Yale Sync Smart Home Alarm Full Control Kit - IA-340 Reviews

Ref: IA-340
Thumb image of 15496.png
Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5Rated 4.6 / 5

9.1 / 10 based on 16 reviews.

£379.00 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5Rated 4.7 / 5
Build Quality Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Value for Money Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5Rated 4.5 / 5
Stuart Verified Customer July 2019
Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5

Easy to install. Supplied smoke detector battery ran out within 2 weeks. (Hope the replacement will last longer.) Beware of the cost of extra detectors which are double the price of the older system. Most of the issues I ran into were software related. The app has recently been updated which is a little better but not there yet:

1. Zone configuration is inadequate. For example a device cannot be an entry device, included in full arm and excluded from part arm. i.e. My set-up is part arm is all outdoor buildings so I need the back door switch to be timed entry and excluded from part arm which is not possible.

2. The Smoke alarm / PIR / heat detector is triggered by thrips (thunderbugs). Sometimes the local alarm sounds, sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes the app shows an alarm. Sometimes the app doesn't show an alarm so the only way to silence it is to arm then disarm! Alternatively the smoke can be silenced by entering the keypad code. Don't know why the external alarm needs to sound for smoke, hope the neighbours don't get upset.

3. The socket can only be configured to be on within a 24 hour day. i.e. it cannot be powered across midnight. Support advised to set it to -23:59 / 00:00- which is useless if a device needs to be powered between 23:59 and 00:00.

Was this helpful? 31

Hilda Williams Mrs Verified Customer August 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

After a destructive break in, we are now SAFE with Smart Alarms, easy to use, easy to disguise in the home, making it easier to catch thieves. I am 78 years old. I do want something that is reliable without spending too much money. The package I purchased suited be down to the ground, it was easy to install. Once the system was up and working, I felt secure in the knowledge that I and my husband and home was safer than it ever has been, and with SMART ALARMS, it will stay that way for many years to come. I and my husband look forward to the future safe in the knowledge, that Smart Alarm is watching out for us

Was this helpful? 23

Stu Moore Verified Customer June 2020
Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5Rated 3.5 / 5
Recommended

Needed a system to replace my old Yale HSA3800 which suffered a base unit failure. This one had the range (for outbuildings), the app control (wifi and 4G) and the promise of pet friendly operation (have a cat). There are currently no cameras this range, which is a pity; not sure why as they exist in other Yale systems.

Pricing, availability and delivery from Safe were excellent. I would prefer the ability to write a review on the website but otherwise I have been impressed with their service.

Less impressive, unfortunately, is the performance of the pet friendly PIRs. Not mentioned in any of Yale's descriptions is the fact that they cannot be used in rooms where your pet may jump up (on to tables, stairs, chairs etc). So that rules out cats, dogs, rabbits, living rooms, dining rooms, kitchens and bedrooms. I have tried several placements of the PIRs but our cat sets the alarm off every time. They are, to all intents and purposes, useless and we have to rely on just the door sensors.

The system is easy to install, works reliably (other than the PIRs), has good range and the app is pretty good at controlling the system. I will continue to experiment with the PIRs but, for now, the cat rules. Overall, I would recommend this but please be aware of the significant PF PIR limitation and perhaps just go for the cheaper standard PIRs.

Was this helpful? 23

Anonymous Verified Customer January 2021
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

I had previously purchased and installed a similarly priced system from another company. It was not however a similar quality and it soon broke.

A friend recommended this system so I examined the on line reviews and decided to place my order based on a system for my bungalow.

It was easy to place my order and it was delivered on time.

The system was installed by my son however, we found that the installation instructions could be improved to avoid having to access the website.

I find the combined smoke alarm a really good idea.

Overall, a good value for money system which does an excellent job and is easy to use once installed.

Was this helpful? 18

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2020
Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5Rated 4 / 5
Recommended

Good overall with no monthly fees to pay.

I have had a particular issue with the hub dropping connection and not automatically reconnecting to the internet. It means you cannot access the system with your phone when this happens... it may be my internet provider but still investigating. I would have liked to have seen a glass smash detector also but I don’t think Yale do this yet. Regardless I chose Yale over SimpliSafe because of monthly costs. 4 out of 5 overall from me. Could be better but not bad.

Was this helpful? 18

Anonymous Verified Customer August 2021
Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5
Recommended

I bought the Yale Sync Smart IA340 intruder alarm system from Safe, with some additional sensors and a second keypad. The system came well packaged, delivered commendably quickly from Safe. All components had batteries already installed, requiring only the extraction of a plastic tab to activate each of them. I carried out the installation quite easily though not without a few head-scratching moments caused by the overly pictorial instructions. Lots of illustrations but insufficient words in a few places. For instance the instructions contained an illustration of a fridge-freezer here and there but with no accompanying explanation. It turned out that this was an attempt to convey that some kitchen machinery can cause interference that may affect operation of the system but that was far from obvious. Or maybe I’m just not very bright! Installation took me most of a day, including installing a long Ethernet cable to connect the alarm control box to my WiFi router.

After the initial switch-on the amber light on the control box was permanently on, whereas just the green light should have been showing. The amber light indicates that a fault has occurred, which should be shown in the Yale mobile phone app. The app showed nothing, but the problem was quickly solved by rebooting the system which then behaved correctly. The only remaining problem was that the second keypad would not unset the system. After some fruitless online research I contacted Yale who gave me an initialisation procedure that sorted out the issue.

In use the system does everything as advertised, providing full or partial setting and unsetting via keypad, fob or phone app. The entry and exit delays can be set to give plenty of time so there’s no rush when leaving the house or returning. All the sensors operate perfectly and the siren is definitely loud enough to alert the neighbours, who emerged to find out what was going on when I tested it!

I have had the system just over 3 months now and there have been no problems at all since completing the installation. I’m well pleased with it and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Was this helpful? 17

Graham Verified Customer July 2020
Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5
Recommended

Fairly straightforward install except that some of the tamper springs had become unattached from the back of the sensors so they reported a fault which I didn't realise. I phoned their helpline & someone explained it & I found the springs in the bottom of the box! After reattaching them everything worked fine.

Was this helpful? 17

Andy Martin Verified Customer June 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Great product

Delivery as stated

Was this helpful? 16

JD Verified Customer February 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Very pleased with the Yale system. We had a professionally installed system at our last house and the costs didn't seem to match the functionality. The Yale alarm is great value, extremely easy to install and sends a whole series of notifications for events that take place. I would say that the only awkward thing is installing the door sensors on our PVC patio doors as they have chamfered frames - it would be great if these sensors came with some adapters or packers to enable easy fitting to different door styles. That said, it is easy to by some PVC angle from screwfix to make this work. One other possible useful option would be to be able to link the Yale smoke alarm to the existing house smoke alarms, so that the Yale system knows if one house smoke alarm has detected smoke or heat.

Was this helpful? 16

Glen Payne Verified Customer October 2021
Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5Rated 4.3 / 5
Recommended

VERY HAPPY WITH SYSTEM WORKING.

.

Was this helpful? 14

Mike Verified Customer November 2021
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Love it, unboxing the product initially seemed daunting but once we read the instructions and generally got to grips with what we had to do, installation proved straight forward. Care needs to be taken mounting the PIRs in corners as they can be slightly off level after tightening the screws. Door contacts were equally straight forward to mount, and the smoke detector unit got mounted in the landing ceiling with no issues. Plugging the hub into the internet followed standard principles and downloading the app made us ready to test the system. Walk testing was simple and then we got to grips with tweaking the behaviour of each sensor, all finished and linked into both Conexis L1 and Alexa Echo delivers a great system

Was this helpful? 8

Anonymous Verified Customer April 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Very easy to install, app works well. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a new installation or upgrading an older system. Wife likes the fact that the door sensor can be set to chime when the front and back doors open when the alarm isn’t set.

Was this helpful? 8

Hakee Verified Customer March 2020
Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5Rated 4.8 / 5
Recommended

Good system and easy to install- does all the basics well - would buy again

Was this helpful? 8

Anonymous Verified Customer March 2020
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Easy to install. Easy to operate. Great all round product.

Was this helpful? 7

Constantin Rosca Verified Customer July 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent !!!

Was this helpful? 6

Anonymous Verified Customer June 2019
Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5Rated 5 / 5
Recommended

brill ease to put up and turn on value for money best place to get one from this site brill staff ease to talk too over problems set up the alarm would recommend alarm and site 10/10 thank you

Was this helpful? 5