Coronavirus Update No disruption to business more info

Legge 5642 - BS 5 Lever Sashlock (68mm) Reviews

Ref: LEG-5642-64
Thumb image of 13816.png
Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10

9.5 / 10 based on 15 reviews.

£21.35 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10
Ease of Fitting Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10
Security Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10
Value for Money Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10
13 September 2018 Reviewed Size: 68mm deep
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Does the job and relatively easy to fit. Previous lock failed after only 30 years - hope this one does as well

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 June 2019 Reviewed Size: 68mm deep
Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10 6 / 10

I've fitted hundreds of locks being a carpenter, but this lock is not smooth when locking and unlocking. Took out the lock and sprayed with WD40 but still not a smooth action. The keys were obviously just stamped out, i used my electric bench grinder to remove the sharp burrs. Made in China on the box. Recommend union locks to all who need a 5 Lever lock, they are made in England.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 February 2019 Reviewed Size: 68mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Got this to replace a 25 year old Legge and it was basically an exact fit. Design had changed a little but didn't need to do any drilling or cutting.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

1 October 2020 Reviewed Size: 68mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent product for the job

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

23 July 2020 Reviewed Size: 68mm deep
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

The star ratings are self explicit but potential purchases may wish to know that the lock is not an exact replica of the original model. This means a straight replacement is not possible without adjusting the existing mortice in the door.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

28 February 2020 Reviewed Size: 68mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very good and working fine service excellent wrong one ordered but after contacting company replacement was in the post very quickly I will certainly use your company if I require any more of you products I will most certainly use you and also recommend your company to my friends and neighbours

Norman Lewis

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

6 February 2020 Reviewed Size: 68mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I needed to replace a worn out lock on the back door. I had been to different builders merchants and DIY outlets trying to find a lock which would match the existing one without having to play about with the door itself. The other problem was that the existing handles were brass and most of the brass types are not suitable for exterior use. So I was pleasantly surprised to find this one, especially as the measurements appeared to match my old one exactly. Ordering and delivery was straightforward and having fitted the lock I can report that it works well and looks much better than the old one. Even the price was right.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

23 January 2020 Reviewed Size: 68mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

What an excellent company. The lock I was after is hard to find. My locksmith recommended SAFE after our original lock seized and had to be drilled out. I must say that the replacement lock was better than the original. Better fit and improved mechanism. Easy to order, easy to fit. All coupled with a fast delivery service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

2 January 2020 Reviewed Size: 68mm deep
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Good quality

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

31 October 2019 Reviewed Size: 68mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I’m completely satisfied with this product and would highly recommend it. It was very easy to install and and all the different parts are very good quality. I live with two friends so it was essential that we had three keys. Some of the other products I looked at only had two keys.

As the property owner, it was very important to me that my flat was secure and safe, for myself and my two lodgers. I have certainly not been disappointed. This is an excellent product and is very good value for money, considering it’s good quality. I would highly recommend this to anyone!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

15 August 2019 Reviewed Size: 68mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very good and easy to install.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

5 July 2019 Reviewed Size: 68mm deep
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

As expected

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

20 June 2019 Reviewed Size: 68mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

It's a lock, it locks.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

25 April 2019 Reviewed Size: 68mm deep
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

well built, slight detail difference to the one that it replaced but an adjustment of the latch plate sorted that out. In fairness the one that it replaced had been there a good few years and wasn't broken. It was only changed to get back control of who had keys for it. It was easily reversible and good value.for money. I would recommend this well built lock it came with three keys and I ordered another eight which followed on within a few days. All in all I am very happy with the product, with the cust service I recieved and the delivery time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

5 April 2019 Reviewed Size: 68mm deep
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Excellent product hand service. Great value

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No