GE C500 Police Approved KeySafe Reviews

Ref: GE-002049
Thumb image of 0b1f8a189d2f2a2239073a416327cf32.gif
Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10

8.7 / 10 based on 81 reviews.

£69.95 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10
Security Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10
Jonathan
1 July 2015

Expert Staff Review:
The C500 Police appoved key safe is currently the only unit on the market with some accreditation. Most people will buy this one simply because it is recommended by the police which gives this product massive credibility. It is more expensive than other key safes but it is well worth the money for added peace of mind that your are buying the strongest key safe available. This is the ultimate key safe for outdoor use. Read my full review here.

22 June 2011
Rated 4.2 / 10Rated 4.2 / 10Rated 4.2 / 10Rated 4.2 / 10Rated 4.2 / 10 4.2 / 10

Externally a very solid key safe with good storage space.

The instructions for setting the code are poor. You are provided with a piece of cardboard for turning the dials to set the code. This bends and comes apart after a couple of uses and the plastic dials are so weak that they are easily damaged if you try to use anything else to turn them. I purchased this key safe for a holiday cottage and want to regularly change the code to prevent large numbers of people having access to the keys. Considering this is meant to be the highest security key safe on the market internally it is of very poor quality and is not robust enough to change the code on a frequent basis. It is now jammed in the open position and I have bought a cheaper but far more robust safe to replace it. An expensive mistake and I would not recommend the product.

66 of 71 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 August 2012
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Easy to use and strong. Less secure than if the four digits had to be entered in a certain order.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 January 2012
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

The lock was fairly straight forward to fit, but it would help to know in advance th size of drill needed for the fixing holes. Once fitted it iss easy and secure to use.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 October 2011
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Very sturdy construction. Even the carers said it was the best one they had seen on their rounds in looking after the elderly and infirm.Capacity of key chamber is more than adequate for the two front door keys. A failing with some other makes.

Since most doors and windows today are white uvpc, I did think that a white rubber cover option for the safe would be good. It would blend in better with adjacent fittings

8 of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 April 2013
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Good robust product.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 April 2012
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Used for vulnerable person with carers visiting regularly.

No fiddly knobs to turn.

Froze up in the really cold weather recently. This may have been the carers not closing the external cover whilst visiting.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 January 2012
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Ease of fitting, looks good, robust and watertight. The little plastic handle on the weather cover is flimsy and cracked immediately

4 of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

13 February 2014
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

Overall a very good product that did exactly what I needed it to do (almost).

It doesn't cope very well with larger keys or bunches of keys as the space inside is a bit limited - I ended up taking all my keys off the keyring and putting them in loose - using a piece of tape to stop them falling out.

Additionally any combination of the pin you set will open the lock - eg. set 1234 and 4321, 1324, 2431 etc. will open the safe.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 April 2013
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent, easy to use, yet very secure unit.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 August 2012
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Well designed solid product that was easy to install. The image on line showed a sand-coloured safe but when it arrived it was black. This needs to be clearer as I wanted a sand coloured one to match the stone it was to be mounted on.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 October 2011
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

A very sturdy key-safe, more than pleased with the build quality & security.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 August 2011
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

We were so pleased with the quality of this key safe that we are about to order three more. This is a sturdy quality product which gives confidence and security to the user. Highly recommended.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 July 2011
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

Good quality, easy to use and straightforward to set combinations. We were storing traditional keys which are quite large and the storage capacity was quite limited for keys of this type.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 June 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

well made and secure

buttons not too easy for older peole to see and use.

just about big enough to take our two keys

3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 May 2011
Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10 5.8 / 10

A bit fiddly but good security!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

7 March 2014
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

This is a very heavy item with the solidity of an anvil. Some plastic parts are used, probably to minimise corrosion potential. Reading the instructions for setting a code give the impression of a convoluted process, but its actually very straight forward. Although there are 10 number and 2 letter keys, there is no instruction on how many can be used - for the simple reason that you can use as many or as few as you like. This is what multiplies the number of possible combinations to 10s of thousands even though you cannot repeat any of the numbers/letters used. It makes for a simple but robust mechanical system with strong security levels.

The external buttons themselves are fine-pointed and small which makes for an unpleasant tactile experience, with quite a lot of travel before you hear/sense any click to confirm selection. I wonder how many people have had the nasty experience of the 'button' poking them under the fingernail. I imagine the buttons are kept minimal because the keypad is necessarily small in order to avoid robbing too much space from the thick, secure housing.

It was not a problem for me, but I imagine some people might be annoyed at the need for a Torx T30 driver head in order to screw the supplied masonry bolts into the wall. That is all you need, apart from the drill and 5mm masonry bit.

I've marked this unit down to 5/10 on value for money, because I cannot see where the cost is. No doubt a premium for the security certification it comes with.

My buying experience with The Safe Shop is probably one of the best I've ever had online, with real attention to customer satisfaction. I can recommend both the supplier and the product without hesitation. Thank you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 January 2013
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Its the only Police Approved key safe. I bought it for my elderly mothers place and needed it to be totally secure. It was easy to install following the provided instructions.

Not really a 'con' as such but I had to call the manufacturer to make absolutely sure that the supplied fixing bolts did not require a 'Rawlplug' or similar - it doesnt, the bolts go directly into the holes drilled in the masonry.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

30 August 2012
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Robust product. The numbers are black and so awkward to read in bad light

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 July 2012
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Solid construction, easy to fix to wall, very secure, easy to use. Code sometimes not accepted, ahve to enter a second time

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 June 2012
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

ok.. fiddly to set up...ajust key broke..poor instructions...did not match product

2 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

15 June 2012
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Well made. A bit fiddly to change the code.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 May 2012
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

We picked this product due to it being recommended by the police. It is very sturdy, easy to fit & has been a godsend for my mother who has carers coming in each day. Also allows who ever you the code to access when needed such as the doctor.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 October 2011
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Well, I couldn't find anything better. The print in the instruction manual is far too small and the instructions are more difficult than the actual installation process.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 August 2011
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

Tough safe, quite secure, easy to install. Weather case is weak and easily broken.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 August 2011
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

Well-made, solid, quality components. Accommodates Yale pattern keys well. Excellent security fixing system. Expensive. Not great for long, mortice-lock type keys. Plastic, hinged, weather-proof cover is a possible weak point.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 April 2016
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 7 / 10

Rugged construction and if it is installed in accordance with the instructions would be it difficult to prise off the wall. Installation is simple enough, but you must use the correct size drill. Sounds obvious, I know, but the fasteners engage directly into the brick or stone of the wall rather than using plastic ('rawl') plugs so if the hole is too small the fasteners won't go in, too big and they won't grip. Also recommend you use the template supplied for marking out and drilling the holes. Worth drilling two holes, trial fit the box, check for level and then check the position of the other two holes before drilling them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 November 2015
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

Very good overall a bit small on the inside for the keys we have - easy to set up codes but had someone to fix it to wall.

Completely happy with this product

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 November 2015
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

This safe meets all our needs and ensures that the access information is only given to the carers and to our family members and to a reliable neighbour in the event of our incapacity or illness. The safe is securely fixed and strongThe safe took some time to understand the instructions for setting the combination and for safety reasons it is located in an undercover position. It is essential to limit the number of people who have access to the code and this is critical to our security. there could usefully be a rider to your instructions which emphasise this!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 August 2015
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

The safe is easy to install and set up, though the setting key looks rather fragile and I suspect would not last through many resets without a lot of care. I'm also a bit concerned about storing it in the safe: it will always be available but it is perhaps a little too available if the safe is left open.

The safe appears very robust and is police recommended, and the cover is very waterproof. It's a little awkward to get off if it's wet, but that's not really a problem.

We use the safe for door keys to enable carers for a disabled person access to the house, and it is big enough for the number of keys you would usually want to put in it.

Good value and a well-made piece of equipment

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 December 2014
Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10 6.6 / 10

There is a very limited market in this sort of thing and this is the only unit with some sort of accreditation. Impossible really to work out if it is any good in practice; I don't know any villains to test it out with. It is a solid piece of kit with bolts that drive directly into the brickwork/masonry, but pricey. Setting the combination is a bit fussy but fine once it's done. There's not much room inside, big keys could be a problem. I found the combination lacking as it is sequence independent - really reduces code options.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 October 2014
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Our visitors who make use of this key safe all agree that it is the easiest to use of any they have come across.

The safe is very substantial and is of a very solid construction.

The only reservation we have had is that the cover is only held in position when opened by plastic lugs. One of these was broken soon after installation. This has not effected the cover as it still remains in place but is an irritant.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 October 2014
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

It is a heavy piece of kit which is quite reassuring and the industrial masonry screws make it feel very secure. The space for the keys is limited but works for a yale, mortice and alarm fob for me. The buttons and code entering didn't seem very intuitive but I got there and so far so good. With the cover on it looks like just another box on the front of the house like something to do with telephone, sky, broadband or the like. Pretty happy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

22 August 2014
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

I have no experience of other key safes. I bought this one because it was approved by the police.

Ease of use: sometimes I have to make multiple attempts to open it. There seems no reason why it works one time and not another, but of course I might be missing something.

Build quality: the strong bit is great. The cover is more flimsy and sometimes comes off when I don't intend it to.

Storage capacity: I think it will take 3 or 4 keys, good enough for me.

Security: it seems that you don't need to have the numbers in the right order. That obviously makes it less secure.

Value for money: I have no complaints, but no comparison either - I have never bought a key safe before.

So I am pleased with the purchase and not wishing I had bought something else, but also think some things could be improved.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 March 2014
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

The installation instructions could have been clearer but is working well with various users

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

24 January 2014
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Key safe was easy to fit and, importantly, easy to set and operate.

Not a lot of space for keys especially for the older style [non yale] type.

Overall an excellent product.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 October 2013
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

So solid; so dependable and so easy to work.

You can't go far wrong with this piece of security and with it comes peace of mind.

My retired policeman and aging father in law acknowledges the importance of this "in case of emergency" secure key storage.

It was easy to install appropriately. It looks efficient in position.

It must be the best on the market!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

31 August 2013
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

sturdy - easy to fix

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 April 2013
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Very sturdy product; discrete and easy to set up and use. Very handy for children who lock themselves out!!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 April 2013
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Easy to install . Looks neat does not look out of place. Small compartment if you wanted to keep several keys

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 April 2013
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

good all round safe

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

24 January 2013
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

Apparent durability and security rating. Code numbers are rather problematic for the visually challenged or those with declining fine motor capabilities

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 November 2012
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Ease of use. I found the installation instructions particularly helpful, and changing the combination is easy.

I've noticed that the small 'tag' on the plastic cover has been cracked. Not sure how this has happened, although the safe has been used once by emergency authorities. Might be worth looking at making this a bit more substantial if ever the moulding is to be updated or modified.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 October 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Solidly made good engineering guality

Ease of use

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 August 2012
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

The prees is doing a good job. Very good quality.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 January 2012
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

would well recommend it. Sturdy, secure, high quality safe.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 November 2011
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

EASY TO INSTALL & USE

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 November 2011
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

strong secure easy to use. A bit small inside for large keys

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 August 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Very secure and gives peace of mind if you ever forget your keys or get locked out. A little pricey - but worth it as it's police approved

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 July 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Well built construction, easy to program.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 June 2011
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

accurate product description and very efficient delivery

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 June 2011
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

excellent for my requirements

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 October 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I looked long and hard to find a replacement for the current lock at my mother in law's house. The old one was difficult to set the numbers manually and get them in perfect unison to unlock nthe safe. I found the GE C500 Police Approved KeySafe and read all the reviews. The care company told me it was the best on the market and their carers were well used to it. I did purchase the security plate to stop anyone altering the combination when it was open. It didn't cost much and was easy to fit. I then set the combination quite easily and tested it before attempting to attach it to the wall. I drilled the holes as advised using the template and screwed it to the wall with screws supplied.

It is brilliant, extremely secure, and the carers love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

16 September 2016
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 7 / 10

A very good product - a bit tricky to work out initially but once setup a really good investment. No one is getting into this KeySafe!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

11 August 2016
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

This only comes in black (the colour of the weather cover, grey body to the lock). Easy to fix if you have a decent masonry drill (hammer head). Self-tapping fixings work really well. This isn't in use every day but contrary to other reviews the weather cover seems strong enough to last. True you can't use a key button more than once but that still leaves plenty of choice! Internally mine carries two mortice keys and a yale all on a ring. This fits on the hook but it would be better if the hook were mounted at the top of the enclosure rather than the middle. Don't pay extra for the internal security cover - not really needed. All in all, a solid job, if a bit on the pricey side. Happy to recommend as a tough and secure way to store a set of keys to the outside of your house or whatever.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

4 August 2016
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Excellent product although I think very over priced . My carers can get into the box easy as it is very simple to use. It was the only box I could buy as it is approved by the police lots of care agency will only sign you up if you have a safe box which is approved by the police . Overall I am very satisfied with it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

30 June 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I needed a key safe to store the key to a safe which contains sensitive security related documentation and training aids. Internet research led me to your product and the police 'approval' was the factor that tipped the balance. The cost was very reasonable and the build quality cannot be faulted. The ease with which the combination was set, and can be reset, as well as the opening and closing operation is superb and the safe was very easy to fix to the side of the safe itself. I would thoroughly recommend the key safe as a cost-effective solution to the storage requirements for a small number of sensitive keys.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 June 2016
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

I bought the c500 Police approved key safe from Safe. Co.uk, because I viewed it in a shop at twice the price, literally twice the price, so it was very good value and it does the job. My mum is elderly now and needs regular visits. It takes a hammering, considering the use it gets, it is solid and inconspicuous, you wouldn't know what it was unless you knew, that is! It was easy to install, came with a template, which enabled my brother to position it perfectly. You do need a special screw driver though, it tells you all that inside. All in all a very good buy, in my opinion.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

16 May 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I like that the box is neat and tidy and isn't an eyesore and is very accessible if I ever needed to use it. It is very secure and only the people that have the code can access it and retrieve my key. I like the fact that it is recommended by the police and lives up to its name. When I bought the product the company sent workers to my home to fit the box for me, they were very helpful and fitted the box very securely. I would highly recommend this product and this website for anyone that feels they need this product. Overall I had a great experience.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 March 2016
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

Bought this key safe so I don't lock myself out. It has very sturdy construction, so it would be easier to break the door down rather than try and break into key safe.

It is very easy to set the max 6 character alphanumeric combination. A little combination setting tool is supplied, but a jewellers screwdriver will do just as well. I bought the optional anti-tamper panel - useful, but if it only a few people are going to access the key safe it probably isn't necessary.

Fitting instructions are clear and fitting into brick was straight forward. The self-tapping masonry screws are fantastic.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

21 January 2016
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

It was exactly what it said on the tin. It was relatively easy to fix to the ground. Of course its only as strong as what you fix it to, but in my case it was the ground. The cover should keep rain getting into the mechanism . Inside its is large enough to store several keys, in my case only one which merely gave access to another key store, am paranoiac about security. Was reassured it was police approved as this has some clout re insurance. Its good that the combinations are independent of the order put in but then , although it reduces the number of permutations who gonna key em in in a damp cold nook among the brambles on my property

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

6 August 2015
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

This is an excellent key safe. Purchased this as it is used by our local council to be used at houses where carers visit and we already had experience of one at our parents. The We store 3 keys on a fob and that is about the limit but this is good enough. The height allows you to hang the mortice key on the hook - it is not long enough to hang from a split ring attached to the key but again this is fine. For optimum security the safe has to be attached to the brick not the mortar so a good bit is essential. The fastenings drive directly into the brick and are very tight so you do need the right driver which is detailed on the instructions. Overall found this very useful and pleased with quality.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

2 July 2015
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Easy to install and very very solid in terms of any physical attack on it. The weatherproof cover is well designed for the Scottish climate. The only minor improvement I could suggest is to raise the internal key hook as high as possible within the storage compartment to optimise storage particularly of longer mortice keys if they are already on a ring with other keys. Ideal for controlled access to keys in support of personal care arrangements.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

4 June 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Living alone and getting older risks no-one being able to access to help in an emergency. Installing a key safe with spare key provides peace of mind that a neighbour, friend, family member or emergency services could get in. It is a lot cheaper and easier to distribute a key code than to get many duplicate keys cut and given out. The code can be changed for added security. This one is recommended by the police and carefully installed should withstand the worst weather. Delighted with the product - I just need to remember to take the key out of the door having locked it from the inside!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

14 May 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This feels like a very sturdy product that inspires confidence in its security from the outset. It was easy enough to install, even in pouring rain on a freezing winter afternoon as it went dark. Once the code is set there is a tamper-proof plate to lock in place for peace of mind. Plenty of room for a Yale key and a long key which are protected from the elements by the weather-proof cover. The cover helps the whole safe to be inconspicuous rather than advertising the fact that there are keys available. All in all, a great product which will last for years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

30 April 2015
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Was easy to fix to the wall. Has a really solid feel to it. I have had to use many other keysafes within my work life and this one is definitely the best. Highly recommend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

23 April 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

a Good product which came recommended from previous purchaser- Andrew Kinmont

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

5 February 2015
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Great product, easy to attach, does what it says on the box!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

27 November 2014
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

Arrived promptly, was straightforward to fit and has provided a sound solution to our previous issues with forgotten keys..!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

20 November 2014
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

This is an excellent product. Some minor difficulties occasionally to open key safe box, but generally easy to use. The key safe box is the right size, not too big, and not too small. Very easy to install, and can be installed in a matter of minutes. This item can be sited discreetly without any problem. Inputting of security code number is very simple to understand and very simple to use. The key safe box is fairly lightweight. Colour is easy on the eye. Adequate space inside the keysafe box for 1 key. Ideal for use if you have Carers or Health Professionals calling at the property.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

13 November 2014
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Good and strong, easy to programme and fit.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

6 November 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very strong sturdy product not disappointed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

4 September 2014
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

At first glance the price looks high compared with other products available, however the security and build quality ensures that it is built to last. It is easy for nursing agencies to access while maintaining a good level of security. I am very pleased with my purchase and would recommend it to others.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

14 August 2014
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

This seems to be a great product. We use it to allow guests access to our house when we're out. It seems very secure, and there haven't been any problems with people working out how to use it. I struggled somewhat with fitting it, but that might have been the particular brickwork I was putting it in. The safe was the best price on the web, arrived promptly and was well packaged. It's expensive, but nothing compared to the value of the items in our house, so I'd say it was worth spending a bit more on. I'd highly recommend it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

14 August 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Product installed , template supplied really helped in positioning the unit (i.e. to line it up to where to drill on the bricks). Been in operation for 3 months and works really well without an issue

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

7 August 2014
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

very confident in the security aspect of this project.

Excellent wall connections and easy to install.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

7 June 2014
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

just when we needed for in a key safe, good solid build, gives us the safe feel good factor.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

29 May 2014
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

The product was perfect. I gave 9 out of 10 for storage only because aunty's key's were on the large side and I changed key rings to fit them in which was fine. Eighty Seven year old Aunty was abit unsure about safety but once I told her it was approved by police etc and showed her the product fully fitted on the wall and also told her that only her community alarm contact would have the pin number for emergency's she was over the moon. It now means that if she falls and can't get up I do not have to travel 10 miles usually at night to let emergency services gain access. The Safe was easy to programme with the pin etc and also easy to fit on the wall. Fortunately we have not had to use it yet ha ha but it gives piece of mind.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

22 May 2014
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

This key safe is in use at my elderly mother's home - it provides a much greater degree of security than a cheaper key safe. In fact a cheaper model was wrenched from the wall and intruders let themselves into her property!

So, motto of this is that it is false economy to go for a cheaper version of such and important piece of equipment. No that my mother requires carers, this SAFE key safe is imperative to her safety and well being.

Thanks for the quick service so we could get the safe fixed up for our piece of mind as much as hers!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

1 May 2014
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Yes this is a fairly expensive product, but, as always, you do get what you pay for. The safe itself is very heavy for it's small size and looks just about as secure as possible. Knowing it's police approved helps a lot too. As long as you've got the right driver bit, it's simplicity itself to install, very simple to set up and looks surprisingly inconspicuous when it just sits unobtrusively in the corner. Although there's not a lot of room inside, there's plenty of space for a few keys. Overall, this has to be the ideal product for anyone, who, like me, needs to be able to let others gain access when needed without compromising security.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 April 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I was amazed as to how easy the key safe was to set up and install after reading the instructions a few times. Delivery was very quick

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

6 February 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Perfect Product

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

This product has 81 reviews.