Yale Value Safe Home Reviews

Ref: YL-YSV/250/DB1
Thumb image of 3de9924f401bbeef004ee99d6c84b178.gif
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10

8.8 / 10 based on 58 reviews.

£59.99 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10
Security Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10
Value for Money Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10
21 February 2013
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

It meets basic security requirements of having solid construction, easy-to-use keypad operation and positive locking. Mine's mounted in a dark place, which makes the keypad a bit hard to see, but the beeps that accompany pressing the keypad are reassuring.

The lock mechanism intrudes a little into the inside space. It's only just big enough for A4-size documents, but will take a lot.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 January 2014
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

Value for money budget safe has excellent storage capacity and looks the part. The walls of the safe are a little flimsy or tinny but overall the product description matches the product I received. The digital lock control key pad panel is simple and easy to use and the back up safe key system is good for peace of mind if the batteries fail on the digital panel. The safe itself is incredibly easy to install and setting key pad access codes up are also very easy. All in all a good safe for the money if perhaps not the most secure safe you will ever see in terms of heavy duty build quality.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

1 February 2013
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

easy to instal and work

5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

14 December 2012
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

The fact that it has 2 keys.The last safe only had 1 key which got lost and potentially meant if the batteries went it would not open. You need to put in slightly longer wall plugs.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 January 2014
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

The installation leaflet was not particularly helpful as it just showed a few tiny drawings. and the installation was not that easy. You need a good quality drill to obtain the depth required for the rawlplugs and bolts. Also the bolts were an unusual design with a screw head inside the hexagonal bolt head. This meant that while you could start with a few turns of a screwdriver you had to finish with a ring spanner. The enclosed space made this quite time consuming. A socket head would be an easier option. Once installed the batteries were easy to fit and the digit code easy to enter.The two manual keys were an alternative option. Overall a very good, value for money, home safe.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

15 October 2015
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

This is a great value safe that we found easy to install and of a size suitable for most normal sized confidential documents that one wants to keep in the home easy to hand. The combination lock is extremely easy to set and operate so that one can open and close with minimal effort. We reviewed many other safes which were not all compatible with the Yale model as they varied widely in size and were found to be much more expensive.The pre-drilled holes make fitting very straightforward and its construction whilst being of sturdy and strong construction was of a weight very beneficial to locating it in any position.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 June 2015
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

I recently purchased one of your Value safes in which to keep my passport and various papers. Although not anyway near the top of the range, the safe is ideal for my purpose. It arrived safely and quickly and was remarkably easy to install, with all fixings included. The instructions were easy to understand and clearly gave the necessary information on how the safe should operate. The two keys supplied with the safe, worked well and are a useful backup for forgetful owners. I am very happy to endorse the safe and to recommend this model for reasonably secure uses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

30 January 2014
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

I bought this safe to store documents, small valuables and cash. It is perfectly large enough for this purpose and will take A4 size documents unfolded. It comes with 4 strong bolts to fix it to either a wall or the floor. I have chosen to fit it to the floor but it made sense to use large wood screws to fix it to my wood floor. Easy to do (just mark through the fixing holes, remove the safe, pre-drill the holes, then screw the safe into place with a short screwdriver). Very easy to set a personal code. Two anonymous, safety keys are provided in the event that the code is forgotten. Store the keys in 2 different "safe" places!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 January 2014
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

It would have been better to include a shelve to divide the safe into two compartments. The plastic handle feels a bit week for a security safe. Overall build quality is really good. You can also think of providing guidance on the best way to install safes in homes either in bedrooms or stores etc. The logo is really good, dont change that ever. I really like the key pad entry system as it feels more secure but after months of purchase i have still not screwed it to the wall because i am missing some guidance here as stated before.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 January 2013
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great security safe dos exactly what it states, easy to install,easy to use, good srorage capacity

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 August 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This safe is a good size and very good.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

21 July 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Easy to secure and operate, big enough for what we required.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

20 June 2016
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Easy to use, simple to set up key code and a good basic safe.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

17 June 2016
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

whilst this product is more for home use, we have fitted it into our school environment to secure pupils belongings ie mobile phones lost purses and the like, the storage capacity is sufficient for our needs, but there are larger and smaller versions of the same unit, the keypad is easy to use as is setting the codes for it, there is a set of two emergency keys should the keypad fail for any reason. As well as being site manager for a school i am also a qualified locksmith, so my knowledge of locks and security helped in the decision to fit this unit into our reception area,i would also recomend this unit for home use as it could be tucked away somewhere quite unobtrusive and would be ampl for personal belongings such as cash or indeed jewelry, a 10 / 10 from me.

K. Whitehead

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 June 2016
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Product was exactly what we were looking for , small, compact, fairly sturdy, easy to install and neat looking. Price was very reasonable. Very pleased with our purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

3 June 2016
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

An excellent safe for home use. Easy to fit, simple to use and seems to do the job it's designed for very well. Good value for money

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

19 May 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This product is perfect for our needs, and is very easy to install. Would recommend this

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

13 May 2016
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

I greatly appreciate the attention to detail and the planning put into each of Yale's safes'. They are great for storing items such as money, Important Documents, Jewellery and even Items such as PDA's and Electronic devices. I greatly recommend the product as the ease of use, accessibility and security intwine to create a great piece of Domestic security hardware. This can then be utilised by the customer as they are so SIMPLE!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

15 April 2016
Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10 6.4 / 10

A good budget safe, easy to use & set-up but not the most secure small safe on the market. To be fair it is as good as you can get for the price, but its only for low value stuff that would inconvenience a thief rather than stop a theft by anyone determined to gain access. So in short, if you want better security then pay the money and buy something built for purpose.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

7 April 2016
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Product is ok for what I need, maybe in the future get one that is floor mounted

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 March 2016
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

ideal for its purpose, easy to use , secure , as simple as that

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

17 March 2016
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

This safe is absolutely superb for what I needed (keeping petty cash). It comes complete with working instruction, which are easy to follow and even the batteries are supplied. It is easy to use, easy to open and easy to change the passcode if required. I did not attach the safe to a wall but it did come with all the fittings to do this if you need to. My colleague Sean has tried many times to "break into the safe" without success. He will keep trying but I am confident he will never succeed. Great item - I would highly recommend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

21 January 2016
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

I think its a very good secure product and easy to use ,once you have mastered how to open it!.i followed the instructions to the letter but nowhere did it say you have to turn handle to the left first,then to the right to open it.!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 September 2015
Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10 5.8 / 10

The Yale safe has a very flimsy door and handle, so does not seem very secure. It is expensive because of this. It does not live up to the Yale name which you expect to be of good build quality.

It has 2 override keys in bright yellow this is good because our last safe, which was so much cheaper and of better quality, only had one. It looked like a bicycle lock key and was unfortunately thrown away.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 September 2015
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

The safe is well constructed and easy to fit to a wall or floor surface. (Suitable screws were included.) The instructions that came with the safe were not the best and at one point I was convinced the locking mschanism was broken. I searched the internet and found that the safe shop had their own version of the instructions that were more explanatory. After following these new instructions I realised the problem and all worked as expected. For a lower end safe I would have no qualms about recommending this item.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

18 June 2015
Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10 6.4 / 10

Does the job

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

18 June 2015
Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10 6.8 / 10

It is useful for what we need it for but not overly secure.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

7 May 2015
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

Easey to fit and use

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

16 April 2015
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Very good

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

2 April 2015
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

A simple , excellent value home safe.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

26 March 2015
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Great little safe, very easy to use and set up but side and rear walls seem a bit thin, though it is what I expected and I do not feel that the security of the safe has been compromised.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

5 March 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very secure and of solid construction

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

26 February 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Just what I needed. Great product

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

11 December 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Thanks for the fast Delivery and for the Safe,

everything as a describe on your website.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

23 October 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I found this product very sound and sturdy ann easy to use

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

23 October 2014
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

It does what it says it does - it's an entry level safe that works really well. Wouldn't stop a bank robber but would stop 99% of people getting in there. We were well impressed with it for the price. :)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

1 May 2014
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

very good quality safe and a good price to pay.you really do need to have do it yourself experience to install the safe.the fixing holes are probably too long and are difficult to drill in a confined space.it is also necessary to support the safe while drilling and fitting the retaining screws.similarily the screws need to be shorter as in a confined space it is very difficult and extremely hard to screw the fixings in.having used the safe for a while now I think that a removable shelf would be a good option to sell.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 April 2014
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

It's a strong box rather than a safe, but because of that it is not too heavy which is what I wanted. The base of the unit has a pronounced bow.

Good value, just right for my requirement.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

8 February 2014
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

The safe is compact and easy to use. It is well constructed and looks quite smart (even though it is safely hidden away!). I am struggling to suggest any particular improvements to its design, even small ones. I guess this is a best selling safe for storage of a small volume of household valuables and we are now using it for storage of several items of jewellery and also a computer hard drive that is so valuable now to give a back up of all our computer data from 2 computers. I have no hesitation in recommending it as a domestic safe that is good value for money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

16 January 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Perfect size for a small household to keep valuables safe. Was easy to secure to the floor and hides nicely inside the cupboard and very easy to use.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

10 January 2014
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

this safe dose just what it says perfect size for holding small items

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

19 December 2013
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

22 August 2013
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Easy to use

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

22 August 2013
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

2 override keys

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

8 August 2013
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

web site very easy to use, excellent discriptions and full details , very good information and sizes and prices cleary shown. web site purchase one of the most straight foward i have ever used. delivery very quick

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

12 July 2013
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Compact, secure and simple

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

4 July 2013
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Easy to install and use

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

12 June 2013
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

Does what I wanted it to do

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 May 2013
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Great value for money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

2 May 2013
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Easy to fit and operate. Mea culpa - I should have checked the internal dimensions better. Can't quite fit a cash box inside unless you turn it on it's side

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

18 April 2013
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Can be opened by key if the code is lost or the battery goes flat. Wall fixing not overly robust

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

11 April 2013
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

compact, easy to use

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

28 February 2013
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

well made easy to install. fixing bolts could be better quality.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

21 February 2013
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

perfect

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

21 February 2013
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

Easy to use with confidence. Could do with a little more space

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

21 February 2013
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

It takes A4 documents easily. Would have been good if there were fixings for the rear and base of the safe

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

7 February 2013
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Fine for my needs

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 January 2013
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

easy to use and inconspicuous. could be made heavier

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No