Forth Black - Rear Access Steel Post Box Reviews

Ref: G2-FOR-BL
Thumb image of 3837.png
Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10

7.7 / 10 based on 12 reviews.

£43.03 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10
Build Quality Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10
Weather Resistance Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10
Value for Money Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10
18 August 2017 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10 6.2 / 10

I bought this item to aid my delivery of mail where space behind the door is limited and no external mailbox is an option for me. I checked measurements and felt it was good value. However, on receipt, I think it is a bit flimsy for it's purpose and more basic than I thought. It was easy to fit, though the pre cut slot restricted it's placement. It doesn't come with any padding to reduce sound or insulation strip to cushion the box against the door so it's tinny, noisy when the post is deposited. It seems it's not capable of taking magazines, A4 "Do not bend" envelopes or anything larger despite the slot being adequate to take them. I think the problem is it's narrowness and the key/lock being right at the point of entry causing a block.

If you want it just for letters, it's fine if you insulate it to reduce the noise of mail being delivered. It is ideal if you have difficulty picking mail up from the floor. For the price I didn't expect a lot and it's as advertised, but it's let down by cheap manufacture and poor design.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

22 June 2017 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10 6.4 / 10

Good but mechanism holding it open is a bit flimsy. A bit difficult to hold newspapers.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 September 2016 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Well manufactured easy to use and fit weather proof capping all round a nice piece of kit fit for purpose

Approved by relevant depts delivery excellent with good packing and on time the service is also excellent this Keysafe I was up to that point unaware of the product but with a rapidly ageing UK population to gain access with the approval Social services is without doubt the most peace of mind product on the market that is easy to conceal but easy access for the correct usage I am confident in this product if fitted correctly priced reasonably too Thank you very much

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 January 2015 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 4 / 10Rated 4 / 10Rated 4 / 10Rated 4 / 10Rated 4 / 10 4 / 10

Badly designed as A4 envelopes jam against the back lip. I modified my model by pop rivetting in a curved deflector plate in aluminium. Even then the postman had to ring as a heavy magazine in a plastic wrapper would not bend downwards.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

30 August 2018 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

We rent our house out as a holiday let and did not want our mail to be available to our guests. This post box securely receives mail sent to our home address for members of ours who have different surnames. The primary name was diverted by the post office but occasional mail came for the others. It was very easy to fix to the inside of the door and the slot adequately covered the mail box . We have received magazines and all manner of other mail and so far everything has fit fine. The lock is secure and the box itself is strong.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 June 2018 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

We have been using the latter box for the last six weeks and we are very pleased with the serviceability of the unit.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

14 September 2017 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Does what it says on the box

no need to say more

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 July 2017 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10 5.2 / 10

This product really isn't waterproof, even after applying a load of silicone to the top of the box we still get water coming in through the bottom of the opening door.

Also, the key is quite stiff and I don't give it long before it seizes

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 January 2017 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

The Forth Black letterbox was easy to install and weatherproof with a little silicon, although I fitted some draught excluder to seal the door as it seemed water could get in there. This may not be necessary but it was an easy way to make it a little more watertight. The black powder coated finish seemed very durable and the overall construction was very robust. I'd searched several websites before I chose to use Safe and their product range was excellent. It took 3 days from ordering to receiving it which was also very good.

I've just ordered my second one now!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

30 October 2014 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

It's exactly what I needed

1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 October 2014 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This is a simple easy to install product, all fittings are included along with clear precise instructions.

The purchase process was simple and quick, as well as secure.

This product is a great value for money if your looking for this kind of product.

It comes with the necessary fittings and 2 keys, the lock is quite secure.

The quality of the product is veery good, good solid hinges, as I have said a good secure lock.

I have no hesitation in recomending this product, it is good value when you take into account the inexpensive price.

delivery was first class, came within a few days.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 October 2014 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

Fitted space available.

Does the job!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No