Yale Conexis L1 Smart Door Lock Reviews

Ref: YL-SD-L1000-CH
Thumb image of 8959.png
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10

8.6 / 10 based on 33 reviews.

£219.00 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10
Ease of Fitting Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10
Security Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10
27 April 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I was so please that I waited for this lock to come out. It was easy to fit myself following the enclosed guide. So simple and easy. Once paired to my phone and the extra tag and card that comes with the lock I tried it out. At first I was a little worried so always had my back door key with me. I was soon put at ease and now I unlock with either my phone or the small key tag which is on my car keys. Very very pleased with the Yale Conexis lock and would recommend with out fail.

21 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 April 2017
Rated 1 / 10Rated 1 / 10Rated 1 / 10Rated 1 / 10Rated 1 / 10 1 / 10

Absolute rubbish has given me nothing but hassle from day one. Plus the smart phone feature. Key sharing and Smart phone key does not even work. Also how do you problems with Apple on the App Store. Concerning the app to this problem. One of my worst purchases of all time

17 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 August 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Have to say there were a few issues to begin with but safe were incredible to the point where one guy, cannot recall his name, called almost every day until the issue was resolved.

I will definitely be buying from them again, outstanding service

11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

26 October 2017
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

The Conexis L1 lock is so easy to fit and makes you feel more secure. No chance of someone trying to force the lock.

The handle style is very good.

The lights and audible sounds it makes when locking and unlocking are reassuring. Also if you have not locked it correctly it lets you know with an audible sound as well.

The fob was very easy to set up and use it rather than the phone app. The phone app is set up but at first it would not respond.That situation corrected itself. As we use the fobs more, I cannot comment on the reliability of the app now.

I would recommend this product highly.

9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 July 2017
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

I was in two minds whether to buy this lock or not. There was nothing wrong with my old key working door lock but when I first saw this product I knew I needed it due to my active lifestyle.

The fitting of the product was very easy and it worked perfectly while following the instructions given.

I installed this lock over 3 months ago and have had no problems with it to date. The fobs also work with the alarm so you can unlock the door and disable the alarm with one fob/card which is great should you not want to carry keys around!

9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 December 2017
Rated 2.4 / 10Rated 2.4 / 10Rated 2.4 / 10Rated 2.4 / 10Rated 2.4 / 10 2.4 / 10

I was very sceptical of installing this as I thought it would be more trouble than a normal handle but my customer wanted it (even though they had the old model with just the buttons which didn’t work and were told by Yale it wasn’t their fault) it was very difficult to fit and a month later wouldn’t lock we went back to fix it but it was the lock that was broken,Yale just said it was our fault and wouldn’t do anything about it even though it had 2 years warranty

7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 January 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This lock seemed a bit expensive when it was first purchased, but as the saying goes " You get what you pay for ". When fitting the lock the fixing screws are in slots allowing them to move and position the lock exactly where you need it to be. Once fitted however it was a simple task to programme up the key fobs. The phone app is a nice touch as it records the lock usage but only for the phone keys, the fobs are not recorded. There is a Emergency 9 volt battery connection under the outside of this lock so that it can still be activated should the internal batteries become flat. The only problem with this is you need to have a battery with you should that happen.

6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

1 March 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This lock is great! I purchased it along with extra fobs and the Z-Wave chip so it could connect to my smart home.

The lock is really simple to fit, especially when you use the official Yale video on YouTube. I replaced a standard multi-point handle on my PVC door.

The assembly is large, especially on the inside but you soon get used to it.

Once fitted it feels really sturdy in the hand. Much more solid than my old one.

When you place a fob against it it takes about 4 seconds to be fully unlocked. It doesn’t sound long but when your in a rush to get in it feels like an age.

The app is great for controlling your fobs. You can add a name to the fob and if you wish you can turn that fob off via the app so if you lost it then there is no need to change the locks.

Also with the Z-Wave chip installed you can control the lock from anywhere in the world if you have ‘Samsung SmartThings’ setup. So if I’m away I can open the door remotely if required. However with my door I cannot remotely re-lock the door as you need to physically lift the handle up - but the SmartThings app tells you if the door is locked or open.

Overall I rate the lock highly and i would get another if this one ever failed.

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 November 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Yale have come up with a beautifully stylish price of hardware, suitable as a retrofit to upvc panel doors or in our case a replacement for the handle on our composite door of well over 10 years of age and actually looks better than the handle that was originally fitted way back then.

Fitting the lock was a price of cake, just follow the instructions in the booklet provided, which gives you a extremely handy tick list for you to follow so that you use the appropriate components for the size of your door.

Setting up the Tag & Cards is very easy as is setting up the mobile phone app, even for an technophobe like me, just twist and go as they say.

I would highly recommend this lock.

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 August 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

It is very easy to use and good if you away from your house.

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

1 March 2018
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

The locks are very well built & work very well. Use with the app is quite inconvenient (open app; wake the lock; turn the phone 90 degrees & back), so I would recommend using the cards/fobs which you simply hold just below the Yale logo. Forget the stickers for your phone; quite glitchy.

Self-installation is easy *if* you can follow instructions, done in 30 mins; 2 hours if you don't follow the instructions & miss a step!

I also use the Z-Wave modules to tie-in to SmartThings, which is a great way to unlock remotely (from the car before getting out in the rain, letting friends in etc), although battery level reporting & lock status is buggy too. No problems with the locks being unlocked without intending them to be, but occasionally SmartThings will report them as unlocked when they are not.

We have 3 installed & the convenience & geekery is great.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 December 2017
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Excellent smart lock, love it.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 August 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I ordered the Yale Conexis1 door handle and the Z-Wave module from Safe.co.uk as they were the best price around, both online and onhighstreet. The handle was dispatched very quickly and I didn’t have to wait long for the Z-wave module, which was out of stock at the time. Do take your time to read the fitting instructions and you’ll have it set up in about 30 minutes. When fitted with the Z-Wave module the lock worked perfectly with Samsung SmartThings. I highly recommend Safe.co.uk and will certainly order from this company again in the future. Very happy with the service, products and price.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 May 2018
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Expensive but miles better than other locks I have tried, I have mine connected to Smartthings via the z wave 2 module and it works flawlessly.

The Yale app leaves a bit to be desired but if you go with the Smartthings and create a widget on your phone then it saves the faffing about with bluetooth app.

Much much better build quality than Nuki and those types of lock and battery life even with the Z wave module is great, I messed about with the lock for the first few weeks and chewed through a set of batteries in 6 weeks but I am 3 months in to another set and they have 80% left.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 May 2018
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Excellent door lock easy to lock the door by pulling up the handle so I no the door is always locked

I would recommend getting the additional module and key button fob makes accessing the house much easier you can unlock the door from 10meters away.

If you just want the door lock for the app feature I wouldn’t recommend the lock at this time for that as it only works when it wants to very tempromental.

I had a fault with the lock I rang up Yale and they sent me a new part next day very good customer service aftercare.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 May 2018
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Love this lock, only the price puts me off, buying one for my back door.

Had builders in recently and loved the fact once we'd let them in, we can go out and they just walk out, lift the handle and the door locks.

Also great to give fobs out to family and friends and then choose when they can come in or not. Revoking keys when lost is another great feature

Wish i'd bought the brushed look rather than chrome, but the chrome had an offer on making it cheaper. Battery has so far lasted 6 months and still shows full on the app.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 May 2018
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Great device.

The Smart features are not all there cracked up to be and the app poor, how Weber I just wanted this for using keyfob access so is perfect for my needs.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

26 April 2018
Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10 6 / 10

Excellent lock, everything you could want it to be as a lock. Battery life appears good so far. It looks good on the door and is easy to use. The keyless locking is a nice feature. And we have had no problems using the key fobs and cards to open the door. We have not tried the mobile phone opening feature and probably won't.

But.....

You can only program one key from the lock. to do any more you have to use an appalling mobile app from Yale, that will cause you real heartache. When we installed the lock, Yale was experiencing technical problems and we were not able to add additional keys for four days. During this time their customer support was non-existent. Despite may many, increasingly frustrated and angry communications, and received no reply from them for well over two weeks. (of course, by then we had resolved our own problem by frequently reinstalling the app, registering it and trying to add new keys).

So: great lock spoilt by an awful app and poor customer support.

Would I buy it again? Probably. Would my wife let me buy it again? Absolutely not!

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 January 2018
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Great lock but takes a while to open door at times with app and the tag you put on the back of your phone no longer works might b ok when Yale update app very secure handle though

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 May 2018
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

The lock was bigger and heavier than expected. It is a well made, solid, secure device that I have used on a side entry door. I run a small business that requires a few people to access the rear of the house so this is the easiest way to secure the access but allow selected people access. I have used the mobile app to unlock/open the door but the use of key fobs is the preferred method. occasional hiccups adding additional fobs but closing the app and starting again generally works fine. As an additional option I would like to get a log of all key fob uses, it would then act as a time and attendance device - maybe in the next version of the app??

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 May 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This was worth every penny even for a domestic use. I use a wheelchair and wanted to be carrying less keys and this was the perfect solution. I can now easily get into the house with a fob and phone app. I can even give the postman access to the porch to securely leave packages by sending them a digital key that only works between a 2 hour window.

I can easily manage who can get through my door and also get alerts when people are coming and going. Adding new people is simple and you the application to manage this is very easy to use.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 May 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I’d been doing some research for a while on smart locks that suited my style of door and decided on the Yale Conexis as it offered a trustworthy brand with some nice customisation with both the modules and key/tag choices. I chose to self install and was very pleased with the overall ease of installation, especially as I chose to install on one of the colder days.

Net is that this is a very worthwhile, and to me, cost effective smart lock solution.

I am seriously considering it for use on my balcony doors purely to know I have a consistent security solution across my home.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 May 2018
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

First off Safe was the best price on this product by far from all the searching I did. Delivery was rapid and customer service on point.

Now the product it's self came well packaged and was relatively easy to install myself. Months and months down the line it's still solid and working well. I use my phone and keyring tags to open the door (which as a side effect leaves more space in my pocket and less shabby keys). It can be hooked up to alexa or Google home and also a smart Yale home alarm system for access with your phone.

Security wise there are no barrels snap and and no key holes to drill out.

An added bonus is how it helps when moving shopping to the car by activating the phone as a key so when you arrive at the door with a hand full of bags you just touch a button it recognises your home and unlocks and your in without putting the bags down and messing with a key.

Would recommended Safe.co.uk and this product every day of the week

Satisfied customer Ben

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 May 2018
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Sturdy product. Easy to fit using instructions provided and YouTube videos, just go through each step carefully. Looks good on door. Tend to use keyfob to open. Haven’t bothered with opening by rotating iPhone with app.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

26 April 2018
Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10 4.4 / 10

Short battery life, less than 3M. App crashing all the time, sharing keys not working, app cannot be installed unless on uk appstore. Very tricky ti configure as a z wave device. No clear instructions

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

26 April 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very good item, would recommend.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 April 2018
Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10 6 / 10

I thought the product was a great idea. But with no keypad for entry if you do not wish to use your mobile as an open door function thats bad. I have a yale keypad version which was good but the iphone app is rubbish. Yale seem to start developing something then drop that product to work on a new product but do not add all the features from the old product. Yale is not good and Assay Abboy or what ever the Swedish stuff is that you use.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 April 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Was apprehensive about this lock but when it arrived I quickly looked at the Insructions and fitted it in less than an hour. The YouTube videos were very good and made fitting it so easy. The app is good and I have had no issues since I fitted it over three months ago.

One function I have not used is to allow remote access which will save me time when waiting on trusted trades persons.

I have no hesitation in recommending the product and safe co for a very speedy service.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

22 March 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I love this product no keys to find in my bag just my fob love it tell every one about this product

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

22 March 2018
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

It’s a pricy door handle, but it’s awesome once you’ve gotten used to it. It’s great being able to send digital keys to family members, and opening with a fob instead of a key makes life easier. The best bit is not having to fumble around for keys when someone knocks on the door!

Safe.co.uk provided the best price by far when I searched, and their service was great

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 March 2018
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Overall I love this lock. Installation took about half an hour and was straightforward. During installation one of the screws snapped whilst tightening (no excessive force was used), but luckily there was a spare.

I’ve installed the Z-wave module which is OK (using Samsung SmartThings). However it seems temperamental at logging when the door has been unlocked and locked. Without the Z-wave module you get no info regarding the door unlocking or locking as the lock isn’t connected to the internet.

In general though, it’s really easy to use and so far the batteries seem to be lasting well. I would recommend it.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 January 2018
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

Elegant design, easy to install.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 May 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This item is great

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No