily and isn't too bulky. Doesn't hold loads of items, but that is to be expected with this size safe. Delivery was on time and they were very helpful.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 January 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great safe I only wish I purchased a bigger one as I had more files than I thought, great customer service very helpful when I was thinking of buying a safe , first class delivery.

It's migh thought I did not go for bigger safe

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

15 December 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I purchased the safe after renewing my house and contents insurance, I was informed that I needed a safe to keep valuables in. I was pleased when I got the safe I found the safe to be very well made, I followed the fitting instruction and I know that it is very secure and ( safe). Well worth the money. Very pleased with the purchase even if I don't win the camera.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 December 2016
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Its a great storage safe with a good weight and robust. Comes with anchor bolts. that will make it really difficult to remove. If the unfortunate arose its heavy enough to make it difficult to move without it being anchored to the floor. Theres plenty of room in it to store pretty much all of youre average household valuables,money even a laptop etc. It Can store multiple items up to A4 size. Its a fair size but not too big to fit in amongst other household furniture. The digital keypad is simple to use and the locking system looks good. The only thing is the plastic cover where the batteries go at the side of the keypad. I dont know how easy it would be to manipulite the locking system if this was smashed off.Saying that im sure the manufactures would of thought of this.Anyway over all im very happy with this safe. showed it to my mate and hes ordered one.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 August 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Just what I wanted, nice and heavy can fit loads of stuff inside, very good safe.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

7 July 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

After reviewing a lot of different safes and reading all the reviews , I decided to go for the large safe from yourselves after reading a review that a customer could not fit a4 documents in.

I ordered online with no hassle at all , the whole transaction went through smoothly .

Delivery was very prompt and the driver was very helpful , the build quality is excellent and very easy to install .

After reading the instructions for programing the key pad a couple of times we found it was easy to program so all is working .

I would recommend this product to all my friends and family .

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 September 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This was an excellent product and extremely good value for money when compared to products of similar fire and security rating.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 August 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent product and very good aftersales service. What more can I say.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 August 2015
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Excellent product - it looks smart, easy to use and delivery very efficient.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

14 August 2015
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

I chose the FireStar Large Safe having benefitted from the reviews and recommendations of other customers. After careful consideration of my needs which included not only the storage and safety of valuable jewellery but significant papers like wills and passports the large size fitted my requirements perfectly. I am not the most confident DIY person but found the instructions easy to interpret and the installation simple and straightforward. My only concern were the heads of the bolts not fitting flush with the base of the safe. I have overcome this minor issue by laying a thin piece of boarding and felt over the base. Overall extremely satisfied with my purchase.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 June 2015
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

We have just had an internal audit through which were informed that our safe met all of our legal and audit requirements. We have found it to be an ideal size for a school office - not so big as to attract attention but big enough to store several different packs of cash collections (trips, sponsored walk, uniform etc.). Staff find it easy to use and we are very happy with our purchase.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 June 2015
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

Gréât product, came as described with solid screws, a drawer and a Shelf.

From a capacity point of view, it s slightly disapointing, since you quickly get to take out shelf and drawer to ne able to file hard copies of documents, considering it s the largest model I Bought.

The lock is very easy to program and to use, seems solid even in a plastic material.

Packaging was perfect, and can not allow transport damages.

Delivery was perfect, on time and very friendly. Definitively a company I would recommend. Good value for the invested money. Looking forward the next order.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 June 2015
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Good product - good service

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 June 2015
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Purchased this safe after moving to a new house and leaving the old safe at the old house. I wanted a fairly large capacity safe for the storage of documents rather than small items. It does take A4 documents in flimsy folders but not quite big enough for ring binders. However I am very pleased with it , it is simple to use and does the job well. The small tray at the top is useful for small items and the hooks on the doors are very useful for the easy storage of keys now there is no excuse for not putting them away!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 May 2015
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Does exactly what was required with a high sense of security

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

30 April 2015
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Very good safe, one of the better ones that I looked at in that price range

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 April 2015
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

We were looking for a safe which could hold A4 files in an upright position and also a drawer or compartment for treasured possessions. After looking around on the internet and local DIY outlets, at various types and sizes, we settled on the Large version of the FireStar Safe. The process of ordering was made easy online with The Safe Shop and delivery was made promptly as promised by them when the purchase was completed. We only had to wait 48 hours for delivery by courier, however on opening the package we cound that the the safe was damaged. A quick call to The Safe Shop, who were extremely helpful and and asked us to take photos of the damage and email them to their sales administrator. She explained that we could either return the safe to them and have a full refund or replacement. They were advised by the manufacturer that the damage was superficial and that if we kept it, they would offer us extra discount. Well done The Safe Shop for prompt, sensible and fair action in resolving this problem.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 April 2015
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Just what I wanted a larger safe

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

26 March 2015
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Fits lots of items as it has a shelf & sliding drawer. Great for storing documents & valuables. Would recommend this item.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

22 March 2015
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Safe meets all expectations and more. Wife has found it easy to use and finds the space more than enough. Myself, it ensures the safety of my personal items and a clean enviroment. Its child proof which is very important. Alround very pleased with it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 February 2015
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Exactly what I wanted good solid heavy safe for its size. In fact it was much better than I was expecting. Cheapest I could find in its class. Very happy with it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 January 2015
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Excellent value for money safe for household use

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 January 2015
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

I needed a practical solution for both my home business needs and for my own domestic use. I was also looking for something straightforward to use. The Firestar safe is sufficiently big enough to store small laptop, portable hard drives, key documents, etc for my business needs as well as jewellery, keys, etc for home use. It was simple to set up at the start and has proved to be easy to use. Slight frustration with the in built tray as the door has to be fully open before the tray can be accessed easily but that is more a problem of the space I have available rather than the safe itself

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

14 August 2014
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

The safe is exactly what I was looking for it. It fits my requirements in terms of security and fire protection, which thankfully neither has been put to the test yet. I am using it every day and popping things in and out as required and it is all working perfect. Great space inside to store combination of paperwork and electronic media.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

This product has 101 reviews.