JANUARY SALE   |   5% OFF   |     |   Use Code - JAN22

Avocet ABS 3 Star Euro Cylinder - Keyed Alike Pack Reviews

Ref: AVOCETKA
Thumb image of 16186.png
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10

9.8 / 10 based on 32 reviews.

£50.68 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10
Build Quality Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10
Ease of Fitting Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10
Security Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10
18 October 2020 Reviewed Size: 40 - 50mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Peace of mind that very few people are capable of getting through this lock is well worth the cost of upgrading, plus they can be keyed alike, and the thumbturn is very convenient. All locks should be made this robust really, standard locks are far too easy to snap or pick, and don't offer any serious security like the ABS Avocet does. It feels well made, fells solid and is a doddle to fit by even the most basic DIY enthusiast. I sleep well knowing my doors and home are safe, secure and protected by this good quality and very robustly made lock.

9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

15 July 2020 Reviewed Size: 40 - 40mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Theses are good locks, but the measurements are a bit hit and miss. While they are flush inside, they aren’t outside and there’s no guidance other than measure to the outside of the handle plates, which I did. So either be prepared to send them back to get the correct size, or add 5mm either side

Fitting the locks is very simple and straightforward with only basic tools. They look good in the door and having KeyAlike is a great feature to have. Buying spare keys at the point of sale is cheap and worthwhile, especially if you have teenagers in the house! One last thing, the mechanism needed lubrication and then the keys had a nice feel when locking and unlocking.

9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

6 May 2021 Reviewed Size: 40 - 35mm
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

These cylinders are very secure, the key is robust (could ever imagine it snapping), and the thumbturn action silky smooth.

Easy to measure, ordering from Safe was great, and simple to install.

They're expensive but worth it.

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

21 January 2021 Reviewed Size: 55 - 35mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

This (plus a matching key both sides cylinder) were used to replace one old cylinder (converting it to thumb turn on the inside - so much more convenient) and a second (outer door) cylinder that was only a year or so old but had started sticking, and could not be locked from outside. So far the new cylinders are good - quality is noticeably superior to the old ones, and the key matching service was very handy. Not cheap - but in this case I think the quality and additional security more than justifies the price. Ordering process was straightforward and they arrived as quoted.

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

14 January 2021 Reviewed Size: 50 - 50mm
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

An excellent lock security wise, well made and simple to fit, easy to use and a nice highly visible key that is easy to identify on a bunch of keys, the keys are coded so highly recommend this lock for insurance purposes and peace of mind.

5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 July 2021 Reviewed Size: 55 - 45mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Good fit, looks solid. I had to use my own existing shorter screws, otherwise it wouldn't lock, but I think that was because of my mortice locks.

It was easy to order a keyed alike set of 2 locks with different lengths, which I couldn't do on Avocet's website.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

18 March 2021 Reviewed Size: 50 - 45mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

easy to fit & use, great quality & very secure.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

2 September 2021 Reviewed Size: 35 - 35mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I purchased this along with four 50-50 locks as a keyed alike pack The locks are excellent quality and are about as secure as I can imagine is needed. As they are euro locks, fitting is a piece of cake (two screws are provide with each lock in case you can't use the original) and the mechanism is slick. The ordering process for the keyed alike is simple, and they arrived much sooner than I was expecting (easily within a week if I recall correctly). Better quality than the locks I replaced, and because they were keyed alike, only one key to carry instead of trying to figure out which key is the right one for the lock, and the thumbturn, in my opinion, is much better if you need to exit in an emergency.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

28 July 2021 Reviewed Size: 40 - 40mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Did a lot of research on this lock and it's competitors felt this was the best and haven't been disappointed really pleased worth the investment.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

24 June 2021 Reviewed Size: 40 - 50mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very happy with this. Good delivery time, literally just a few minutes to swap with the old lock barrel, and the fit is perfect. Looks good, easy to operate, and we feel so much more secure now. A great result.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

20 May 2021 Reviewed Size: 30 - 30mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Recently moved house and wanted to replace all the locks. After quite a lot of research we settled on these as Safe.co.uk made it super simple to order keyed alike locks in exactly the combinations we wanted.

The locks themselves are very solid and feel high quality. The operation is smooth and they are very easy to use. The thumb turn is very use and wish we'd got it on a couple of other doors.

As for fitting its very simple. Some locks came with two different length screws which is very handy and saved reusing the old grotty and mangled screws from the existing locks. Only negative is it feels the locks come up slightly short, especially the thumb turn one. Despite measuring and measuring again a couple of the locks are only just flush or ever so slightly inset. If your measurements are only just 30/30 for example, it might be worth going 35/35 and coping with the slight protrusion.

Overall very happy with these locks.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

9 July 2020 Reviewed Size: 55 - 35mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

These locks are the highest quality and the fit and finish in polished brass is superb. They look and feel very secure and even the keys look expensive. Be careful though as the keys are magnetic so do not carry them near your credit or debit cards with a swipe strip of they could render them useless. The locks were very simple to fit with just one screw which was also supplied. Overall very satisfied with my locks. Reassuringly expensive locks that will last a long time and provide extra security for my home. Might even get me a discount on my contents insurance

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

2 July 2020 Reviewed Size: 50 - 50mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I had a locksmith install it and it works really well. Also good value.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

28 May 2020 Reviewed Size: 40 - 50mm
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Very happy with these two keyed alike cylinders I bought for my patio doors; they replaced the original budget ones after a few attempted burglaries on my estate, where some of the neighbours' locks and door handles were snapped off (alarmingly easily). I'm encouraged by how weighty they are and the smooth finish made fitting them effortless. I would say the best feature about them (which is something I learned after buying a different brand for my front door) is that the ends of the keys are rounded, which makes inserting them very easy, unlike my front door key which has a flat end and often catches. I intend to buy these barrels again to replace all of the less secure locks for the external doors to my parents' house.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

13 March 2020 Reviewed Size: 35 - 30mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I did a lot of research for a good secure cylinder this one ticked all the right boxes.

Anti bump and anti pick also good robust build quality. Easy to choose size and type from Safe.co.uk website and quick delivery. I would recommend these cylinders for your home or business.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

13 January 2022 Reviewed Size: 55 - 45mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

I bought two Avocet ABS 3 Star Euro Thumbturn Cylinders which were keyed-alike - both cylinders work with the same key.

The keys don't have any sharp edges which helps to protect my pockets.

The cylinders are good quality, were easy to fit and easy to use.

The staff were really helpful and made it easy to get exactly what I needed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

6 January 2022 Reviewed Size: 40 - 45mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The sizing guide on the website was clearly laid out and easy to use. I bought a matched pair of locks for a property and they fitted in no problem thanks to the guide. Order was shipped and delivered much sooner than indicated on the website which was a bonus.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

23 December 2021 Reviewed Size: 50 - 45mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

I decided to replace my door cylinders as I wasn’t happy with the quality and security of my old ones. I chose these cylinders for their features and quality and I’ve not been disappointed.

These are beautifully made top quality high security cylinders (almost as shame to hide them in the door) and I chose the added feature of getting a pair with the same key for the front and back of my house. I fitted them both in a couple of minutes and I felt more secure immediately. The added convenience of only needing one key for both doors is a bonus. Highly recommended!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

11 November 2021 Reviewed Size: 35 - 35mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

High quality product delivering excellent levels of security. Relatively expensive but a fraction of the cost of a break in! Keyed-alike means we’re not fumbling with multiple keys every time we get home. Thanks!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

28 October 2021 Reviewed Size: 35 - 55mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

I purchased a set of four suited locks of various sizes to increase the security of our house. The keys look distinctive, are smooth and very easy to use. Fitting was easy, even for a novice like me. The locks appear of very good quality but I cannot independently rate how much they have improved the security over the locks previously fitted. It was easy to measure and order the correct sizes. I would recommend suited locks if you have several outside doors as it saves have a big bunch of keys and the search to find the right one! I have kept the old locks so that I can change one back if I need to give access to a workman without the worry of reducing the security all the locks!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

21 October 2021 Reviewed Size: 45 - 35mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

3 star security and its stamped on the outside edge of the lock which is visible when it’s in situ.

These locks give top class service year in year out.They come with a new fitting bolt and and are very easy to fit. Loads of online guides to doing this if needed. The interior thumb turn is very convenient and safer in the unlikely but possible event of a fire. I’ve only given four stars for security as keyed both sides locks probably take the edge for this. However, it’s difficult to tell it’s a thumb turn from the exterior of a frosted glass door. I would advise that additional keys are ordered with the lock as well known high street shops charge over double for them if you need them later. Safe were the best on price for both the locks and additional keys.I ordered keyed alike locks and they were delivered within two days.first class service all round,Andrew Perry

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

21 October 2021 Reviewed Size: 40 - 55mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Great product and easy to fit. Good design.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

9 September 2021 Reviewed Size: 50 - 45mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent quality locks, clearly made to a high standard. Very easy to install and very smooth mechanism. Highly recommended.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

26 August 2021 Reviewed Size: 35 - 45mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I bought this lock with two others, all keyed alike. The locks were delivered promptly and were of the correct size and were all keyed alike correctly, including the additional spare keys I requested. It was easy to fit the lock, it even came with a new retaining screw. As it is anti-snap I feel a lot more secure in my house, as lock snapping has become a lot more of a common MO for burglars and is frighteningly easy to do. It also looks a lot better than my previous lock and feels more secure. Thanks very much!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

13 August 2021 Reviewed Size: 40 - 50mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very good would recommend them .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

10 June 2021 Reviewed Size: 30 - 30mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great set of locks got two locks keyed alike with thumb turns and fitted perfectly I would always recommend getting thumb turns for fire safety and the panic you have looking for door keys when you get a takeaway or delivery, and key alike just makes everything simple saves you snapping key by putting in wrong door which I did, the abs keys are great super thick no worries about them snapping. Locks are super secure will beat any brute force attacks and will beat anyone that's not a super prepared lock picker as no lock is completely pick proof but this comes very close to it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

4 March 2021 Reviewed Size: 35 - 35mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Very fast delivery - very easy to fit - about 5 mins each door. Best of all just one key fits all entry points

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

24 October 2020 Reviewed Size: 45 - 50mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Excellent product with a smooth operation, looks good and was very easy to fit

the biggest advantage was being able to order alike cylinders very easily.

The delivery was prompt and efficient.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

15 October 2020 Reviewed Size: 60 - 40mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Product build quality excellent, ease of fitting likewise and it’s a pleasure to use, smooth in operation and of a good finish.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 October 2020 Reviewed Size: 35 - 45mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Great product especially with the amount of lock snapping occuring these days. Product was easy to measure up for, easy to order, delivery was quick and easy to install. Overall really impressed, especially as I now only have to carry one key to access all my doors. Thoroughly recommend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

2 July 2020 Reviewed Size: 35 - 55mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent quality lock, simple to fit and the keys are brilliant. I purchased the brass version and they look visually superior to the old cheap ones they have replaced. I purchased three keyed alike locks and spare keys for all the family. They seem to be extremely secure and well made. They were expensive but reassuringly so. It might also be worth contacting your house and contents insurance provider and inform them that you have 3 star rated locks now fitted, you may be eligible for a discount on your premium as your property is now far more secure and resistant to theft.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

18 June 2020 Reviewed Size: 35 - 35mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

The lock arrived quickly and was well packaged and despite being during the lock down there was no delay to it’s arrival. It took just five minutes to fit the lock and was very straight forward.

The look and finish of the lock is high quality and easy to use.

The lock was part of a set as I changed all locks at the same time, and all appear to be of the same high quality. I especially liked the option to have all the locks made to the same key number. This has enabled me to massively reduce the number of keys I carry, so overall very happy with the end result.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes