Legge 5642 - BS 5 Lever Sashlock (68mm, Polished Brass) Reviews

Ref: LEG-5642-64-PB
Thumb image of 13816.png
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5

9.2 / 10 based on 13 reviews.

£24.77 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Build Quality Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Ease of Fitting Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Security Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5
Value for Money Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Anonymous Verified Customer July 2020
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Recommended

The star ratings are self explicit but potential purchases may wish to know that the lock is not an exact replica of the original model. This means a straight replacement is not possible without adjusting the existing mortice in the door.

Was this helpful? 16

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Very good and working fine service excellent wrong one ordered but after contacting company replacement was in the post very quickly I will certainly use your company if I require any more of you products I will most certainly use you and also recommend your company to my friends and neighbours

Norman Lewis

Was this helpful? 12

Mr N Goddard Verified Customer June 2019
Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5

I've fitted hundreds of locks being a carpenter, but this lock is not smooth when locking and unlocking. Took out the lock and sprayed with WD40 but still not a smooth action. The keys were obviously just stamped out, i used my electric bench grinder to remove the sharp burrs. Made in China on the box. Recommend union locks to all who need a 5 Lever lock, they are made in England.

Was this helpful? 12

Alan Verified Customer February 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Got this to replace a 25 year old Legge and it was basically an exact fit. Design had changed a little but didn't need to do any drilling or cutting.

Was this helpful? 11

Anonymous Verified Customer September 2018
Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Does the job and relatively easy to fit. Previous lock failed after only 30 years - hope this one does as well

Was this helpful? 8

Gfphil Verified Customer February 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I needed to replace a worn out lock on the back door. I had been to different builders merchants and DIY outlets trying to find a lock which would match the existing one without having to play about with the door itself. The other problem was that the existing handles were brass and most of the brass types are not suitable for exterior use. So I was pleasantly surprised to find this one, especially as the measurements appeared to match my old one exactly. Ordering and delivery was straightforward and having fitted the lock I can report that it works well and looks much better than the old one. Even the price was right.

Was this helpful? 7

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

What an excellent company. The lock I was after is hard to find. My locksmith recommended SAFE after our original lock seized and had to be drilled out. I must say that the replacement lock was better than the original. Better fit and improved mechanism. Easy to order, easy to fit. All coupled with a fast delivery service.

Was this helpful? 7

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2020
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Good quality

Was this helpful? 7

Susannah Verified Customer October 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I’m completely satisfied with this product and would highly recommend it. It was very easy to install and and all the different parts are very good quality. I live with two friends so it was essential that we had three keys. Some of the other products I looked at only had two keys.

As the property owner, it was very important to me that my flat was secure and safe, for myself and my two lodgers. I have certainly not been disappointed. This is an excellent product and is very good value for money, considering it’s good quality. I would highly recommend this to anyone!

Was this helpful? 7

Anonymous Verified Customer August 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Very good and easy to install.

Was this helpful? 7

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2019
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Excellent product hand service. Great value

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2024
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

The lock was bought to replace a similar lock that lasted for 30 years. So I purchase this one as it may last me another 30 years. It was delivered on time and the fitting of it was straight forward. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good secure door lock.

Was this helpful?  

Dave Verified Customer February 2024
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

This schlock was bought to replace one bearing the same BS specification, but which was worn such that the bolt did not extend completely when locked and the key removed, and the bolt could be pushed back with ease. During the replacement, the replacement lock was found to be marginally thicker than the one removed, and would not fit directly into the cut-out in the door. This required the hole cut into the door to be enlarged in order to allow the replacement to be fitter. This done, the replacement was fitted and worked perfectly.

This does not imply an any way that the replacement lock was faulty, but that it is misleading to assume that bearing the same BS specification stamped on the faceplate ensures compatibility.

Was this helpful?