Master Lock High Security Key Safe Reviews

Ref: MAS-5426EURD
Thumb image of 13656.png
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5

8.7 / 10 based on 23 reviews.

£95.27 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Build Quality Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Storage Capacity Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5
Security Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Value for Money Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Anonymous Verified Customer October 2018
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Recommended

There was some problems with product in the installation which was professionally and easily resolved to the satisfaction of both parties. I would thoroughly recommend this company to others

Was this helpful? 28

Tracy Verified Customer September 2018
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

This is a very robust key safe, very easy to use with large digits which is great for those who find fiddly little buttons difficult . For the price I don't think there is a better key safe out there. We bought it for our holiday cottage although we have only used it a few times so far, I don't fore see any problems with it as its very simple to use. It holds 2 keys inside, although we don't bother with the small hook to hang keys on as its a bit fiddly so we place the keys in the little shelf at the back.

Was this helpful? 26

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2019
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

The only reason I don't give the build quality 5 stars is because the key safe itself is solid but the plastic cover flimsy in comparison, in fact it took 3 attempts to get one to us in one piece. Also the small hook that was in if for the key wasn't securely fixed, it flicked out and we couldn't find it; but we were easily able to fix something in its place ourselves. The security I've put at 4 stars because I'm not sure that anything can be 100% secure. A real bonus to it is the clarity of the buttons, I can see them without my glasses.

Was this helpful? 23

Anonymous Verified Customer July 2020
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

This key safe is well built easy to use you just have to remember when you put or change the code that it must be in the locked position (The knob on the outside) to turn the numbers on or off with the plastic tool provided the only issue I have with this key safe is that you can only have a number once in the code eg. 1234 not 1123 Hope this helps

Was this helpful? 19

Mr Bird Verified Customer November 2018
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

This is the key safe to buy with top build quality and the best added security . Bought with good customer service and quick delivery

Was this helpful? 18

Michael Verified Customer April 2022
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Recommended

The safe appears extremely sturdy and well constructed - and it gives us reassurance to know we have a secure pair of keys outside so we cannot get locked out. (Of course, we do not keep the alarm fob in there, just in case. We would use our code number for the alarm if necessary)

The only downside is set up. I had to buy an unusual size drill bit which only one of the four local DIY chains stocked. And programming the code is tricky - doing so feels as though you are breaking the safe.

Was this helpful? 16

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2020
Rated 1 / 5Rated 1 / 5Rated 1 / 5Rated 1 / 5Rated 1 / 5
Recommended

We haven’t used it yet but it seems a very well made product...

Was this helpful? 15

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Absolutely brilliant! I needed a keysafe to keep spare high security keys and because the keys are so large, there us not a lot of choice of key safes on the market. My dilemma was to have a key safe with an attack resistance which was acceptable to my insurers. The Masterlock high security key safe met the insurance requirements and was very simple to install ( must meet manufacturers specification to be accepted by insurers and to be in accordance with manufacturers warranty). The five digit code is easy to set, and subsequently reset if you need to make a change. The beauty of this particular Masterlock digital code is that you can enter the chosen digits in any order! despite, for instance setting a code A1234 ( please do not use this combination!) but you can press the digits in any order and the keysafe will unlock! Brilliant for a keysafe which may have different users. You can use five digits and tell people in different groups the combination is different! Most people would not recognise the use of the same digits, but on a different order! Well done Masterlock, great product!

Was this helpful? 14

Anonymous Verified Customer September 2019
Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Solid design, user friendly and intuitive. The plastic ledge insert didn't seem to work very well, and the included hook will only sit on a perfectly smooth wall so wasn't any good either but as we're only storing one key it wasn't an issue.

The unit came with different bolts to those described in the instruction manual though, so the diameter of drill bit was different to what we expected. We had some issues with installation as a result.

Our customers generally have found it pretty straight forward to access the key. Changing the code was a bit of a mission until you've got the method down.

Was this helpful? 14

Anonymous Verified Customer September 2021
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

The first thing I noticed about the Masterlock key safe when it arrived was the weight, after opening the packaging and taking a look at the safe I could tell it was well made and strong.

I followed the fitment instructions to the letter, but found that the supplied fixings were not quite up to the job and one sheared in half during fitment.

This meant re-locating the safe and re-drilling the fixing holes, this time I went up a size from the sizes recommended in the instructions.

The setting of the passcode was simple enough with the supplied tool and it looks smart and robust on the wall, so far I have had no issues with using the safe and feel confident that anything inside is secure.

Was this helpful? 13

Ian Verified Customer October 2020
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Excellent. Installed myself (I'm 76!) on our holiday let. We live an hour away, so we wanted something simple and safe. Agent recommended this brand.

The key safe has been used by guests and agency staff for three months now without any problems.

I looked at various smart systems but they were complicated to fit and use and from reading comments online prone to error. Also read that there is some concern that the the internet of things is not as secure as it ought to be. So I took our agents advice and stuck to what is a tried and tested solution. All in all we are very satisfied.

Was this helpful? 12

Christine Moore Verified Customer September 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Relatively easy to fit with very helpful telephone backup from Safe when questions arise. Sits securely on the wall and I feel assured that my keys are safely available.

Was this helpful? 11

Sue Ellis Verified Customer November 2021
Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Recommended

I purchased this product on behalf of my veteran neighbour. He inadvertently damaged the plastic cover when un-packaging it. Master Lock immediately sent a replacement at no cost. Great company to do business with, fast, efficient and very customer friendly. The product is made with good quality materials and was easy to install. Definitely user friendly even for a 86 year old gentleman who is delighted with it.

I intend to purchase a Master Lock Security Lock for my own home in the near future. Thank you Master Lock for your amazing service and giving us all peace of mind.

Was this helpful? 9

Dave Verified Customer October 2021
Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5
Recommended

The safe itself works well and is presumably very secure. It is one of the few safes large enough for our door keys. The little wire hook provided to hang keys on was useless - it drops out at the slightest touch, possibly because the brickwork behind is not perfectly flat. The fixing bolts provided and the instructions were also poor. I couldn't buy a masonry drill as small as that recommended, so used a larger one. Even then, one of the bolts sheared off as I tried to screw it into the brick. In the end, I used an even larger drill for the other bolts. Not sure how that affects the security of the fixing.

Was this helpful? 9

Keith Verified Customer September 2022
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

I took a long time researching a key safe for my mother’s property, read loads of reviews and decided on this one.

It arrived swiftly and in perfect condition.

Whilst the fitting instructions are good the bolts for securing the box are very long and either require an extra length drill bit or as I did slowly lengthening a standard bit until there was the minimum in the jaws - but it worked.

Using the box is very easy, if my mother can do it most people can, and everyone is happy

Was this helpful? 8

Jim Verified Customer April 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

This is a very solid, heavy piece of kit that gives you confidence as soon as you open the box. Easy to fit and operate as long as you read the comprehensive instructions carefully. It comes with all of the fittings you need to mount it securely and once installed we were very happy with it. Totally recommended.

Was this helpful? 8

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2022
Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5Rated 3 / 5
Recommended

It was almost impossible to find a drill bit to make the correct sized holes. I'm guessing this is so that people pay professionals to fit it. The plugs were not adequate for the job of being put in a brick wall. Once fitted it's okay to use. The capacity seems small compared to the size of the unit itself.

Was this helpful? 8

John Verified Customer May 2021
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

We were very pleased with this product. We needed a key safe that would hold a large key for our holiday cottage and this was exactly right. The instructions were easy to follow and it was easy to install once I had managed to drill holes in hard stone wall. Build quality is very good so it should be safe and the cover helps to make it unobstusive and weatherproof. It is very to use and our cleaner is very pleased with it and our visitors should be as well.

It was good value and the company I bought it from were excellent.

Thank you.

Was this helpful? 8

Jo Verified Customer May 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

The keysafe is strong and will last a lifetime and the installation was quick, all in all, it provides the answer to access to keys when needed.

Was this helpful? 6

David Verified Customer April 2021
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

I can't rate security as no one has tried to break into it but it well made and fixings provided are robust.

It's there for an emergency so not tested yet but I'm happy with my purchase at the moment.

Was this helpful? 6

Anonymous Verified Customer October 2023
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

We have purchased a key safe for our Community Hall and it has been very successful. The box was fitted easily, and seems to be a good quality item that does what is expected of it. All our groups have found the box easy and convenient to use. We are very pleased with our purchase

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer September 2023
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

This is a really robust bit of kit. I've not tried to break it, but it looks and feels like it would take a lot more effort to do so than an average burglar is willing to invest. I appreciate that it looks different to the common Master Lock key safe with the four number-rollers. Some folks visiting my holiday property have even struggled to identify it as a key safe. Having said that, I don't like that the numbers and letters can be entered in any order. That's the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars for security.

Was this helpful? 1

Stuart Brown Verified Customer February 2024
Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5

Far to small , international capacity is ridiculously small, 1 small key only & no car keys

Lost of money for something that’s not fit for purpose imop

Was this helpful?