Yale Smart Home Alarm, View & Control Kit - SR-340 Reviews

Ref: YL-SR-340
Thumb image of 8055.png
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10

8.4 / 10 based on 16 reviews.

£429.00 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.1 / 10Rated 8.1 / 10Rated 8.1 / 10Rated 8.1 / 10Rated 8.1 / 10
9 March 2017
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 7 / 10

Many pros but one big con:

Pros: 1) Very easy to set-up and to add other accessories, 2) App is easy to use, 3) Sensors are quite responsive.

Con: Biggest con is that if the alarm is set off, then all the app does is send you an email. This seems like a major oversight - I would have expected it to give a direct phone notification with a loud alarm, after all it is a burglar alarm. Hence, all pros mentioned become a bit redundant, unless you're someone who religiously checks their emails.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

26 May 2017
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Easy to install. Convenient to use via online app access. Adequate and easy to understand instruction manual. Never had any problem so far since installed. Peace of mind when away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 May 2017
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

The inventors of the Yale Smart Living Intruder alarm system have taken advantage of the World Wide Web to create a system which bridges the gap between the old domestic intruder alarm systems and fully monitored Central Station intruder alarm systems.

One of the best results of using this alarm system is that it reduces 'fear of crime' because home owners are in control of the processes of Setting, monitoring and responding to any activation generated by the system.

Following a burglary my wife was reluctant to leave our house unoccupied however, after fitting the Yale Smart Living system, our lives began to return to normal.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 March 2017
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Great product! Although, it would've been very helpful if you could disconnect the Ethernet cable after set-up. It's strange, that with it being so expensive, that you can't connect to your router via wireless. Due to this, the controller needs to sit next to the router, next to the TV and would look very silly attached to a wall. Other than that, the system is great.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 March 2017
Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10 6.8 / 10

Whilst the alarm system itself is good the camera type detectors are rubbish as the two I have (one stills and one video) don't work anymore, and the actual quality of the images that the cameras produce is very low quality considering what we all expect from video products these days. This is the reason that I wouldn't really be able to recommend this system particularly if someone wanted to be able to monitor activity in the property after an activation which is one of the design principles of the model that I purchased. Apart from all that the system is easy to setup and operate, so as a basic alarm system it's pretty good.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 June 2017
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Really good alarm system which you can easily use and monitor via your smartphone app. Had it 3 months now and very happy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 May 2017
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Although I would recommend the general system/concept it is with the following caveat, don’t bother with the SR-340. I bought the SR-340 without realizing how useless the PIR Image camera is! The website only shows what the image resolution is via a Q&A (320 x 240 pixelated image) not in the description/spec, which for me is a little misleading by omission.

My advice would be to buy the SR-320 and add to it which will save some money and disappointment!

I found the installation and setup incredibly easy and took only a couple of hours to mount the components and get it all up and running.

I did have a problem with the app after a week or so, the hub went offline according to the app and although the alarm still worked is was only via the keypad and no changes to the system could be made. However, Yale were quick to help out over the phone and via email and it was sorted with instructions from them for a soft reset of the hub.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

6 May 2017
Rated 1 / 10Rated 1 / 10Rated 1 / 10Rated 1 / 10Rated 1 / 10 1 / 10

The experience of attempting to setting this system up has to say the least been testing. The first control unit we received has not been correctly set up at the factory. A replacement had been sent but now trying to log on to the system the app says I have put in the wrong password, which I know I haven't. When you then try and reset the password by email, no email arrives. I would not describe myself at a technophobe as I've mastered several other wireless home controls without encountering these sort of issues. So I will now have to approach both Safe and/or Yale to get this sorted. In hindsight I wished I'd simply appointed a contractor to install an alarm, rather than purchasing this system.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

4 May 2017
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

|Delivery very quick. Best price around via SAFE. The kit was easy to install , set up and use. I like the ability to add additional devices. A video camera would be preferable next purhcase

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

6 April 2017
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

A bit hard to install due to misleading user manual. But once installed, it is working very well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 March 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very easy to fit, we used heavy duty double sided tape to fit the sensors and that worked a treat. We originally had a bit of a problem with the hub but it was sorted straight away and Yale sent out a replacement overnight as we were going away and wanted the alarm active whilst away. I would, and already have recommended this alarm to friends as it can be installed by a novice in an afternoon. Great product from Yale, great service and help from both Yale and Safe would definitely use again if need be . Thumbs up from me 👍👍👍

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 February 2017
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

This is a great product. I have used this for over 5 months and the best feature is the notification on iphone and via email. The camera PIR is good and captures and emails the images. I installed it myself so there was not much of a charge on this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 January 2017
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great piece of kit and simple to use.

Alarm was installed by an engineer who took his time to show us how to use the alarm, the camera feature and then set up the app on our phones. The alarm is very load and instantly tells you where the security breach is via the phone app. You can even remotely arms and disarm alarm via your phone app plus control a lamp via plugged into your mains socket which is very convienance. The great thing about the package deal is you get door and window sensors. The system also let's you easily add additional sensors later on if you wish. Is this all done wirelessly of course so no need to route wires.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

5 January 2017
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

The Yale Smart Home Alarm arrived within 2 days and I was surprised how easy it was to set up around the house. All the instructions were easy to understand and all the sensors including the camera sensor were easily positioned as recommended in the comprehensive instruction and fixed in place using the self adhesive pads supplied with the kit or fixing with the screws which were also supplied.

The whole system was installed and working within a couple of hours. The smart phone app which you need to download was easy to use and to set the system up. I can now monitor the alarm anywhere I can get an internet signal and turn lights off and on via the phone app. An excellent product if you want peace of mind and would recommend this kit to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

8 December 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great product at a great price!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 July 2017
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

The product itself is great

Easy to install and manage.

The smartphone app could be improved with some better alerts..

Something to really grab the attention when the alarm is triggered.

Also the battery in stills camera went flat very quickly as it was covering the main front door. It did mention battery life in the manual but I was surprised just how quickly the camera went dead.

Safe were a great help. The product arrived on time and when I needed help during the setup they helped quickly and efficiently.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Yale product and recommend Safe as the vendor.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No