Yale PBS1 - Auto Deadlocking Night Latch (60mm) Reviews

Ref: YAL-PBS1-60
Thumb image of 5471.png
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10

8 / 10 based on 11 reviews.

£62.05 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10
Ease of Fitting Rated 5.7 / 10Rated 5.7 / 10Rated 5.7 / 10Rated 5.7 / 10Rated 5.7 / 10
Security Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.1 / 10Rated 8.1 / 10Rated 8.1 / 10Rated 8.1 / 10Rated 8.1 / 10
4 June 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

My first impression of the product was that it was a weighty, beautiful piece of precision engineering. I was right. The process of chiselling out careful crevices to a accommodate it was wonderfully rewarding. The lock closed like a bank vault - it is much admired. You've guessed now - I love it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 December 2014
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Very strong and study lock, well made and feels it will be very secure. Easy to fit as it replaced a similar lock which had become worn out after 20 years of use. I was able to use the existing holes in the door and very little to make good. I did do a lot of research to ensure that this new lock would fit my existing door. The finish of the lock looks good and the lock closes with a nice sounding clunk which demonstrates the strength and quality of this lock. A very good product and I would have no hesitation in using another one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 April 2016
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

The lock was relatively easy to fit with my fairly basic DIY skills. It was replacing an existing (lower quality) Yale lock and I needed to make some modifications to the hole through the door and the frame to get everything to fit, but it was fairly straightforward. The resulting system is very solid and closes beautifully (unlike the old one), with a very satisfying clunk. The deadlock feature is something I probably won't use very much, but nice to have just in case.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 October 2017
Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10 6.6 / 10

A reasonably robust lock which looks and feels well put together whilst being easy to use. Fitting requires drilling of extra holes in the door when replacing a conventional Yale lock. The instructions advise these should be drilled from the rear of the door using their template. This is a mistake as small errors then need extra fettling to make the keyplate and lock align and fit correctly.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

15 June 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great service good lock easy to fit. Delivery was very quick. I would recommend Safe.co.uk to my friends and family. Very good price and value for money.Very easy to use safe. co. uk web page for ordering my lock. My daughter used to have this lock on her door so it was like for like. I would advise anyone who is looking for replacement door locks i would recommend them to order from this company. Great service and great prices.I would use safe.co. uk again. Delivered lock when they said it would arrive. Arrived on the date they gave me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

20 April 2017
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

Like it very much

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

23 March 2017
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

I bought two of these locks and managed to inadvertently swap the keys between them, resulting in finding difficulty in operating the locks. Also, one of the locks was unsuitable - I thought the dimension specified referred to the thickness of the door rather than the distance between the centre of the cylinder and the edge of the door.

I ended up buying a third lock from Homebase and getting a locksmith to finish the job. Otherwise, they would have been fairly easy to fit although I had to do a fair bit of work with a chisel since the locks had a different profile from the ones I was replacing.

Overall, I am satisfied that the locks represent good value and were reasonably easy to fit. They look good and operate without any problems.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

16 June 2016
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Superb lock, well made and very secure. Easy to fit as it replaced another Yale lock. The paper guides and charts could be made of card or stiff paper as it's easy to move/ crumple it and end up with the guide out of alignment. I thought I was going to have a .5mm problem when assembling last piece but it all pulled together perfectly at the end. The piece has a good weight and sounds like it's very well made. I'd give yourself a couple of hours to fit the lock, and depending on door frame, another hour to fit the recess (I had to recess the recess in the wall). Very satisfying job to do though.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

19 May 2016
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

I bought the current lock to replace a previous lock - issues with who had keys! - so the fitting was so easy and everything slotted in perfectly. The original lock (3 locks ago) took more time and a little working out but still it was easy to do and required little real expertise other than some woodworking skills and an abilioty to understand the instructions and some technical terms. Once understood, it was easy. Am very pleased and so is my insurance company!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

25 February 2016
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Great product, looks good, like the quality.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

12 November 2015
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Good solid Yale lock which can also be operated as a dead lock. (Sadly my insurance company did not agree - I don't think they are in touch with all the products on the market) The lock was easy to fit using tools that I already had in my kit.The instructions were clear and the paper template was invaluable. The staple (fixed to the door frame) had an opening slightly larger than the tongue of the lock so alignment was not a problem. This new lock is slightly more bulky than the previous traditional Yale lock, but not a problem inside a large workshop door. Buying this lock on line was a lot cheaper than any of my local suppliers.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No