Coronavirus Update No disruption to business more info

Yale PBS1 - 60mm Auto Deadlocking Night Latch Reviews

Ref: YAL-PBS1-60
Thumb image of 5471.png
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10

8.6 / 10 based on 24 reviews.

£60.85 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10
Ease of Fitting Rated 7.9 / 10Rated 7.9 / 10Rated 7.9 / 10Rated 7.9 / 10Rated 7.9 / 10
Security Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10
13 September 2018 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

This was to replace the exact same item that was bought and fitted about 10yrs ago... maybe a bit longer. Interesting to see the cost reduction measures that have been taken in the meantime. Brass internals that were solid are now skeletons and the latching plate has been reduced in thickness and ribs designed in to bulk out to the same thickness. The disappointing thing is that the old inside handle was solid and nicely shaped for the hand. This new one is a concave shell to look the same but is hollowed out to save material and is nowhere near as nice to use. I would have willingly paid £5 more for the better handle. However it does the job and is still a good item.

9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 June 2015 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

My first impression of the product was that it was a weighty, beautiful piece of precision engineering. I was right. The process of chiselling out careful crevices to a accommodate it was wonderfully rewarding. The lock closed like a bank vault - it is much admired. You've guessed now - I love it.

9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 December 2014 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Very strong and study lock, well made and feels it will be very secure. Easy to fit as it replaced a similar lock which had become worn out after 20 years of use. I was able to use the existing holes in the door and very little to make good. I did do a lot of research to ensure that this new lock would fit my existing door. The finish of the lock looks good and the lock closes with a nice sounding clunk which demonstrates the strength and quality of this lock. A very good product and I would have no hesitation in using another one.

9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 April 2016 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

The lock was relatively easy to fit with my fairly basic DIY skills. It was replacing an existing (lower quality) Yale lock and I needed to make some modifications to the hole through the door and the frame to get everything to fit, but it was fairly straightforward. The resulting system is very solid and closes beautifully (unlike the old one), with a very satisfying clunk. The deadlock feature is something I probably won't use very much, but nice to have just in case.

6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 May 2016 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

I bought the current lock to replace a previous lock - issues with who had keys! - so the fitting was so easy and everything slotted in perfectly. The original lock (3 locks ago) took more time and a little working out but still it was easy to do and required little real expertise other than some woodworking skills and an abilioty to understand the instructions and some technical terms. Once understood, it was easy. Am very pleased and so is my insurance company!

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

13 September 2018 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Beautiful piece of kit, easy to look at, clean, smart and well finished. Not the easiest thing in the world to fit but that was partly due to an 80 year old front door with an old Yale fitted. Now we can feel safe and sound, knowing you can't get in using a credit card or similar.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 February 2016 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Great product, looks good, like the quality.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 November 2015 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Good solid Yale lock which can also be operated as a dead lock. (Sadly my insurance company did not agree - I don't think they are in touch with all the products on the market) The lock was easy to fit using tools that I already had in my kit.The instructions were clear and the paper template was invaluable. The staple (fixed to the door frame) had an opening slightly larger than the tongue of the lock so alignment was not a problem. This new lock is slightly more bulky than the previous traditional Yale lock, but not a problem inside a large workshop door. Buying this lock on line was a lot cheaper than any of my local suppliers.

4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 January 2019 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

This is an excellent high security deadlock (nightlatch) from Yale. Build quality very robust and the operation of lock, including deadlocking works very smoothly. The templates included in the box are excellent and overall fitting went pretty well, you just need to allow a good 3 hours if fitting as new and not replacing old lock.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 November 2018 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The product is substantial piece of kit, it looks and feels like it’s built to last for ever. The lever on the inside of the door is easily operated and even the finger pull on the outside is a nice touch for anyone not wanting to add an additional handle or lock to the door. The security feature of turning the key in the lock on the inside of the door gives the house holder piece of mind whether home or away that an intruder will have lots of difficulty entering the premises. Overall well worth the money and a 5 Star product.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 June 2016 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Superb lock, well made and very secure. Easy to fit as it replaced another Yale lock. The paper guides and charts could be made of card or stiff paper as it's easy to move/ crumple it and end up with the guide out of alignment. I thought I was going to have a .5mm problem when assembling last piece but it all pulled together perfectly at the end. The piece has a good weight and sounds like it's very well made. I'd give yourself a couple of hours to fit the lock, and depending on door frame, another hour to fit the recess (I had to recess the recess in the wall). Very satisfying job to do though.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 April 2019 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Excellent quality, and easy to fit. Shame outside pull not available in black.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 February 2019 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This is a good looking lock with a neat outer pull, All of which feels sturdy, certainly better than the old lock which was average to say the least. The door manufacturers have fitted the lock, along with the frame, though they did say it was relatively straight forward. Seems easy to use once we have got the hang of things, no problem with it so far. The customer service people were friendly and helpful with my query with regards to the suitability of locks for my door design. The delivery was very fast and I was kept well informed throughout the process. Thank you

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

31 January 2019 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Build quality down from previous but still pretty good

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 October 2017 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10 6.6 / 10

A reasonably robust lock which looks and feels well put together whilst being easy to use. Fitting requires drilling of extra holes in the door when replacing a conventional Yale lock. The instructions advise these should be drilled from the rear of the door using their template. This is a mistake as small errors then need extra fettling to make the keyplate and lock align and fit correctly.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

15 June 2017 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great service good lock easy to fit. Delivery was very quick. I would recommend Safe.co.uk to my friends and family. Very good price and value for money.Very easy to use safe. co. uk web page for ordering my lock. My daughter used to have this lock on her door so it was like for like. I would advise anyone who is looking for replacement door locks i would recommend them to order from this company. Great service and great prices.I would use safe.co. uk again. Delivered lock when they said it would arrive. Arrived on the date they gave me.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 March 2017 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

I bought two of these locks and managed to inadvertently swap the keys between them, resulting in finding difficulty in operating the locks. Also, one of the locks was unsuitable - I thought the dimension specified referred to the thickness of the door rather than the distance between the centre of the cylinder and the edge of the door.

I ended up buying a third lock from Homebase and getting a locksmith to finish the job. Otherwise, they would have been fairly easy to fit although I had to do a fair bit of work with a chisel since the locks had a different profile from the ones I was replacing.

Overall, I am satisfied that the locks represent good value and were reasonably easy to fit. They look good and operate without any problems.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 April 2020 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10Rated 6 / 10 6 / 10

The Yale PBS1 Deadlock I purchased was faulty and I spent about 3 hours trying to resolve it. Having gone beyond the point of no return, with the old lock off and new holes drilled for the new lock, I ended up 'fixing' the unit myself.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 February 2020 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10 6.4 / 10

The lock does not slide well requiring a huge slam of the door. Perhaps a bit of fiddling about with the fitting will ease. But disappointing.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

7 February 2020 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10 6.4 / 10

This was a direct replacement for a 35 year old door lock of exactly the same size and style.

The cost-cutters have been at work. The main indoor handle is now not solid brass but still functions OK. However, it does not feel so good.

The main problem is getting the key into the lock, inside or outside. The old lock never had such problems. With the new one, one has to fiddle and twiddle until the key goes in.

All in all not very good. The saving grace was that it fitted in the old position on the door with no difficulties. The striking plate had changed though, so we left the old old in position.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 July 2019 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

First class product at a super price. Easy to fit but most of all easy to use and it looks fabulous.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 April 2017 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

Like it very much

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 July 2020 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Strong and sturdy security lock for wooden front door. The product looks and feels chunky and well built, would seem that it would withstand most attempts to break in. We added sliding bolts a the top and the bottom of the door as extra security for night time. If there was one minor criticism it would be that it came with only two keys. Speaking of the keys, they are non standard which makes then lock more secure but does mean a trip to the locksmith for copies (ie those pop up key cutting machines won't work).

Safe.co.uk were reasonably priced and the postage was quick.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 July 2020 Reviewed Size: 60mm backset
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Good quality

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No