Trent Black - Steel Post Box Reviews

Ref: G2-TRE-BL
Thumb image of 3923.png
Rated 7.1 / 10Rated 7.1 / 10Rated 7.1 / 10Rated 7.1 / 10Rated 7.1 / 10

7.1 / 10 based on 26 reviews.

£40.09 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 7.9 / 10Rated 7.9 / 10Rated 7.9 / 10Rated 7.9 / 10Rated 7.9 / 10
Build Quality Rated 6.7 / 10Rated 6.7 / 10Rated 6.7 / 10Rated 6.7 / 10Rated 6.7 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10
Weather Resistance Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10
Value for Money Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10
12 March 2015 Reviewed Colour: Green
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

It is well built, but the front flap makes it difficult for the postman with A4 size & thicker items. They reduce access & capacity. Wish I'd talked to the postman 1st. He advised a top opening box & that is what I should have got. Built well & OK for folk who only get letters.

6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 November 2014 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10 6.4 / 10

Good size, can fit large letters, such as deliveries of single packed dvds/games. However considering the price I was expecting something sturdier

6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 October 2013 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 3.2 / 10Rated 3.2 / 10Rated 3.2 / 10Rated 3.2 / 10Rated 3.2 / 10 3.2 / 10

We are disappointed with this product. The rain gets in and gathers at the bottom of the box making the post wet. The lock has begun to show signs of corrosion and is difficult to open.

6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

30 October 2014 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10 6.6 / 10

Everything fine except the slots for the name tag seem to be open at both ends so the paper slip keeps slipping out. Is it meant to be like this?

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 January 2014 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

Product was easy to mount and is sturdy. not quite sure how secure it is as I think it would be quite easy to open with a small tool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 November 2017 Reviewed Colour: Green
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

When it came I was very pleased with the colour match to my workshop colours.(cream and green). My neighbour in the next workshop was very impressed as well, and thinking of swapping the one he has now for one of yours. It is very easy to use, and I like the way the front opens for ease of access.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 July 2016 Reviewed Colour: Silver
Rated 1.2 / 10Rated 1.2 / 10Rated 1.2 / 10Rated 1.2 / 10Rated 1.2 / 10 1.2 / 10

This was absolute mistake to buy this product. All the letters get drenched when it rains. More so it is not safe or secure at all. You can simply lift the flap and take the letters out without opening the door. This product is simply wrong in every ways.

Please do not buy this.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 November 2013 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

well made, good value, did the job, delivery was very fast, item so far has stood up to the weather, people that use them are flat dwellers and need something that they can rely on to be a safe housing for their mail etc. these certainly do the job. the fitting/fastening to the exterior wall was also a straightforward job, due mainly to the inclusion of step by step instructions and fixing screws and plugs. the ability to bolt them together forming a row also made for a neat,level finish. on talking to the post man he concured that they looked good, operated well and accomodated the daily mail and all the "junk" mail that gets deliverd these days.

overall a very good product.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 July 2013 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10 5.6 / 10

Pros: Light weight, decent storage. Cons: I ordered 6 boxes for a small block of flats. Two came with the same key number! That is a 1/3 of the boxes,which is pretty poor security. Top securing holes could be in a better position.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 April 2017 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Good quality easy to install. Positioned and fitted inside the building therefore cannot asses the weather resistance.

Excellent service throughout from Safe.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

14 July 2016 Reviewed Colour: Stainless Steel
Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10 5.6 / 10

Poor quality. Its front opening had a spot weld which was hopeless not even weak in strength.

So disappointed and this was when it was installed on the wall. Just repaired it and continued with the poor box!!!

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

29 June 2016 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

We've recently had a new front door installed but it did not have a letter box so we were obliged to buy an external post box. We bought the Trent White steel post box and it proved to be an excellent buy. It was easily installed and holds mail up to A4 size.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

14 March 2016 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This post box was just as described and of good quality, I am very happy with my purchase and would recommend this problem to others

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 July 2015 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

An ideal item, that you actually re-supplied as the first one arrived damaged, however the replacement one, although ideal has after only couple of months, come adrift on the bottom left edge, where the welding has broken.

However I do feel it is a good product and an ideal size for large mail items.

Good paint finish and very easy to fit to a wall. The locking mechanism is rather difficult to utilise, but I've now become quite use to working it. The post man seems much happier as it is much easier now for him to deliver my daily post items.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

7 May 2015 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

it is well made, although when i got post out the other day it was wet but that may have been postmans fault. i have osteoarthritis and a frozen shoulder so i struggle to actually unlock the box

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 November 2013 Reviewed Colour: Green
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Products fitted description, and suited the purpose. We had originally planned on making purpose built boxes to suit our requirement, but those supplied by the Safe Shop were better, neater and more economical.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 October 2013 Reviewed Colour: Silver
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

I required a replacement post box for a flat which I rent out. The previous occupant did not leave a key and the box was locked.Cost of a locksmith----£80! +new lock. Cost of G2 post box half that, delivered in 3 days, standard size to fit other post boxes in lobby and its new.

There really was no choice . I ordered the new box on line (took 5 mins). I then drilled out the lock in the existing box (2mins). unscrewed the old box --leaving the rawlplugs in the wall. Finally I screwed the new box in to the existing plugs (fittings provided) (2mins)

The service from the safe shop was excellent. The product description was accurate . And my decision to replace a box rather than repair it through a locksmith was vindicated by a saving of over £50.

Finally, the G2 postbox now in position looks good, is big enough to take all sizes of letters, is easy to empty and is secure (2 keys are provided). Any parcels or directories can also be placed on the flat top. My only reservation would be a preference for a sloping top if the box was to be placed outside and there was a need to shed rainwater

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

30 May 2013 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

exactly as ordered

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 May 2017 Reviewed Colour: Silver
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Easy to order speedy delivery easy to install. Happy client. Thank you.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 November 2016 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10Rated 5.6 / 10 5.6 / 10

Needs more depth

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 December 2015 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10 5 / 10

The main point is that it lets in water so my post gets wet when it rains. I wouldn't order it again.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

29 October 2015 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

It is smaller than the old one of another make that had rusted out. However we get less post now with emails having taken up the bulk of our communication so this is no problem. As to how long it will last, that remains to be seen.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 February 2015 Reviewed Colour: Silver
Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10 6.6 / 10

Overall good value for money. I'm not surpised at the relatively poor weather resistance because it's in a very exposed postion - not far from the coast and subject to wild weather, including salt-laden wind and heavy Cornish rain. It's starting to show signs of corrosion already but, as I say, this wasn't unexpected at the price - and even stainless steel (which, in my experience, isn't really stainless anyway) would probably would cost a lot more and not be much better).

Easy to fit, reasonably well-made and big enough for the amount if post we get. I would recommend.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 February 2015 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10 5 / 10

The lock is starting to go rusty after a few months - disappointing.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 February 2015 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10 6.8 / 10

Required for dropping off pool car keys. Does the job adrquately.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

7 November 2013 Reviewed Colour: Silver
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

I would have preferred the black boxes but these were out of stock so I opted for the silver which looks good.

Key action in the lock is a bit stiff.

Overall value for money.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No