Grand Black - Steel Post Box Reviews

Ref: STE-MB04BK
Thumb image of 24e6fb883683abd507c27d4e397f2538.gif
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10

8.4 / 10 based on 46 reviews.

£46.85 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10
Build Quality Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10
Weather Resistance Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10Rated 7.5 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10
17 February 2011
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

It is attractive and it is very functional. The metal rod that forms the hinge on the lid has come loose 2 times and this has allowed the lid to come loose.

The box is located under a logia and when it has been windy the lid has lifted and dropped making a considerable banging noise. This has been fixed very effectively by bonding a magnet to the box such that it holds the lid in position even when it is windy and there is only slight resistance in opening the lid. If you require photographs to illustrate this simple solution please let me know.

33 of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

7 June 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Exactly what was required, described perfectly, later purchased a second one for a relative.

Allows larger than usual the usual letters to be delivered and does not display to the world that you have not emptied it.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 March 2011
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

Good size & easy to use. Have not thoroughly weather tested this as just installed, but lacking in seals in vulnerable places- I'm sure water is going to get in, especially when driven by the wind in rural Aberdeenshire!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 August 2012
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

the product is well made and easy to install,though could

have 2 sets of keys.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 May 2012
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Good size, smart looking, overall very happy with it.

Haven't had any letters get wet and with all this rain it really has been tested to the max!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

13 October 2012
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Neat but top loading and good volume. Some rain gets in even though box is sited in a sheltered place

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

24 August 2012
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

the finish and robust construction.

the four small holes at the base. i had to hang the box on a slght incline to allow what small amount of water comes into the box from the lid.i have overcome this by using a thin smear of grease on the lid at the external rear hinge at the back of the box which is mounted on a wrought iron fence

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

7 June 2012
Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10 4.4 / 10

the mail gets wet. Wish I had not bought it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 October 2015
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Before I purchased the product, I had looked at the reviews of previous purchasers. I was a bit worried at the comments made about the fittings of the box against the wall.

I neednt have worried. The box arrived in very good time from date of order and fixing the box to the wall was very easy. Given that I am no handyman!

The box itself is of a very good size, which we needed as our new front door does not have a letter box. Very easy to open and one can see easily if any post is in the box. My only slight reservation is that the door itself is a bit flimsy , which is a shame as the rest of the box is very robust. The flexing of the door means that closing it could be better if mde of a thicker gauge steel. However this is a small point and does not really detract from what is a very good product, well worth the cost,

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

7 October 2015
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Very speedy delivery, left where I had instructed. Easy instructions to hang, capacity is good especially if you get small packages as well as larger envelops/magazines etc. Easy access to empty. Wipe over with a damp cloth keeps it clean. Yes does what it says on the box!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

19 February 2015
Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10 6.2 / 10

Basically good for the purpose, it's not very secure, because you can pull letters out from the top, however the large top slot is good if you get small parcels delivered, Books, CDs etc. It's not completely waterproof either, so if it's raining some of the post gets damp - I got around this by putting some polystyrene in the bottom, so the letters don't sit in the water. It does the job well enough for me, if you really need something secure and dry you might like to look for another model.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

8 January 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very pleased with purchase and great delivery and communication from this company

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

29 August 2014
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

good,does the job

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

14 August 2014
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Lightweight yet strong and easy to install.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

1 May 2014
Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10 6 / 10

It is quite a sturdy box but the lid blows open and in heavy rain it leaks eve with the lid closed. I'm not impressed

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

21 April 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very happy with this product and the company who supplied it. swift delivery, efficient staff and easy ordering process.

I ordered this product for domestic use to replace a standard domestic type post box. this product is capable of holding enough mail to allow me to go away on holiday without the post office holding my mail. I would recomend this product to anyone in a similar predicament to me who likes to spend a lot of time away from home and does not want to have post stollen or spilling onto the street.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

27 March 2014
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

I am delighted with it. The only reservation is that when it is raining very heavily, somehow the rain runs down inside and forms a pool at the bottom and naturally my mail gets wet.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

7 February 2013
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very easy to install, had additional keys cut locally which weren't a problem.

Box had spacers that fitted on the back to allow air to circulate which should stop moisture being trapped between box and wall. This should prolong the life of the box and stop it from getting rust.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

3 January 2013
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Colour, ease of opening, appearance. A bit tinny but looks good

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

8 November 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

It does the job!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

14 September 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Looks good, easy to install and works well. Worth getting extra sets of keys, means we can all have one!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

6 September 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Simple and unobtrusive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

12 July 2012
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

Stylish and robust. Started to rust a little around the name plate but still waterproof which was the main thing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

10 May 2012
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

just taken out a soaking wet letter

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

3 May 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Good robust construction,smoothe strong jointing, fully waterproof to April weather, excellent final finish. You could say i am a happy chappy!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

15 March 2012
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Exactly what I needed with top loading and good storage for days when it is not emptied. slightly flimsy tinplate construction

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

11 March 2012
Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10 6.4 / 10

It looks smart and does what we expected it to do. It is not secure for large items of post, which can be extracted from the top without use of the key, and when wind is in a certain direction the lid is blown up and down, making a banging noise.

My husband thinks all these products are overpriced for what they are!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 February 2012
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Installed in the lobby at our surgery for patients to leave their prescription

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

5 January 2012
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Ecellent product. The lock is not as substantial as I had hoped but it serves the purpose.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

5 January 2012
Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10Rated 5 / 10 5 / 10

Good capacity. Water seeps into the box from the top . Also the lock does not turn smoothly.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

12 December 2011
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

We bought the post box 5 months ago. The storage capacity is excellent. It definetly serves the purpose for us.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 November 2011
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

A good product but time will tell how the paintwork fares as the box is in the teeth of the New forest winds. It handles bulky mail and newspapers except for the Sunday papers.But Sun papers are always increasing in bulk with rubbish anyway, so no mnfr could keep pace.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

23 November 2011
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

nice large postbox...biggest at this price...can hold a week's post easily when you're away. could do with a grill at bottom inside to keep post away from base as water enters it and some letters get wet on a raining day

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

8 November 2011
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

looks nice and has plenty of room for larger mail envelopes. lid slides off as hinge pin keeps coming out.

most definately not weather proof

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

26 October 2011
Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10 6.6 / 10

really pleased with our post box, great size too.

and the post stays nice and dry. great!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

12 October 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Robust post box which looks good. Quite a large capacity for letters and packets etc. Easy to fix to wall, and easy to use. Perfect.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

5 October 2011
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Easy to fit

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

28 September 2011
Rated 4.8 / 10Rated 4.8 / 10Rated 4.8 / 10Rated 4.8 / 10Rated 4.8 / 10 4.8 / 10

it's large. The lock is really cheap and I expect it to fail any day. It cost twice as much as the one I had previously and I'll be surprised if it lasts a year whereas the other one lasted 10.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

6 July 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Easy to install. A little bit flimsy, but OK for most circumstances. A determined robber would get in.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

6 July 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Sturdy & secure & once items are posted, they are totally secure.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

29 June 2011
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Good Product, meeting our expectations

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

1 June 2011
Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10 5.2 / 10

THE KEY AND LOCK COULD BE MORE SUBSTANTIAL

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 February 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

We were really pleased with the post box it was good quality and excellent value for money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 February 2011
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Spacious and neat - takes t he majority of all our post. Lock is very difficult to manage - never dure which way the key goes in and stiff to turn

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 February 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The product fulfills the the purpose for which it was purchased, therefore very satisfied

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 February 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I am very pleased and it doesn't trap the postman's hand as some models do! Very spacious

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

This product has 46 reviews.