GE Locking Stor-A-Key Reviews

Ref: GE-001844
Thumb image of 659.png
Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10

8.7 / 10 based on 37 reviews.

£15.00 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10
Security Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10
Value for Money Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10
10 February 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

It was exactly what we wanted, a sturdy secure key box for (in our case) outside use.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 March 2011
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Good quality build. Too small for car keys

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 April 2018
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

This is the second Locking Stor-a-key box I have bought from safe.co.uk because I havent been able to find another key box which is as good and fulfills my needs as well, from any other company. The box is lightweight with a strong plastic construction and a magnetic base/rear. The lid pulls open easily when the correct code is entered and shuts closed with a satisfying click. None of my AirBnB guests have had a problem getting into my apartment using the device, which due to its magnetic base is hidden in a convenient but secret location. It is big enough for a single key which is good enough for me but be aware that this is not big enough for a key bunch or set. In summary I am very happy with this product it ticks all the boxes for me and safe.co.uk are extremely professional in all communications and deliver very promptly!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 November 2016
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Having just bought a brand new static mobile home, right on the seafront in North Somerset, we were looking for a non metallic, durable key safe to hide a spare key. Being close the sea, with strong south-westerly winds bringing damp sea air we need a product that would resist the conditions and not become corroded and therefore useless. This product fits the job perfectly. It was easy to find online, easy to order, easy to fit, and has been under our static for the past 3 months. It does exactly what it says it does! I wouldn't hesitate to buy another one or use in different situations lie

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 August 2012
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Did exactly what we wanted

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 August 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very strong magnet, easy to use, portable. Would recommend

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 February 2012
Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10 6.8 / 10

Ideal for storing a spare key

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

1 June 2011
Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10 5.8 / 10

Good quality, excellent idea. Too small for my car key to fit in. Have to reread the instructions every time I want to re-use the product.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 August 2018
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Living alone this little key safe means that I can secrete the key in my car so as never to get "locked out".

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 August 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Goes what it says, Unabrusive when sited.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

14 May 2018
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

This is a useful, easy to use store key. It easily holds two flat keys, but not with “remote” attachment ie the press button bit that automatically opens and locks vehicles. It is simple to set and change the security numbers. The unit is made of plastic so it is light and can be attached to vehicle with magnet or tape, but we have not yet done that, so don’t know as yet how secure that is especially long term. The plastic may degrade over time but necessarily, it appears well built and easy to hide under vehicle. This has given us peace of mind to hold spare keys to our vehicle.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 September 2017
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

was delivered as described, perfect as final backup

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 August 2017
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

A neat, magnetic, black mini key vault. A will as the magnet a self adhesive option is included and offers a wider range of storing/hiding options. The mechanism is simple, ready to set and would appear reasonably secure. The security provided is very dependent on careful positioning, balancing ease of access with suitable substrate of the magnet and keeping it out of sight.

My overall impression had been very positive, one slight gripe is that the foam padded key chamber is a bit short and may be an issue if you are trying to store a longer key, pay attention to measurements!

Good luck.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 April 2017
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

Easy to use website and ordering process, the product arrived quickly and we'll packaged.

The store area is plenty for 4 or 5 keys on a ring. The instructions were clear and it was quick to get operational and good instructions for fixing to the wall. It's very well built and feels very solid in construction and looks like it will last, though I've positioned it in a sheltered spot from the weather and hidden by a bush so I'm hoping it will be secure for a long time.

My only criticism would be the sliding shutter that closes the number dialing system - it's a little flimsy compared to the rest of the build and I'm not sure it would stand direct weather exposure for a long time.

Otherwise it's an excellent product and I would recommend it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

14 November 2016
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Great little product, very discrete

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 November 2016
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

This is just a perfect little secure key storage box. It can be hidden discreetly. We will buy a couple more!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 June 2016
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

ideal for storing key outside property. easy to use but a fourth digit for the passcode would make it even more secure. small enough to be well hidden. overall great value for money. would recommend this product to other potential users.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

15 October 2015
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

I had seen this product in the past at a friend's house and thought it was really convenient. This definitely beats putting the key under a rock for friends or family. You can stay use the rock but have an extra layer of protection against someone entering your house unwanted.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 October 2015
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

I bought this to store a key outside my van in case of loss but also to save me having to take a key into the water surfing etc. I had a copy of my Hyundai i800 done which is considerably smaller than the real key but I still needed to sand down the black plastic bit of the key to get it to fit. Apart from this issue it is perfect. The magnet is strong enough to attach firmly to any metal part of the chassis. Very happy with the product overall

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 July 2015
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Good value for money. First one received was faulty and would not reset, a replacement sent without any hesitation.

This lock is for use at my caravan to keep a spare key hidden and inaccessible. The number combination can be changed easily and as often as required and the magnetic back plate holds firmly to any metal surface.

It is definitely fit for purpose.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

10 July 2015
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Delivered on time, good price and exactly as described.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 June 2015
Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10 6.8 / 10

This key keep is very useful, especially when you have builders/trades/helpers arriving at your property when you are out. It is neat, has space for a couple of keys and has a strong magnet to tuck it out of the way. Easy to use and easy to set the 3 digit code. The only downside is that it is plastic and a few blows with a hammer would have it cracked open. Overall for the price I am very happy with it, it has proved very useful and has helped me get work done at my house without me being there. Overall I'm very satisfied with this solution.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

22 May 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

It was excellent, exactly what I needed. Easy to use.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 December 2014
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Does exactly what we need it to do.

The only criticism on build quality is that the base plate goes rusty and needs to be painted.

On security, there is a trade off between making it small so it won't get noticed and putting more tumblers on the lock. One more tumbler might delay and deter the thief who wants to open it straight away, without making the product much bigger. But it is important to keep it unobtrusive. Once a villain takes it away, it doesn't matter how strong or secure it is; they will crack it somehow.

The instructions with it made sense and enabled me to set my code quite easily.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

20 November 2014
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Just what we needed to keep our key safe outside. The key safe is easy to use and gives you peace of mind when going out if you forget your key. It was very good value for money.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

6 November 2014
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Does exactly what I want it to do. Excellent. Definitely recommend it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 September 2014
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Easy to use and ideally fit for purpose.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

26 June 2014
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Easy to use and install

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 April 2013
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 7 / 10

The first Stor-A-Key was faulty but was replaced with no fuss and the new one works perfectly.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

18 October 2012
Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10 6.6 / 10

easy to use and hide. maybe a 4 digit number would be an advantage

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

14 June 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Holds keys, securely and clings on discreetly

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

19 April 2012
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

ease of use

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 April 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent product

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 April 2011
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Very secure. Quite difficult to remove the key.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

23 March 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Does exactly what it says in the descrption, very very well.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 March 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Really strong magnet and easy to hide.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

9 March 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

I have mobility problems and live in a situation where if I forget my key and am locked out of my room it is a real struggle to get to the place where I can get a spare key. My Stor-a-Key has solved all that and given me peace of mind as well as huge practical help. I am so grateful.

Maybe the fact that it only really takes one key might be a problem for some - it is not for me.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

This product has 37 reviews.