Burton Keyguard Reviews

Ref: BU-KEYG
Thumb image of a765b03fe24a483f195bb4ae3d7e28f9.gif
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10

8.4 / 10 based on 67 reviews.

£37.80 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 8.1 / 10Rated 8.1 / 10Rated 8.1 / 10Rated 8.1 / 10Rated 8.1 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10
Security Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10
16 March 2011
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

easy to fit on any flat surface

easy to use but buttons could be bigger

the correct buttons can be pressed in any order and still open,so not top for security

18 of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

7 December 2011
Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10 6.4 / 10

keys/buttons too small.

letters/numbers very difficult to read in poor light,mostly because they are so small.

protective cover blows off easily in wind.

its a fiddle to get it closed back again.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

13 February 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

the alphabet as well as the numbers. If you had the correct code it did not matter how you put them in to open it.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 February 2011
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Very useful for the elderly or those living alone.

Used a lot by carers. Well worth the money.

Slightly difficult to put up. Occasional difficulty replacing the cover.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 February 2011
Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10 5.2 / 10

Well built and easy to install. Rather limited number of combinations as the same digit cannot be used twice.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

26 March 2011
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Easy to use. Shame the number pad couldn't be hinged to attach to the main body of the key holder

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 February 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

really good product

so easy to use

with a family one of the children or another will forget to take a key so no more waiting up to let them in at all hours

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 March 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

superb product-excellent firm to buy from

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 June 2014
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

This is a very useful item overall the on the down side the storage capacity is not huge but I found it to be ok for my purpose. The product is quite easy to use but can be a litte fiddly to re assemble specialy with its limited size.The build of the item seems ok although the rubber cover is not a great fit and tends to drop forward a little. It seems to be a secure fit on to the wall but I will need to remove it shortly so we will see how that goes. Overall I would say the item offers good value for money.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 June 2013
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

Have fitted these on 3 houses now, and would be in trouble without them. It's a little awkward to use, particularly for more than one key, but this is really not a problem because it's not something one uses very often.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 September 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

easy to fit easy to program easy for my clients to understand and use. perhaps the numbers could be painted different to body

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 April 2012
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

Build quality

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 January 2012
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Good solid product.

Recommended to neighbour who has bought 1 and bought

2 others myself as Christmas presents for relations.

Could be a little larger on storage capacity.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 August 2011
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Nowhere to hold the facia panel when getting the keys out which are normallly replaced very quickly

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 June 2011
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Robust and easy to fit - secure and weather proof - third one bought. A little restricted size-wise - could do with an internal lip to lodge keys against.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 June 2011
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

A good solid bit of kit. A trifle pricey.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 May 2011
Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10 6.6 / 10

a little difficult to replace as such a tight fit

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 March 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very Easy to install. Perfect. Will only hold about 3 to 4 keys but does just what I required

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 March 2011
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

A good solid container.

Easy to access via mechanical code selectors.

Installation instructions did not make clear the fixing for the weather protection.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 March 2011
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

Small, good instructions. A bit fiddly to fit

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 March 2011
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 7 / 10

Just right for the job

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 February 2011
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Like the black cover which helps conceal the key safe. Bit fiddely getting the safe locked again

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 February 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

PRODUCT NEAT COMPACT AND VERY ROBUST

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 September 2016
Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10 6.6 / 10

Product arrived on time but I did have some issues with the set up. Mounting the block to the wall was straight forward but I struggled to set the pass code and the instructions on this task were a little confusing. I managed to lock my key in the safe and not be able to easilly open it. I spoke to the manufacturers who were very helpful and talked me thru the set up process.

We put this up to enable us to have access to a key if we forget our key so it only gets used in exceptional circumstances and the safe meets our requirement

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 March 2016
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

I bought this as I would need to rely on many people to support me during a long convalescence after an operation. It is strong and well constructed , had a little trouble with setting the combination at first but once set it has been extremely beneficial . All the people who have used it have been impressed with the ease of use and it has certainly been well used over the past twelve weeks. I have been impressed with the product as some I have seen have had very small buttons or a barrel combination to turn and these have been very fiddly to use . Well done to this key guard for providing a secure easily used box.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

18 February 2016
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

ease of installation and use after, very strong and reliable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

10 December 2015
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

My one criticism of the safe is that having typed in the code to open the key safe, it is easy for it to drop onto the ground and break. I would prefer it to have been a hinged door.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

3 December 2015
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Very useful and good quality.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

8 October 2015
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

I found that the product was just what I wanted. It was easy to fix to the brick wall on the outside of my house and blended in well with the brickwork.

The code was easy to remember especially as the numbers could be entered in any order.

The safe was delivered promptly after the order was placed. My only comment was that the room inside the safe was limited as I would liked to have put more keys in the safe. However, overall I would say that the safe was value for money and I would buy the same safe again if I needed one in the future.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 September 2015
Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10 5.6 / 10

When I ordered this product online from the picture it did not show or indicate how awkward it was to use.first you need to remove rubber cover (if outside) secondly you put in the code(4 digits) thirdly you have to push down the locking button & at the same time pull the front out to gain access. The front cover is not hinged so you have to find a place to put it whilst removing the key then unlock the door replace the key then pick up the front cover put in the code whilst holding down the locking button & replace front cover in its original position taking care not to let your finger slip off the locking button until it is correctly positioned. A hinged front cover will make use so much simpler.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

27 August 2015
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Found it easy to fit. Very good for 1ir 2 small keys.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

25 June 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I always have a fear of being locked out of my bungalow. I also suffer from ill health and it's nice to know that help can get to me when required. It is very strongly constructed and my friend who installed it recommended it to me as being the best on the market. He has installed quite a few of them and has never had any problems doing it. I have recommended this product to a lot of my friends and I know that several of them have had it installed. Indeed I am very pleased that I chose this product and I know from the construction of it that it will see me out. Thank you for such a good product.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

27 February 2015
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

I can only criticise the panel numbering; the tiny raised numbers are hard to see if not in bright lighting. I was surprised that the latch locks itself when open, and you have to enter the code again to close the front unless you hold the thing down. Still, it does its job and is vastly better than hiding a key under a plant pot!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

2 January 2015
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

This item was purchased for a 91 year old who is housebound. It has been worth installing to enable doctors etc to gain access to the property. Thank you

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

6 November 2014
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

The Burton key safe is brilliant and is a

"Must have" for anyone who, like myself,

is old (80)' ! a widower, with health problems

(heart failure), lives alone, and has had

recent problems, like collapsing. It took

me over an hour to crawl to my 'phone

handset, to call an ambulance. I gave them

the combination number and the two

paramedics were able to get in easily.

This key safe could be a life saver.

I heartily recommend it and I am so glad that

I found out about it and had it fitted near my

main entrance door.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Owen J. Crouch

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 July 2014
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

This looks and feels solid - great security and very easy to operate - its the only one I've seen that I would recommend - the rest are token gestures by comparison.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

29 June 2014
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

The product is easy to install.The rubber cover is a bit loose, I easily remedied that by fitting an inner sleeve. Good product overall though.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

1 May 2014
Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10 5.6 / 10

This product does its job, though is not perfect. We've had one break before, the front panel with the numbers on stopped attaching to the secured back socket attached to the wall, so we had to buy a new one, which has worked fine so far.

It's cheap, and secure, so once set up you shouldn't have to worry about it. Although it loses points for storage capacity due to its small size and difficulty in putting keys in place and shutting the safe, it is plenty enough space to fit a small key set, so is fine for a budget key safe.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

13 March 2014
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

appears to be very good for purpose

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 January 2014
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Good safe quality and easy to open. Not a great deal of space there is only enough room for one key maybe two at a squeeze. Discrete when fixed on the wall .it was surprisingly easy to fix to the wall.Since fixing the safe box to the wall of our Mothers bungalow we feel happier that if she does have problem (she has numerous health problems) that someone,a neighbour who has the code can get to her quickly to get her the help she may need.also the rubber cover makes the box very discrete. Thank you Safe shop.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

28 March 2013
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Simple to use and to change the code. Having opened the safe to obtain and use the key attached to the clip provided the code has to be re-entered to store the key away again

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

1 November 2012
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 7 / 10

Easy to install. Buttons too fiddly and not easy to see for elderly

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

13 September 2012
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Really pleased with this product , just what i wanted.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

30 August 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Just what we wanted

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

16 August 2012
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Solid. It could do with an extra casting to protect the lever from forced removal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

14 June 2012
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Sturdy and very secure, easy to fit and fits solidly to the house. There was a problem with the safe when the numbers jammed and we had a problem opening it but when we reported it a new unit was sent out straight away. VERY VERY impressed

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

22 May 2012
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 7 / 10

Robust construction. Ease of access.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

23 March 2012
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

More secure than tumbler type of device. Digits prone to wear.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

1 February 2012
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

it does what it says in the adverts. difficult to mount on wall

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

16 November 2011
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

GOOD STURDY KEY SAFE. NUMBERS DIFFICULT TO SEE AND IMPOSSIBLE AT NIGHT. NEED A TORCH TO HAND

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

3 November 2011
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

Very sturdy. Feel confident it is secure. The black rubber tore off v quickly. Have lost the instructions on how to change the code.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

2 November 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

don't have to take your keys with you when you go on holiday

never get locked out again. not quite big enough to put whole set of keys on clip, so had to attach the keys to it

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 October 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Met with all expectations

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

21 September 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

easy to install and good security. Weather proof lid could do with a fixing chain.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

7 July 2011
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Easy to install. Easy to use. Having to reset the key code to put the cover back on is annoying.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

27 April 2011
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

being of robust metal construction with the addition of a fitted black rubber weather proof cover not only keeps out the rain but it dose not attract attention.

i had to wright down the order of opening the safe

eg press clear input numbers plus letter etc but put that down to my age not really a con.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

7 April 2011
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

All inclusive - easy to fix to an exterior wall and provides additional weather protection.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

30 March 2011
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Very sturdy and secure

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

23 March 2011
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Easy and efficient to use

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

23 March 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Nice easy to mount and use security key safe.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

23 March 2011
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Very useful device. Mechanical design limits code sequence to being unable to repeat the same number, bit limiting for memorable number but understandable

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 March 2011
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Secure, easy to set up and use, cover protects the safe from the rain, ideal for a couple of keys, good also for dyslexics as it's easy to learn the sequence.

Cover isn't attached - I did that myself with a small chain so it didn't fall off and blow away.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 February 2011
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Sturdy build, Easy to install. Extra safe space would be a bonus

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 February 2011
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Clears automatically after being opened. Numbers not very visible, especially when dark

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 February 2011
Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10 6.2 / 10

The safe is easy to install and looks very solid and secure. The space inside is very limited which makes storing a chubb key awkward. The safe will not close if the key obstructs the door at all. Some carers find it awkward to use.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 February 2011
Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10 6.8 / 10

Sturdy and discrete. Would be better if the numbers were 'picked out' as they are hard to see if the light is not good

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 February 2011
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Easy to install and use

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

This product has 67 reviews.