Yale Keyfree Connected with Z-Wave - Chrome (Polished Chrome) Reviews

Ref: YL-YKFCON-ZW-CH-YSP
Thumb image of 7353.png
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10

7.6 / 10 based on 7 reviews.

£449.00 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10
Ease of Fitting Rated 7.3 / 10Rated 7.3 / 10Rated 7.3 / 10Rated 7.3 / 10Rated 7.3 / 10
Security Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10
Value for Money Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10
Jonathan
21 September 2015

Expert Staff Review:
Read my full review here.

14 April 2016
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Very happy with our Keyfree Yale Lock. The PIN code entry means no longer having to share keys out with family members (a risk in that if one person loses one, you have to replace the lot) and you can set temporary PINs if required. For maximum convenience, pair this with a Z Wave controller (as we have) so you can perform remote unlocking or have the door unlock automatically when you arrive home, etc. The lock itself is well made and feels reasonably robust. It's certainly different enough to put off would be intruders as they don't do 'surprises' and the fitter did comment how difficult these things were to break into or remove compared to a traditional lock.

I like the fact the handle disengages after a set time, so leaving the door on the latch rather just left open/unlocked as with a traditional lock. This should prevent any 'sneak ins' and prevent the obsessive 'is it locked' checking (at least for me anyway).

The user manual is reasonably straightforward. You'll need to hold on to it to follow the steps and key sequences to set various modes. The first being to turn off the voice assistance, as it's quite loud and personally we found it very irritating after the first day of use.

Battery life seems excellent (still 90% after several months). There's a manual key and battery override too as a failsafe.

They thing to remember is the lock motor doesn't actually 'lock' your door. It simply engages or disengages the handle. When leaving the property you will sometimes need to enter a PIN to engage the handle, so you can fully lock the door on its multi-points. That was something it took my other family members awhile to get their heads round!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 December 2016
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

With the installation provided, the lock can be fitted into our door without any problem. The technician provided easy to understand instruction.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

30 June 2016
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

Love the slim look but does constrain keyboard to 2 vertical lines of numbers which looks great but takes some getting used to. Zwave works great with Smart Things Hub but presence sensing opening doesn't work well so just using keypad now. Overall happy with it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 March 2016
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

The install was good but I had no idea that I needed the smart systems hub to manage the door system so it would be good have a list of pre-requisites or even supply the door system with a smart hub.

The software is decent but again lacks some features which I think would make it invaluable. If you have a door system connected to wireless, why not have the software let you configure it remotely too?

The door lock itself is awesome and I get great feedback from my guests when they come to stay for the ease of use. It's also incredibly useful to be able to unlock the door for them when they can't figure it out!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 September 2017
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

2017 Safe Keyfree Connected Smart lock

21 September 2017

Invited here to review my Smart Keyfree lock with Z-Wave module installed.

The fact that I have 11 Names of family and friends in my code list and a further three others where I can set One Day codes is testament that I and others have made progress from my humble beginning.

In my home, I have installed a Samsung SmartThings hub and here I have a Z-Wave connection that with either iPhone or iPad SmartThings app appears limited to perform lock either Locked or Open. In the SmartThings app, there exists a Lock Z-Wave lock register limited to time stamped lock status was opened or closed. Here is would be more helpful if the SmartThings app gave further information such as the date and lock slot number performing the Z-Wave lock was Unlocked from the outside.

I have not discovered a user-friendly Apple app that will allow better or improved management of the Yale Keyfree Z-Wave Lock replacing all the manually operated features in the Keyfree Connected Smart Lock Manual with automated processes.

On a positive note, I have not had to purchase 11 manually operated door lock keys. Should a contingency occur at the Smart Lock, such as the four AA Batteries expire. In an Emergency, I have a Key Safe where I have stored a New 9v Battery and a door key that permits manual operation door unlock.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

21 September 2017
Rated 3.8 / 10Rated 3.8 / 10Rated 3.8 / 10Rated 3.8 / 10Rated 3.8 / 10 3.8 / 10

What I didn't like was the fuss in getting the lock fitted, bought 2x locks could only fit one at a time 2 x fitting visits.

The lock quality - I could see daylight behind the lock when fitted when I questioned the fitter - "oh their all like this" very poor. Never worth the £440 each I paid.

Still not convinced one unit isn't faulty I have tried ringing Yale on numerous times wait so long for an answer the line cuts off!

Overall a very very poor buy

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

6 April 2017
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

The Yale keyless locking system is a great starting point for anyone who is looking to convert their home into a smart home! With audible alerts when the door is open and closed it puts your mind at rest and reassures you that your choice of brand was a good one!

I chose to go with the Z wave module as I have a SmartThings hub and it fits into my eco system nicely. Coupled with the Ring Pro door bell no matter where I am I can see who is at my front door and if they are friends or family with a click of a button I can grant access.

The unique keypad system is also worth noting as everyone has their own code which makes remembering them a lot easier plus I have the ability through 3rd party applications to see who came in and when. My cleaner has her own code as well and can be programmed so a code can be disabled at certain times or permanently should the need arise.

On the whole I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking for a new smart lock.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No