Coronavirus Update No disruption to business more info

Avocet ABS 3 Star Euro Cylinder - Keyed Alike Pack Reviews

Ref: AVOCETKA
Thumb image of 16186.png
Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10

9.7 / 10 based on 13 reviews.

£50.68 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10
Build Quality Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10
Ease of Fitting Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10
Security Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10
21 January 2021 Reviewed Size: 55 - 35mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

This (plus a matching key both sides cylinder) were used to replace one old cylinder (converting it to thumb turn on the inside - so much more convenient) and a second (outer door) cylinder that was only a year or so old but had started sticking, and could not be locked from outside. So far the new cylinders are good - quality is noticeably superior to the old ones, and the key matching service was very handy. Not cheap - but in this case I think the quality and additional security more than justifies the price. Ordering process was straightforward and they arrived as quoted.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

14 January 2021 Reviewed Size: 50 - 50mm
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

An excellent lock security wise, well made and simple to fit, easy to use and a nice highly visible key that is easy to identify on a bunch of keys, the keys are coded so highly recommend this lock for insurance purposes and peace of mind.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 October 2020 Reviewed Size: 45 - 50mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Excellent product with a smooth operation, looks good and was very easy to fit

the biggest advantage was being able to order alike cylinders very easily.

The delivery was prompt and efficient.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

18 October 2020 Reviewed Size: 40 - 50mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Peace of mind that very few people are capable of getting through this lock is well worth the cost of upgrading, plus they can be keyed alike, and the thumbturn is very convenient. All locks should be made this robust really, standard locks are far too easy to snap or pick, and don't offer any serious security like the ABS Avocet does. It feels well made, fells solid and is a doddle to fit by even the most basic DIY enthusiast. I sleep well knowing my doors and home are safe, secure and protected by this good quality and very robustly made lock.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

15 October 2020 Reviewed Size: 60 - 40mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Product build quality excellent, ease of fitting likewise and it’s a pleasure to use, smooth in operation and of a good finish.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

1 October 2020 Reviewed Size: 35 - 45mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Great product especially with the amount of lock snapping occuring these days. Product was easy to measure up for, easy to order, delivery was quick and easy to install. Overall really impressed, especially as I now only have to carry one key to access all my doors. Thoroughly recommend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

15 July 2020 Reviewed Size: 40 - 40mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Theses are good locks, but the measurements are a bit hit and miss. While they are flush inside, they aren’t outside and there’s no guidance other than measure to the outside of the handle plates, which I did. So either be prepared to send them back to get the correct size, or add 5mm either side

Fitting the locks is very simple and straightforward with only basic tools. They look good in the door and having KeyAlike is a great feature to have. Buying spare keys at the point of sale is cheap and worthwhile, especially if you have teenagers in the house! One last thing, the mechanism needed lubrication and then the keys had a nice feel when locking and unlocking.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

9 July 2020 Reviewed Size: 55 - 35mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

These locks are the highest quality and the fit and finish in polished brass is superb. They look and feel very secure and even the keys look expensive. Be careful though as the keys are magnetic so do not carry them near your credit or debit cards with a swipe strip of they could render them useless. The locks were very simple to fit with just one screw which was also supplied. Overall very satisfied with my locks. Reassuringly expensive locks that will last a long time and provide extra security for my home. Might even get me a discount on my contents insurance

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

2 July 2020 Reviewed Size: 35 - 55mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent quality lock, simple to fit and the keys are brilliant. I purchased the brass version and they look visually superior to the old cheap ones they have replaced. I purchased three keyed alike locks and spare keys for all the family. They seem to be extremely secure and well made. They were expensive but reassuringly so. It might also be worth contacting your house and contents insurance provider and inform them that you have 3 star rated locks now fitted, you may be eligible for a discount on your premium as your property is now far more secure and resistant to theft.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

2 July 2020 Reviewed Size: 50 - 50mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I had a locksmith install it and it works really well. Also good value.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

18 June 2020 Reviewed Size: 35 - 35mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

The lock arrived quickly and was well packaged and despite being during the lock down there was no delay to it’s arrival. It took just five minutes to fit the lock and was very straight forward.

The look and finish of the lock is high quality and easy to use.

The lock was part of a set as I changed all locks at the same time, and all appear to be of the same high quality. I especially liked the option to have all the locks made to the same key number. This has enabled me to massively reduce the number of keys I carry, so overall very happy with the end result.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

28 May 2020 Reviewed Size: 40 - 50mm
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Very happy with these two keyed alike cylinders I bought for my patio doors; they replaced the original budget ones after a few attempted burglaries on my estate, where some of the neighbours' locks and door handles were snapped off (alarmingly easily). I'm encouraged by how weighty they are and the smooth finish made fitting them effortless. I would say the best feature about them (which is something I learned after buying a different brand for my front door) is that the ends of the keys are rounded, which makes inserting them very easy, unlike my front door key which has a flat end and often catches. I intend to buy these barrels again to replace all of the less secure locks for the external doors to my parents' house.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

13 March 2020 Reviewed Size: 35 - 30mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I did a lot of research for a good secure cylinder this one ticked all the right boxes.

Anti bump and anti pick also good robust build quality. Easy to choose size and type from Safe.co.uk website and quick delivery. I would recommend these cylinders for your home or business.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No