Union 3G114E - BS 5 Lever Deadlock (67mm) Reviews

Ref: UNI-3G114E-67
Thumb image of 663a6b96657578ca3ee0043ea4ae1db1.gif
Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10

9.1 / 10 based on 12 reviews.

£40.75 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10
Ease of Fitting Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10
Security Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10
21 August 2014
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

I liked the fact that you stocked this lock in a very wide range of sizes. I could not have purchased this size lock from any of the large DIY stores. The lock is fully certified to meet current insurance requirements, and is drill resistant from both sides. All parts of the lock are of sturdy construction.

The lock replacement took longer than expected, as the lock cavity in the door had to be widened slightly. Sharp chisel required.

The lock operation was a little rough, so I dismantled the lock and applied a small quantity of copperease grease. It now works a treat.

The long throw of the lock also works well.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 October 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This lock was purchased to replace an existing lock for which the keys were getting difficult to turn. I wanted to minimise the carpentry required to fit a new lock and this lock was perfect. It took me about 15 minutes of chiselling to ensure the lock could be inserted and align with the strike plate on the door jam. I have a solid wood front door and have always used the mortice lock, as well as the Yale latch, when leaving the house. Being a five lever lock provides that extra peace of mind. Highly recommended and meets the requirements of most home insurers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

6 October 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Good

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

28 July 2016
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

I bought this as a straight replacement for an older lock of the same type (having bought a flat which had once been used as a holiday rental so I didn't know how many keys there were out there nor who had them). I'd hoped it would just slot in where the old one had been so it would be just a case of tightening some screws. In fact although the dimensions given are the same as the older ones it's a fraction wider and the bolt throws slightly to the side, so if you're planning to replace one as I did be aware that a small amount of chisel-work is needed. However once that's done it seems a good lock for the price.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

3 March 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

25 February 2016
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

V good

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

12 November 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Strong and sturdy lock and easily fitted

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

4 June 2015
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

This Union lock was purchased to fit a new outdoor wood side gate. The construction of the gate required a lock that would fit in a three inch wide wood frame, and this lock is one of few that have such a narrow profile. Fitting the lock was as straight forward as can be expected, given that drilling and chiselling was required to fit it in the gate and side post. There were good clear instructions and a template to use for drilling purposes. The lock operates smoothly from either side, and the standard length keys supplied are long enough from either side.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 April 2015
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

A bit pricey but a perfect replacement for my old Chubb lock. I chose it because the installation is identical.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

1 December 2014
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

The deadlock was simple to install thanks to The Safe Shop having a fantastic website which had all the information available on it. Drawings, dimensions etc. This meant it was easy to remove the old lock, take some details and measurements and order the correct lock first time. This was all the information that was not available from the high street stores when you got and trawl the shelves looking for a suitable replacement.

When the lock arrived it took 5 minutes to fit. I ordered with extra keys as well, which whilst not has cheap as getting them from a high street shop, they were of better quality and all of them worked without any rework required.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 November 2014
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Did what it said on the tin

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

19 October 2014
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Good value for money - product delivered quickly

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No