Coronavirus Update No disruption to business more info

Asec 5 Pin - Euro Thumbturn Cylinder 45 - 35 (80mm) Reviews

Ref: ASE-5P-4535-EUT
Thumb image of 6385.png
Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10

9.7 / 10 based on 94 reviews.

£12.30 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.9 / 10Rated 9.9 / 10Rated 9.9 / 10Rated 9.9 / 10Rated 9.9 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10
Ease of Fitting Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10Rated 9.7 / 10
Security Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10
Value for Money Rated 9.9 / 10Rated 9.9 / 10Rated 9.9 / 10Rated 9.9 / 10Rated 9.9 / 10
25 October 2018 Reviewed Size: 45 - 35mm
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

This product was ordered and delivered promptly. It is good quality and was easy to fit. I would recommend this Euro Cylinder to anyone who has a use for it. The price was very competitive. This was used to replace a lock which had key ways on both end for the much safer thumbturn type. I believe this type of lock is safer purely because ANYONE can get out of the locked property in an emergency without the need to hunt for the key. It came with three keys which is just what was required and I had it fitted within 5 minutes.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

3 October 2018 Reviewed Size: 60 - 40mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Ordered with a spare fourth key. Nicely cut additional key. Easy to fit in place of existing door lock cylinder. Good quality overall and fast service from safe.co.uk Thanks

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 September 2018 Reviewed Size: 60 - 40mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

The product looks great, all the locks matched and they work well in all 4 doors that they were fitted to. Great service, good value and will use again for locks and security needs.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

13 September 2018 Reviewed Size: 55 - 35mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Really good the product looked good and worked smoothly, the items were delivered in the time slot as stated, fitting was straight forward exchanging with the old cylinders was easy,having purchased two I took up the offer to have the same key for both at no extra cost which has proven to be a great benefit only one key on my key ring for access to the front and back of the house.very pleased with the way it all went. The only regret I have I wish that I had gone for three cylinders one for each the front, back and conservatory doors.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

13 September 2018 Reviewed Size: 40 - 50mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I was extremely impressed with the all round quality of the service I received from SAFE, when I purchased two Asec 5 Pin - Euro Thumbturn Cylinder 40 - 50 (90mm Nickel Plated) for the front doors of our Men's Shed.

From start to finish, my purchase experience with SAFE could be very appropriately described as a seamless process of the highest quality. The website was extremely easy to navigate and I was able to quickly find what I wanted. The description given was very informative and comprehensive plus ordering was simple.

In summary: Purchasing from SAFE equalled brilliant service, speedy delivery, well packaged, excellent quality, with superb value for money - what more could one ask for?

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

13 September 2018 Reviewed Size: 40 - 45mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The lock arrived Very Quickly, and seems (from a untrained eye) very good quality, works well and was easy to fit. It was a pleasure to use the website as was easy to navigate and find what i wanted. postage and price were also on the ball, as i did not want to spend hundreds of pounds on a lock as the sizes we not of the norm. I was very impressed on the varied amount of locks, and the different sizes there were on the site. But it was very easy to find the right one on the website. So to sum it up easy to use, quick postage and excellent prices what more do you need.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

17 May 2018 Reviewed Size: 40 - 50mm
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Accurate description of item on website.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

22 April 2018 Reviewed Size: 40 - 60mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great quality product and a great price

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

22 April 2018 Reviewed Size: 35 - 35mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Great quality product at a great price! I will definitely use this company again.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

2 March 2018 Reviewed Size: 35 - 35mm
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

We purchased them from “safe” because of their quick turnaround on “keyed-alike” cylinders (I needed 3), they seem to be robust euro-cylinders in a nice nickel finish with no rough edges. All the keys worked fine, and again were well finished.We only wanted them for interior use in a medical premises so can not comment on exterior suitability. Found fitting to be just as expected. Remember to nip the grub screw on the thumb turn up tight with an Allen key as they were a bit slack. The thumb turn of course makes allingnment of locking tab particularly easy.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

21 December 2017 Reviewed Size: 60 - 40mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent, no other words for the product, thanks.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

11 October 2018 Reviewed Size: 55 - 35mm
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Very easy to use and to fit. Just had to remove the existing cylinder by screwing off the bolt/screw from the side, slide the off cylinder out, insert the new cylinder and put the bolt/screw back again. The cylinder does lack some of the advanced safety features of the more expensive models but it is cheap and someone without trying wouldn't know if this model is with or without those safety features like anti pick, anti bump or anti drill. Also the thumbturn feature is very convenient - previously it was a hassle to lock the door while we were home but its an easy turn from now.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 February 2021 Reviewed Size: 50 - 40mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Very impressed with quality of Euro Thumb turn Cylinder. These are ideal for maintaining emergency access for elderly or vulnerable people living independently, allowing door to be unlocked and opened from the outside with key as opposed to be locked out if the key has been left in the lock inside. Good level of security at a very reasonable price. Having shopped around I could not find a supplier that has such a wide range of euro lock cylinder sizes and options. From now on, as a busy Handyman, SAFE will be my first go-to site for future replacement locks and security hardware, good intuitive website with all the relevant technical information available.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

14 January 2021 Reviewed Size: 60 - 40mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Excellent quality lock for the price. Delivered on time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

24 December 2020 Reviewed Size: 50 - 40mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The whole process of ordering from safe.co.uk was very easy. the website is well set out & easy to navigate, I found the product I needed with no problem. Other websites seem to overcomplicate things & are genuinely difficult to deal with.

Items are fairly priced-not budget-but then you aren't buying budget materials.

delivery was quick & easy-it arrived when they said it would so you can't fault that.

Lock is a good solid piece of equipment, as I said not a budget item-definitely looks & feels as if it is going to last. Fitting was a breeze, literally done in under a minute.

Would I recommend using the company & their products? Without question, it's not often you find purchasing this easy & reliable-I don't use anyone else now.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

10 December 2020 Reviewed Size: 40 - 60mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Good product, good quality, good price. Thanks!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

26 November 2020 Reviewed Size: 55 - 35mm
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Can't fault it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

8 October 2020 Reviewed Size: 45 - 35mm
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

All in all a good lock at a very affordable price, in my case it is a secondary lock which at the price was a perfect solution.

The three keys provided are of an ok quality, however they are light and may wear quickly with heavy use.

Fitting the lock was very easy, especially with the provided instructions. In my case it was a straight swap, I should have ordered two locks with the same cloned keys, all available from this company, the purchase experience was fast, easy and problem free from their safe and intuitive website.

I will be using them again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

3 October 2020 Reviewed Size: 60 - 40mm
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Bought this to replace double-ended lock on front door to make it easier to open. As I have a keyed-alike set of locks including my shed workshop I asked if I could order a full set of three Euro locks and one rim latch. Safe said they couldn't include a rim latch so I just bought the one. Sadly it used a different key blank, but now that I have re-pinning shoe it was easy to dismantle it and replace the plug with the one from the old lock. Now works a treat with just the one key for the house and shed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

17 September 2020 Reviewed Size: 40 - 50mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The product is great as great as the service I received from SAFE.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

6 August 2020 Reviewed Size: 55 - 35mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

This is the second thumb lock I have bought from you and I have to say they are both great

They are so much easier to use than fumbling for a key and do easy to lock/unlock

Security from the outside with a key lock but just as secure from the inside

The fitting was a piece of cake and the lock was in place in 10 minutes

Would massively recommend this lock but also recommend safe.co.uk for great service and very quick delivery

Price wise, the same lock is available from other suppliers at a more expensive price

So why wouldn’t you but from this company

5 stars from me!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

6 August 2020 Reviewed Size: 50 - 40mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I replaced my door cylinder as to stop using our key inside the door, this thumbnail turn button makes a huge difference. Quality and price are excellent, so easy to fit by machine screw on lock faceplate. Remove said screw and remove old cylinder put in the new cylinder and put back the screw. I recommend these locks.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

16 April 2020 Reviewed Size: 55 - 35mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

This is an excellent product, which now means I can answer the front door without searching for a key, not to mention the added bonus of fire safety. I am delighted with the purchase but it is worth pointing out that it is important to carefully measure the internal distances from the centre. I am already considering a purchase of another for the patio doors to my garden. Overall this is an excellent product and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who is sick of searching for their front door key every time the door bell rings.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

5 January 2020 Reviewed Size: 40 - 60mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Easy to fit and easy to use.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

2 January 2020 Reviewed Size: 55 - 35mm
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Would not give 5 stars as need to check longevity of the product otherwise all that was expected is very good

Victor Hicks

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

7 November 2019 Reviewed Size: 45 - 35mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Very quick service good value for money

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

5 November 2019 Reviewed Size: 35 - 45mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Nice product, easy to fit, works great!

After a small internet search, looking for a replacement lock for a lock that no longer worked, I settled on buying the Asec 5 pin - Euro Thumbturn Cylinder 35-45 80mm Nickel Plated from Safe. Navigating the site to find the exact product I was after, was a breeze. For the price, I felt I was getting good quality without breaking the bank. It was delievered quickly, packaged well and operates smoothly. It is nicely machined, turns easily, making locking easily acievable with one hand, while holding shopping in the other. Who says blokes can't multi-task?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

4 October 2019 Reviewed Size: 60 - 40mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Fitted an oldish PVC door with a slight adjustment to the inside of the lock hole through plastic with a small file

100% secure

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

19 September 2019 Reviewed Size: 50 - 40mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Excellent fast delivery, 5 min to fit two doors, great same key fits both locks, good value

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

31 August 2019 Reviewed Size: 40 - 40mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Nice polished brass Euro lock that now matches my Carlisle Brass handles. Bought two and got them keyed alike so reducing number of keys I have to carry

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

29 August 2019 Reviewed Size: 45 - 35mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

The thumbturn Euro cylinder is simplicity it self to fit and use. No need for a professional locksmith all you need is suitable screw driver. Open the door Remove the locking screw take out the old cylinder and replace with the new one reinstall the locking screw and your done.

I like the thumbturn practically and ease of use, should I need to leave the property in an emergency I know a quick turn of the chunky thumbturn and the door is unlocked and I can exit to safety.

The Asec 5 is self contained unit with no external parts to fit. Feels solid and great quality.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

15 August 2019 Reviewed Size: 50 - 40mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Came very promptly and was really good quality in a size that was not easy to find elsewhere.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

15 August 2019 Reviewed Size: 45 - 35mm
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Exactly as described. Replaced a broken lock with a non-standard offset with this one which we fitted in a matter of minutes. Good VFM & next day delivery!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

8 August 2019 Reviewed Size: 55 - 35mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Perfect replacement lock, delivered quickly.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

25 July 2019 Reviewed Size: 50 - 40mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Overall a very satisfying expeience. Looked all over internet and in shops for the size i needed and this was by far the best price for the products I needed. The second cheapest company I found were twice the price, so wasn't expecting much from The quality if products or speed of The delivery but I was completely wrong! The online process was very quick and simple and I was pleased with the products and service. Great quality for the price paid and will definately shop here again. Would highly recommend to anyone in the trade or who is a DIY enthusiast!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

20 June 2019 Reviewed Size: 45 - 40mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Ordered two locks, one each for the front and back doors. They arrived on the day specified and were exactly what I ordered. I asked for the two locks to be the keyed the same (one key opens both front and back doors - so much easier), and that is what I got. Very good quality and extremely easy to fit. The thumb turn on the inside is great, so easy to ensure the door is locked and no having to go and get your keys to lock the door.

Excellent value for money, could not be more pleased with them.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

16 May 2019 Reviewed Size: 45 - 40mm
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Seems to be a good product, finish is nice and it does exactly what it says on the tin. Love having the Thumb turn on the inside, it lets the kids go in and out the back door without having to leave a key in it. Not sure just how secure it is against any one trying to break in compared to having a lock you can leave a key in the back of. The prices of purchasing was simple and the product was delivered quickly enough. These are easy to fit as they are only held in by a single screw.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

16 May 2019 Reviewed Size: 35 - 35mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Just the job.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

11 April 2019 Reviewed Size: 60 - 40mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Just perfect for what I want..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

14 February 2019 Reviewed Size: 35 - 55mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

A great product at a really reasonable price. The lock is of brilliant build quality and saved me money against high street prices. A fast delivery and professional packaging made this purchase a no brainier

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

14 February 2019 Reviewed Size: 50 - 40mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent product the 50 int 40 ext measurements only seemed to be available from this site, great price and great service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

13 February 2019 Reviewed Size: 30 - 30mm
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

A good thumb turn euro lock at a great price. I wanted to replace the locks on an aluminium door with adjustable louve shutters and a sliding glass door. With keyed alike locks. None of the door are particularly secure so don't warrant high security locks. These 5 pin basic locks are still more secure than the doors themselves. The locks are are well finished and like all euro style locks are easily fitted. Now with the thumb turn locks, I don't need the keys to lock the doors from the inside. The locks have a fairly tight key way which increases their security. I am very happy with them and have even purchased another for a different application.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

7 February 2019 Reviewed Size: 55 - 35mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

First class Company fast delivery and very good product 👍

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

17 January 2019 Reviewed Size: 35 - 45mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I was originally looking for a replacement cylinder as the one I had broke after 15 years due to user error (key left in cylinder on inside while trying to open lock from the outside). This cylinder was a perfect replacement and the internal thumbturn will prevent user error from causing damage again. I am not a locksmith or joiner but I found the cylinder was very easily fitted and only took a few minutes. The cylinder is working very well so far and everyone in the house is very happy, especially with the internal thumbturn. When I found out that the cylinders could be "same keyed", I ordered replacement cylinders for all the external doors which means 1 key fits all. This means no more keys lying about the house and not knowing which key fits which door. Very happy customer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

10 January 2019 Reviewed Size: 40 - 60mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Good company good product will use again

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

3 January 2019 Reviewed Size: 35 - 35mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

excellent

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

13 December 2018 Reviewed Size: 45 - 35mm
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Excellent product does exactly as it says would use the company again and recommend product

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No