Brattonsound Sentinel 5 Rifle Cabinet Reviews

Ref: BRT-RD5
Thumb image of 347.png
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10

8.8 / 10 based on 19 reviews.

£274.96 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10Rated 8.9 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10
Security Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10
Value for Money Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10
Ralph Verified Customer January 2011
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 4.9 / 5
Recommended

This is a very sturdy and solidly built cabinet. I nearly went for a smaller one but am pleased I didn't. Perfect for my requirements although at the moment I only have two rifles (with scopes) stored in it. I am pleased I also added the optional fixing kit as the bolts provided are exactly right for the job and a typical DIYer like myself probably wouldnt have anything suitable already as I didnt.

It would be quite handy if a stiff paper template accompanied the cabinet with the fixing holes already marked. Most people wouldnt have a piece of paper big enough to make their own template.This would be minimal cost to the manufacturer but would be a real bonus to the purchaser/fitter.

Because it is a heavy cabinet and in my case I had to fix to the wall - well above the floor, it requires two strong people to lift into position to get a couple of the bolts in. In my house there arent two strong people so this was very difficult! It would be handy therefore to have some advice on how you might fasten it to the wall once the holes have been drilled.

Was this helpful? 12

Mike Verified Customer January 2015
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

The product is of solid construction and comes with two locks that need separate keys. It meets BS 7558, the relevant British standard for this type of equipment, and comes with a three-year on-site warranty. It passed a police inspection a couple of weeks after installation. The gunsafe is easy to put up and comes equipped with the appropriate fixtures and fittings. The item arrived at the promised date and time at an agreed address which, for convenience, was different from where it was due to be sited. The packaging used for transportation was extremely sturdy which ensured that the purchase arrived in mint condition. The safe will undoubtedly accommodate five shotguns and/or rifles providing there are no attachments. If rifles have attachments, for example bipods and telescopic sights, these will need to be removed if the billed capacity is to be achieved

Was this helpful? 7

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2012
Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10 3.4 / 5
Recommended

Good safe. Never in a million years will you fit 5 rifles in the cabinet.

Was this helpful? 6

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2011
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 3.7 / 5
Recommended

Well built and accurate dimensions. Beware that if you order the door to be left hand opening they will just turn the door upside down, not really a major problem but the door was designed to be opened right handed so the bottom internal hinge which is chamfered to prevent damage to your gunstocks is now at the top leaving the top unchamfered now at the bottom to scratch your rifle stock. Trying to explain this to their complaints department was impossible and I gave up. Guys at the gun club said I should have not paid the extra fee for changing the door opening but just turn the whole cabinet upside down.

Was this helpful? 5

Christian French Verified Customer August 2014
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 4.2 / 5
Recommended

The brattonsound RD5 that I purchased is a very solid, heavily built safe, with high gauge steel. It projects a very solid, secure method of storing firearms.

Due to the build type of my property, the safe is mounted horizontally on the floor, and secured to the joists. This type of deployment makes it tricky to get the door open, as there is no handle and the door is very heavy. The key is the only way to pull the door up and open.

This method of mounting therefore is not ideal, however modern buildings do not lend themselves very well to wall mounting. I have lined my safe with carpet tiles, glued in with carpet adhesive. This gives the weapons greater protection against knocks, and also helps to reduce condensation within the enclosure.

The safe shop honoured a pricematch and also knocked off double the difference, which made the purchase of this safe from them a total no brainer. The website is easy to navigate and communication with the team there is quick and efficient.

Was this helpful? 4

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

best on the market

Was this helpful? 3

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2018
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

well constructed and will last for years. The fire arms officer is well impressed

with it and was going to recommend it to other fire arms users.

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2011
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 4 / 5
Recommended

does what it is intendd to

Was this helpful? 2

Anonymous Verified Customer February 2019
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Very good quality

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer October 2015
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 4.4 / 5
Recommended

It does what it says it should do. The locks are a bit stiff but will probably get easier with use.

Was this helpful? 1

Anonymous Verified Customer November 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Excellent Product, as advertised and at a great price. super fast delivery.

Was this helpful? 1

Andy Noble Verified Customer January 2013
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 3.7 / 5
Recommended

good value for money. slightly disappointed with internal dimensions

Was this helpful? 1

C Brown Verified Customer December 2012
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 4.3 / 5
Recommended

It does the job very well. A bit difficult to open by pulling on the keys.

Was this helpful? 1

Karl Francis Verified Customer June 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 4.8 / 5
Recommended

A well made and secure safe. Cannot really get 5 air rifles in the safe but it is OK for my use.

Was this helpful? 1

MAW Verified Customer May 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Very Godd value

Was this helpful? 1

Marcus Verified Customer February 2011
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 3.8 / 5
Recommended

Good depth for rifles with scope fitted. Good value. Could do with a removable shelf at top for cleaning materials if guns not that long but easy after fit.

Was this helpful? 1

Gary Verified Customer January 2022
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 3.8 / 5
Recommended

The product is fine and does what it is designed to do ie keep guns safe. Only criticism however is that this is a 5 rifle cabinet, it is supposed to be designed to take rifles. These nowadays by and large have scopes attached and more often than not bi pods too. There is not width in these cabinets for 5 fully equipped rifles unless you like bashing your guns together, scratching everything just to get them inside the case. If you don't, this cabinet becomes a 3 rife cabinet which then reduces its value for money!

Was this helpful?  

Martin Verified Customer November 2020
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 5 / 5
Recommended

Great safe , easy to fit and very secure . Quick postage and very good service

Was this helpful?  

Bill Verified Customer March 2019
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 4 / 5
Recommended

Good solid safe, easy to install, my FAO was happy with both the locking system of the safe and how it was installed

Was this helpful?  

This product has 19 reviews.