Black Box Pro Fireproof Home Safe Reviews

Ref: SAF-BBPRO
Thumb image of 15936.png
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10

9.6 / 10 based on 43 reviews.

£189.00 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10
Security Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10
Value for Money Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10
John B Verified Customer January 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Really pleased with this little safe. It was delivered quickly and with everything needed for quick installation. The instructions were all very clear and straightforward, so installing it was no issue, although we did use a local builder to make sure everything was done properly (didn't want to raise any insurance

The safe itself seems very well constructed and has ample capacity for typical valuables and documents up to A4 size. Nice touch that the interior is 'carpeted'. Easy to use and reassuring that there is an element of fire-proofing built into it, although it is hard to say whether 30 minutes would be adequate in the event of a major fire.

Finally, the price was excellent - much cheaper than one of the well-known brands and it probably has a better specification.

Was this helpful? 31

Sue Verified Customer December 2019
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Product was bought as an extra security

Safe just to contain documents and info

That we didn't want misplaced.

For the price I'm happy that it does the job

Intended .

Was this helpful? 25

HP Verified Customer January 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

I purchased the black box pro fireproof home safe as I was impressed with its level of security. Locking bolts and hinge bolts that work independently gives a much greater level of security, also the length of time for fire protection. The felt lining sets it apart and really makes it look like a quality product, and having a shelf makes it easy to separate items. It was very easy to install using the supplied fixing bolts. However as the safe was purchased as a gift I was bitterly disappointed to find that when removed from the packaging a large piece of paint was chipped off one of the front corners which has spoilt the look of a very smart looking safe.

Was this helpful? 21

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2020
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Easy to use and installl very pleased

Was this helpful? 19

Anonymous Verified Customer December 2019
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 4 / 5
Recommended

Very happy with the safe . Easy to fix to wall and to use .

Was this helpful? 17

Norman Verified Customer April 2021
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

A very good product great value for money easy to install and use would highly recommend

Was this helpful? 12

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2021
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Extremely happy with our new safe, it’s easy to use and makes me feel secure

Was this helpful? 11

Steve Kempson Verified Customer April 2021
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Very easy to install all bolts are included which a great help. Once installed very easy to set up and start to use it, loads of storage room inside. Great value for your money. The customer service team are first class very helpful. The only thing what was wrong the batteries they supply were flat but that’s all 10/10

Was this helpful? 11

Roger W Verified Customer April 2021
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

I am very pleased with this safe. The quality seems vey good and it suits my needs very well. Installation was simple and it seems very secure although I have not been burgled and have not had a house fire so an relying on the manufacturers assurance that it lives up to spec.

I would recommend this safe as a cost effective way of protecting your valuables.

Was this helpful? 10

George Verified Customer April 2021
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Good service and delivered quickly. The safe feels nice and heavy which is a nice assurance. The instructions and simple and easy to follow and with a small amount of DIY knowledge and skill it’s easy to install.

The safe is large enough to hold a variety of smaller items such as jewellery and cash and a4 documents.

The number lock is more than simple enough to set and with 8 digits it would deter any attempts at guesswork.

Have not yet had the misfortune of being burgled but I am confident it would hold up to some serious attack which would either wake myself or my neighbours should I be out. For the money I am extremely pleased and would highly recommend this product.

Was this helpful? 10

Colin Verified Customer July 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

There are so many varieties of safes on the market it?s difficult to make a decision and choose one that you know that you will be happy with. The key was to make a note of what my requirements were before commencing the search. I knew of the company and it didn't take long to find the right safe that matched all of my of needs. The safe is excellent. Build quality and materials used are first class. Ease of understanding how to access the safe was a must. Delivery time was a surprise, it came within 2 days. To summarise, top class product and top class service. Would recommend both Safe and the safe.

Was this helpful? 10

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2021
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Pleased with my purchase.

Was this helpful? 6

Sean Verified Customer October 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Brilliant safe for the price. Well built, sturdy, and very simple to get acquainted with.

Fits nicely and securely onto the shelf in my wardrobe, and is perfect for what I need.

Was this helpful? 6

Eric Verified Customer August 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Works fine easy to install has both back and floor fixing holes unlike a lot of others.

Would recommend

Was this helpful? 6

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2020
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Excellent. Good build quality and very easy to use.

Was this helpful? 6

Neil Verified Customer April 2021
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

I did a fairly extensive search on the internet, looking at options for a safe to build into storage cupboard at our local Foodbank premises. On the basis of price, application and specifically ease of use for our volunteers, the Safe product which we selected appeared to be the best choice available to us.

Fitting the safe in its planned location was very simple, with clear installation instructions provided for the fitting process.

The setting of suitable numbers the keypad was also fairly self explanatory, only took me a couple of attempts (my mistake, not the instructions) and the safe is now providing improved security for handling cash and confidential paperwork.

Volunteer staff are now feeling much more secure, with cash being locked away properly.

Was this helpful? 5

Philip Verified Customer October 2020
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 3.8 / 5
Recommended

Nice product. I like it and it serves the purpose.

It's a bit small but large enough to take my A4 files.

Great value for money

Was this helpful? 5

Anonymous Verified Customer July 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Great product and just what every family needs

Was this helpful? 5

Charlie Verified Customer June 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

This product was purchased to replace a previous safe. It is excellent in terms of ease of use, it looks very neat and was very easy to install. I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this product to any potential buyer. We are highly satisfied.

Was this helpful? 5

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2020
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

At first look, the safe was solidly built with no obvious pry-bar access points. It is heavy enough to be an awkward carry for someone but actually manipulating it during the install process was simple enough. fixing it to wall and floor was easy with the pre-drilled holes and it now sits firm and snug in a hidden corner. Internally the felt padding is easy on the hands with plenty of space for average home valuables, especially documents which is why I went fireproof. Setting up after battery install was a breeze and the keypad is very easy to use. Locking bars on the door are very substantial and give great confidence. The one minor - and it is minor - niggle, is that the main door knob feels a bit plasticky and unfinished but this does not overly diminish this otherwise excellent product.

Was this helpful? 5

Anonymous Verified Customer October 2021
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

We had a very restricted space and wanted a fire resistant safe. Web-site was very helpful in finding the right product that made the best use of space available. This safe fitted perfectly and works well. Thanks.

Was this helpful? 4

Terry Verified Customer April 2021
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 4.6 / 5
Recommended

The safe is great, real value for money, I am pleased with my purchase. The sales team and aftercare people have been brilliant and were great to deal with. The only negative I can mention is the packaging of the safe could be better, to protect it from any damage during transit. Very happy with my safe, the interior space is enough for my needs, is big enough to take an A4 folder and other papers. The top shelf is big enough for wallets and any extra small items that need to be kept safe. I recommend buying this safe.

Was this helpful? 4

Woodie Verified Customer March 2021
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

This is my safe so don’t have anything to compare it to. However, it was simple to set up and operate. It’s heavy and feels robust.

Plenty of space inside keeping A4 papers. The shelf makes it more efficient on space as well.

Came with fixing that seemed decent so didn’t have to use others.

I purchased mainly for the fire resistance although I’m not expecting miracles from a complete disaster. I think it says and hour fire resistance. Also useful to store things like passports, marriage certs, IDs that u don’t need every day.

All in all very happy with the purchase and a good price based on similar models in the market from research at the time.

Was this helpful? 4

Jolanta Verified Customer September 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Very good value for money. Solid and heavy and not of flimsy manufacture. It was guitar easy to fit with three bolts to secure into the wall, a further three bolts to the floor would be the only addition I would make. This safe is very easy to use and has push button usage as well as key. This safe is very spacious and big enough to hold unfolded documents. I have advised members of my own family to purchase one. I feel very secure now leaving home for long periods knowing that my safe is “safe and secure” I love it!! BUY ONE NOW!!

Was this helpful? 4

Ian Verified Customer October 2021
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Works as described, appears well made, just right for my needs. I bought this safe to keep passports and valuables in, and my password book. Additional items were storedin it when we were away from home, including my back up drive and spare house keys, so much better than trying to hide things away. I have it mounted on a shelf in a cupboard, fixed to the wall so it is secure and quite well hidden. A good size for secrecy but with ample room for my needs. I would recommend this safe to anyone with similar requirements. Delivery was prompt and reliable.

Was this helpful? 3

Dave Northwood Verified Customer October 2021
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Safe.co.uk has a very good selection of safes to choose from. The one I wanted ws out of stock. It was very easy to contact them and enquire about a date they would expect to have stock again.

There was also the option of requesting an email when this happened. I found the customer service excellent.

Ordering was easy and I was kept completely up to date by email at all stages of the delivery process. The safe arrived well packaged and was exactly as described.

Fittings were included to enable it to be securely fixed to a wall or floor (or both). Setting a code was easy with clear instructions. The build and feel for security for items placed in the safe was really good considering the price paid. The soft cover inside is a nice touch and it easily acommodates A4 size paper.

Overall I am really pleased with the product and safe.co.uk.

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2020
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 4.4 / 5
Recommended

The product appears to be sturdy, included the batteries which was good, and had a good presentation and finish. Overall I am very satisfied with the purchase. The product came quickly, and it was easy to talk to someone in the customer services about the product before I purchased it. I am not an expert is safes so it is difficult to compare it to any other. I trust that the detains given on the website are a good indication of its fitness for purpose. Also, the company seems easy to deal with and takes PayPal. The deliver box should not have quickly identifiable branding on it however, not very clever to conceal the type of purchase.

Was this helpful? 3

Jan Verified Customer December 2021
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Brilliant sturdy product

I Gave less stars for the security aspect as obviously not checked it in fire ! And really don’t want to !

Ideal for storing documents

Seems really strong , and is compact

Would definitely recommend this product if any one is thinking of buying one

Was this helpful? 2

Richard Todd Verified Customer November 2021
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

A very impressive piece of kit. Ease of ordering and delivery were second to none. As my home has been extended I have what used to be external walls internally, so I have the depth to bury it in a wall. I removed a suitable area of plasterboard carefully with a multitool, to reveal the original brick wall and a timber batten. The batten was removed by means of a line of 6mm holes top and bottom to cut the batten free. Bricks were removed using a masonary bit and a bolster chisel. The safe was secured in place using the substantial screws provided.To cover the safe I bought an illuminated LED mirror, cut a safe sized hole in the back plate, and lined this recess with 20mm timber and hardboard painted black. The mirror was fixed to the wall along one vertical edge by means of a piano hinge. The mirror then sits flush to the wall, held in place by a flush fitting magnetic catch, with the safe hinges disappearing into the recess. When my daughter saw the finished article her reaction was, Wow, very James Bond. A very, very, impressive piece of kit.

Was this helpful? 2

Howard Verified Customer October 2021
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Easy to order, arrived on time, easy to install.

It was a pleasure doing business with you.

Will recommend your company.

Many thanks.

Howard

Was this helpful? 2

Alex Verified Customer June 2022
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Lovely safe exactly as described and works flawlessly, small issue I had which was a lack of knowledge rather than anything to do with the safe. Handled beautifully by the company and now I am very happy with both the company and the product. I could put more highly recommend safe.co.uk.

Was this helpful?  

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2022
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent value for money easy to instal and set up easy to understand instructions

Was this helpful?  

MW Verified Customer May 2022
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Good value for the volume, fire protection and build quality. Usually better to buy bigger as the internal volume of some safes is surprisingly small when actually seen. This safe is generous and sufficient for jewellery, watches, cash etc without cramming things in. Overall I would recommend. This is second safe I've had from this company and would happily buy from them again.

Was this helpful?  

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2022
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 4.4 / 5
Recommended

It a great home safe, well made and very reasonable cost. It is easy to use and set up, instructions are not bad!!

Was this helpful?  

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2022
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

We love it! Seems sturdy and fits neatly into its intended slot (we got someone else to install it to manoeuvre the heavy safe into a tight spot). It's super easy to set up and use - definitely good value for money and safe enough that we no longer need to pay annually for a safety deposit box!

Was this helpful?  

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2022
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Great little safe, great that you can remove the shelf if more space needed. Nice that it’s covered up to 20k for insurance purposes. All fixings included which is a bonus and made for easy self installation (I’m a qualified builder) 😁 would definitely recommend this safe and the company 👍

Was this helpful?  

Chris Verified Customer March 2022
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Delivery was fast. The safe was easy to set up and operates perfectly. The size is just right for my needs. I would strongley recommend this safe for anyone needing a safe for securing cash and documents for home needs. The safe is easily secured to a wall or flat surface.

Was this helpful?  

Jay Arr Verified Customer March 2022
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

The safe was sent promptly in response to.my order, and received in good condition, having been well protected from dents or scatches by its packaging

I was quite impressed by the build quality. The walls and door are thick and sturdy. Plus it is easy to mount on a wall.

The instructions are easy to follow. The locking mechanism is simple and straightforward, and the personal pin easily input. 2 keys give peace of mind if manual override is required.

Overall a good quality product.

Was this helpful?  

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2022
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Sturdy build, good storage and easy to use.

Was this helpful?  

Paul Verified Customer February 2022
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

A quality product at a good price.

Was this helpful?  

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2022
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Just what I wanted... without a slot in the front. Easy to fit and easy to use. Decent capacity - take all treasures & important documents.

Was this helpful?  

Stephen Verified Customer January 2022
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

After reading lots of reviews on other safes with other company's, this one had the best reviews and fitted our needs. The price was good for the size and safety aspects. The instructions are clear and easy to follow. We has no problems fitting the safe to the wall securely. Does the job perfectly.

Was this helpful?  

Frank Verified Customer December 2021
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 4.4 / 5
Recommended

so fa a good wee safe at a fairish price ,easy to install.

Was this helpful?