Yale Keyless Digital Lock Chrome + Y3 Night Latch Reviews

Ref: YL-YD-01-Y3-CH
Thumb image of a1ad421db2c3e8b799b3813a352464bf.gif
Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10

8.9 / 10 based on 14 reviews.

£99.00 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10
Ease of Fitting Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10
Security Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10
30 October 2014
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

We use the lock to control access to the kitchen - we have a large two footed mouse that eats anything that is available!!

This solution is cheaper than putting locks on all food cupboards and the fridge!

It was easy to fit, looks smart and is easy to use.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

14 February 2015
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

This is one of the best things I have ever bought (on a practical level). Kids don't need keys, and I am in and out of the garage several times a day, and I don't have to constantly get (find) the key to get in. Another layer of modern life's complication has been swept away with this lock. Would be good if all locks were like this, so we could do away with keys all-together.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 November 2014
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

Looks good once fitted and feels solid to use.

It is a bit tricky to fit as the night latch is difficult to line up with the lock and also making sure that the connecting bar is cut to the correct length. However the weakest thing to me is the cable connection that connects the battery pack to the lock. This seems very flimsy and if you have to dismantle and then reassemble a few times the wires can move out of the connector.

I think a much more substantial connector could have been used. I am now worried that this connector could work loose and thus prevent te lock from working.

I now have seen other digital models with a key entry option as well. I now think that this would have been a better option.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

30 October 2014
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

A great product, straight forward to fit, more or less a straight swap if you have an existing Yale night latch and change it for the nice shiney new one (or use your existing night latch and its a super simple job).

Very convenient when you nip out the front, you don't have to worry about your keys.

Easy to set up, just as easy to use, great product.

Just remember for insurance purposes (as with any night latch) you will need a 5 lever lock on your door :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 September 2016
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Great looking, very robust and easy to use.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

8 September 2016
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

The digital lock and latch were a very competitive price online and certainly beat the high street retailers. Delivery was as specified and the items were well wrapped and packaged. I did not fit the lock or latch but that was always my intention as I feel that security items should be professionally installed. The carpenter said he did not hit any issues that he wouldn't normally expect when changing one lock for another with a different design (standard Union to digital keypad Yale). Installation took about an hour. Installed, the lock looks every bit as impressive in real life as in the pictures and the setting of the two 4 digit numbers is easy. The keypad can bleep for each number when input or be set to quiet mode. The bleep is quite loud - but that's a good security feature especially overnight? The two 4 digit numbers can also be easily changed. Really like that no key is required any more - no keys to lose!! No question - I'm very pleased I made the switch to Yale's digital lock.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

29 June 2016
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Visitors find the keypad easy to use. Looks very stylish on our front door.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

12 May 2016
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

This product is very good, and I recommend it highly for most applications. Simple to fit, looks good on the door, easy to operate and to program. There are two minor niggles which were important for me but which will not apply to most people. I wanted to use it as the main lock and door handle on a holiday let that I own, and it would be perfect for this except that in my case I only have the one door to the property. With only one door, if anything were to go wrong with the electronics, then nobody could get in without breaking the door down. Also, an errant guest could, from the inside, reprogramme the lock quite easily and in this case I would also not be able to get in! Both of these issues (which will not affect most people), would be overcome if the lock came with a key override.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

4 February 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Good Product. The staff were really helpful when we ordered a wrong but similar product by mistake. It arrived next day as promised and we would happily buy from Safe.co.uk again. Much easier and more convenient than shopping in a bricks and mortar store.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

4 December 2015
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

my only issue really is the night latch handle to turn is very small, and is difficult to grip and turn to open. I have long nails and i have had to put a small hamdle on door so that i can open it. Needs the handle longer really. Otherwise its great.

Im not the only one who has commented on opening door visitors have too.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

6 August 2015
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

I bought two of these for the office and they have been really good for preventing access to medium secure areas. The led screen is so easy to use and the lock turns smoothly, so far no problems at all and a great improvement on the old fashioned metal raised number punching types which got stuck often.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

30 July 2015
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

I think this was a great buy. I wanted an outdoor lock that allowed easy access through the gate at the side of my house. I had always used a combination padlock but as the side of the house is being used more this became a chore to open and close. The new lock was easy to fit as long as you are reasonable at DIY and is a delight to use. Its not cheap but it really does the job well and so far has proven weather resistant.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

15 January 2015
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

great product - used in our Day Nursery on all doors to prevent unauthorised access

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

8 January 2015
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

This is a wonderful product. Very easy to use. The man who fitted it said he'd never done one before but it wasn't too difficult. I particularly like the fact that you can enter 2 different codes - one for close friends family and one for the hired help. This can be altered as much as you like, thereby adding to the security. If you've never seen one before, it isn't even obvious how you access the code numbers! Triple safe and full peace of mind.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No