Buying a new cylinder lock? Read our guide.

Whether you're upgrading your cylinder locks for the first time, or just want the latest advice, we're here to help. Our cylinder lock buying guide will take you through the process from choosing a cylinder type, measuring your lock, and installing a cylinder lock in easy to follow steps.

TS007 Kitemark

Here's a sobering statistic. Over 40% of burglaries in England and Wales involve a forced door, and the average time it takes a criminal to break a basic cylinder lock is 1-2 minutes. So it's well worth making sure your cylinders on any external doors are immune from snapping.

TS007 3 star rating

Most kitemarked cylinders will withstand a break-in attempt. But the new TS007 3 Star standard will protect against every attempt. This security standard has been developed by the Door and Hardware Federation (DHF) and the Glass and Glazing Federation (GGF) in conjunction with Secured by Design.

iTo meet the TS007 standard, you must have a cylinder or combination of cylinder and door furniture with an accumulative 3 star rating.

shop now

How to get secure

There are two ways to attain the TS007 3 Star standard:

Replace your existing cylinder with a TS007 3 Star Kitemarked cylinder

The cylinder will clearly show the 3 Star Kitemark logo. It gives the highest level of security available with several layers of protection built in. You don't need any additional door furniture either. Watch our video on how to replace your cylinder.

TS007 3 star kitemarked cylinder

Replace your existing cylinder with a TS007 1 Star Kitemarked cylinder, and your door handles with TS007 2 Star Kitemarked handles.

By combining a 1 Star Cylinder with 2 Star handles, you get the same 3 star rating. It will cost a little more and take more time than simply changing the cylinder, but the end result is the same from a security perspective.

TS007 3 star kitemarked cylinder with TS007 2 star kitemarked handles


The British Standard Kitemark can help deter thieves. It's trusted worldwide and most insurance companies will insist your cylinders display it. Locks that display the Kitemark have been certified by the British Standards Institute (BSI), so you know that each product has been manufactured to a high standard.

shop now
Found what you need?
Was this article helpful?
👍    👎
Sign up to our newsletter: