Brattonsound SL5+ Sentinel Plus 5 Gun Safe (lock top) Reviews

Ref: BRT-SL5+
Thumb image of 340.png
Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5

9.3 / 10 based on 29 reviews.

£359.99 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Build Quality Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5
Storage Capacity Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Security Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5
Value for Money Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5
Bill Verified Customer May 2018
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Great sturdy secure safe, my FAO didn't have to look twice at the quality. I find the Ammo box just a tad on the small size, but it is what it is.

Was this helpful? 17

Mr N T Verified Customer February 2011
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

internal safe for amunition is great

Was this helpful? 15

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2011
Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5
Recommended

good sturdy product. space a bit tight with scopes on

Was this helpful? 14

Bruce Verified Customer June 2015
Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5Rated 3.8 / 5
Recommended

Not as easy too open for when bolted on its back to the floor. Would benefit from a handle on the door to aid opening.

Was this helpful? 13

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Easy install, meets all S/G certification licence required.

Was this helpful? 12

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent product And customer service. I would recommend both the product and the company.

Was this helpful? 12

Craig Verified Customer July 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Great first safe. Can store shotguns unbroken as described and my air rifles however to fit in the slots you need to take the scope off. I also wish the foam separators were made of something more sturdy

Was this helpful? 12

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2011
Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5
Recommended

Fixing bolts inside lockable top box are difficult to access without special tools. Why not move them below the the top box?

Was this helpful? 10

Chris Curtis Verified Customer March 2011
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

Easy to install and and use. Doesn't look an eyesore when mounted in a room used for other functions.

Mounting kits should come with rubber caps to cover exposed stud bolts which would reduce the risk of damage to wooden stocks etc.

Was this helpful? 9

Paul S Verified Customer January 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

It is an outstanding cabinet and excellent value for money.

Was this helpful? 8

Jim Verified Customer November 2022
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Fantastic turnaround time from order to delivery. Gun safe was as described in the description and does the job as intended.

Nice colour and solid construction also the police seemed happy with the brand when applying for licence. Certainly looks as though it will last for years! In fact it will stay with the house even if I move.

Was this helpful? 7

Phil C Verified Customer January 2018
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

This safe is very heavy but part of the reason for this is because it is of excellent quality - no cheap materials used in this safe. If you want a safe and secure gun cabinet then Brattonsound should definitely be near the top of your shopping list. Four bolt securing points for wall mounting (top two located in the lock top) are available and four more for securing to the floor. Would highly recommend using a combination of threaded bar and a chemical anchor to secure this safe in place. Two turns of the key fully locks the gun safe by engaging the five locking bolts.

Was this helpful? 7

JAMES Verified Customer December 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

It is heavy. Police inspected the cabinet when fitted as they required an upgrade on previous visit. They approved the manufacture and failed to pull it off the wall due to the excellent bolts supplied. I do not think it can be forced in any way so it does what it says, a safe. The interior is superb and a small nick knack box is useful for other things too (so the wife says). I do recommend this but you will need two to lift it.

Was this helpful? 6

Jamie L Verified Customer March 2016
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Great gun safe. I had one then bought a second.

Was this helpful? 5

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2015
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Great safe, a bit tight for scoped rifles with pistol grips... managed to fit 2 shotguns/2 scoped rifles with a bit of a squeeze

Was this helpful? 5

E W Verified Customer October 2015
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Excellent quality gun safe at an affordable price.

The cabinet more than met the specification required by my police firearm liason officer in my application for shotgun certificate.

The safe comes with a good number of securing points for fixing to both wall and floor - I used cementious chemical bonding in holes drilled in wall and floor for added strengthening of bolts into fixing points.

Good quality locking/key system. Internally the cabinet has room enough for 4 or five firearms, whether they be rifles or shotgun, each seperated by foam dividers There is also an internal seperate lockable compartment.

Small foam section for the floor of the cabinet to protect your firearms also.

Overall a good quality product that is sturdy and built to last

Was this helpful? 5

Mike R Verified Customer June 2015
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

around v good Quality / delivery very prompt

Fixings bolts no problem installing and fixing

Was this helpful? 5

Laurence Verified Customer June 2019
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

I brought this safe as I applied for my shotgun license and needed to show the firearms officer I had a safe installed so purchased this one.

It’s not light was my first thought when it turned up after a little bit of a wait ( 3 weeks ish) but managed to get the wife to lift it up the stairs for me 😂 I bolted it to a solid wall but with all safes why do they put the fixing holes inside the internal locking compartment as that made it a head ache to do the bolts up not as easy as it could of been but she managed it lol.

Any who it holds 5 guns but feels a bit of a squeeze as the opening isn’t as wide as I’d like but you can’t have everything.

The door bolts 4 in total shoot out the side of the door and into the frame so there’s no getting in this beast without a key.

The firearms officer was more than happy and agreed that the bolt positioning was daft.

I’ve got my license now and do feel good knowing there in there and secure so (am I at 100 words yet?)

Money well spent .

You can buy a cheaper one but you get what you pay for 👌

Was this helpful? 4

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2015
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

Was exactly as described. Very happy

Was this helpful? 4

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2014
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Gets you through an SGC inspection with no drama at all.

Was this helpful? 4

Wesley Schofield Verified Customer February 2013
Rated 3.6 / 5Rated 3.6 / 5Rated 3.6 / 5Rated 3.6 / 5Rated 3.6 / 5
Recommended

Build and price

Was this helpful? 4

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2011
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

very sturdy

Was this helpful? 4

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2023
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

All in all, this is a great safe!

Pros:

- Very well made. All hinges, doors and locks feel solid and robust

- Looks good

- Comes with foam on the bottom and a barrel separator

Cons:

- Expensive (but get what you pay for)

- Difficult to reach one of the bolts as it's inside the top of the lockbox

- Bolts aren't supplied with the safe. Considering how expensive the safe is, I would've liked to see the fitting kit included

Was this helpful? 3

Mark Butler Verified Customer October 2013
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

I needed a secure cabinet to apply for my FAC and brattonsound have a very good name.

The cabinet was unfortunately damaged in transit and would not lock. However a replacement arrived within days and this one worked perfectly.

The build quality is very good - it is very heavy and once bolted to te wall became unmoveable. The door locks solidly and would be impossible to jemmy open. The cabinet is a nice blue colour with a quality finish.

There is enough room for 4 rifles comfortably. The floor of the cabinet is foam covered for extra protection to the butt of the rifles stored inside.

Was this helpful? 3

Paul Verified Customer November 2012
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Exactly what it said on the tin! Easy instructions for installation, quality very good.

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2011
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

Robust reasonable quality. Key locking mechanism sometimes "vague" but does work OK

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Fantastic service came really quickly, excellent quality. Looked at several companies, able to contact before and discuss options. Great service

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Very well built. The locking system is well engineered, which makes it smooth and easy to use.

The internal ammunition safe is excellent for storing Woking parts etc. I can store a decent amount of amo in there as well, especially smaller calibres. I would recommend this as it is excellent value for money

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer August 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Had a great experience with safe.co.uk. They honoured a price match which got me a really good deal and I'm super happy with the safe. Solid and secure. The safe did arrive slightly damaged on the corners due to the courier but safe.co.uk also handled that professionally. I was offered a new replacement or a bit more money off which was super helpful! Would definitely recommend.

Was this helpful? 1

This product has 29 reviews.