Legge 727 - Deadlocking Night Latch (44mm) Reviews

Ref: LEG-727-44
Thumb image of 5487.png
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10

9 / 10 based on 17 reviews.

£28.52 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10Rated 9.5 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10
Ease of Fitting Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10
Security Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10
Verified Customer February 2016 Reviewed Size: 44mm backset
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 4.9 / 5
Recommended

My old lock was a Legge night latch which has been in use for 20 years but with a lot of use over that time has taken it toll. I searched locally for a Legge replacement but could not find one so then searched the internet and found the 727 at Safe. The service was excellent and delivery was on time. The 727 was slightly different from the old one I would say more superior and looked more expensive than the price paid. It was easy to fit as I just undid the old fittings and fitted the new 727. The tongue was a bit long so I cut it with a hack saw. I just followed the instructions that came with the 727. I am so pleased that I kept looking as I think the 727 Legge lock is well made and have have good security features such as being able to lock from the outside when you go out and the inside at night.

Was this helpful? 5

Verified Customer August 2014 Reviewed Size: 44mm backset
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Great locks and the only place on line to find them of this size.

Was this helpful? 4

Verified Customer July 2015 Reviewed Size: 44mm backset
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 4.9 / 5
Recommended

We were broken into our barn some weeks ago having used what we thought was a reliable lock. We were advised that the Legge 727 Deadlocking Nightlatch (44mm) from the Safe Shop was the very best product for the job. After buying at a good price, we fitted it to the door. It looks a very good heavy piece of equipment and am confident it will do the job and deter burglars. Although seemingly expensive at the time you pay for what you get and we certainly seem to have got something we can rely on. Would certainly go to Safe Shop again for any further products. They know what they are selling.

Was this helpful? 3

Verified Customer August 2018 Reviewed Size: 44mm backset
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 4.4 / 5
Recommended

I bought to replace an exact same model which was fitted 2001 on a rental flat. The old one's deadlock had broken internally. The delivery was a few days so good. The new one had excellent polished finish and function and felt solid, coming with 5 pin cylinder lock and 3 keys . I thought this was a very good deal, but unfortunately the cylinder lock that came looked great but felt like it had a loose shaving of metal in cylinder mechanism, meaning when key was inserted it kept catching several times before fully in, however it turned fine. I bought a different make of 6 pin cylinder lock for £6 on offer elsewhere which still fit the Legge latch fine, they are fairly standard on sizes. I was probably just unlucky rather than them all Legge cylinders being like this.

Was this helpful? 2

Verified Customer September 2017 Reviewed Size: 44mm backset
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

As rated above

Was this helpful? 2

Verified Customer December 2015 Reviewed Size: 44mm backset
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 4.7 / 5
Recommended

Great product and excellent service

Was this helpful? 2

Verified Customer October 2015 Reviewed Size: 44mm backset
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

An excellent product, simple to install and very good value for money.

Was this helpful? 2

Verified Customer February 2015 Reviewed Size: 44mm backset
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Replaced broken part.

Was this helpful? 2

Verified Customer December 2018 Reviewed Size: 44mm backset
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Bought this as a direct replacement for an old lock so fitting was easy. The backseat is not common so there aren’t really any other options but it means the screws go in the same place and no additional work is needed. However, the new version uses less material than the old so everything is a mm or 2 thinner resulting in it not catching when the door is closed. The mechanism is also less fluid than the old one so when you open it the movement is quite rough. I guess they literally don’t make them like they used to.

Was this helpful? 1

Verified Customer January 2022 Reviewed Size: 44mm backset
Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10Rated 5.2 / 10 2.6 / 5

It was really difficult to install. The lock does not fully turn but managed to still use it.

Was this helpful?  

Verified Customer September 2021 Reviewed Size: 44mm backset
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Excellent quality & excellent service!

Was this helpful?  

Verified Customer July 2021 Reviewed Size: 44mm backset
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Needed this particular lock to replace the exact same one that had done years of service. Foolishly ordered the wrong width size so had to return and reorder which all went very smoothly including refund of money. So with confidence, I can say Safe have a very good website with prompt delivery and good customer service. The lock fits well, no problems so far and hoping it will last for a few years like its predecessor. Found Safe to be good value as well as one of the few places that had this particular lock that we could find. Thank you.

Was this helpful?  

Verified Customer January 2021 Reviewed Size: 44mm backset
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Excellent product and good quality. Very good service from “Safe” also.

Was this helpful?  

Verified Customer October 2020 Reviewed Size: 44mm backset
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Top class lock. Was an exact replacement for one that had been on our door for over 20yrs and done Stirling service.

Has functions like deadlock etc.

Was this helpful?  

Verified Customer October 2020 Reviewed Size: 44mm backset
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

I had to replace a faulty latch mechanism on a door that easily dated back from over thirty years ago. The dimensions were still the same and so a perfect fit was easily implemented. I even managed to retain the old barrel so could still use the original keys but have also kept the new barrel and keys just in case I ever feel the need to change them.

Was this helpful?  

Verified Customer July 2020 Reviewed Size: 44mm backset
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

This was the same lock that was fitted hence direct replacement

Was this helpful?  

Verified Customer April 2019 Reviewed Size: 44mm backset
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Great service

Was this helpful?