GE Locking Stor-A-Key Key Safe Reviews

Ref: GE-001844
Thumb image of 659.png
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10

8.6 / 10 based on 47 reviews.

£15.00 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10
Security Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10
Value for Money Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10Rated 9.1 / 10
Anonymous Verified Customer February 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

It was exactly what we wanted, a sturdy secure key box for (in our case) outside use.

Was this helpful? 14

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2011
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 4 / 5
Recommended

Good quality build. Too small for car keys

Was this helpful? 12

Tim Verified Customer April 2018
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 4.6 / 5
Recommended

This is the second Locking Stor-a-key box I have bought from safe.co.uk because I havent been able to find another key box which is as good and fulfills my needs as well, from any other company. The box is lightweight with a strong plastic construction and a magnetic base/rear. The lid pulls open easily when the correct code is entered and shuts closed with a satisfying click. None of my AirBnB guests have had a problem getting into my apartment using the device, which due to its magnetic base is hidden in a convenient but secret location. It is big enough for a single key which is good enough for me but be aware that this is not big enough for a key bunch or set. In summary I am very happy with this product it ticks all the boxes for me and safe.co.uk are extremely professional in all communications and deliver very promptly!

Was this helpful? 11

Levingston Verified Customer November 2016
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 4.4 / 5
Recommended

Having just bought a brand new static mobile home, right on the seafront in North Somerset, we were looking for a non metallic, durable key safe to hide a spare key. Being close the sea, with strong south-westerly winds bringing damp sea air we need a product that would resist the conditions and not become corroded and therefore useless. This product fits the job perfectly. It was easy to find online, easy to order, easy to fit, and has been under our static for the past 3 months. It does exactly what it says it does! I wouldn't hesitate to buy another one or use in different situations lie

Was this helpful? 11

Warwickes@aol Com Verified Customer August 2017
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 4.2 / 5
Recommended

A neat, magnetic, black mini key vault. A will as the magnet a self adhesive option is included and offers a wider range of storing/hiding options. The mechanism is simple, ready to set and would appear reasonably secure. The security provided is very dependent on careful positioning, balancing ease of access with suitable substrate of the magnet and keeping it out of sight.

My overall impression had been very positive, one slight gripe is that the foam padded key chamber is a bit short and may be an issue if you are trying to store a longer key, pay attention to measurements!

Good luck.

Was this helpful? 10

D King Verified Customer January 2021
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Love safe.co.UK great company helped me fix my keysafe when it broke! Thanks!!

Was this helpful? 7

Kate Verified Customer September 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

This key safe is really convenient and easy to use. The magnet is strong and really useful, so I can store the safe in a lot of different places. There are lots of other options of how I can store the safe away in useful places. I can fit a couple of keys in the safe which makes it useful for storage at home. It is really easy to change the code to something different if and when I need to change the code. I would recommend this safe to anyone who is looking for a convenient small key safe to use

Was this helpful? 7

Kit Harling Verified Customer August 2012
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Did exactly what we wanted

Was this helpful? 7

Tim Verified Customer December 2020
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 4.4 / 5
Recommended

I had occasion to use this recently in an emergency.

It wasn't as intended originally as it was meant to be a spare key in case my main one was lost/misplaced. I live on my own and needed to call an ambulance in the early hours but was not really able to go downstairs to the front door to let them in. So I talked them through the procedure to locate and access my hidden key safe. They were able to find the key safe and seemed to have no problem recovering the door key once I provided the combination. Unfortunately, they weren't able to get in as I had left my main door key in the lock but this wouldn't have been a problem in any other situation.

I have now have taken to removing the front door key at night in case of emergency's and feel confident that a crew would be able to get to me if required.

Was this helpful? 6

Andy Verified Customer March 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Bought the GE locking stor-a-key to keep a key hidden underneath our static home in South Wales. Key to our home fitted easily into the robust box and attached to the chassis of our home easily. Setting the three digit code was an absolute breeze and opening and closing simplicity itself. We rent our home out and needed to be able to leave a key at the home which was accessible to both renters on arrival and also our cleaner as the home is over a hundred miles away from our residential address. We have reccomended the stor-a-key to many other home owners on our site as they are often in the same predicament as us and live a great distance away from their rented holiday homes. We also have a stor-a-key attatched to the underneath of a metal garden bench in our garden to keep a spare key for home. I couldn’t recommend more, great quality, great price and peace of mind

Was this helpful? 6

ARCHIE Verified Customer January 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

A friend recommended this product to me. It has exceeded my expectations. It does everything it claims to do. Some users may require provision for more than one key but this one key provision will from my experience be adequate for most homes. As an 80 plus youngster I strongly recommend this "GE Locking Stor-A-Key" product.

Was this helpful? 6

Ron Jackson Verified Customer August 2018
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 4.4 / 5
Recommended

Living alone this little key safe means that I can secrete the key in my car so as never to get "locked out".

Was this helpful? 6

Robin Verified Customer August 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Goes what it says, Unabrusive when sited.

Was this helpful? 6

Lesley Sones Verified Customer May 2018
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 4.6 / 5
Recommended

This is a useful, easy to use store key. It easily holds two flat keys, but not with “remote” attachment ie the press button bit that automatically opens and locks vehicles. It is simple to set and change the security numbers. The unit is made of plastic so it is light and can be attached to vehicle with magnet or tape, but we have not yet done that, so don’t know as yet how secure that is especially long term. The plastic may degrade over time but necessarily, it appears well built and easy to hide under vehicle. This has given us peace of mind to hold spare keys to our vehicle.

Was this helpful? 6

Robin Verified Customer September 2021
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 4 / 5
Recommended

It is fairly basic but it does the job. It comes with three digits so is quickly crack-able but if it is just to deter people rather than stopping them it is sufficient.

The plastic outer shell could easily be smashed but again this should be used as a deterrent.

The storage compartment could be a little bigger as large keys wont fit or think USB sticks.

The magnet is very strong and works well. The grey outer shell makes it unnoticeable unless you are looking for it.

I would say that overall I'm happy with the purchase. It is very cheap and does what I required it for.

Was this helpful? 3

Rob Swire Verified Customer April 2017
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 4.1 / 5
Recommended

Easy to use website and ordering process, the product arrived quickly and we'll packaged.

The store area is plenty for 4 or 5 keys on a ring. The instructions were clear and it was quick to get operational and good instructions for fixing to the wall. It's very well built and feels very solid in construction and looks like it will last, though I've positioned it in a sheltered spot from the weather and hidden by a bush so I'm hoping it will be secure for a long time.

My only criticism would be the sliding shutter that closes the number dialing system - it's a little flimsy compared to the rest of the build and I'm not sure it would stand direct weather exposure for a long time.

Otherwise it's an excellent product and I would recommend it.

Was this helpful? 3

Jonathan Oliver Verified Customer June 2015
Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10 3.4 / 5
Recommended

This key keep is very useful, especially when you have builders/trades/helpers arriving at your property when you are out. It is neat, has space for a couple of keys and has a strong magnet to tuck it out of the way. Easy to use and easy to set the 3 digit code. The only downside is that it is plastic and a few blows with a hammer would have it cracked open. Overall for the price I am very happy with it, it has proved very useful and has helped me get work done at my house without me being there. Overall I'm very satisfied with this solution.

Was this helpful? 3

Emmett Verified Customer August 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Very strong magnet, easy to use, portable. Would recommend

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2012
Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10 3.4 / 5
Recommended

Ideal for storing a spare key

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2011
Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10 2.9 / 5
Recommended

Good quality, excellent idea. Too small for my car key to fit in. Have to reread the instructions every time I want to re-use the product.

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer September 2017
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 4 / 5
Recommended

was delivered as described, perfect as final backup

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2016
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Great little product, very discrete

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2016
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 4.6 / 5
Recommended

This is just a perfect little secure key storage box. It can be hidden discreetly. We will buy a couple more!

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2016
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 4 / 5
Recommended

ideal for storing key outside property. easy to use but a fourth digit for the passcode would make it even more secure. small enough to be well hidden. overall great value for money. would recommend this product to other potential users.

Was this helpful? 2

Gerard Verified Customer October 2015
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 4.2 / 5
Recommended

I had seen this product in the past at a friend's house and thought it was really convenient. This definitely beats putting the key under a rock for friends or family. You can stay use the rock but have an extra layer of protection against someone entering your house unwanted.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer October 2015
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 3.8 / 5
Recommended

I bought this to store a key outside my van in case of loss but also to save me having to take a key into the water surfing etc. I had a copy of my Hyundai i800 done which is considerably smaller than the real key but I still needed to sand down the black plastic bit of the key to get it to fit. Apart from this issue it is perfect. The magnet is strong enough to attach firmly to any metal part of the chassis. Very happy with the product overall

Was this helpful? 2

Jean Burley Verified Customer July 2015
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 4 / 5
Recommended

Good value for money. First one received was faulty and would not reset, a replacement sent without any hesitation.

This lock is for use at my caravan to keep a spare key hidden and inaccessible. The number combination can be changed easily and as often as required and the magnetic back plate holds firmly to any metal surface.

It is definitely fit for purpose.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer July 2015
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 4.5 / 5
Recommended

Delivered on time, good price and exactly as described.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer May 2015
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

It was excellent, exactly what I needed. Easy to use.

Was this helpful? 2

Ian James Verified Customer December 2014
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 4.7 / 5
Recommended

Does exactly what we need it to do.

The only criticism on build quality is that the base plate goes rusty and needs to be painted.

On security, there is a trade off between making it small so it won't get noticed and putting more tumblers on the lock. One more tumbler might delay and deter the thief who wants to open it straight away, without making the product much bigger. But it is important to keep it unobtrusive. Once a villain takes it away, it doesn't matter how strong or secure it is; they will crack it somehow.

The instructions with it made sense and enabled me to set my code quite easily.

Was this helpful? 2

Elaine Verified Customer November 2014
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Just what we needed to keep our key safe outside. The key safe is easy to use and gives you peace of mind when going out if you forget your key. It was very good value for money.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2014
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 4.6 / 5
Recommended

Does exactly what I want it to do. Excellent. Definitely recommend it.

Was this helpful? 2

Derek Murphy Verified Customer September 2014
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 4.2 / 5
Recommended

Easy to use and ideally fit for purpose.

Was this helpful? 2

MISTERWINT Verified Customer June 2014
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 4.5 / 5
Recommended

Easy to use and install

Was this helpful? 2

Karen Verified Customer April 2013
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 3.5 / 5
Recommended

The first Stor-A-Key was faulty but was replaced with no fuss and the new one works perfectly.

Was this helpful? 2

Peter Verified Customer October 2012
Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10 3.3 / 5
Recommended

easy to use and hide. maybe a 4 digit number would be an advantage

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Holds keys, securely and clings on discreetly

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2012
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

ease of use

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent product

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2011
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 4 / 5
Recommended

Very secure. Quite difficult to remove the key.

Was this helpful? 2

Neillthepolarbear Verified Customer March 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Does exactly what it says in the descrption, very very well.

Was this helpful? 2

Rciky Patterson Verified Customer March 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Really strong magnet and easy to hide.

Was this helpful? 2

John R Verified Customer March 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

I have mobility problems and live in a situation where if I forget my key and am locked out of my room it is a real struggle to get to the place where I can get a spare key. My Stor-a-Key has solved all that and given me peace of mind as well as huge practical help. I am so grateful.

Maybe the fact that it only really takes one key might be a problem for some - it is not for me.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer December 2021
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Great product and great service

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer July 2022
Rated 2 / 10Rated 2 / 10Rated 2 / 10Rated 2 / 10Rated 2 / 10 1 / 5

Terrible product! Was never able to use it. It does not close! Do not buy this, it’s poor quality and money thrown out the window.

Was this helpful?  

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2022
Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10 3.4 / 5
Recommended

Using the key safe for a campervan spare key, just in case the main key gets lost when out walking or cycling. The magnetic attachment is proving really useful to hide it away on the van. The safe itself is just big enough for the one key, so fine for my needs, if you need to hide more than one key you'd probably need something bigger. The combination lock is a bit fiddly, but again, fine for my needs. Does what I need it to.

Was this helpful?  

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2022
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent product, just what we needed to store a spare key

Was this helpful?  

This product has 47 reviews.