Coronavirus Update No disruption to day to day business more information

Yale Medium Fire Safe Reviews

Ref: YFM/352/FG2
Thumb image of 8075.png
Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10

8.9 / 10 based on 41 reviews.

£189.00 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10
Security Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10
13 October 2012
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Great for house deeds.

Easy to use, easy to set up.

First seen on "The Gadget Show" they could not break into it.

18 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

26 October 2011
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

easy to access securely. disastrous if you let the door shut before loading batteries and setting code

16 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

15 March 2012
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Solid, strong - if you are not able to bolt it down it still still heavy enough to stop someone running off with it!

Could do with a light inside - eg a small LED.

Keypad can be a bit non-responsive at times, not a major issue though

10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 March 2011
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

very pleased with the safe. Excellent build quality.

10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

14 September 2012
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

The build quality is of a high standard, it is heavy, with a good locking device. basic instructions, however you can source from the internet better instructions, so not really a problem.

9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

13 February 2014
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 7 / 10

1. The touch screen is easy to access and to use and is also visually clear.

2. Wedge shaped opening reduces inner space availability compared to outside dimensions which provide a visual sense of the space being larger thank it actually is. So care is required on the size of items placed inside. The inner face of the door can push items when closing and potentially damage them if user is not careful.

3. The weight, size and fixing arrangements make this a difficult safe for a thief to consider stealing.

4. The key hanging feature on the inner surface of the door is extremely useful.

7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 October 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Straight forward to use and plenty of room inside to store what we want to.

The first thing my husband did after unpacking the safe was to close the safe door. Fortunately we discovered that the instructions weren't inside the safe, but for a few heart-stopping moments we thought that we weren't going to be able to get the safe open again. A label on the door of the safe advising people not to close the safe door until after they've read the instructions, would be helpful!

7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 June 2013
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

A bit pricey but still good value. Does the job perfectly for me albeit the capacity is a bit limited - you alway manage to find more to put in it! Set up instructions not clear and I needed to speak to the Safe Shop to talk me thru it; still hesitant about resetting the PIN.

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 February 2013
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

fire safe and security safe in one

illuminated keypad

bolts for floor mounting included

was the right size for where I wanted to put it.

no internal light

no internal shelf

no internal lining

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

22 November 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Its great quality and does exactly what I need.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

1 March 2012
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Easy to use keypad and lots of features. Instruction manual tricky to follow and understand all features

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 January 2012
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Very easy to use, easy to change combination.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 October 2011
Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10 6.6 / 10

Nice design, no key. Can download instructions from web. Lock can easily be by passed in case battery is faulty or dead - makes you wonder what the point of having a lock in the first place! Not massive internal space. Internally keypad mechanism looks flimsy.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 September 2011
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

excellent safe and delivered next day which was excellent for us as previous one had been stolen

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 October 2017
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

Great little safe, ideal foor home but you should look at the next size up for serious office use.

Bolts to the flloor, youu need to pick carefully as best bolted into a joist. This limited me to where I could put it, but found a place foor it eventually.

It arrived quuicklyy, adequately packaged, and is quite heavyy for this 78 year old, but I managed to unback it and carry it to the location.

The instructions are all pictures, saves money on printing into hundreds of languages I guess, but once you get the hang of it, it is very easy to use, to change the combination, and it will take note if you put in a set number of dummy numbers before the main password. Ideal if people are watching you.

I would definitely buy it again.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

22 January 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

We were looking for a new safe, as the old one had a dial, turns to the right turns to the left, so old hat, so time for a change and move into the 21st century, after looking around for some time we settled on this one, are we glad we did, it is so easy, I am blown away every time I open it, as to how easy it is after the old one, we now put all sorts in it that may have been left out just because it so simple to open, it is heavy enough, bolts are provided to fix it down if you want, it's about opportunist and I don't think they could put this under their coat, fire proof as wel, good price, ticked all my boxes I am a happy bunny.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

6 June 2014
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

Safe was delivered in the specified time and good predelivery information. Packing was good and safe well protected. Only fault was the safe was not as specified in the sales data. I chose this one because the data sheet stated that it had a shelf. I kept the safe as everything else was as data sheet and I had already prepared the loction where it was to be installed. Set up instructions could be better but all in all well satisfied with the product and if I had a need for a second safe I certainly buy from the Safe Shop

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 January 2012
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Very easy to use, looks good, easy smooth lock

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 November 2011
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Template where to put the screws on the surface would be helpful

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 November 2011
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

good compact product; can be housed anywhere and design accommonding to this

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 August 2011
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Really good safe. Very easy to use and excellent build quality. Would recommend this to anybody.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 July 2011
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Neat, digital input, well finished and secure. All the fittings and instructions required to fit an excellent safe for the home.

No cons except I keep forgetting how to open it. I just need practise, no cons for the actual safe.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 November 2018
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

This is a VERY sturdy safe. It looks and feels the part. It is heavy so needs 2 people to lift it safely so will not on a shelf. Takes A4 papers and good space for valuables.

It needs extra holes in the sides or back for better security as the holes in the floor might not always be suitable.

The instructions are confusing and I locked it inadvertently and then my code didn't work. I called the helpdesk but they were no help and never called back. YouTube to the rescue. It needs a VERY simple set up guide with clear diagrams. Consequently I don't trust it 100% and daren't put the Passports in it as there is no key. It is behaving now but....

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 October 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I love this product way beyond the acceptable level of love a human should feel for a safe. I wanted to show it off and keep it on display because it looks so smart...but my girlfriend made me secure it using the screws it comes with and keep it hidden.

I would recommend this to anyone that wants a safe for documents, passports, jewellery etc.

I house all of the above in my safe, as well as a drone!

Just stop reading this and buy it. A few more words and I'm in the running for a digital camera.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

14 April 2017
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Very sturdy, excellent feel to the controls, slightly unresponsive at times on the touch screen keypad but mainly pretty good

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 July 2015
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

A really good product and exactly what I envisioned it to be. Obviously, only after a fire in my house will I be able to comment on the primary function of this safe. It is really easy to use, quick and simple to open and close, looks great, perfect size for A4 documents, and other little bits. Really liked the key holder to safely store my gun cabinet keys (the Firearms Inspector also gave that the thumbs up).

The only problem I have with this product are the set up instructions. Please read them very carefully. Practice locking and unlocking with the door open as you can always reset as long as you have access to the inside compartment of the door.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 June 2015
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

My experience with the purchase of the safe was relatively easy. I ordered it on the phone and it arrived as arranged. I drilled holes in the floor and with a bit of ingenuity managed to fix the safe with the bolts to the floor. It was fortunate I had the correct tools to hand otherwise it might have been much more difficult. Then I had a problem with the setting up of the security, but with the patient help of the staff on the telephone it was all sorted and now works perfectly. My things are now much safer!

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 April 2015
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

Good but instructions not very clear in places.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

24 April 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I was looking for a strong electronic safe to place my valuables and this fits the bill perfectly. It's strong, reliable and I liked it so much I bought it's big brother for my camera kit.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 July 2013
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

right for my job

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 January 2013
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I liked it because it keeps safe my valuable documents.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 November 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Has enough room inside to store my documents. Like the idea of an external battery to operate it if the internal one fails. Instructions are not very clear- i don't like picture instructions.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

1 November 2018
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

The touch panel which displays the numbers and locking function of the safe doesn't always light up first time for you to input the code to open it, which can be frustrating if you are in a rush. The safe is compact and sits nicely in a cupboard, it can also be fixed in place via pre-drilled holes in the bottom of the unit. There is a small draw which comes in handy for document storage. For a safe of it's size it is quite secure and can be used for small amounts of cash, for either small business or personal use. The price is very reasonable for the product.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 April 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Easy to use and easy to install and it does the job

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

22 April 2016
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

First one did not work was replaced within days

Excellent service

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 February 2016
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

The purchasing experience was very good with plenty of advice and guidance for my first time purchase. I thought the website was good, easy to navigate around and the ordering process was straightforward. The delivery process was up there with the best and it quickly arrived as promised and with plenty of tracking information. Surprisingly for such a sturdy product, it was very well packaged. The product itself looks very well made and completely meets my expectations. It is very good value, easy to install/use and the instructions are easy to follow for using the electronic lock. Overall, I am very pleased and would gladly recommend the company and product and would definitely use them again

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

29 January 2020
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

This safe is definitely the right size for documents and what I would call 'ordinary' use. I keep a USB drive in there too and for that, I'm loving the hooks on the inside of the door - they are a great use of space.

Regarding the hooks, they are part of a plastic panel which feels comparatively fragile and shaky vs the rest of the structure.

The shelf/drawer is an excellent idea and allows for separation between types of items but I would like to be able to access it without having to fully open the main door. Some optional shelving in the main compartment might be appreciated.

The different options for code input are a great foresight and I'm keeping the instructions handy for these. When closing and opening, the knob/dial feels a little rusty and not as smooth as when it first arrived, which is disappointing when the rest of the design is so sleek. I wonder if this is user serviceable.

As a gamer, I love the cool, blue panel and the input seems very reliable if a little tricky to always hit the right number. I haven't secured the unit to concrete yet, so won't comment on that side of things.

As a final note, I was shocked at the largeness of the unit, despite your good documentation online. This was my first safe purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

10 October 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

It is exactly as expected and excellent quality. We did have problems with the first one but that was replaced within 24 hours. John Woods customer service is a credit to the company. The only suggestion I have is to make the setting up instructions clearer. Thanks all

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

29 August 2019
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Good delivery. A good heavy safe and easy to set up security settings. Well made and quite stylish for a “box”. Good size to fit inside cupboard,wardrobe etc.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

4 July 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Its ideal for my personal use. Easy to use, quality product, and helpful customer services.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

29 November 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Its the perfect size for what I want and easy to operate & program

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

This product has 41 reviews.