Brattonsound RL5+ Sentinel Plus 5 Rifle Safe (lock top) Reviews

Ref: BRT-RL5+
Thumb image of 348.png
Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5

9.3 / 10 based on 37 reviews.

£399.00 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5
Build Quality Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Storage Capacity Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Security Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5
Value for Money Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Anonymous Verified Customer May 2011
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Very good product. I would highly recommnend.

Only a slight annoyance.. it would be nice to have some sort of a handle on the front door, as once it is unlocked it is a bit hard to get the door to swing open.. you basically just pull on the key to swing the very heavy door open.

Was this helpful? 18

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2011
Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5
Recommended

Excellent safe, lots of storage for guns. Easily takes long, scoped rifles.

Lockable internal box has limited room for ammunition, fine if all your guns are in the same caliber, but if you want to keep lots of various ammo + shotgun shells think about investing in a separate safe.

Was this helpful? 16

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2012
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Everything, this is a fantastic product. Easily accommodates rifles with scopes.

Easy to secure to wall or & floor.

Was this helpful? 11

Steve Hargrave Verified Customer June 2012
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Good construction, very well made. It's a shame that a left handed opening is not available for the same money.

Was this helpful? 11

Stefan Verified Customer March 2023
Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Recommended

The product is good, what I cannot get my head around is the positioning of the top 2 pre drilled holes for the bolts. They were inside the ammo safe. With limited range of motion on the main door and ammo door, it made access very challenging.

Was this helpful? 10

Iain Sutherland Verified Customer February 2015
Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5
Recommended

great gun safe, well built and solid. when firearms inspector came around to check for licence application he told me of a case where the safe was broken in to. the criminals had using a crow bar and hammer sheared the pins that secure the door , the pins on that safe had been cast metal and explained this safe had steel pins and he was much happier with this safe. even though the other safe does meet the standards for guns this one is much more secure. i did not know this when i bought the safe i was delighted in my puchase . the safe shop have been helpful in any assistance i needed as well.

Was this helpful? 10

Anonymous Verified Customer August 2017
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

This is a really well made rifle safe. Deep enough to take scoped rifles. I am sure if would take 5 rifles, though care would be needed getting them in and out. Integral ammunition safe is useful, a little on the small side but perfectly adequate for my purposes. Pleny of room for 600 rounds of 22LR with space left for bolts. If you store a lot of ammunition or shoot larger calibres additional ammunition storage would probably be needed.

Excellent security when bolted to secure wall and / or floor.

No problems when inspected by the local firearms licensing officer - "pretty much perfect security", as he put it.

A word of warning - the door is very heavy and there is no way to open it other than pulling on the key, therefore it must be installed vertically, it would not be suitable for installation horizontally.

Would wholeheartedly recommend.

Was this helpful? 9

James Anderson Verified Customer February 2011
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

great size - very strong and robust. Great coating, and a solid build quality.

it could do with another 2 holes, just below the ammo box.

inserting a solid fixing within the ammo box is tricky depending on which method you use.

Was this helpful? 9

Dave Verified Customer September 2018
Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Recommended

This is a great safe, but as others have pointed out its a bit small to really think of it as a 5 rifle safe, but it was perfect for my needs. The lockable compartment at the top is also quie small and you have to take the key out to be able to swing the door open enough to get decent access.

It feels a very sturdy safe, and my firearms officer recognised the brand and was very happy with it.

The ordering process, wait times and delivery were all top notch.

Was this helpful? 8

Stuart Verified Customer February 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Fantastic looking and well made , easy to deal with and clear communication when delivery was expected , I have always bought brattonsound , this is my third safe , would not buy from anyone else again. Very pleased , I have recommended the safe website company to all my friends

Was this helpful? 7

Neill Verified Customer March 2011
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Multi point locking, one key operation, internal lock top.

Can be a squeeze if fitted in a corner, but not really a fault with this vault as it would apply to any one!

Was this helpful? 6

Dan Verified Customer January 2018
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

This safe is a great product!

In addition to its great build quality, it has great features including the lock top and vault style door. I much prefer this to the traditional double lock and it feel as if it’s more secure. After bolting to the wall there is no movement or flex in the safe.

Installation of the top bolts was a bit fiddly in the small space of the lock box but all in all I couldn’t be happier!

I initially bought this to store shotguns rather than rifles and my local firearms officer said that I can store up to 6 guns despite its 5 gun rating. This will depend on your constabulary.

All in all it’s tops notch!!

Was this helpful? 5

Martin Anderson Verified Customer January 2013
Rated 3.9 / 5Rated 3.9 / 5Rated 3.9 / 5Rated 3.9 / 5Rated 3.9 / 5
Recommended

Sturdy cabinet with enough space for 4 or 5 guns. Small ammo safe at the top is a little fiddly to use

Was this helpful? 5

Paul Verified Customer June 2011
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

One of the best safes available at a decent price. Slightly small access to ammo compartment.

Was this helpful? 5

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2011
Rated 2.6 / 5Rated 2.6 / 5Rated 2.6 / 5Rated 2.6 / 5Rated 2.6 / 5
Recommended

Service and build is great but given that the great bulk of the build cost is in the door/manipulating the metal, I don't think the proportionate increase in flat metal to bulk up the overall dimensions would add much to either labour or material cost but adds drmamtically to the appeal of the product. I have both 4/5 and 6/7 cabinets and would, in terms of convenience, rank them as 3 and 5 rifle capacities respectively.

A tight squeeze to get the quoted number of rifles in. Top box access very tight. Fitting kit only of use in perfect walls/floor.

Was this helpful? 5

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2023
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Was exactly as described and nicely padded inside with dividers built in, currently just keeping shotguns in it but it did have a good amount of clearance over the scope on a gallery rifle. Nice locking top although waiting for the police to confirm I can count it as separate storage for ammo as the lock is a bit simple but the big vault style door is cool and reassuring when you lock it. Unlike my last brattonsound (standard double locks) it’s really obvious when you’ve locked it!

Was this helpful? 4

One Happy Customer Verified Customer December 2017
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

When it comes to gun security, Brattonsound are one of the most respected names in the business, with police FEO approval assured when installed appropriately.

I had looked long and hard for a deep digital rifle safe to sit alongside our existing Brattonsound safe housing shotguns owned by my myself and partner, particularly as my partner does not have a sect.1 license and forever hiding keys from her would have been unsound and quite ridiculous.

In the end however, I purchased two small 'sold-secure' digital safes (with motorised bolts for greatest security), securing the keys to separate gun and ammo safes, and went with another trusted Brattonsound safe for the rifle. Not only does this mean that keys can be taken away (such as when on business or vacation), further frustrating a possible fruitless attack on the digital safes, but it also means wider choice of reduced-cost security (and deeper cabinets for large scopes) which Brattonsound serves so admirably well. I'm glad I made this choice, as the large modular rifle with Kahles 624i scope uses almost the full depth of this cabinet.

Was this helpful? 4

Jeremy Spackman@ttex Co Uk Verified Customer March 2017
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Perfect high security storage for my rifles. I now have two identical cabinets and purchased the second recently because I was so pleased with the first one. The build quality is second to none and on inspection by the firearms officer he was completely satisfied that it was more than fit for purpose. The depth of the cabinet allows for scope mounts and it is only the addition of night scope mounts with battery and infra red light attachments that necessitated extra storage space as I could not fit all my rifles in one safe. I have just decided to purchase yet another rifle and as such will need a third! The internal lockable minisafe is ideal for storing extra magazines and other small components that could me mislaid.

Was this helpful? 4

Chris Vaughan Verified Customer December 2015
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

A solid bit of kit that ensures your guns ar safely housed. Cartridge safe is a little small, but adequate. The price I paid made the product all the more attractive.

Was this helpful? 4

Simon Taylor Verified Customer September 2012
Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5
Recommended

Market leader in rifle safes, affordability. small paint chips on door

Was this helpful? 4

RF Verified Customer December 2011
Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5
Recommended

Excellent safe.

Was this helpful? 4

M Jones Verified Customer June 2011
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Very well made, a quality product. Very heavy to carry.

Was this helpful? 4

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

The safe is very well built and designed, the door opening is a little narrow due to the thickness of the door but there is plenty of room to reach in and remove or replace a rifle with ease. The locking mechanism is excellent and gives a very sound feeling when closing.

The FEO was very impressed with my choice of cabinet and there were no concerns at all

Fitting was actually very easy, I'd read some reviews saying the top fitting holes in the ammo section were difficult to reach but I found with a smaller ratchet or spanner they were actually quite easy to access

Was this helpful? 3

Paul Verified Customer May 2022
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

It was delivered on time, the delivery man was pleased that I could help him, as the safe was heavier than we expected, the only small issue I found is that the ammo door lock has lots of play in it, about 1/2 to 3/4 of an inch a bit sloppy, a small thing I suppose, otherwise I am very pleased.

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2015
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

A very sound product.

Was this helpful? 3

E Brown Verified Customer June 2012
Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Recommended

Well made, with a secure locking system, and it looks good too.

Was this helpful? 3

S J Verified Customer February 2011
Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5
Recommended

really well made and solid, good locking mechanism, handy ammo storage compartment at top also lockable with separate key.

sponge "rack" seams a little flimsey but does the job. slightly restricted access (but i'm nit picking with this)

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer December 2023
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Very solidly built. Good capacity. Almost everything is perfect other than the fact that the door to the ammo compartment at the top does not fit snugly, and so the door rattles when closed. It is fixable with some manual manipulation, but would be better if this was done better in the factory.

Was this helpful? 2

David Verified Customer July 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Brilliant service from safe ordered and received next day brilliant service prompt and good price exceptional service

Was this helpful? 2

Jonathan Verified Customer March 2023
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Recommended

Ease of use: it's not rocket science, it has an outer door that can be opened and locked with the use of the supplied keys; and access to the "lock top" within can be opened and locked with the use of the keys supplied for that. So, if you have the dexterity and common sense to use keys to open and lock doors it's very easy to use. 5 stars.

Ease of installation though is something else - it's a very heavy unit and quite cumbersome to move. Once in position you also need to drill out the mounting holes to the correct diameter, depth and locate them all correctly. If you don't have the appropriate tools for that or the aptitude for carrying out the work then I'd recommend that you take the installation option.

Build Quality: time will tell but my initial impression is that it's of good build quality being constructed to meet the appropriate standards. 5 stars.

Storage Capacity: It's advertised as having capacity for five rifles and there is a foam insert inside to accept five rifles. Whether or not you can fit five rifles within it will, I believe, depend on the type of rifles and what you might have mounted on them. Presently I have three air rifles stored in the safe, each of which has a scope mounted and a couple have bipods mounted too. That's pretty much the maximum for me in it's standard configuration. I could probably fit four in but to do that I'd have to replace the foam insert with the slots spaced appropriately for four. 4 stars.

Security: I felt that the wall anchors included in the package were a little on the small side for such a large heavy unit so I purchased some more substantial ones and used those instead. If memory serves the wall anchors were an optional extra and not included with the safe by default so arguably shouldn't count against the security of the safe itself, however I think it's fair to call this out so potential buyers can decide for themselves if they should take the optional wall anchors or purchase those separately. 4 stars.

Value for Money: Ultimately this is a matter for everyone to form their own opinion on based on their own requirements and budget. For me I'm comfortable that I've a secure place for storing my air rifles and pellets at a price that didn't break the bank. I think the overall value could have been improved marginally with a little more flexibility designed in: e.g. option to hang the doors on different sides; e.g. spare foam to use for customising the fit for your particular needs; etc. 4 stars.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer July 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

When packaging opened, it was noted one of the inner locking bolts was out of line so the safe could not be locked.

Telephone customer services, who then telephoned me an hour later and they informed me what to do to rectify the problem, and if it didn't they would replace the safe. The problem was rectified with this fix easily and I cannot fault customer services for their help.

I would highly recommend the safe.

Was this helpful? 2

Nick Verified Customer April 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Great product,

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Great safe ,Great service.

Was this helpful? 2

Jakki Verified Customer January 2011
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

plenty space for rifle with magazine.

very secure and sturdy.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer August 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent product, I needed this to be compliant for fire arms certificate application. FEO was happy, said it’s the best brand to go for. Installation was straightforward, I found resin anchor bolts to be the best approach. Quality construction. Heavy! Mechanism is sturdy, no issues with supplied keys. Excellent service from safe.co.uk too.

Was this helpful? 1

K Verified Customer February 2022
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Brattonsound Sentinel Plus 5 Rifle Safe (lock top) This is definitely a great safe being well made and a solid build. I need it for scoped rifles and it’s deep enough, meaning I can leave the scope attached. Would be nice if it had some extra space as it’s a bit tight for 5. Also the lockbox isn’t so easy to access but is large enough to hold ammo.

There are some similar & cheaper safes out there, but as with everything, you get what you pay for.

Was this helpful? 1

Mark Verified Customer January 2021
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Recommended

I bought this to house my scoped air rifle collection. Though this cabinet is designed for 5 guns this doesn't account for for the wider stature of my PCP rifles. I have had to introduce an additional foam separator lower down to accommodate the partitions for bullpup length. I took this into consideration when ordering and I must admit this has worked out perfectly for my requirements. With scopes attached I have to ensure my guns are more upright(flat on butt plate) to prevent door interference when closing. Once you have catered for these parameters,with careful removal and placement you have a totally secure and usable cabinet. The final touch is to use a large magnet over the key hole which I slide up to access,then use as a handle. Good secure cabinet thx

Was this helpful? 1

This product has 37 reviews.