Severn Red - Steel Post Box Reviews

Ref: G2-SEV-RE
Thumb image of 3895.png
Rated 7.9 / 10Rated 7.9 / 10Rated 7.9 / 10Rated 7.9 / 10Rated 7.9 / 10

7.9 / 10 based on 15 reviews.

£51.68 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10
Build Quality Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10Rated 7.7 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10
Weather Resistance Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10
Value for Money Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10
4 December 2014 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Bought this for my tenants as they were having issues with separating their post from those of neighbours. Been told it has excellent capacity and - from regular use - seems robust and sturdy enough. It's large enough for a number of A4 magazines and modest-sized parcels.

It has been kept outdoors and its colour is distinctive enough for the postman to notice it.

However, I would say that the keys are a little flimsy and quite easy to lose. Design-wise, despite its capacity, it's refreshingly unobtrusive. Would highly recommend this postbox for anyone looking to replace or supplement their current system.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 March 2015 Reviewed Colour: Green
Rated 4.6 / 10Rated 4.6 / 10Rated 4.6 / 10Rated 4.6 / 10Rated 4.6 / 10 4.6 / 10

Not outstanding. The material is thin and the top flap blows open in a strong wind, this coupled with weak hinges means the lid will soon become a useless feature. I fixed this by placing a small magnet between the main body and the lid. Didn't cost much to make a substantial improvement.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

1 May 2014 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 2.2 / 10Rated 2.2 / 10Rated 2.2 / 10Rated 2.2 / 10Rated 2.2 / 10 2.2 / 10

This postbox has been a great disappointment. The description and images on your website suggested that it would meet all my requirements and that it would be a step up from the shoddily manufactured postbox that I inherited with this flat. The price reflected these aspirations, at about twice the price of the box I inherited.

So what is wrong with it?

First, the fitting entailed a great deal of measuring and levelling: how much easier if there had been a paper template on the back of the enclosed documents.

Next, it gives little better access for the postman through the oblique letter-slot than its predecessor gave through the flat letter slot, so the postman still can't deliver packets as thick as a paperback book and has to call me to the door just as before.

This is the noisiest postbox I have ever heard. There is no damping for the lid and in the many winter gales the banging of the lid was a serious nuisance to my neighbours and me. A simple magnetic strip would help.

Finally and most serious, it is not watertight. Every time there is rain and wind my post gets wet and has to be dried out. It has a couple of drain holes, but it does not drain adequately and this means that my post is sitting in water.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 December 2013 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

We needed a safe and secure post box as we are a Charitable Care farm for people with learning disabilities based on a farm that has many business Units. The box fits perfectly to our gate and takes all sizes of envelopes. Just wish it would reject junk mail for me though!!!

It is secure and keeps the mail safe as no one can get their hand inside to pinch the post. The lid could do with being a bit heavier as when the wind blows hard the top does occaissionally lift up and the mail gets wet.

On the whole however the product meets our requirements an I would recommend it to others

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 March 2015 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The box was delivered very promptly but was damaged on delivery. You replaced the box which was delivered the next day. Excellent service!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 August 2014 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

exellent

2 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

22 May 2014 Reviewed Colour: Silver
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent product, and excellent and fast service,

good company to deal with thank you

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 July 2018 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Right colour and looks good and does the job.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 May 2018 Reviewed Colour: Silver
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

The post box looks in person as good as it did on the picture, there was a mix up with delivery details but did get the parcel, the only thing I am concerned about is I think it is suppose to be rust free and there are rust signs on the joints coming already which is disappointing so any advice to prevent this would be appreciated.

Thanks

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

15 October 2015 Reviewed Colour: Green
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

good product

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 August 2015 Reviewed Colour: Red
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Very good quality product with excellent service

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 March 2015 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Excellent postal box. The slimline design is ideal for the wall outside my house. The post box was very easy to mount on the wall. The post box is robust and easy to use by the village postman - who is delighted not be catching his fingers in the letterbox anymore. The box is secure and easy to access to collect the post. The colour of the box matches the limewash on the house so is unobtrusive and discrete. The size of the aperature means that most post fits into the box. I no longer have to ask neighbours to keep an eye out for post if I am away for a few days.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 January 2015 Reviewed Colour: White
Rated 4.2 / 10Rated 4.2 / 10Rated 4.2 / 10Rated 4.2 / 10Rated 4.2 / 10 4.2 / 10

Disapointing as it lets thre rain in. I've had to put a block of polystyrene in the base to stop the letters getting wet.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

30 January 2014 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

It stops unauthorised opening . My only, very slight, criticism is that it is not that easy to unlock. But thank you

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 January 2014 Reviewed Colour: Black
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

First box delivered had broken lid and replacement took rather too long. However, when second box received it fulfilled all specified description. It has good capacity for large (A4) size packages and is of an 'adequate' construction point of view. The mounting is fairly easy to fix, in our case, to a stone wall (on the Church!). The keys are a 'bit fiddly' to get seated into the keyhole but this is only a minor irritation and we will soon get 'the hang of it'. Door opens sensibly to allow good access for removal of mail. Overall we are all satisfied with the purchase and will doubtless use your firm again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No