Chubbsafes HomeStar 17E Reviews

Ref: CH-HS17E
Thumb image of 13106.png
Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5

9.7 / 10 based on 33 reviews.

£174.95 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5
Build Quality Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5
Storage Capacity Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Security Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5
Value for Money Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5Rated 4.9 / 5
Anonymous Verified Customer July 2018
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

For its price and security rating this is a well made, secure and attractive safe. I like the smoothly powered bolts and the sleek front panel enabled me to install it in a confined space and still open the door wide. I knocked a point off for three minor irritations. The keypad is a glossy touch panel and shows finger prints. The digits of the chosen code show up clearly and the touch panel requires regular and thorough polishing. The cover over the emergency battery contacts is cheap plastic and falls of easily. Just inside the door hinge is a micro switch which triggers the bolts as you close the door. It’s easy to knock this switch when withdrawing an item from the safe. The bolts will then lock whilst the door is still open. Theses are all minor points and I would definitely choose this model again

Was this helpful? 24

Mrs Heather Mason Verified Customer July 2018
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I purchased the CHUBB HOMESTAR 17E following a theft in my home.

My husband passed away earlier this year and the CHUBBSAFE HOMESTAR gave me that feeling of added security.

I viewed several Honesafes on the internet and eventually decided on the CHUBBSAFE HOMESTAR FOR A NUMBER OF REASONS. The name Chubb is extremely well known for it’s security.

The safe I eventually purchased was perfect for my requirements, being internally lined, having an internal illumination when the door opened and, to my mind, being able to enter an eight digit password gave it added security, in addition to being very compact but with plenty of space for my requirements.

I am delighted that I purchased a CHUBBSAFE over so many others on the market and I have no hesitation in giving it a five star rating. It was value for money.

Was this helpful? 18

Joseph McQuade Verified Customer September 2018
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

This purchase was to store jewellery and passports so we did not need a big safe. We looked at a lot of safes but this one met all of our criteria. It arrived on the date promised and was well packaged. It fit perfectly into the space alloted and was very easy to install. It feels very sturdy and the key pad is very easy to use. It is good to have a light in the safe compartment although this does go out before we have finished getting items out sometimes. That's the only improvement I would make. Very happy with purchase.

Was this helpful? 17

Delighted Customer Verified Customer September 2018
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

A really great safe for small valuables. I was looking for a safe for small valuables like jewellery and watches etc... and didn't like the regular turn to unlock type ones as they're not that 'safe' to unauthorised entry so wanted an automatic opening type. This one seemed great value for money and the reviews were good. There is a good amount of space inside for a small safe, roomy enough for everything I need it for anyway. I would highly recommend this safe for homeowners wanting to secure their valuables. Quality is really good and love the digital front panel. The automatic opening and bolt mechanism is nice and positive. I'm sure all but the most determined professional thief would be put off trying to force entry but then they will be 'frying bigger fish' so to speak.

Was this helpful? 15

RE Verified Customer September 2018
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

We purchased the Chubbsafes Homestar 17E primarily because of it’s insurance rating and compact size which would also accommodate various personal items as well as an IPad. Something was needed that was not unduly heavy so it could be placed on a shelf as this was the only convenient outside wall to which it could be bolted and remain at approximately eye level which was important for us.. Delivery was prompt within a few days, installation and operating instructions were easy to follow. An annoyance was that all the predrilled holes, through the back and the base had the durable cover sprayed into them so the expansion bolts as supplied would not feed through to secure the unit. A quick ‘clean out’ with a rotary file fitted to a power drill overcame the difficulty. We are very pleased with the safe which now sits very neatly in our study, on a bookshelf so is visible, easy to get to and unobtrusive.

Was this helpful? 12

Paul Thompson Verified Customer July 2018
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I Bought this safe because the Yale one i ordered was out of stock and Safe.UK offered me this as an alternative at the same price. .

In many respects it is better than the Yale one, it is certainly more economical with the batteries.

The only slight reservation i have is if the electronic lock was to fail there is no mechanical over ride. there is I Could just imagine going to retrieve My passport for a trip one day, only to find that it would not open so for that reason i keep my passport in my Yale one.

Other than that it is a very good Safe and i am pleased with it.

Was this helpful? 10

Anonymous Verified Customer July 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Great safe, reasonably easy to fit yourself and easy to use.

Was this helpful? 9

Richard Verified Customer November 2018
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

The choice of safe was relatively easy to decide, neat and discrete, compact and strong at an affordable price. The fact that delivery was the next day enabled my wife and I to quickly secure our valuables with the minimum of worries. Having installed the safe in our chosen hidden location, locking the safe in accordance with the instructions was easy. We had both chosen the security number with memorable items known only to ourselves, however we only made one mistake in keying this in for the full alarm to be activated. Never again! In summary, an excellent safe and we are very satisfied. Thank you.

Was this helpful? 9

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2023
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Recommended

Safe looks sleek and is nice and petite. The instructions for setting your own code were not the easiest to follow. The alarm is not loud at all so unlikely to deter anyone. I had my safe fitted by safe and they were great.

Was this helpful? 7

Dawn Hocking Verified Customer March 2023
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Very good for the money

Was this helpful? 7

Simon Ball Verified Customer June 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Great safe. Instructions are a but vague so could do with a bit of a revamp as in this case, less isn’t more.

Other than that, its great value for money and works brilliantly. Feels solid, internal light is useful and Im really pleased with it. Securing it to the wall was hassle free with all hardware required being included.

Was this helpful? 7

M Austin Verified Customer January 2021
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I bought this model because a needed a compact safe that could be placed in a wardrobe top box and was easy to use, secure, but big enough to hold some high value items and important documents. The safe fitted the bill exactly. It is quite heavy to lift into place, but is easy to secure to a wall with the included bolts. The touch panel control lights up and works faultlessly. There are external battery points should the internal batteries fail. Overall, it is an excellent safe that leaves me reassured that my valuables are very secure. It is highly recommended.

Was this helpful? 7

Grannie Verified Customer December 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

This is an excellent value for money home safe. It’s easy to use and as a disabled pensioner I should know! It’s very sturdy and conforms to insurance requirements.In times of austerity it is also really good value for money and I opted to pay for the installation which was carried out by a very professional installer who left no mess!

Was this helpful? 6

Richard Verified Customer April 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Perfect for my needs. Easy fitting instructions and works well. Certainly great build.

Was this helpful? 6

R Verified Customer October 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent product. Just what we needed.

Was this helpful? 4

Anonymous Verified Customer August 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

The instructions were not great but once you have worked them out, the safe is easy to use. It is a good value safe and was easy to install. The capacity is satisfactory for basic valuables that you would keep in a safe and it has been recommended by our insurance company.

Was this helpful? 3

Lawrence Roberts Verified Customer January 2020
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Well built, looks good. I found the expansion bolts difficult to fit but I think that's me rather than the product

Was this helpful? 3

Home Owner Verified Customer August 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I purchased this safe because I wanted something secure but not too big. It had good reviews ,looked good so I ordered it.the ordering process was easy and it was delivered on time.

I decided to wall mount on a book shelf.the fitting instructions were clear and easy to follow.it came with 4 wall bolts and once fitted its solid. The operating instructions were again easy. Basically choose a PIN number ,input and close the door. When you then open the door a handy led light comes on, handy if it’s fitted in a concealed space. Overall, it looks and feels like a solid safe. I was looking at cheaper safes but glad I decided to pay a little extra.

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer July 2019
Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5Rated 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Product is fundamentally good. If I am being picky, the instructions are poor and really small print. But that does take away from the fact that it is a good product.

Was this helpful? 3

Brian Verified Customer April 2019
Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5Rated 4.4 / 5
Recommended

Good day, with regards to the safe when I purchased I think it's good value for money and it suits my requirements. Having lost my wife at the beginning of January my needs were to make things more secure so I looked for a reasonable priced safe that would do and this was the one. I would have no problem recommending this one to friends.

The guy that came to fit it recommended the best possible place for me to put it out of prying eyes. He did a very Swift installments and was very clean to boot. I feel so much more secure with my valuables i.e. my wife's wedding ring and engagement ring which I cherish when I'm out of the house. Once again I can't thank you enough.

Kind regards.

Brian Mitchell

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I live in a small old house with a fairly modern interior. I wanted something that looked slick enough to be part of the furniture, functional and with a fabric interior without being too intrusive. The keypad is easy to use in all sorts of light and personalising the set-up was very straightforward. Securing to the floor took less than 20 minutes with 4 bolts. The interior light stays on long enough to do your business, and then it simply locks automatically on closure. This is the real deal and I am delighted with this safe and I can relax with the extra security I now have.

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent easy to install, spacious enough for the average household. Very satisfied.

Was this helpful? 3

JLC Verified Customer March 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Really nice safe, perfect for my bedroom cupboard and once I checked it on youtube very easy to open and shut. I like it. Exactly what I needed. Makes appropriate sounds for opening and closing!

Delivered fast, got a mate to install who didn't mention any problems.

I recommend it to anyone wanting a suitable jewellery safe.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer July 2022
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Excellent safe,ease of use very secure.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer July 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I was unhappy with my old cheap safe, after hearing stories of how easy it was to open with a sharp bang in the right place. Chubb has a glorious history in British safe folklore, and they had one exactly the same size as my original, so it was a win win for me. Safe.co.uk was so incredibly competitive, they were the go to to supply, with rapid delivery. Beautiful safe, well constructed with mega digit combination, interior light and even a spring open door, and alarm if, like me, you miss-hit the numbers!. Now I feel totally secure, especially whenever I see that Big, Chrome, Chubb badge!.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2021
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

does exactly as advertised. good value

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2019
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

EASY TO FIT

EASY TO USE MADE THE HOUSE MORE SECURE AFTER

SUFFERING FROM BURGLARS

Was this helpful? 2

Glynn Verified Customer February 2019
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

After comparing specifications and calculating space required the Homestar 17E was a clear winner. Simple to install with a masonry drill although for added security I installed bolts in floor and back wall. Setting up the security access code was a little complicated but a call to the helpline I was guided through the process by a knowledgable technician who understood my question and had as much time as required to ensure all was working properly. Once installed the clear digital display for input of the security code is easy to use and the automatic locking by just closing the door is perfect.

A perfect purchase for my domestic requirements and is highly recommended.

Was this helpful? 2

Paul Verified Customer January 2019
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

I puchased this particular model as my insurer said I needed an insurance approved safe and after searching via google for a safe that would meet my needs I found the Homestar 17E on safe.co.uk, the price was good and free delivery was a bonus.Great product compact and easy to use and was delivered very quickly. I found it easy to install with the supplied bolts and the instructions for use were easy to understand the interior light is also a handy feature on this model. It does not have a lot of storage space but easily fits the jewellery and documents I need to keep safe so meets my needs well.

Was this helpful? 2

Alison Adams Verified Customer November 2023
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5
Recommended

After a lot of research we decided that this safe was the right size for our needs. It holds valuables, passports, wills etc. the problem was finding the place to site it as it has to be bolted into brick or concrete. In a modern house a lot of the walls are breeze block. Once that was decided the man who installed it was very nice and efficient. We are delighted we our choice.

Was this helpful? 1

Colin Gray Verified Customer October 2023
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

It's a Chubb and that is more than good enough for me.

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2022
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Brilliant - does exactly what we wanted and once set up, is a doddle to use.

Installation - easy.

Service from safe.co.uk - impecable

Initial setup - take yout time; read instructions CAREFULLY (They could be a lot clearer, but got here albeit not first time!)

Was this helpful? 1

Rabbatts Verified Customer January 2024
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I rate this safe for many reasons.

1. Fits in a cupboard

2. Vey easy to set up with own codes

3. Felt covered interior (protects items)

4. Interior light, very handy as installed in cupboard.

5. Not as heavy as similar safes

6. Documents invoice, for insurance backing

Overall, fitting service and support from customer service has been excellent.

Was this helpful?