Villa Black - Top Loading 11Ltr Medium Post Box Reviews

Ref: PH-MB0114KB
Thumb image of 8717.png
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5

8.7 / 10 based on 38 reviews.

£27.43 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Build Quality Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Storage Capacity Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Weather Resistance Rated 4.1 / 5Rated 4.1 / 5Rated 4.1 / 5Rated 4.1 / 5Rated 4.1 / 5
Value for Money Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Anonymous Verified Customer August 2018 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent product at a good price.

Was this helpful? 15

Charlie Verified Customer October 2020 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Recommended

After looking at a number of mailboxes, I decided on this one, which was promptly delivered and installed with relative ease. As it's for a business, it looks smart and professional. As many reviewers have said before, the flap will lift up in the wind and therefore allow the rain in, which gets the bottom of your letters wet. We are looking to add some small weights or magnets to the flap, which is a pity that the manufacturer doesn't think to do this. The lock is reasonable and the overall quality is good. Happy with this purchase.

Was this helpful? 13

Amanda Verified Customer February 2021 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

This works very well for us. It was easy to fix onto the wall, holds a normal volume of mail no problem, looks smart and much better for our post person than having to bend down to the old letterbox at the bottom of the door. I'm very pleased with it.

Was this helpful? 12

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2018 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

A very smart post box, plenty of room for large items, being a business we get a lot of product promotion literature. Every thing stays perfectly dry in the heaviest rain, as there is a good flap for the opening and accessing the mail is very easy.

I think this product is very good value for money as I would have to pay nearly double the amount in shops or DIY stores.

We live a very exposed, coastal location and get a battering from strong sea winds and plenty of heavy rain. The post box has shown no sign of rust or paint loss and still looks new and smart.

Was this helpful? 12

M Scantlebury Verified Customer October 2017 Reviewed Colour: Stainless Steel
Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5

the box is staining all over. you appear to be using low specification SS. As a chartered engineer I do know that there are different grades of SS. Where do you stand regarding the trades description Act I wonder. I can send photo if you wish.

Was this helpful? 11

Steve Verified Customer November 2017 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 1.9 / 5Rated 1.9 / 5Rated 1.9 / 5Rated 1.9 / 5Rated 1.9 / 5

It lets in rain water

Was this helpful? 10

David Verified Customer May 2020 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

We have now been using this for three months and are happy to recommend it. It was easy to install and looks smart on the wall of our cottage. The lid makes it easy to check whether there is any post inside it without needing to unlock it, whilst still keeping the post reasonably secure. Overall a very good value product.

The only minor issue is that in stormy weather a little rain can get get driven into it by the wind. Although there are several drainage holes in the bottom, they are in the centre of the base whereas the water has gathered in one of the corners, making the bottom of some post soggy. However this has only happened a couple of times so it has not been much of a problem.

Was this helpful? 9

Sean McKenna Verified Customer July 2017 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

The post box was delivered in a timely fashion. We ordered it as we had just fitted a new front door and didn't want a standard letter box on the door. It is of a sturdy construction and very easy to fit to any surface especially brick. The slim looking design is deceptive as it can take several A4 size envelopes at any one time whilst leaving plenty of room for other smaller mail items. The flip lid protects the contents from the elements as it is designed to do whilst not looking obtrusive to the overall design. I would very happily recommend this particular product to those wishing to enhance the look of your house frontage.

Was this helpful? 9

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2017 Reviewed Colour: Green
Rated 1.2 / 5Rated 1.2 / 5Rated 1.2 / 5Rated 1.2 / 5Rated 1.2 / 5

I purchased this box assuming it would offer a degree of 'weatherproofness' but it has proved to be rather a poor choice! Soggy envelopes and a lock that has already become difficult to open! I can't recommend this product to anyone other than people who live in very sheltered areas and low rainfall...certainly not one for people in rural areas!

Was this helpful? 9

V Bidewell Verified Customer June 2021 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Recommended

Sturdily constructed with a good opening lid which is wide enough for most letters and small parcels.

Was this helpful? 8

David Verified Customer November 2019 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

This is a well built post box that easily takes A4 envelopes. It has proved very weather proof but includes drainage holes just in case. We added some folded mesh to the inside base (ex bird feeder mesh) to keep envelopes above any dampness. However, the post box has so far resisted extreme weather. The top hinged lid works very well ensuring envelopes are not bent.

The post box has a very good paint finish to all surfaces and so should last for many years. An application of car wax has kept the deep shine.

This post box is highly recommended and represents god value for money.

Was this helpful? 8

Claire Verified Customer January 2019 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 3.2 / 5Rated 3.2 / 5Rated 3.2 / 5Rated 3.2 / 5Rated 3.2 / 5

Bought this much more expensive box than the one's i found locally thinking it would be much higher quality but it isn't. It is spacious and easy to get small parcels in and keeps most of the weather out but it doesn't keep it properly dry even being on a sheltered wall. I will just go and buy one from the local garden centre when this one needs replacing as they were half the cost and feel no worse made than these. Plus side. Delivery was very quick which meant the post had somewhere to go having got rid of the post slot in door.

Was this helpful? 8

Thomas Hewitt Verified Customer September 2021 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

My post box I bought from Safe Ltd Villa Black is great well made perfect size for our mail that is until The post post person starts putting junk door to door advertising rubbish in filling it up,

Was this helpful? 7

Anonymous Verified Customer October 2019 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

I bought the Post Box as a gift for friends who have just bought a place in France. I have never seen it but they assure me that the box is well made and fit for purpose.

Was this helpful? 7

Alan Verified Customer April 2017 Reviewed Colour: Stainless Steel
Rated 2.7 / 5Rated 2.7 / 5Rated 2.7 / 5Rated 2.7 / 5Rated 2.7 / 5

The box works well and the post is kept dry. However I am disappointed in the poor quality stainless steel, which is showing signs of rust after just over a month of use, despite the box being in a position where it is protected from the prevailing winds and rain.

Was this helpful? 6

Mark Verified Customer August 2018 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

A fantastic post box and great value. Its kept everything dry and secure. Its a little thin, but then its not a high security box. I love the generous mail slot which is full width and thick enough for a large A4 envelope.

Was this helpful? 5

John M Verified Customer August 2018 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

A well made and very sensibly priced item. Easy to attach to wall. Keeps the rain out. Larger capacity would be useful if newspapers are also put in the post box before post man arrives. However, not a major issue. The paintwork is well finished which I imagine will eliminate the risk of rust and thus prolong its life. The lock is very simple and certainly not tamper-proof, but it serves its purpose well. I would certainly recommend the post box as fit for purpose and value for money. You will not be disappointed.

Was this helpful? 5

Handel Bennett Verified Customer June 2018 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Living in Devon, in the wetter West, we wanted a letter box with an angled lid for rain to run off, and in white paint to discourage rusting. It had to have fixing points in order to 'square up' the box with background brickwork. It also had to be large enough to receive more than one C4 size envelopes containing multi-page Annual reports, and obvious enough for all callers to use. Lastly, it needed a simple lock to keep the contents secure, yet accessible, with a simple hinge drop-down door. The 'Villa White' was just right!

Was this helpful? 4

Mr Price Verified Customer June 2017 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5
Recommended

Good quality product,well made,easy to install

Was this helpful? 4

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2019 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Bought the Villa Black post box after looking at at loads of postboxes, sent a more expensive one back from another company as the quality and security weren't good enough. Pleased with purchase, good looking, large enough capacity, and well built, so should last a long time.

Was this helpful? 3

M Mines Verified Customer November 2018 Reviewed Colour: Green
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Subtle design and colour. Blends well with our 1920s house but I’ve seen them on modern houses looking equally good.No problem with ordering or delivery. Apparently easy to install—— job done in ten minutes. Hopefully the winter weather won’t have a detrimental effect on the box.

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer July 2018 Reviewed Colour: Green
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Very good, would recommend.

Was this helpful? 3

Durham Lad Verified Customer May 2018 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Decent quality for the price. Simple to fit, easy to clean .. does what it says on the tin !

Was this helpful? 3

Tracey Verified Customer May 2018 Reviewed Colour: Green
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

great product. easy to fit. sturdy but looks classic. would recommend and use again

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2018 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

very nice product - I am really happy with it

Was this helpful? 3

Jacquie Ray Verified Customer December 2017 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I needed a solution to my dog attacking the post so needed a exterior secure post box. This is a perfect fit for the narrow wall space I have available. Nice,compact and unobtrusive. Easily takes large brochures and small parcels. Simple to open and the post stays dry and no signs of weather damage at all. Great value for money compared to many others on the market. The postman finds the top opening very easy to use. The screws provided are of surprisingly good quality as we usually find this is a weak point with many products.Very impressed with this little box.

Was this helpful? 3

Sue Verified Customer November 2017 Reviewed Colour: Stainless Steel
Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Great it's in a porch but look great easy to use and if you are away there is lots of room to keep the letters safe + you can't get your hand in the top to get the letters out you need the key.

Was this helpful? 3

Annoymous Verified Customer October 2017 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Recommended

I.had to have a post box as we no longer have a letter box. It has really taken me a time to get used to having a safe post box. I looks cool and works really well!!! We have no gutters at the moment. But the safe is not bothered and keeps the post dry and safe ❤️❤️

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2023 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Good little post box, plain, no frills and does the job - just what I wanted. Only slight criticism is that the lid sometimes flips up in if there is a strong wind and lets in the rain. Other than that it does what it says on the tin.

Was this helpful? 2

Louise Verified Customer October 2020 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

This is the first post box I have purchased and I cannot fault it. It is a perfect size, fitting in post and magazines with ease. It looks nice on the wall by the front door and as it is under a porch type covering it will always be completely waterproof. It is easy to clean and has saved my post from being "killed" by the dog. I would highly recommend this post box which was easy to fit to the wall and appears to be sturdy. It does the job it is supposed to do with ease and I would buy it again.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer October 2018 Reviewed Colour: Green
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent product. Postman loves it. He doesn't have to walk up our long path anymore. Thanks for good service. Fixed it to our gate the day it arrived. so easy, with screws and plugs provided. Looks good. Colour green. The colour matched the gate, so that was also a bonus. Thanks again.

Was this helpful? 2

Neil Jefferis Verified Customer February 2024 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

I purchased this product for my sister's house. It is exactly the same box as I bought from you several years ago for myself, and has given me excellent service. It is made of good quality steel and the paint has a good finish. My box has stood the test of time well. The mail slot across the top is full width and will take full A4 letters without the need to bend the corners of the letters or fold them in half to get them in the box. It is easily fitted using the screws and plugs provided. We are both happy with our purchases.

Was this helpful? 1

Steven Verified Customer February 2020 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Just what i was looking for.

Excellent build quality and large letter slot to allow delivery of A4 envelopes.

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2019 Reviewed Colour: Green
Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5

Let's in the rain...pool of water sits on the bottom. Soaking wet letters. Not very impressed...seemed like a good, sturdy, secure box, but very disappointing.

Was this helpful? 1

Brian JOYCE Verified Customer October 2019 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Exactly as expected and described by the seller. Just the right size for the job required and simple to install on the house wall. Could be a little stronger, of course, but that would make securing it more of a problem and it would have cost more. It is not expected to hold the Crown Jewels and it does what is expected of it! The price was fine and delivery prompt.

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer July 2019 Reviewed Colour: Green
Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5
Recommended

The letter box arrived timely and was easy to attach to the surface. Holds water well. The opening in the lid for mail could be larger. Storage capacity good. However, the lock is badly built. Despite greasing, it gets stuck and its key is way too weak. The lock is not difficult to break. This is why I would not buy it again.

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2019 Reviewed Colour: Green
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

better than the last one as take large envelopes and keeps the mail dry with the overlap.

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2024 Reviewed Colour: Stainless Steel
Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5Rated 3.4 / 5
Recommended

Good value but sharp edges and mediocre build quality

Was this helpful?