Yale Smart Home Alarm Kit - SR-320 Reviews

Ref: YL-SR-320
Thumb image of 9377c7b9b10db8875b0405cdd6491845.png
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10

9.2 / 10 based on 40 reviews.

£249.00 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10
Value for Money Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10
14 April 2017
Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10Rated 4.4 / 10 4.4 / 10

This is a tough review to write, partly due to the fact I really wanted to like the product as I had high hopes for it. Who wouldn't with the promise of being able to control your home alarm from your smart phone? In the age of IoT, this is a logical step to modernising your home physical security.

Hardware

The hardware has a nice solid build quality to it, and represents the brand of Yale well. No soft cheap feel plastic, which makes installing it really easy. The alarm is loud, both the hub and bell box will let you know if goes off.

The Smart Phone App (Android)

The app is the primary form of interaction when managing the alarm. So, you would think the app would have the same build quality of the hardware, and it would give you that well-polished experience. However, the smart phone app on Android is average to poor at best. The app feels clunky, and navigating it feels rushed and not well thought out. Its primary purpose of arming and disarming the alarm on the other hand is straight forward. So much so, it has a nice touch to arm the alarm by either swiping up to fully arm, or down to partially arm. I feel that was the selling point for the app and then everything else was just slapped together.

Using the app to configure the alarm was a little annoying. This was due to when adding devices, it was hit and miss. Sometimes it worked flawless, and others you would be trying multiple times to try and add the device. There appeared no consistency with it.

Account/user management through the app is clunky and messy, and really needs to be redone, it's just plain awful. I also noticed when the second person would set the alarm, you would be notified the main account holder had set it sometimes.

Now there is one part of the app I cannot forgive, and one I wish I knew before buying the alarm. It's such a big oversight in my eyes that Yale should be ashamed, particularly when it appears using the app is the primary form of notification if you're alarm is going off.

What's missing is the ability to set / modify the notification to your alarm being triggered from the app. This means if your alarm is triggered, the notification will use your default notification on Android. This could be easily mistaken for any generic notification, and be overlooked thinking it was a normal notification. This is inexcusable in my books. I do have a way around this, but it shouldn't be for me to put a work around in to fix such a basic function.

Furthermore, after receiving the alarm and reading the instructions there is a foot note which states Yale provide the servers for notifications / email for free, which is nice of them. However, they have the right to remove / stop this whenever they like. Which again, I wish that was clear before purchasing the alarm. As, it would in affect make your alarm a generic alarm with no way of notifying you it was going off.

Also, the app regularly crashes for me with on Android 7.1.1. It appears Yale outsourced the development of the app to a company called Mobile People. Link here: https://www.mobilepeople.com/en/forside.aspx. Maybe they or Yale will read what people are saying on the Play Store and fix the issues?

Instructions

On the surface the instructions are straight forward. There are sections that would benefit with a little more clarification, but that's being picky. What is missing, is how to control the sensitivity of the PIR sensors. I only discovered this when I realised the alarm didn't go off when I tried to set it off.

So, I called Yale Customer Support thinking the PIRs had a problem, or I had done something wrong. Had the pleasure of waiting on hold for 10 minutes, and then was told someone would call me back as they didn't know the product. Not a great start, but true to their word they did call back.

At this point, I now found out what those jumpers were for when I took the PIR apart to install it. Being the first alarm I've installed, I didn't pay any particular attention to them as they're not mentioned in the instructions. When I asked the Yale Support person was this information in the manual or online, he said it would be easier to tell me what to do. My question there is, why aren't the jumpers marked on the PCB board to indicate they're for sensitivity?

Security

Now this is where for me it gets interesting. Yale prides themselves on their physical security, it's why I went with them for the alarm. However, as this alarm is connected to the digital world, I was hoping the same would be true of the digital security as well.

I take online/digital security seriously, this is due to the nature of my job. As Liam Neeson said, But what I do have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career?. Maybe not a long as his career from Taken, but good enough to start looking.

Essentially these skills mean when I connect something to my home network, and I know it's going to be talking out to the Internet. You can bet your life I'm going to take a very hard look at what it's doing, and what I found was a little unsettling.

On my initial checks, I found the hub was running a web server. Interesting, this isn't mentioned in any information anywhere. Not in the instructions, not online, nowhere. Now this might not seem a bad thing, but it's HTTP and on port 80, which means it's in the clear and anyone sniffing that traffic could view it. Not so much of a problem on your home network, but still a surprise I didn't expect to see.

Secondly if you go to the web page on the hub you can tell it isn't for customers. It does have a password through basic authentication, but it's easily decrypted. Obviously, you need the right password, but the fact it's easily decrypted is poor. The web page is very basic, and it appears it's for managing the device, something a support engineer would connect too.

It has some interesting links on there, like firmware upgrading, uploads, users, control panel etc. My question there is who's this really for? If is a Yale Support Engineer, how are they connecting to it? Is it a home visit, or remotely? On a side note, the fact you can't assign it a static IP from the hub is annoying. The work around to this is reserve it on the DHCP server.

So, what's the web page for? Does it allow a remote session for support? Which would be worrying as who controls this? This is something I'm investigating further as this has some big questions.

From my packet traces I can see the hub is talking to the Yale servers. There is a constant flow of traffic between the hub and the server. It appears the hub initiates the call to the Yale server, and this then allows the servers to manage the hub. This is so you can manage the hub over the internet without the need for the hub to have a public IP or some DDNS configuration.

Because these are important questions, personally I've put the hub behind a firewall, so as to isolate it from my network.

More alarming, pun intended, is the remote server your hub is talking to. Looking at what ports were open on the remote server, I was worried to see ones I wouldn't expect to be open on the Internet. This is worrying as these servers are talking to the hubs, which means if the server was compromised, could someone access your hub?

In conclusion

During my research, I did come across a pen test company who looked in the hub v1.0, and had carried out similar tests as I was looking to do. This meant my findings were more around had Yale implemented any changes since that team had reported them. The good news is yes, but in my eyes, it's not enough. Yale have fallen into the trap a lot of companies make when trying to modernise their product offerings to the rapidly changing online world. It's more around get it to work and get it to market, rather than security first. Which is ironic for a company like Yale whose business is security. Any product designed to communicate across the Internet must have security at its core. Also, the hub appears to be developed by a company called climax technologies, so it appears Yale may be licensing this and not in house development.

The app needs some serious work, as at the moment for the price you pay to receive a quality product is extremely lacking. I have a case open with Yale at the moment for the Pet PIR sensors as it appears 3 don't work at all.

In all, I really wanted to like this product as it has great potential. Yale really need to step it up in my eyes as there are some huge holes that need fixing. If not, then it will have to go back as it just doesn't meet the requirements as states it can do.

TL/DR: Good build quality, terrible app, very questionable digital security, could be better.

28 of 30 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

6 October 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This Yale Smart alarm was so easy to install it was laughable. All in all I put the 5 Sensors up in about 30 mins then took me another 30 mins to put Alarm Box up on the front of my house.

2 supplies sensors were already connected to hub and I added the 3 extra ones with no trouble at all.

Once everything is connected I then downloaded the iOS App to my iPhone 6 and easily configured the system just how I wanted it with ease. I've now got a iPhone 7 and the App still works on that phone to.

The Hub acts as the internal siren and is extremely loud. The keypad is also wireless and can be placed anywhere.

I would definitely recommend this product to any DIY alarm fitter or professional.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 November 2016
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Installation a piece of cake. I bought additional items which all learnt easily to the hub excepting a video PIR.

Safe sent me a replacement which wouldn't learn but Yale were more than helpful and after trying a few things we came to the conclusion that the hub had a fault. This was replaced without fuss and solved the issue with Yale monitoring and guiding me all through.

Now working perfectly and is so simple to set and add additional components I wish I had changed from my old hard wired system sooner.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 February 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very easy to setup and use

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

13 October 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Installation of this alarm was really easy, minimal DIY skills are needed - it's just drill a small hole where you want the sensor, put a rawplug in, line up the sensor, screw in - job done :-) The outside bell needs someone to hold the ladder but that's a scomplicated as it gets. Linking the sensors to the master control unit was really simple and within an hour your home is protected. Setting up users was also very good with the app also meaning you have full remote control of the system via your smartphone.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

6 October 2016
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Alarm is easy to install though som of the terms on the app are a bit confusing. Used simply it is so easy to use and set up. Would recommend

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 January 2017
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

This alarm was extremely easy to fit and the instructions were clear and concise. I have replaced an old wired alarm and essentially sited the sensors in the same place as they were previously. I have retained all of the original functionality of the wired alarm in terms of zonal control. We use the mobile app to control the setting of the alarm which is extremely convenient. I receive the notifications from the alarm on my mobile device and so have confidence in the security of my property. The only negative I have found so far is that the app is somewhat clunky to use and could be improved but is effective nonetheless.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 January 2017
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Easy to set up and working well so far. There were some server issues on the app early on, but these seem to have been resolved now. Yale customer support were very helpful when needed. We have pets so a version of the pack with the pet safe detectors would have been helpful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 January 2017
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

The product and App is very simple to install and use. The App could have more features especially for the use of the plugs I additionally purchased and doesn't work with other home automation products yet. Otherwise a good system.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 November 2016
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

I wanted a home alarm system that I didn't have to pay a monthly subscription fee for but that could be monitored remotely and this alarm fits the bill perfectly. In today's world of smart home devices, home alarms appear to be lagging behind but the Yale systems are certainly pushing the envelope as to what is possible. It's connected to our home broadband router and I can arm and disarm from the app and monitor trigger events. The kit appears to be well made and looks smart without being too intrusive in the home. The external bell box looks great and is supported by an internal alarm too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 September 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent piece of kit.

Easy to install.

Easy to set up.

Easy to add to but instructions for learning could be slightly better explained.

App works well.

Overall very happy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

17 August 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great product....excellent service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

3 August 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great product. Peace of mind knowing I have a deterrent for when I am not at home.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

3 August 2017
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

very easy to install and usage. Just works as required.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

3 August 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great and easy to install and use

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

27 July 2017
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

This Yale Smart Home Alarm Kit is amazing, very easy to fit even without reading the instructions, all you need is a screwdriver to fit on the walls the sensors and all the other parts, the sensors are very sensitive and they will sense every single move in your room or living room.

Also a great accessories is the keyring for easy activation or disactivation of your system.

And why you will pay the monthly subscription for other companies for doing the same thing? I don't really see the point in going that, what they doing is giving you a call if someone goes inside or for extra more money they will call the police for you! i can do that either and much cheaper!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

27 July 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

It's a great product & easy to use. It's fantastic if you want something one off payment rather than monthly.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

15 July 2017
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 7 / 10

Easy enough to setup although the instructions didn't flow together, felt like you skipped parts or completed them out of order if you followed the instructions strictly.

I only ordered one extra door/window sensor which was easy to add to the setup.

The mobile app seems to have quite a few bad reviews on Google play but I've had no problems with it. It's handy being able rename all the units in the app so it makes things easy when creating the different zones.

The door/window sensor doesn't really fit well on patio doors or at least mine, as the units do not line up due to the frame and doors being offset. There is an extra rubber block to stick under to help level them up but would need 2 or 3 on the patio door and would look odd.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

13 July 2017
Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10 6.6 / 10

Is a good product easy to use, but came with low or faulty battery which was a pain !

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

10 July 2017
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Having decided to fit an alarm, I got the local company to give me a quote, £1100 + £120 per annum service ( press the test button and replace a few batteries) + £50 a year cloud charge(?). Having read the positive reviews I decided to fit the yale smart alarm system myself, incredible easy to set up. I fitted 2 sensors downstairs, to cover front and back door, and 1 contact on a vulnerable window, outside I fitted a contact to my side garage door and a sensor to a detached garage. A keypad by the front door, a keypad in the side garage just before the contact and take a keyfob up to bed at night to arm and disarm. 3 months on everything has worked brilliantly, the smart phone app allows you to very easily arm and disarm from anywhere, on a recent holiday it was very reassuring to check and see that the only activity was a list of daily automatic tests. So to conclude - cheap, easy to fit, simple to add to and operate all for less than 2 years charges from an alarm company.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

6 July 2017
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

I bought the Yale alarm after getting some quotes from traditional home alarm companies who came round to the house and did a survey. The quotes for these bespoke alarms were upwards of £700 so I decided to try the Yale. From what I've gathered the bespoke versions are technically way behind as they didn't offer mobile app control which is the best bit, especially being able to turn it on and off when you're not in the house. Removes that 'beep, beep, beep' stress that you get with setting a normal alarm. Recommended

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

22 June 2017
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

The Yale wireless security system is one of the best home improvements we have made recently to our delight it was so easy to install and was up and running in no time at all!

It looks neat and tidy and we now have no untidy looking wires. We can use the app on our phones to arm and disarm this remotely! Notifications when we are away from home giving us complete piece of mind and confidence in its capabilities! Our only concern was one of the contacts for one of the windows fell off as the adhesive was not strong enough and gave us a fright with a false alarm! We've now secured all our contacts with stronger glue but other than that we have no complaints, thanks Yale 😘

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

22 June 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Bought from safe and it was the cheapest on the net! Easy to install but and no wires....batteries don't have to be replaced fro 2-3 years and the smart app function is priceless. When a builder need to enter your property you can turn the alarm off from work. You receive emails and can do part alarms too plus the many attachments you can add on to the alarm system.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

15 June 2017
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Easy to set up and all parts seem to be of good quality. I had one query and called the support help desk and had it resolved quickly. DIY, installation and took abot 1/2 day to install and set up all the parts.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

14 June 2017
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

I bought a Yale product as my last one was Yale ( a wireless one) but I wanted to upgrade to an on line offering. I also trust the Yale brand with my home security.

The build quality is very good.

Installation was easy enough as was set up, the Yale box acts as a bridge to my router, the app on my phone is easy enough to use but will hopefully be upgraded as time goes on. I like the email notifications etc and I am also happy that I can add cameras and door locks to it in the near future.

Overall a quality product if a little pricey - but you get what you pay for!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 June 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very simple to fit in the house, inside and out. very clear instructions. really great system and works (we accidently set it when our cleaner came...)

very simple to add in extra features, would highly recommend, as it was recommended to me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

25 May 2017
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

This is a great product, easy to install, easy to use. The only critique I can level is the app which controls the system. Looks dated and despite a update recently to the look and feel, its not the best. That said, it does the job, but I feel it could be better. If you are looking for Home automation, then you will need to look at another product. I have Hue, home hub, nest and this is the only product that wont integrate, but if you look at systems that offer this integration, then you will be paying a lot more. From start to finish, it took 2 hours or so really easy to mount the PIR's and door sensors, most tricky part was the external siren which took 30 minutes. Given the price, its good value for money

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

4 May 2017
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

The alarm was good but I tried adding a video camera to the standard kit as a extra , as I installed the kit for a customer Yale wouldn't speak to me and spoke to customer direct . The main hub ended up being faulty and I had to take extra time to install new one at my own expense as the customer didn't know how to .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

4 May 2017
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Easy to fit. Good value. Perfect for me with pets. Phone app easy to use and very useful.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

27 April 2017
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Very easy to order and a much better price than can be found else where. Delivery was very quick and well packaged. The actual alarm is easy to install for what I class myself a good DIY person. I just used a normal drill and screw set (fixings included) and a step ladder. Plug and play with the app. Just remember to turn the battery switch on inside the control box! otherwise you will get a bleep every so often! I have put in two of these systems and can't complain. 100% recommend safe.co.uk it has made my home feel safer and reduced my home insurance down so that this system will be paid for in under two years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

21 April 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Having had a private company contract alarm system at a previous address, I decided at my new house that I would fit a wireless alarm system myself.

Having researched a few different models, I chose a Yale kit, which allowed me to connect the alarm through my home telephone wifi system.

The main benefit for me was the fact that I could arm and disarm the system from my mobile 'phone.

Also, if the alarm is triggered, it will send a text to my mobile and an email to my email address.

The ordering system on the website was easy and straightforward. The kit arrived promptly after my order. Excellent value for money.

The instructions were reasonably easy to follow.

I am not technically minded but the system was very easy to install myself.

Very happy with the service and Product.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

20 April 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great product app works well give peace of mind

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

20 April 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

installation not a big problem if you read the instruction correctly before starting also to have control via my mobile.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

16 April 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

first class

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

13 April 2017
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

After having done quite a lot of research on different security systems I chose Yale and this particular model. Having now used it for a couple of months I need to say it was a good decision. It was relatively easy to set up and it works without problems. You can easily control it with your mobile app and have access to it wherever you are at whatever time – you just need an online connectionI also really like the part-arm option which you set up when you sleep upstairs. If you have visitors downstairs, you can easily set an alarm to just react to the doors opening and they can sleep in your lounge downstairs – another great feature. Overall, I’d say it’s a very good value for money and gives you a piece of mind.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

13 April 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The item was competively priced. The best I could find on-line. Once ordered, I was kept constantly updated about the delivery process and expected delivery date. I felt that safe.co.uk really cared that my purchase was important to me. Once my package arrived I found it to be well packaged and in perfect working order. The system is easy to install and works very well. Some pay monthly systems cost the amount for a years subscription. I think this is far better! A great product with great customer service. What else could you wish for?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

30 March 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This alarm system is excellent value for money. It was very easy to install, although I didn't know this prior getting an electrician friend of mine to help me. I would certainly feel confident in installing one again.

I have since added two Keyfobs to it and this makes life a lot easier for both me and my family.

I am considering adding a pir camera to it. It is so easy to arm and disarm. The information relayed to your mobile phone/ iPad is very useful.

The service very the Internet supplier "Safe" was first rate with delivery on time as promised.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

30 March 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I was in two minds whether to buy a standard one around £100 or go for the smart one with the app. Shopped around and found safe.co.uk the cheapest for my smart alarm. Very easy to set up and i think its a great value in comparison to some of the local quotes i got. Def recommend the site and the alarm

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

16 March 2017
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

It only took around 1 hour to unpack and install this system. Absolutely everything you need is included in the kit.

All the included kit already came paired with the hub. I also added two key fobs which was an absolute breeze with the pairing system.

Build quality is pretty robust and no different to what you get from professional alarm companies.

The hub connected to the server first time and has not dropped since.

The app itself is pretty informative keeping you up to date with any event be it alarm event, arming, disarming and self test . It also allows for a walk through test to ensure integrity of each individual component

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 February 2017
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

The Yale Smart Home Alarm Kit was exactly what I was looking for to replace an old wired system in my home.

The Yale Smart Home Alarm Kit was very easy to install, both the door contacts and PIR motion sensors were very easy to mount in position, and then test on the hub.

Operation of the The Yale Smart Home Alarm Kit using the iPone App was also very easy, however, both of the apps still require some work, I prefer the older Yale Home System app because it seems to have more functionality than the new Yale Smart Living Home app, which seems odd. Apart from this I would highly recommend the system, does exactly what it says on the box.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No