ERA 261 Fortress - BS 5 Lever Deadlock (67mm) Reviews

Ref: ERA-261-67
Thumb image of 5349.png
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10

9.6 / 10 based on 29 reviews.

£16.91 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10
Ease of Fitting Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10
Security Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10
Value for Money Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10
15 October 2015 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Bought two keyed alike locks. Prompt delivery and good service. Many thanks

13 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

24 August 2018 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 2 / 10Rated 2 / 10Rated 2 / 10Rated 2 / 10Rated 2 / 10 2 / 10

The lock came with some very helpful dimensions for fitting. Very quick and easy to fit and it works beautifully, smooth locking action it feels and looks a very quality product.

Thanks

12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

11 September 2014 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Good product makes life easier

11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

3 August 2018 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

A great product at a great price

10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

28 June 2018 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent product for a bargain price. I’m happy to recommend the product and definitely used again.

10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

7 January 2021 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent service good strong locks very reasonable price quick delivery

8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

10 May 2018 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Looked locally and wasted time, great product and price. Had six keyed alike and turn around was better than quoted

8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

4 March 2021 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

I already had two of these in my front door, so it was easy to remove the old ones and install these. They are solid, good quality and good value for money. They were dispatched promptly too. I recommend them highly.

7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

3 December 2020 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great locks, solid and secure. What I was looking for.

7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

6 August 2020 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent. I received exactly what I expected. Good quality at a good price

7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

9 July 2020 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

After hearing of a number of break-ins in my locality, I had in mind to make my home safer. I researched the available options and had noted the features I was looking for to meet my requirements.

I then mislaid my bunch of house keys which immediately threw me into a panic. I returned to my computer and checked my choice and ordered online.

I spent a restless night thinking about where my keys maybe, somewhere out there in the world. Maybe I had dropped them on my drive or near the house, and someone had picked them up and was waiting for an opportunity to enter at night. I later found my keys in the house but not before I had fitted my new lock.

When I ordered my ERA 261 Fortress - BS 5 Lever Deadlock (67mm, Satin Chrome) from Safe I did not expect it to arrive so soon. It was easy to fit and looks great. Its laminated bolt had a longer throw than my old one and I am pleased it did as it means more door frame resistance against anyone trying to kick the door in. I needed to chisel a little more wood out of the hole but it was done in no time and two deft strokes of a file to the edge of the existing strike plate removed a slight stiffness. It was really easy!

Every night when I lock the door and go upstairs I get into bed with a contented feeling. I am so pleased with my decision to buy that lock and that I chose Safe as my supplier; great value!

I am sure that anyone selecting the lock they need from the wide Safe lock range will agree with me once theirs is fitted. The lock was not expensive and certainly worth every penny I paid. Great product promptly delivered - my thanks go to the team at Safe!

7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

24 May 2018 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I bought a two ERA 261 locks with matching keys, which were a revelation after trying a couple of Yale locks. The ERA locks were well designed and came with an assortment of fittings, including, screws and plates and seemed to be of good quality manufacturing. The mechanisms were very smooth and reassuring, with no sticking and no wiggling of the keys needed. As these are five lever deadlocks I have the assurance of knowing they meet insurance industry standards. Lastly, the most amazing part of all this, is the price - they were cheaper than the afore mentioned Yales, so were they good value? You bet.

6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

10 January 2020 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I am very pleased with the lock it is good quality and easy to fit

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

10 May 2018 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

A very well made product. Most impressive is the extension of the bolt when locked, the longest I have seen in its class. Can highly recommend.

Delivery was very quick and post and packing costs reasonable.

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

26 October 2017 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Straight swap for one fitted. Bought with a second lock for stable style back. Keyed alike to make it easy to use.

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

27 July 2017 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

We bought this as a direct replacement for an old lock. It meant a little bit of chiselling to make it fit, but no special tools were required. Fits great and locks well. The locking bar is quite long - giving a good sense of security. Will buy again.

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

16 February 2017 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Yes looks a good reliable product, well built and easy to fit

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

17 March 2016 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

As a carpenter I can confirm this is a pretty robust lock for the Monday. I would recommend it and would purchase again

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

3 March 2016 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Product very good. Found it very easy to fit.

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

11 December 2015 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great product and easy to fit (I am a joiner however) would get the same again if needed more. And had a pair keyed alike which was a great bonus.

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

17 July 2015 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Good

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

19 December 2014 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Good

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

25 September 2014 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Exactly what I wanted, thanks

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

13 June 2019 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

It arrived promptly & very easy to fit very happy with it would recommend it

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

18 April 2019 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Big plus for me was easy identification on Safe website, of lock required.

This was essential as I was replacing a lock in my holiday home in Spain, and I’m not a gifted locksmith

Lock arrived promptly for my flight, and changeover was totally simple.

Our home is fully secure again, well at least the front door is.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

14 December 2018 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

This is an excellent lock. Worth 5 stars for everything. I only didn't give 5 stars for everything, as fitting to a rebated door is never easy and, actually, I imagine that all locks are a bit of a challenge in this regard, but as I have only fitted Era locks I wouldn't know. A very pleasing aspect is that when the key is turned in the lock it makes a very metallic sound giving the clear impression of a product where precisely engineered parts are moving into place. Yes I would definitely recommend the Era fortress to anyone wanting peace of mind in a lock.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

10 June 2021 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Arrived quickly and well packed, easy to fit and very smooth operation.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

6 May 2021 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

I bought a pair of keyed alike ERA 261s to replace the pair of ERA mortice locks I installed 25 years ago. The only reason for replacing them is our location by the sea. The lock most exposed to the weather had finally rusted enough to be difficult to use. These replacements are ever so slightly larger than the originals but nothing a minute or two with a chisel couldn't sort. The old ones had a brass bolt with rollers, the new ones are solid steel. I've no idea which is the more secure. In conclusion, these are dead easy to fit, work perfectly and, if they last as long as the ones they are replacing I am unlikely to be around to replace them next time.

Excellent locks at a decent price.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

19 August 2021 Reviewed Size: 67mm deep
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Needed some new locks for my wooden back gate but I needed the same key. Safe.co.uk had the answer multiple locks but only needing 1 key brilliant idea. They were so easy to fit just a little bit of cutting of the wood here and there and they were fitted. The build quality is excellent love the steel ring in key port makes for easy unlocking and locking . I ordered a extra keys so my son and daughter can get in to get to their business , the locks have made my garden very secure . I would highly recommend this product and the company for build quality of products value for money and excellent customer service will use again in the future

Did you find this review helpful? Yes