Yale Safe Laptop Reviews

Ref: YL-YLB/200/EB1/B
Thumb image of 9eea82ca1a264f5c9fd3ee5fe288efa3.gif
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10

8.8 / 10 based on 46 reviews.

£129.95 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10
Security Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10
19 February 2011
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

The safe does all that was promised and provides a secure area for valuables that is so essential in modern houses where there are few areas where these may be safely stored.

There are two points that would be worth attention.

1. When mounting the safe tryinglocations the instructions should advise not to turn the safe on its back with the door unlatched. It then falls off its hinges and the spring closer drops out onto the floor. The reassembly is possible but the refitting of the door spring takes some thinking about.

2. The bolts supplied for a wall fixing are partcularly small and short especially if it is being fixed to an internal breeze block wall which would crumble if a determined thief wrenched the safe away. The solutio I adopted is larger diameter 100mm long expanding head bolts - obtainable at B&Q which now ensure that I have a safe and solid fixing. A little more drilling but worth doing.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 July 2012
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

-Cheap laptop safe that allows for up to 5 laptops per safe

-Included Batteries for the electronic lock

-Included screws to mount to concrete floor

-In case batteries run out there is a second method to unlock the safe via physical keys.

-specifically designed for laptops, may not want to exceed 15-16" laptops.

-doesn't look as secure as the next model up but for the price this is very good.

-could have been made of a more thicker metal, best used as a deterrence instead of a prevention to theft. The longer it takes for someone to break-in the shorter their stay on the premises. There are more expensive safes available for the cost it is acceptable.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 May 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I purchased a Laptop Safe from Screwfix - they said it was suitable for a 17" laptop, no way, there door opening size does not take into accout the hinges.

The Safe Shop although more expensive is much larger a 17" fits with ease, with plenty of room for the extras like cash and USB drives and other valuables. This safe is also much cheaper than the same safe from other sites and delivery was speedy.

If you need a Laptop Safe this is the one for you.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

13 February 2014
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

I spent quite a while researching different safes to find the best one that satisfied my needs. Obviously it had to be secure so the security rating was high on the agenda. Secondly it had to be big enough to store my laptop (15") as well as my wife's jewellery box and a host of private papers, passports etc., but not too big that it would be too conspicuous or take up too much space. Many safes on the market are not versatile enough to cover all these needs, but this Yale safe perfectly fitted the bill.

The whole process of ordering, delivery and installing the safe was really straight forward. Delivery was within a few days of ordering and the safe was well packaged. I firstly checked that there was no damage and everything operated as it should. The two keys supplied both turned easily to both lock and open the safe door. I then installed the batteries and checked the electronic operation of the door which worked perfectly. Installation was relatively easy using the four bolts supplied, but to be extra sure I fitted an additional four bolts so that the safe is now bolted to both the wall and the floor making it virtually impossible to forcibly remove.

This Yale safe ticked all the boxes, and all in all I would say that this is an excellent buy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 April 2013
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This safe is a good size and fits the larger laptop and various other items that need securing.

Maybe its just me but the safe automatically locks after a short while. I would prefer it to only lock when I require it to(i.e. when the lock button is pushed).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 March 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Fits perfectly under bottom shelf of wardrobe

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 February 2011
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

excellent size,i bought this initially for my laptop but theres so much room in it ive found loads more valuables to store safely!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

13 September 2014
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Fits my 15" laptop with plenty of room for additional papers etc. easy to program. Keys provided for backup (when the batteries die, or you forget your code).

It's going to be strong enough to impede theft for those unprepared when under pressure in the event of a break in in my opinion and serves the purpose I bought it for.

Mounting screws and pre drilled holes provided

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 November 2013
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

does what it says on the label .. very well

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 September 2013
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This is an excellent safe, it's a perfect size for home valuables such as a laptop and other small items such as small cameras, passports and documents etc. It was the best on the market for our needs - right size and right price. It was very straightforward and easy to install - it was installed in about 30 minutes. The safe is very easy to use with a simple key-code to unlock - and a couple of key presses to lock. The safe definitely gives us peace of mind which following a raft of burglaries in our area is very important!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

29 August 2013
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

It does what it says

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 August 2013
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Great value, reputable brand, solid build, key backup. Instructions a bit confusing

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 June 2013
Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10 6.4 / 10

Easy to mount once you have deciphered the instructions.

Operating instructions are unclear. A page of instructions explaining how to set up the lock and use it would help a lot.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 April 2013
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Smart design and good over ride key. Storage could have been slightly larger

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 April 2013
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Great size and value for money is amazing. Door is very chunky with digital panel and battery's taking up useful space

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 February 2013
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

good build quality. need to input the number each time...

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

31 January 2013
Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10 6.6 / 10

Does what it says on the tin. Could do with a light inside, but this was easily resolved with buying a stick-on led light.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 January 2013
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

easy of use

hidden key hole

lit up LCD

good size

Feels like a solid/secure safe, good build quality.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 November 2012
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Good instructions, well designed lock mechanism and code entry keys, good capacity for its size, backlit display, backup manual keys.

Needs a LED light inside. Metal could be a bit thicker.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 October 2012
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Brilliant wide opening door makes it easy to get things in and out, and the space inside is quite large and easy, especially for laptops, but also larger papers that you want to keep flat.

Didn't come with the shelf that it was advertised with, but otherwise it's great.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 June 2012
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Great product for none commercial dwelling. Poor fixings, use your own but nothing wrong with safe itself

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 May 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Verry useful, everyone shoul have one at home to keep safe the valuables

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 April 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

It does exactly what I required. Provides security for cash and laptop. But most of all peace of mind.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

15 March 2012
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

Quality build, ease of use & big enough to take a large laptop. It lacks a shelf.I would like to put my laptop on a shelf & all other documents, cameras etc on the floor of the safe.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 February 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Just what I needed to keep my laptop in my motor home when on away. easy to install and no keys to mislay

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 December 2011
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Good size for laptop and still have room for other valuables. Easy to operate. Did not have much confidence in using the raw bolts supplied - especially for a security product. Purchased my own for peace of mind.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

7 December 2011
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Excellent for my student daughters over size laptop.

Best product we could find, from a very helpful supplier

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 November 2011
Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10 6.2 / 10

The measurements given do not mention the "lip" of the safe - consequently I was unable to use it for its original purpose.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

31 August 2011
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Ideal size for my use, easy operation, good value item

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 July 2011
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

Simple to open and close. Unfortunately first safe received appeared faulty but this was exchanged within a day or so. Very helpful staff.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 February 2011
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Very easy to install, excellent capacity.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 February 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The safe is compact light and easy to site. The safe is also easy to bolt to floor or wall. The code instructions are easy yo follow.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 February 2011
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Solid, Good Quality build with a brand I trust. No light! However, I have improvised by putting in a battery 3 way sensor triangle light.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 February 2011
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Didn't buy it to keep a laptop in, but use it for a4 folders portable hard drives and it is brilliant.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 February 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Easy to use, and exactly as described.Ideal for what we had in mind.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 February 2011
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Looks smart, works as intended.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

24 June 2016
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Would highly recommend this product - delivered promptly and easy to install.

Has a good capacity with room to spare - laptop and other electronic equipment together with valuables and documents all fit with ease.

Do not hesitate to purchase - I have searched other retailers for something similar and Safe.co.uk has proven unbeatable in all its aspects: Ease of use, build quality, storage capacity, security and value for money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

19 May 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Good product! Value for money & definite peace of mind.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

14 May 2016
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Would recommend longer bolts

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

14 April 2016
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

Choose this safe so I could add my laptop along with other items. ordering was easy, but as it is supplied direct from Yale getting a clear idea of when it would be delivered was not as easy. Safe rang Yale for me to get a better idea.

Easy to install though screws supplied are useless and I needed to buy replacements. The screws protrude into the interior when fixed which could scratch more delicate items.

Not had to change the batteries yet and the safe is working fine.

Overall happy with it and with Safe.co.uk as the supplier

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

25 February 2016
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

We ordered this particular model safe to accommodate our new laptop computer, although we already a laptop safe it will not take a 15.6" size computer. It arrived promptly once ordered, arriving at the early end of the delivery window. The safe was easy to install with simple to follow instructions, and likewise to set up the locking code. The safe appears to be strong and secure and is certainly large enough to accommodate at least two laptops plus any other items that need "safe" keeping. Although I realise that no safe is totally impregnable I feel that this gives me peace of mind when I put my laptop away at night.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

19 February 2016
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Bought this to replace an old and small safe which was quite a cheap item and I was never very certain about its ability to withstand an attack. Had read quite a few stories about safes being easy to open by a sharp tap on top. So this Yale safe was its replacement and so far I have been very pleased with it. It was fairly easy to fit and appears to be of robust construction and hopefully cannot be opened with a sharp tap on top!!

The size is perfect for both a laptop and all those other items of value such as house deeds, wills, jewellery and any spare cash you have. I would recommend this model to anyone with similar needs. A good safe at a sensible price.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

18 February 2016
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

It was a good choice to fit the space. It could be used for all kind of other things like passports etc...Easy to use and at the moment seems to be working OK.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

16 October 2015
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Excellent laptop safe, can fit 17" laptop through the door when opened just beyond 90 degrees, and there is stacks for space inside for other hardware. The safe is deep enough that the door (and lock mechanism) does not effect the contents, although a little more lining material (for the walls) would not have gone amiss. There is flexibility for the combination (number of digits) and the key override gives confidence in the event of a flat battery. The base is pre-drilled, and a fixing kit is included to ensure that the whole safe is not removed. Would recommend this safe to anyone looking to secure a larger laptop.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

4 June 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Arrived quick and as described!!

Thanks!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 October 2014
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

I bought three of these well built easy to use units for my kids at university. They fit nicely in their rooms and offer a safe place for their valuables, when they are out getting a first in clubbing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

This product has 46 reviews.